DAY TRIP: Portland, ME

Hello bloggers, readers, and Thursday!

Today I’m going back in time to Monday 1/2/17. I still can’t believe its 2017; and that 10 years ago I graduated high school?! And 6 years ago, college?! Okay fast forward again to Monday.

Yes, my me and Andrew’s Monday Funday Adventure. We both had Monday off, it was fairly nice out, and it was my last day of the long weekend… So what better than to go on our first day trip in 2017!

We were brainstorming different ideas and places until Andrew suggested we go back to:

PORTLAND, MAINE

We had gone last August, Andrew planned it for my birthday and both of us loved it out there! You can read our Maine Adventures HERE

9

3

The Piscataqua Bridge to know we’ve made it into Maine!

4

Love this guy entirely too much!

10

Entering Downtown Portland #wemadeit

5

I personally love Portland not only because it’s right on the water but I love the brick buildings in their downtown and the mesmerism cobblestone streets. Their downtown is actually quite large, filled with stores, shops, retail, bakeries, restaurants, bars & taverns- you get the idea.

2

7

It’s actually even larger than I thought. The last time we came we explored the 2 parallel streets but this time we went even deeper and noticed it extends back even further.

8

15

We also went back to the same spot we took pictures last time by the water-

12

11

And these were from the summer

And then one last picture before dinner time by the cobblestone streets.

13

We were debating on going to the same restaurant we went to last time; DiMillios (omg, I loveddd it there)

But we decided to try somewhere new which I always am down for new

16

My haddock and Andrew’s salmon were cooked to perfection. We also had some oyster meatballs- delicious. Very happy we tried this place!

And just like that, it was 6PM, pitch black out so we headed back to home bound.

It was a perfect little day trip!

xo, JJ

52 Comments Add yours

  1. I love it! What a cute town! Thanks for sharing !

    http://www.queencitypetite.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      So cute, great place to adventure to! Thanks for reading and for your sweet feedback xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ❤ have a great day beautiful!

        Like

  2. Salmon is my absolute favorite meal! I bet it was just the best here! Love the pictures of the city! It seems so cute!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Salmon is definitely a favorite of ours…. weird question but do you like yours seared or grilled lol I was just having this conversation with Andrew last night and I was saying I like mine seared because I love the softness of it. But I think hes more of a grilled type.

      Like

  3. ayrgalaxy says:

    Every time I see Portland I’m like “Heeeyyy…oh wait… nevermind.”
    But if I remember correctly, birds and bridges creep you out. We have both of those and a lot of them lol.

    I love it that you guys call it downtown Portland too lol. And it also sounds the same as over here. E have plenty of little shops all over the city. Both well known and others that are like hidden gems. I love the cobblestone streets though. Our max runs through the city so we have regular streets lol.

    I love the sculptures right in the middle. We have sculptures all over the place too. Omg they sound like sister cities! Lol. Sorry I’m excited lol.

    So cool!! 🙂 and how far is Portland from you guys?

    Like

  4. Looks like you had such a great time! By the way i looveee your hair!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Aw thank youu!!!! Such a sweet complement. It was definitely a great time, thanks for reading girlie xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  5. afrilly says:

    Yay, how fun! I’m mighty jealous. : ) Such a picturesque place!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Thank you, it really is pretty there I think its the color of the brick against the gravel and cobblestone contrast. And then I love that just across the street is the water! Perfect little place! Thanks for reading! xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. afrilly says:

        Very cool! : ) If you’re ever in Canada, you should check out Vieux-Québec in Quebec City. It’s also got the brick, cobblestone, near water, old-timey feel, and it’s /très French/. :p :p

        Like

  6. How fun! I love it back east! Everywhere you go just has the best feeling and there are so many cute shops and the best food!! I’m a little jealous! Lol
    Melanie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      The food is definitely great here, especially if you’re a seafood lover. I love the East coast for sure, born and raised over here but I do love that each of the coasts are all so different, it makes traveling so much more fun. What places in the East Coast have you been so far?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have been to the Maryland/Virginia area… did the whole capital scene and the beach! It was fun for sure, new atmosphere since I am from the west coast so I loved it! Still trying to make my way to New York sometime! anywhere there is good seafood and I’m there! Lol

        Like

  7. fadedrouge says:

    That looks beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Portland really is. I think its the elegance of the brick buildings they just look clean and sleek, I love it too! Thanks for reading! xo

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Madi says:

    Looks like you had a great trip!! I love the photos. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Thanks Madi, it was such a fun spontaneous little day trip! Thanks for reading sweet girl!!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Chiqutita Home stay says:

    Interested

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Thanks for reading xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  10. LOVE this new jacket!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Ah its literally amazing to have a WARM jacket. I go outside and I’m like wow thats weird I’m not freezing to death lol Thanks to Kathy!!!

