Washington DC Trip: Part I

Hey everyone, Happy Monday Funday!

So, GOOD NEWS:

1. Andrew and I made it back from our DC trip; it was AMAZING!

2. Congrats to Bethany and Shawn on their newly born baby girl; Payton Lee! Yay xo

Okay so today I’m going to share Part 1 of the DC trip and I’m sooo excited to share with all of you. Before anything though I must forewarn you I have an excessive amount of pictures to share (it’s not even half of what I took) but the pictures are basically auriferous 🙂

Overall the trip was everything I imagined and more. So thankful for Andrew and all that he’s done and all the driving and navigating he did. Sigh, I  don’t think I can ever stop saying how good he is and how even better he is to me.

Part 1 consists of flying out Friday night after work (brutally tired by the time we landed, got the rental car, grabbed food, drove to the hotel, showered, and then finally crashed for the night at approx 1am) to Saturday’s all day adventures. Here we go…

At Logan waiting for our flight, boarded at about 810pm and jetted off to DC.

1

My favorite guy and I featuring THE WORST coffee I’ve ever had

The next morning…

2

Even staying at a hotel, Andrew in true fashion always ends up making the bed. And the view from the room at sunrise & sunset….perfect.

We got ready for the day, headed to get coffee and breakfast-

3

And then headed right towards the museums.

So little did we know the National Mall area is also where all the Smithsonian Museums were AND also where the Capitol Building, the George Washington Monument stands, the World War II memorial, and the reflecting pool/Lincoln Memorial. So needless to say it was a one stop trip; however from the Capitol allll the way to the Lincoln Memorial is about a 2mile walking distance. So there was A LOT of walking involved (I would love to have counted my steps for the day)

The first museum we went to: Archives of the USA to see the Constitution, Declaration of Independence..

4

The funny thing is The Declaration of Independence was literally SO faint, you could barely even see whats written on it, but it was also printed on the doors of the elevator so basically, we came to see the elevator.

26

Next, the National Museum of Natural History

5

I took a ton of pictures of the inside, there was literally a little bit of everything in there; marine life, animals, gems, fossils, insects, etc.

z.jpg

But of course, I’m just going to share my favorite animal and me.

Then, The National Air and Space Museum

7

This was my second favorite. It was funny because on the plane ride over I was like, “its so weird how planes just stay in the air…how does it just float in the air like that…”

And then we came across this exhibit, which basically explained everything that Andrew ALMOST said.

8

9

We decided to take a lunch break and went to this cool hipster-ish cafe that was within walking distance called: WEST WING CAFE. Real good place for fresh sandwiches, salads, fruit smoothies, basically everything we were looking for.

It also so happened to be GORGEOUS (on both the days we were exploring) warm fall weather.So we frolicked around and went to go see The Capitol building.

10

11

This was definitely one of my favorite things to see.

We didn’t even really plan on going in here but we had to use the rest room and The Contemporary Art Museum was the closest to us- so we went in.

13

I was glad we made that decision- because it was actually quite invigorating.

For example: HA

12

After, we were pretty close to the George Washington Monument so we decided to head in that direction.

14

19

Excuse the cheesiness.

After the monument is the World War II memorial, which was probably my favorite sight-seeing thing.

15

16

25

It looks something like this, a huge fountain in the middle and surrounding it are columns of each state. It was really cool seeing other people take pictures under their designated state so we did too of course.

18

And then Andrew wanted one of WV, because that’s where he went to school

17

What a stud muffin 😉

From there was the famous Reflecting Pool.

From one end facing the Lincoln Memorial (again, excuse the cheesiness)

20

21

And from the opposite end facing the Monument

22

29

And then, The Lincoln Memorial

23

24

By then my feet were throbbing, so we had to call it a day and leave the National Mall.

We went back to the hotel, chilled for a while, looked up some dinner places.

Andrew found this really good Italian restaurant in Georgetown called Flavio.

Oh my, it was absolutely delicious. And Georgetown in itself did not disappoint. We didn’t get to explore there too much that night because we were hungry and exhausted but the downtown was filled with shops and eatery places. My kind of place to be. 27

28

And that concludes Part 1 of DC.

Come back tomorrow for Sunday-Monday!

xo, JJ

12 thoughts on “Washington DC Trip: Part I

    • lovejennyxo says:

      absolutely its such a cute city; the trip in itself is so cheap because literally all the sightseeing things, parking, and museums are FREE which is hard to come by these days. Perfect little long weekend getaway!!

      Like

  1. Mack says:

    That’s part one?!?? Dang girl, you guys were busy!! But it looked like ssoooooo much fun. You definitely are doing DC right! And you guys are the cutest. These pictures are AWESOME and I cannot wait to read part 2!! xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

