How I Pack For Long Weekends

Good Morning!!!

I’m getting super excited because in 2 sleeps* Andrew and I are flying out to D.C. for a long weekend. [*Andrew’s nieces count down days according to how many sleeps they have, it’s incredibly adorable]

f

It’s going to be a weekend filled with museums on museums on monuments AND food. We’re going to be there for 4 days, 3 nights however, only have 2 FULL days to jam pack everything we want to see and do.

Now, the crazy analytical perfectionist Virgo in me HAS TO PLAN EVERYTHING out so carefully. But to be honest, I love it! I love packing, I love making lists, I love the whole process.

So here are my tips and tricks for Packing For A Long Weekend.

(1) MAKE A LIST

e

I swear lists are SO helpful. I tend to go through my “getting ready” routine and just list out all the things I use and then minimize the list; bare necessities people. For long weekends I never think to bring shampoo&conditioner/body wash, I figure I can just use the hotel’s even though I kinda sorta loathe that but it’s a one time thing so I just deal with it.

(2) PLAN OUT YOUR OUTFITS

c

I will confess that this is the hardest part for me. I’m one of those, “I might wear this, I might need this, What if I don’t want to wear this then I’ll need a back-up”. This is where I become temerarious; (for this trip) I will only allow myself to pack 3 full outfits to wear for the whole day, PJ’s: leggings &tshirt, and the obvious bra+underwear.

(3) LAY EVERYTHING OUT

For all of you who are visual people like myself…I personally like to lay out all my clothes&shoes, accessories, toiletries, misc things before I pack it all away so I can visually see everything just to make sure. And going through the list and checking everything again.

(4) ROLL UP YOUR CLOTHES & STUFF YOUR SHOES

Not only does rolling your clothes up leave you with more space and room in your carry on (or luggage) but it also helps prevent wrinkling. Also, remember storing things inside your shoes also helps! For example I’ll put my jewelry in a sandwich bag and stuff them in my flats or boots etc.

(5) PACK IT UP

My carry on is quite small; it’s this but in black to be exact.

.g

But it’s worked for me every time I go away on long weekend trips. The material is baggy so there’s a lot of room for flexibility and shoving things in ha. Shoes at the bottom, roll up the clothes on top of shoes and then misc/toiletries on the very top.

(6) WEAR WHAT YOU CAN ON THE WAY THERE/BACK- pending that it’s a decently short flight

I know most of you, myself included want to dress comfy going to and from the airport. And TBH I generally always do, hoodie leggings kicks but it is helpful (mostly in cold weather) when you wear everything such as; the pair of shoes that are a little too bulky and take up too much room or wearing your scarf and jacket rather than packing it away. If you bring jewelry- I usually am already wearing it and only bring the stuff I already have on but making sure that its versatile and goes with every outfit.

Luckily it’ll be easier for me this time because I’m going to the airport from work and going from the airport to work so I’ll be able to utilize #6 the the fullest. Also from Boston to DC the flight it only 1.5 hours give or take. Otherwise to hell with it, dress comfy esp if its a longer flight! 🙂

Any tips and tricks you’d like to share, PLEASE DO!!! I love any and all advice!

Happy Hump Day!!

xo, JJ

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Very nice! Lists in deed are the key! Great tips, I would add maybe some power snacks for on the go 🙂
    Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      omg yes snacks are a must!! Good thinking!!

      xo, JJ

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You can’t forget that haha

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome post. Lists are a must! Even grocery shopping- if I think I’ll remember an item that’s not written down, I always forget to buy it. Xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Right! I’m the same and the grocery store is so tedious to me so it’s hell if I forget even one thing! I think the only exception is Target, I’ll have a list but I end up buying the entire store instead. Thanks for reading!

      xo, JJ

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You are very organized – I need my lists too. My husband is a Virgo…….I get it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      hahah ah yes virgos and their perfectionist analytical mindset! whats your sign?!

      Like

Leave a Reply

