The Weekend of Unfortunate Events

Good morning everyone πŸ™‚

First things first, on the behalf of Andrew- he wanted to thank each and every one of you for wishing him a Happy Birthday in my last blog post. So much love and it was all very much appreciated. I truly feel like you guys are all my extended family ❀

So this weekend, eh…

Well, as most of you could’ve assumed, today would’ve been my Miami recap…so why is it not?

Because our flight was CANCELEDΒ *insert ALL the sad faces here*

So if you’re not caught up in the news over here in the US, there was a shooting at the Fort Lauderdale airport, which also happened to be the airport that Andrew and I were suppose fly into.

In the grand scheme of things, we’re very very thankful that we were not there at the time that this horrific event occurred. It’s kind of crazy to think that on multiple occasions prior to our fly date Andrew and I were trying to see if we could change our flights to an earlier one, well thank GOD we didn’t. Bless the hearts of those who passed, were hurt, and the family and friends of those people.

We did inevitably change our flight to two weekends from now and we were able to switch our hotel dates around to accommodate our new travel days. So in the midst of everything nothing was immutable and everything was done pretty smoothly. AND to justify a little bit more, I’m pretty sure it was cold and rainy there this past weekend. So we have a second chance!

I swear occurrences such as this helps me affirm that ‘everything happens for a reason‘ It just wasn’tΒ the right time for us to be down there and we have something to look forward to in the upcoming weeks now πŸ™‚

SATURDAY

So as if it wasn’t bad enough that we weren’t able to fly out, well, we got snowed in too!

4.jpg

Andrew and I were suppose to go up to visit his grandmother for her birthday but because of the snow we decided driving in it was a no-go.

Instead, we made a trip to the grocery store and gathered materials to make pulled pork in the slow cooker ft homemade coleslaw and baked beans

9

All while I was battling this awful zit (ughhh!!) with some good ol’ home remedies. Seriously SO thankful for home remedies, it cured my skin!

6

zit cream for the win aka tooth paste!!!

Some snapchat fun

5

7

8

my favorite human ❀ #MCM

That night, we watched some basketball and I read some blogs

10

And popcorn!Β The movie theater butter kind, of course!

11

SUNDAY

It finally had stopped snowing so we were anxious to go out and adventure.

13

14

We decided to visit Andrew’s grandmother since we couldn’t Saturday. We also made some pit stops to the mall and his parents house..

15

I love their house so much, it screams home and is always so warm and comforting. Not to mention its absolutely beautiful inside! #goals

And the rest of the night was spent like so…plus football, a lot of football.

12

ONE LAST THING

I want to share my planner that I ordered right off of Amazon that I’m obsessed with…

Meet my Bloom Planner

2

Originally, I wanted to buy myself an Erin Condren planner but guys, it’s like $50+ to customize it and such. They’re beautiful and I WILL one year get myself one buttt being on a budget Amazon works wonders.

At the beginning of each month they have these two pages so you can literally put in your goals and things you want to accomplish for the month. Which I thought to be handy for all you new year(s) goal/resolution setters.

3

And the inside is like so…

1

However, I took this picture prior to Miami so right now this week isn’t looking so neat and organized anymore lol

But nevertheless, I’m in love with it!

How was everyone else’s weekend? Did you guys get any snow wherever you are?

xo, JJ

46 thoughts on “The Weekend of Unfortunate Events

    • xoJenny says:

      It’s so crazy how that just happens but even more crazy that these shootings are happening more often then not. It’s really so sad. And thank you- totally love the planner, I have such a weird obsession with planners I’d have 10 if I could even use 10 at a time lol

      Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh I know it was such a mess, once the event occurred our airline kept sending us notifications that our flight was going to be delayed. It finally stopped and was like okay 9:10PM is your flight time; we consistently checked it until we were about to leave- and once we were about to walk out the door- canceled lol But yeah, still a decently good weekend so we can’t even complain! Thanks for reading xo

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Precious says:

    Wow, it’s crazy how things happen for a reason. My mom always tells me “every disappointment is a blessing in disguise” and this certainly proves it right! Glad you’re okay.
    On a lighter note, I absolutely love the planner! I’ve been meaning to get a fancy one but they can be pretty expensive and I’m on a budget as well so Amazon it is! Haha nice post, have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Aw, your mom is a smart women, I 100% believe that too. We may not have the answers as to why things happen but I truly believe they happen with purpose! And the planner is great, definitely amazon it up…and/or Target πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. milenkamillie βœ¨β„οΈ says:

