My 2016 Hair Transformation

As a self proclaimed girly-girl, my hair is something that I without a doubt make sure is taken care of and looking its best at all most times.

I’m notorious for drastically  switching up my hair color; dark to light, light to dark, long to short back to long, it’s always changing.

So here is my 2016 Hair Transformation, ya’ll ready?!

END OF 2015 my hair was like this; light brown with soft caramel highlights

1

BEGINNING OF 2016, I went back to my natural; DARK! This was literally the second day after dying it basically black. This is going to sound crazy but EVEN THOUGH its my natural color, it just scares me I’m not used to having this dark of hair, and I end up hating it!

3

Long & Dark

2

16.jpg

My hair ended up growing even longer than that, probably another 3 inches *yikes*

So then I-

decided I was going to do ombre. I cut and started the lightening process

4

 Going from almost black hair to bleach blonde is a PROCESS! If you’ve done it before then YOU KNOW. Not only can you not do it in one sitting but you go through orange- brassy yellow stages and it’s NOT CUTE!

After a few times of going back to add/tone the existing blonde

310

It started getting better but then, as always it fades and goes brassy

12

And shortly after I went to Florida, the sun turned it bright yellow

6

To which, I had to go back and tone/add more bleach

So when you tone your hair, it essentially makes your hair darker to cut out any brassy unwanted tones so my hair looked like it was back to dark here-

11

But after a few routine washes it went back to a blonde but I was struggling with the brassy tone, it just kept coming back because each time I added blonde higher up, it had to go through the dark hair

136

17

Toned it again and finally it was coming to a nice soft ashy blonde

12

Once I reached this stage I stopped with the hair appointments to let me hair breath. At the end of November right before Disney, I went one last time for a toning.

So with some Florida sun it’s currently like this – It’s the best ashy blonde tone, hasn’t gone brassy AT ALL *hallelujah* and I’m growing my hair out long again 🙂  I don’t plan on going in for another hair appointment for a while now- I’m hoping to go as far as March without having to touch anything up.

11

18

18

16

So if I can estimate how many times in 2016 I went to the hair salon to either add color or tone my hair, or both to get to this blonde I’d say about 8 times. CRAZY, I know. But each and every time my hair dresser was amazed at how healthy my hair was for being processed that many times in a short period of time.

So, how do I do it? 

THIS PORTION OF THE POST IS DEDICATED TO FRAN PAGE whom always complements my hair and asks for a hair care post 🙂

My hair is naturally VERY thick (luckily); it’s definitely on the drier side (with all the bleach) however, with extensive care; it’s soft, silky, smooth, and I’ve brought back nourishment and moisture into my stands.

Products I use:

Shampoo & Conditioner: I typically rotate between these brands

OGX, Loreal, & Garnier Fructis

I always just look for ones that locks in moisture, has damage relief, resists breakage/split ends, healing + vitamins all those good things +more.

Leave in Conditioner + Oils: Every now and then I will use a leave in conditioner or an oil mask. These are what REALLY helps nourish my hair. So my go to’s are:

The It’s a 10 spray, I’ll use immediately upon getting out of the shower.

Coconut Oil I throw in my hair at least once a week for about an hour before I’m about to shower. During the heavy bleaching time I was doing it practically every other day.

I also have used Macadamia Oil and anything with 100% Argon Oil. Hair masks SAVED my hair 10000%.

TIPS AND TRICKS

1. 9/10 times I let my hair air dry

2. Use heat protectant spray; It’s a 10 works for that!

3. I wash my hair the least amount of times a week possible (typically every other day BUT sometimes I try to go 2-3 days without washing it- HELLO DRY SHAMPOO!)

4. I rarely throw my hair up to prevent breakage

5. Get trims and cuts; dead ends are unnecessary!

Before this post gets any longer, I’m going to end it at that! If you have any questions feel free to ask! Share your hair stories and transformations too, I want to know!! ANDDD please leave me all hair suggestions too, I love new tips and tricks!

xo, JJ

46 Comments Add yours

  1. Your hair is gorgeous! Seriously, whatever you do with it, whether it’s light or dark or short or long, it just looks beautiful! I have heard so many good things about It’s a 10 products. I think a hairdresser used them on my hair once and I loved the way it looked. This post totally reminded me I need to get a trim, too. No more dead ends!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Aw Allie, thank you!! I miss my long hair so much, I had to keep getting cuts because the bleach killed my ends but it’s finally at the stage where I can let it grow out without having to worry about my ends *thank the Lord!* It’s a 10 is so great, and it helps that it smells sooo good!! I’ve only ever tried the leave in miracle spray butttt I’m sure all their other products work wonders! Get that trim girl 😉 xo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. WithHelena says:

