5 Things Today

Good morning blogging friends, IRL friends, randoms that come across my page, and Andrew 🙂

I have esperance that today flies on by so that I can be reunited with my bed because I’m feeling a taddd bit under the weather. I was fine Monday, Tuesday, and come Wednesday I work up with a cold. Not cool. OJ and DayQuil it is.

So lets see, today I’ve listed out 5 random miscellaneous things I want to share with you all, I guess you could say my shorter version of a ‘Life Lately’-

1. DIY Ice Cream Cookie Sandwiches

I love baking cookies from scratch, they come out so much better than pre-made cookie dough that you just stick in the oven and viola! Although, I agree- it’s quick and easy. I do however LOVE these sugar cookies that come out with the holidays…3

All Christmas long, Andrew and I were searching grocery store after grocery store for the Christmas Tree ones, and they were legit sold out everywhere! Total bummer.

But just last week, we hit up the grocery store and BAM, the Valentines Day ones were out. They are my absolute favorite when they come right out of the oven; soft, chewy, warm, deliciousness. 4

And thennn, one night; I had the idea to create my own cookie ice cream sandwiches, and so, I did just that. I had some green tea ice cream in the fridge, plopped some onto the cookie and ate it like so. #perfectmidnightsnack5

2. I’ve Started A New NETFLIX Series!

YAS. Finally! Okay when I was young preteen Jenny, I LOVED these book series. And once I laid eyes on the preview and noted that it was coming out on Netflix…I was ecstatic. 2

It’s no Narcos, Dexter, Breaking Bad, all the other addictive series…but it’s a good end of the night, while Andrew’s at the gym, while I fold laundry, before I go to bed show to watch. Also- Look at that Rotten Tomato score!

3. Patriots Day The Movie5

Okay so this movie is based off of the Boston Marathon bombing back in 2013. First of all I can’t believe it was over 3 years ago, it seems so recent… But nevertheless absolutely crazy, the Boston Marathon is one of the biggest events that’s held every single year on Patriots Day and it was such a horrific terrorist attack that our city had to endure. #BostonStrong

Needless to say, its out in theaters right now, but Andrew somehow finds these movies so that we can watch them at home, and thank God we did. I couldn’t even bare to watch it. Just watching the hollywood reenactment was giving me anxiety, which also lead my mind to wander over to the Fort Lauderdale shooting and so on and so forth. We ended up turning it off and put on A Series Of Unfortunate Events.

 

4. CHRISSY TEIGEN 

You guys know who she is right? Model, John Legends wife, mother to the cutest baby ever: Luna, author of Cravings.

Well for so long, Britt was always following her and mentioning her and to be honest I didn’t think twice about her. I barely even knew who she was. Until Britt forced me to follow her on Twitter and Insta and shortly after she became one of my favorite people to follow.

Her snap stories are hilarious, her cooking looks unbelievably amazing…AND baby Luna- to die for. I totally suggest following her, if you don’t already.

6

I think of all celebrities, she’s the most real, down to earth, says it like it is kind of person and I love her for that. Exhibit A:
7

Also, if you love cooking and cook books I highly suggest getting her book Cravings. And if you actually read the little excerpts inside they’re so funny!
2

Britt has it too 🙂11.jpg

Andddddd….

5. MIAMI

Andrew and I are finally going on our Miami trip…TOMORROW1

After it being postponed from when we were initially suppose to go. 8

We’re staying right on South Beach and plan on spending the day right on the beach so please weather gods, give us sun!

Also, Andrew is so adamant that we’re only eating Cuban food in9

Which I’m certainly not opposed to.

Anddd IF we get to it- check out a few of the museums in the Art Deco area. Amanda over at On Another Coast  She’s luckily been able to road trip every where with her boyfriend and suggested we go to this museum:10

Which I’m totally psyched for, so we may have to squeeze that in. But definitely go check out her blog, shes been to some awesome places AND if you need suggestions of anything I’m sure she could help you out!!!