    So so glad that you guys weren’t there when the shooting happened! It’s always so sad hearing about things like this in the news and thinking that even just a few minutes or hours could have made a huge difference in someone’s life πŸ˜” But, on a more positive note, it sounds like you had a lovely weekend to make up for your flights being cancelled, though! I can’t believe how much snow you guys get all the time πŸ˜… Your new planner is sooooo pretty and the pages look so cute. I really need to get a planner to stay more organised but I always forget to buy one when I’m out shopping ahaha. Luckily your Miami trip hasn’t been postponed to too long away and I guess it gives you extra time to prepare and get any last minute clothes shopping done! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Millie, you are so right everything always relies on timing- timing is everything.. But absolutely thankful and thankful for your sweet thoughts! You have such an endearing and optimistic perspective on life. I’m definitely excited that we have something to look forward to again- and good idea on the more clothes shopping πŸ˜‰

      Like

  3. thefloridiangirl says:

    Aw no!!!! So happy that you guys are safe and that your flight wasn’t before that chaos so you luckily were not there when it happened. So sad that happened. So awesome everything worked out though that you can still come in a couple weeks! You’ll have better weather then anyways!!! I thought that might have happened that it must’ve interfered with your flight when I noticed I saw no Florida sunshine snaps! But now I get to look forward to them still anyways!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I know we’re totally thankful for that as well. And hoping that better weather will be our silver lining lol I was actually thinking about the people that followed me to follow along on the trip and instead all I had was pictures of the snow haha but for sure next weekend, I’ll have sunny beach palm tree pictures! xoxox

      Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I know it’s still crazy to me how of all the airports and of all the days in the year it just happened to be on the same day, same place. Whats worse is that these horrible acts are far from unusual these days… You just never know where or when its going to happen next 😦

      Like

  4. Mackenzie says:

    OH NOOO! That didn’t even click with me that you guys could be flying into Ft. Lauderdale. What a horrible thing to have happened ☹ I am so soo glad you guys are safe- and yes, BIG thoughts & prayers with the friends and families of the victims. Gosh, breaks my heart.

    But with the change in plans- yay to not having to go into bad weather and rescheduling for an even better trip!!!!! So you have new dates sealed up then to still go?! And girl, you had me rolling about the toothpaste! I have this zit cream I put on at night sometimes and DJ calls it my β€œnight makeup” Haha. LOVE that scarf btw. Where is it from? I need to get a planner ASAP. That one is so stinking cute! It still looked like you guys had a great weekend despite the bump in the road. ❀ Have such a great week, dear!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh I know- I felt more bad for Andrew since it was his birthday, I could tell how stressed he was and after having to spend half the day put on hold with our airline. Sigh… Poor guy. But yes thankfully we re-booked everything and luckily it was all very easy to do so. So we’ll be going the weekend of the 20th. Phew! But omg, the toothpaste- it works wonders. I usually have zit cream too but it ran out and the roads were of course terrible so we couldn’t go get more so Andrew so nonchalantly was like just use toothpaste. He was right! And the scarf, I love it, but sadly I’m not sure where its from but if I could guess target, tj maxx, or marshalls πŸ˜‰ I got it as a gift from Andrew’s mom. Thanks for your support girl as per usual xo

      Liked by 1 person

  5. 50shad3s0fjay says:

    Woah for sure everything does happen for a reason, thank goodness you never booked an earlier flight and now you have something to look forward to.
    So sad about the shooting πŸ˜” I wish we lived in a world where things like this didn’t exist!
    Glad you managed to get down to Andrews g-ma’s in the end, not all was lost haha!
    Also love the planner, looks perfect!! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      My thoughts exactly, where is the world peace! Its terrible to think that there may never be world peace but we still must live on! His grandma was sooo thrilled that we came by, I love seeing his soft side like that LOL thanks for reading xoxoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  6. RomanAndJesci says:

    Tell Andrew happy birthday! Glad you were able to change your flight. It’s crazy because Jesci and I were literally in that Fort Lauderdale airport at the exact same terminal just a week prior to the shooting! Jesci loves to plan and uses a daily planner as well. Glad you guys are safe!

    Roman

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      That is so eerie! It still gives me chills just thinking about it- but sooo glad it was a different day for you two, although not so glad that it happened at all. Ill be sure to tell Andrew πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for reading!!! Now I can’t wait to go read more about you and Jesci’s trip!!!

      Like

    • xoJenny says:

      Aw thank Allie, thankful for our safety too- its definitely a nice little silver lining. And we were able to rebook it all, so no harm no foul! Thank you for your sweet thoughts!! xoxo

      Like

  7. K.M. Sutton says:

    Sending you huge huge hugs. I am so happy you are safe. It is crazy how life works out for the better or for the worst. With a lot of stuff that has happened here, it has made me incredibly grateful for each moment we have. Hang in there sweets ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