    Wow you have such stunning hair!! love how you style it xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Aw thank you!!! I love curling it but I only ever really curl it one way so I need to try and learn new techniques lol xo

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Your hair is just beautiful! I’ve always wanted to go blonde but I’m so scared of that in between stage haha. If you want to keep your hair ashy then silver shampoo is such a lifesaver! My sister uses it all the time on her dyed blonde hair and I use it on my highlights sometimes – it gets rid of that bronze yellow-y colour without having to put toner on it! You’ve inspired me to do something different with my hair this new year! It’s been the same for a while but I think it’s great to experiment with different colours and styles! I think all of yours have worked really well for you 😊 xxx

    Liked by 2 people

  4. You have such pretty hair and skin! Gahhh!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Aw thank you so much for your sweet comment!!! Appreciate it girlie xoo

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Your hair is so pretty! I wish I could pull mine off in so many different styles like you have. I am definitely going to try coconut oil for my hair. Thanks for the idea!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Thank you!!! I love switching it up, I tend to get bored easily so I always need change lol I think thats why I like the blonde because it keeps me on my toes and also helps give me more dimension it always looks different pending on lighting or style. But yes coconut oil is a life savior, it’s honestly great for everything; hair, skin, cooking!!! A total must have!! 🙂 xo

      Liked by 1 person

  6. luimariablog says:

    Can I just say that ur hair is gorgeous? ❤ and its so cool that u do so much with ur hair… I'm way too scared to do anything drastic to my hair – my rebellious moment was getting it cut from waist length to shoulder length ❤ love it though haha

    Liked by 3 people

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      You had waist length hair?!?! Holy moly girl- getting a haircut can for SURE be a drastic change from those two lengths, do you ever miss it being that long? And thank youu for your sweet words, always appreciated!! xoxo

      Liked by 2 people

      1. luimariablog says:

        haha thanks! I think the people around me miss my long hair more than me haha! I used to have people who would randomly play with it, and now they have stopped (yay!!) ❤ ❤ plus, I had had long hair since I was 5 (from doing ballet) so it was a little strange at first to see me with such short hair 😉 xx

        Liked by 3 people

      2. lovejennyxo says:

        Lol I know that feeling about having long hair, something about it makes people want to touch and play with it! I’m glad that you loved the change sometimes thats what we need in life 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      3. luimariablog says:

        haha yes! yeah, it definitely made me feel a lot more grown up 😉 ❤

        Liked by 2 people

  7. Whatever color you had, it all looks great on you! I do admit the blond is pretty nice. I love how voluminous your fringe is. I wouldn’t dare trying it with my hair. It stays cute for a couple of minutes, to take a picture and then it’s flat again…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Aw thank you!!! I’ve definitely fallen in love with the blonde- its nice because closer to my roots it’s still on the darker side so I’m not completely blonde from root to end which is nice because I don’t have to keep up with it as much. But girl I feel you, I battle with flat hair too- sometimes thick hair is a curse because it’s so heavy that it’ll just fall flat- and if thats the case I end up clipping it up to hold it back a tad. Thanks for reading!! xoxox

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi LoveJennyXo, My Favorite Hair Color Will Be Light Shades Of Scandinavian Blonde!!!!!!!!!!!!

        Liked by 2 people

      2. lovejennyxo says:

        I totally agree I love the Scandinavian blonde tone, if only could rock that lol

        Liked by 1 person

  8. TheLivingMe says:

    Ahhhh your hair is beautiful every single color… Or is it just you? 😊😊 How much money do you think you’ve spent on your hair at the salon ?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Oh my goodness if that wasn’t the nicest complement, idk what is! Thank you!!! So ombre’s and balayage process’ typically just START at 100, but I was lucky because my coworker had a colorist she’s been going to for a while and for the first two times I went she charged only 50 and then 40 the next! When I went back for toning sessions only $15, unreal prices. She was however a little bit of a drive to get to so I started looking in my area and found a groupon for $80 at a salon (kinda skeptical) but I ended up LOVING my colorist, she was amazing and its been cheaper each time I’ve gone (toning about 40). Although its cheap it certainly added up in the end!! But its honestly worth it to me lol Thanks for reading!! xo

      Like

  9. What gorgeous hair colours! Loved reading this hair transformation 🙂 Just wanted to say thank you for you following my blogmas this christmas 🙂 Ive given you a shoutout in https://beyoutifulinsideoutblog.wordpress.com/2016/12/25/its-christmaaaassss-a-little-message-for-all-of-you-lovelies-xo/ XO