Happy Thursday!!!

xo, JJ

44 Comments Add yours

  1. danniijane says:

    Those ice cream cookies are so cute! 😊 Have a wonderful break in Miami xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Right and so simple yet so tasty!! Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. YAY! I can’t wait for you!!!! You’re going to LOVE Miami! I can’t wait to read all about it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Soooo stoked thank you!! I was glancing over your most recent post, I think you posted more things Miami, I need to go back and read it in full LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Aw Chrissy Teagan is cool! Also yes A series of Unfortunate Events, I loved the books too! I’m not loving the tv show but it is an easy watch, like you said whilst folding the laundry/before bed ect! I think I preferred the original film though! X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I can’t remember if I watched the film but it sounds vaguely familiar, and I remember the actress playing Violet because I thought/still think shes so pretty! I’m going to have to go back and rewatch it though. #TEAMCHRISSY!!! 🙂 haha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah yeah Violet is gorgeous!! You should watch the film/ give it a rewatch, its so good. Only covers the first three books though.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. tiallarising says:

    Neil Patrick Harris does SUCH a good job in “A Series of Unfortunate Events”! We’ve only watch a couple of episodes so far, but definitely enjoying it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I know!! He’s awesome in that role. I’m so used to him as Barney in How I Met Your Mother, so it’s cool to see him playing something completely different. He’s definitely showing himself to be a great actor!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. tiallarising says:

        Right, I’m so used to that also, and honestly I do still see some of Barney in the Count’s character, but it just adds to the character in my opinion. He really is such a great actor!

        Like

  5. Those cookies look so cute!! xoxo Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Aw I know I love them. They’re so simple yet so yummy lol idk what it is about it- even better topped with the ice cream 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ice-cream cookie sandwiches!! YES PLEASE! I also do watch The Series of Unfortunate Events and I love it. Agree, its a bit different from what we are used to but I still like it. My husband doesn’t though but its fun, light-hearted and has good sarcasm. Everyone acts well too so its great to watch 🙂

    http://www.alifyalifestyle.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Right! Its really cute…or unfortunate….but cute lol I love the actors too they’re all really good!! It’s interesting to see Neil Patrick Harris play that kind of role rather than his usual “rich, suave” kind of role. Andrew watched one episode with me, he didn’t have much to say about it but at the same time didn’t bad mouth it #success

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha my husband did pretty much the same thing. I asked if he wanted to watch the second episode with me and he just say nah you go ahead lol but yeh I agree with you everyone plays a Todd role and that little baby is too cute not to come back to! 🙂

        Like

      2. Plays a good role*

        Like

  7. Paige's Page says:

    I’d love to hear about your Cuban food experience and to see some pictures of the stuff you tried 🙂
    Hope you guys are having a great trip!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I’m pretty excited for the Cuban food, only Cuban thing I’ve actually ever tried is a “Cuban Sandwich” LOL pretty generic so I’m excited to see what its REALLY about! Thank you for your sweet words!!! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      She’s sooo good! And Luna, ugh, I just melt!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Ice cream cookie sandwiches!!! Umm, yes please!! :))
    I have CT book too, haven’t cooked from it just yet, but the girl is so real and lovable! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I’ll let you in on a little secret but I haven’t cooked anything from it yet either LOL I’ve gone through and booked marked everything I want to make but when I look at the ingredients, I’m like “oh boy” lol But I loved just reading through it, shes too funny!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ha ha. Yes, same! She’s amazing!

        Like

  9. Katie Rose says:

    Your ice cream cookie sandwich looked delish! Have a wonderful break in Miami, take lots of pictures!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      The cookie ice cream combo was as tasty as it looked but I mean I guess you can never go wrong with cookies and ice cream period lol And thank you!!! I sure will 🙂 xo

      Liked by 1 person

  10. ayrgalaxy says:

    Your DIY ice cream cookie sandwiches looked delicious! I’ve never tried green tea ice cream before. Does it taste similar to the actual tea? Lmao

    A series of unfortunate events is one of my favorite shows this month! I love NPH and I love that every once in a while the shows mocks the viewers but in a hilarious way that you don’t mind. Lmao. Every single actor is really good!