      Like

  11. Cute post 🙂 🙂 You look so pretty. Love the photos, the sights look so beautiful ❤ ❤ I just started a twitter, and sent a request to follow you x x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Aw thank you!!! And yes I got the request and followed you back (YAY!!) its official and welcome to the twitter world xoxox

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Your welcome 🙂 🙂 Yay, thank you so much ❤ ❤ x x

        Like

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Oh yes definitely a nice little seaport kind of town! Thanks for reading xo

      Like

  12. Awww daytrips are so fun! Never knew about Portland, Maine, but you’re right it’s beautiful :)) cobblestone streets are always special bc they’re unusual & I mean how long have they been there?? Like what historical figures walked on the same street?! that’s what I always think!
    I just moved to North Dakota, so soon we will be taking day trips around the area when the weather allows. Also, that’s a cool bridge — bridges are always fun moments on road trips lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Woah girl, I love that thought (historical figures walking on that same street) So true, now I’m going to be thinking that everywhere I go! I have a friend over in S.Dakota and she literally always snaps me all the snow they get over there! It makes me feel a little bit better about New England weather though lol Is it still like that currently?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh wow, I have not been to S.Dakota yet but I hear it’s just as snowy as here! Yeah, I think it stays winter here like 8 months out of the year or something lol it’s okay there it’s really pretty so far :))

        Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Thanks Alicia!! And thank you for reading xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Jess says:

    Hi Jenny! Lovely post and cute pics!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Aw thank you for reading and for the sweet feedback! xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Jess says:

        Uwc 😊 😊

        Like

  14. Portland looks like such a great city! I love the brownstone buildings and the cobbled streets ☺️ You guys have so many incredible places to visit in the US! xxx

    Like

  15. 1weekmaryx says:

    Damn, Portland looks beautiful! These pictures are stunning, I’m glad you guys enjoyed your day trip, what a trip to go on! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Aw thank you!! It’s a great place, a tinyyy bit better in the summer but definitely a great little day trip!

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Mackenzie says:

    Whattt I am obsessed. That place looks magical. I didn’t know there was a Portland, Maine! Ahhh I have to add it to my bucket list (which has expanded greatly from blogging). And Oyster Meatballs- you go, my lil foodie, you. So proud ❤ That sounds soo tasty! What a fun day!!!! Ya’ll are too cute.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      I know right I swear after seeing blog posts after blog posts of all the different places, my traveling list is becoming so long and slightly overwhelming and my wallet seems to be shrinking lol If you come to the east coast you’ll just have to do like a 2 week trip to cover everything 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mackenzie says:

        LOL. GIRL. You and me both (about the wallets!). And YESS. That would be a literal dream. DJ and I are already getting the itch to move again, so maybe east coast next?!. Hahha.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. xoJenny says:

        I’m sure you already know my opinion on that….YES a million times YES! 😉 xo

        Liked by 1 person

  17. K.M. Sutton says:

    I heart this blog post so much especially since I am already homesick! I grew up seventy-five minutes from Portland and always fly into the airport there. If you guys ever stay the night, I highly recommend Top of the East ESPECIALLY at sunset. It is stunning with views of Portland and the ocean. Also The Grill Room and Fore Street are two of my favorite restaurants. Oh and there is a coffee shop called Arabica. So yummy and cozy. Oh my gosh now I am hungry AND homesick 😉 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lovejennyxo says:

      Is Top of the East right in that downtown area? I for sure think we’ll be going back again this summer, we just love it there! Also totally noting those restaurants, we were yelping places to eat but like every place is 4+ stars so it was so hard to just choose one lol so we ended up just choosing the one closest to where we were at that exact moment. Now I feel more prepared for next time 🙂 Thanks for the suggestions theyre always appreciated!!! xoxox

      Liked by 1 person

      1. K.M. Sutton says:

        It might be more outskirts of downtown. It is amazing! When I get sick of New York I could see myself moving there.
        Haha it really is! Everything is so yummy! Fore Street does require reservations in advance, though they also do have some tables set aside for walk ins. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  18. Love this! Wish I could visit Maine, a little bit far for me! 🙂 Perhaps this summer!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Maine is great but definitely a little bit of a hike!!! I’m coming from Boston so that alone is about 2 hours… Where are you from?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m from Northern NJ, so Maine is about 5-6 hours for me 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. xoJenny says:

        oh yikes, yeah now I see what you mean lol thats a hike!

        Like

  19. Krista Aoki says:

    I’ve been wanting to go to Portland Maine for a little while now! I rarely make it to the East Coast. Wow, what freaking amazing pictures though! It looks like a quaint town. Aaand you and your boyfriend are so cute!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Portland is surely a must-go! Of course definitely more in the summer months since it’s surrounded by water but its such a great little town! Where do you live if you don’t mind me asking!

      Like

Leave a Reply