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Aw thats so sweet! Thank youu 🙂 I’m heading over there now to check it out!!! And per usual, thanks for reading! xo

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Girl, you look great with your hair all these ways. You are so cute!! One time I went from super dark to blonde, and it was a huge mistake. I went through that not cute brassy phase, and it actually turned orange! Plus my hair was all damaged and dried out. I had to keep getting glazes. Nothing worked. I had to go back to dark haha. That was like 5 years ago. Needless to say, I never dyed my hair again. I just sport my natural brunette! Happy near year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      That is the worst; hair is SO temperamental. I remember after the first time I started the process of getting a blonde ombre, and the day after my IT guy was like “Jenny why does your hair look burnt orange” I just died right there and then LOL And its the worst because you can’t even go back immediately after since the hair is already so damaged. Brunettes do have it so good though, no upkeep and saves A TON of money! You have a gorgeous chocolate brown that suits you perfectly!!! xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you!! Haha yes I think someone called my hair orange, too. One of my students!!!! Kids don’t lie. Lol

        Liked by 1 person

  11. You look beautiful with all the looks! Lucky girl. I want thicker hair too XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Thank you!!! I love your thoughtful feedback! Thick hair is nice but definitely a challenge. There’s times I wish it wasn’t this thick so I could tame it with less effort lol xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol it is heavy for sure. But it means you have unlimited hair to loss XD

        Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Thank you Diana!! Day made 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Love Angela says:

    your hair is beautiful!! it looks so good in every single picture! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Hi Angela, thank you so much for your sweet comment- I feel like I’m doing something right 🙂 xoxo

      Like

  13. Wow you’ve got such amazing hair!! I really like how it looks right now ! So nice. Thanks for the tips for healthy hair – mine is soooo straw like from all the bleaching! So I’ll give them a go ☺️ xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Aw thanks Jess 🙂 bleach is so bittersweet. I love the blonde but it definitely kills me hair…but absolutely any type of oil or conditioner will help revive it! xo

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Mackenzie says:

    Your hair is literally perfection. And you can pull off anything!! Thank you SOOO much for sharing your tips at the end. I definitely need to start doing the coconut masks and using the heat protectant more…. I slack on that! But your hair is my motivation! Haha. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      LOL God I love ya! Coconut oil works wonders….and you can cook with it! (; Double whammy! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Girl, you seem to be able to pull of any hairstyle!! They all look gorgeous on you, and your hair just looks so healthy and thick – me wantssss. Really loving the way you have it right now, but i bet you would look stunning with even shorter hair as well! Like a bob hair style kinda thing with blonde stripes or all dark! ‘Everything suits the beautiful one/alt kler den smukke’ – as the saying goes in Norway! xxx, Ingrid.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Ah I love that nice little Norwegian saying, you’re the sweetest Ingrid ❤ My best friend has been trying to convince me to cut it even shorter- I used to rock a long bob which I loved but it semi makes me nervous because after a month of cutting it I totally get long hair withdrawls lol I'm thinking though once I grow it out for a while and get sick of it, I'll go back to short again ha Thanks for your sweet words!!! xo

      Liked by 1 person

  16. afrilly says:

    Such a neat post! It was a very interesting read. : )

    Your hair is so gorgeous now, I’d say all those appointments were definitely worth it! (Although you looked great in all those photos – even when you went dark!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Aw thank you!!! I know, after having the dark for a while, I definitely got used to it and it’s totally way less maintenance butttt I for sure love the blonde just a tad bit more 🙂 Thanksfor reading!!! xoxox

      Liked by 1 person

  17. mrsbriejones says:

    Love this post! I went platinum this year from dark brown so I know the struggle of the multiple appointments and the brassy yellow color. Your hair looks amazing and super healthy, so kudos to you and your hairdresser for taking great care of it during the process.

    Love your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      YESS someone that understands the struggles! lol It’s literally THE worst transition but once it finally starts to mesh into the color you want its all so worth it! Do you have before and after pictures? instagram? I would love to see the difference!! xo

      Like

  18. tayxjordan says:

    Uou look great with your hair all these ways. You are so cute!! One time I went from brown to blonde, and it was a huge mistake. I went through that not cute brassy phase, and it actually turned orange! Plus my hair was all damaged and dried out. I had to keep getting glazes. Nothing worked.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      oh girl, I know that is the worst transition phase ever!!! I remember someone referring to my hair is “burnt orange” and I just died right there lol but now that it’s where it’s at now, I guess it was all worth it ha what are glazes? is that like toning? And thank you for your sweet comment, so very much appreciated!!! xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