    And sucks when even movies give you anxiety. I can’t remember what movie was on last year around this time, and the guy was hyperventilating and it triggered that memory of when I was hyperventilating that I literally got really bad anxiety. I had to walk away too but the anxiety followed me for months. A few years back when I worked at Macy’s, I think I got a call to go into work but I said no because I had school in the evening. That day there was a shooter in the mall and the shooter literally walked through Macy’s. I didn’t even know about it until my friends started texting me “are you okay? Where are you?” Sometimes I wonder the same, “what if I had been there?” But anyway, stay strong my love! At least you weren’t at the airport. And I’m glad you weren’t.

    But let’s forget about the darkness and focus on the light! Literally. Hopefully Miami will be bright and shiny! Lol. Have fun!!!! xo and please eat lots of Cuban food for me (I’ve never had it!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I love green tea everything, it does have a “tea” taste to it but the flavor is very light but I still for some reason love it! YESS NPH is awesome- I’m not used to seeing him out of a suit (How I Met Your Mother- do you watch that?) But he’s really good in that role! I love Violet, shes so pretty to me! Shes got some like Angelina Jolie lips going on there. OMG your story about Macy’s gave me the chills! Isn’t it crazy to think that the decisions we make can literally save our lives! That’s unreal though still terrifying to even think about it in retrospect. Ps- I used to work at Macys too!!! The Lancome counter lol But yes only happy thoughts! The weather is looking good down there so I’m feeling good vibes thus far! lol Thanks for your feedback Rossy, it always makes my day! xoxoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ayrgalaxy says:

        I’ll look for some green tea ice cream next time I’m in the store. I would at least like to try it! 🙂
        And we finished watching the first season of series of unfortunate events today. I really hope they keep going! And I know! It’s weird because I’m used to seeing him in suits. LOL.
        Ahh I used to do sales and then got moved to recovery but they didn’t let me move up so I quit lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. OH I adore this post. You and your BF are too cute. Those cookies look insanely good! Patriots Day has only just got released in the UK, so I’m hoping to see it t the cinema. Mark Wahlberg was recently in the town near me filming the new Transformers, I really like him as an actor!
    There’s just too much to comment on in this post. I saw the Chrissy T and her stretch marks – good for her (and the wine!) x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Ugh I love Mark, hes sooo good, such a good director as he is an actor. I didn’t even know there was going to be a new transformers movie but now I’m excited!! Good to know 🙂 Its kind of cool knowing that we get the same movies released here in the US as the UK. I never really thought about that!! Thanks for reading xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, isn’t he – I loved him in The Fighter and the series Entourage was meant to be based on his life! Geeeeeeeeeeek! I live on the coast near all this historic Navy stuff and there’s a really famous war ship they’ve ‘re-named’ and used in the new Transformers film. It’s a bit geeky but really cool that it was near my home town. How I missed him being so close I do not know! Cool to hear back from you!

        Liked by 1 person

  12. That ice cream sandwich is everything! And the green tea flavour means it’s kind of healthy doesn’t it 😅 Chrissy Teigen is the best Angel! Her tweets are hilarious. Eeeek have the most incredible time in Miami!! Can’t wait for a post about it and see photos on Insta! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I definitely like to think that the green tea ice cream is healthier 😉 we’ll just say that it is lol And now that I’m 4 days late to responding to this…Miami was so wonderful. Thank you for following along with me via social media xoxo ❤

      Like

  13. Mackenzie says:

    Ahhhh that green tea ice cream looks sooooo good. As do the cookies.. as does anything sweet.. wahhhhhh. One more day… *deep breaths* hahah. AND WHAT. I didn’t know Series of Unfortunate Events is out?!? Shoot. After Dexter we will have to watch.

    Also- about the Boston Bombings.. so so so horrible. That year I was off by 3 minutes from qualifying for the marathon, and I would have gone if I made it… but it’s just crazy how unexpected and tragic something can happen like that in the blink of an eye ☹ I’m sure it was super crazy being so close to it too for you guys. And with Fort Lauderdale.. it’s like no where is safe anymore, but we also can’t live in fear. It’s just a catch 22 a bit. :/.

    On a more positive note..LOVE Chrissey Teigan. That post she made was great. Love her sense of humor. AND YESSSSS!!!! I’m sooooo excited you guys are going! WOOOOHOOOOOO! AHHH. I can’t wait to hear allllllz about it!!!!! Hopefully you made it there safe and sound by this point. Have so much fun, love! xoxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mackenzie says:

      Teigen*** (a bit perturbed by my misspelling. Hahaha).

      Liked by 1 person

    2. xoJenny says:

      Yes girrrl, A Series Of Unfortunate Events, super cute- obviously not as intense as Dexter (which I LOVEEED, btw) but still a good watch. What season are you guys on for that now? Ah, the BM…so crazy even to this day… but what an awesome opportunity it would be to run it, you should totally try to qualify again, I feel like with you being a runner this is something you for sure need to participate in! What are the qualifications anyway? #TeamChrissy all the wayyy, ugh love her and you!!! xoxoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mackenzie says:

        Yes- I still need to watch to appease my middle school series of unfortunate events obsessed self! Haha. And we are on the third season!!!!! SOOO good. And I definitely am hoping to qualify- I’m signed up for a marathon in April, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to run due to nursing uncertainties, but that’s one of my big time goals one day!!!! I can’t wait to read ALLLL about Miami!!!!! Hope you soaked up enough sun for the both of us 😉 xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

  14. I hope you have a great time in Miami, Jenny!! That’s so exciting! I love your ice cream cookie sandwich idea. Yum! I used to babysit three kids that lived near my parents and I would get so excited because the kids’ parents would leave us one or two packages of those cookies based on whatever holiday was next. It was the best ha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Aw thank Allie! Those cookies are so good, I seriously don’t even know what it is about them that I love so much but I could probably eat a whole box full of them in one sitting haha

      Like

  15. K.M. Sutton says:

    Oh My gosh those sandwiches look amazing!
    My friend dragged me to see Patriot’s Day in theaters and I was sobbing the whole time. I have friends who are on the force and hearing them talk about it was incredibly gut wrenching. One of them actually had his photo up on CNN and his wife texted me writing that at least she knew he was safe in the moment. Having seen family and friends go through that as well as September 11 and now living in New York myself(I was near the Chelsea bombing in September) I try to avoid those movies as much as I can. Way to real for me.
    I didn’t know A Series of Unfortunate Events had been made into a series! I will have to check it out! I remember the books and the movie with Jim Carrey in it!
    Oh my gosh I love Chrissy Teigen! Do you ever watch Lip Sync Battle? If you haven’t you need to check it out! It is the best thing ever (aside from James Cordens Carpool Karaoke) If I need a pick me up, I will put it on.
    I hope you have a great weekend! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh I know, experiences like that (especially in places where you reside in) and then being turned into a movie is almost too much some times. So glad that your friend was safe that day- its absolutely saddening that these terrorist attacks even occur. On a lighter note; YES, Series of Unfortunate Events is on the flix! Oh yeaaah, I totally forgot it was Jim Carey is the one who played Count Olaf in the film! Neil Patrick Harris does great too. It’s definitely a cute little series to watch, brings me back to my childhood lol. And I don’t watch Lip Sync Battle 😦 we don’t have cable (but what channel is it on? we do have basic channels) But I always see clips of Chrissy dancing and such, God, I love her!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. K.M. Sutton says:

        It really is. Living through something once is bad enough but then to see it brought to life just brings all those memories and feelings back up ten fold. Thank you. So am I. I need him around to give me hard time about my football and hockey team choices 🙂 It really is.
        Wait what!?!?! NPH is in it? Now I have to binge watch it…Today! lol. I love him! He can do no wrong lol.
        Oh My gosh you have to watch it! Jimmy Fallon originated it on his show, and Spike TV made it into a series with Chrissy Teigen and LL Cool J. Different celebrities lip sync to songs and in the second round they go all out. I am sure the first couple seasons are on Netflix or Hulu. And different performances are on youtube. Actually you have to Youtube Anne Hathaway Wrecking Ball…You will be crying ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  16. You are too cute, and I am so jealous that you are going to Miami!!! Have fun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

