52 Week Blog Challenge: Time Management

TGIF! I have a nice short work day ahead of me and then Andrew and I will be heading to the airport to head down South. #miamiherewecome

Today is 52 Week Blog Challenge Day buttt before we get to that…

This AM I woke up before my alarm (which is no surprise with the lack of sleep from being sick *sigh*) but I also happened to check my email in bed which I never do until I get into work BUT to my surprise

5

I’m FINALLY off the wait list and subscribed to Sephora Play! I think I’ve been wait-listed for at least a good 3 months, but my time has finally come. YES!

Okay back to the blog challenge

Every Friday Britt and I link up and talk about the following topics! We wish for you all to join us; just link both of our blogs to your post so that we can follow along and blog away 🙂

2016131331547760_sbig

#15 Time Management

Well, my clock typically looks like this2

LOL. Seriously though. Especially M-F at work.

Okay but really, time management…

I’m definitely one who likes a set routine/schedule. It makes things easier, less to think about (esp in the AM) and I can just do as I normally do without thinking twice. Although don’t get me wrong doing things at my own leisure is fine by me as well- quite preferred actually when it comes to getting out of bed in the AM

Speaking of getting out of bed, lets look at my alarm clock settings M-F…3

Pretty standard. My alarm goes off at 7 but that certainly doesn’t mean I get out of bed at that time, let alone wake up 😉 More like 7:27… Yes that’s snoozing 3 times LOL.

Which is kind of crazy because I like to be out of my apartment by 7:50 at the VERY latest… so that gives me what 20 minutes to get ready… give or take. In that 20 minutes I manage to brush my teeth, wash my face, do my hair & make-up, get dressed, take my vitamins, kiss Andrew goodbye, and walk out with breakfast in my hand. Tell me that’s not skill…

When it comes to other things in life I resort to

My Planner2

and at work I always start the day by jotting down things I need to get done4

Mostly everything I do or plan I’m consistently calculating times in my head; how long its going to take to get somewhere, do something, how long I’ll spend at a certain place, doing what I need to get done…etc.

I just always prefer to be ahead of time if anything- which leads me to

If anyone knows me, I will always asseverate to be the one showing up to the party, event, dinner, appointment, whatever it is- EARLY. I’m not about being fashionably late it gives me semi anxiety being late to things. I especially feel bad when I know people are waiting on me so I’d rather just be early-prompt.

That is, unlike two people in my life that I know: mom & Andrew. Always…

I know for a lot of people who juggle multiple things; school, work, extracurricular activities, kids… it’s tougher which is why I highly suggest prioritizing- it’s a great way to stay on top of things.

Let me know how you manage your time- or are you just a “go with the flow” type of person?

Wishing you all a great weekend, see ya next week 🙂

xo, JJ

44 thoughts on “52 Week Blog Challenge: Time Management

  1. Jessica Emily says:

    I feel you with the early thing!! I literally HATE being late I have never been fashionably late in my life! haha. Apart from that I find time management and organising myself in general a bit of a challenge. You sound like you’ve pretty much got it down! Good luck with the blog challenge as well it’s a lovely idea xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thatswhatsupblogger says:

    Omg I get anxiety being late too! Also, I stay home with my kids now, but when I was teaching elementary school, I literally got ready in 20 min like you do. I would shower at night, as well as pick out my outfit from head-to-toe, pack my lunch and my bag. All I had to do was put my clothes on, pull my hair back, brush teeth/wash face and do a quick makeup.

    Like

  3. ughmango says:

    Ohmy I can’t believe how you can get ready in 20 minutes! That seriously is such a skill 😁 I wish I could do the same but I am so slow when it comes to getting ready haha.. I am more like just go with the flow type of person, always late. I really adore people like you who is always early or in time! This was such an interesting post to read! Have a lovely weekend ☺️ x

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      When I was calculating the time, I was even shocked by the 20 minutes I give myself to get ready. Somehow I manage thought. But I reaaally should maybe give myself A LEAST a half hour so I’m not sprinting out the door- if only I could just snooze twice instead of 3 times lol, its just so hard!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. sarahscupofbeauty says:

    RESPECT! Do the whole shabang in 20 minutes is just an IMPOSSIBLE task for me haha. I could if I’d do a super simple look and don’t watch any YouTube vids in the morning, which I’m not planning haha, so I need to get up at 6.30… xoxo Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      LOL yaaass thanks girl! I literally do the mere basics to conserve as much time possible; concealer, eyeliner, mascara, blush, and dunzoo….I’ve gotten it down to a science. But I totally notice the difference between like a weekend when I can actually take my time opposed to during the week lol, not that it comes out horrible during the week though 😉

      Like

  5. tiallarising says:

    I am SO impressed with how fast you get ready in the morning. I have tried and tried and honestly if I don’t give myself a solid hour, I WILL be late to wherever it is I’m heading. *sigh* Aside from getting anywhere in the morning, I’m pretty much late to everything else. I try so hard to be early or at LEAST on time and yet, every time, I’m late. And I hate it. I’m pretty sure I might be cursed, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Lol it’s definitely not easy, and I probably should wake up earlier so I don’t have to rush as much but I just can’t seem to pull myself out of bed right at 7AM….maybe because its dark these days when I wake up… I think in the summer I’m a little better and give myself AT LEAST a half hour to get ready 🙂 My boyfriend is the same, he just can’t be on time even if he tries, I’ve learned to just accept it at this point just as all his family and friends have lol

      Liked by 1 person

  6. tobeautynbeyond says:

    My clock looks very similar with some hours for wine too haha
    I used to plan and organize my time, now with 2little ones sometimes all that planning goes out of the window, I still stick with their essentials schedule – naps, feedings,bed time. But as for my own time, man, it’s all around the place. Can’t wait for things to go back to normal, or the new normal :))
    Ps. I love your nail polish in that notepad photo!
    P.p.s Have fun in Miami xo

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lexismore says:

    Enjoy your vacation and yay for Sephora play [:
    I’m on the same clock time with coffee and especially with having a set routine/schued!
    I am also very big on my planner! (love the floral!) It’s my life!! I’d be lost without it. I use to have a very early start. Starting my days usually at 4:30am when I started work at 5:30am or sometimes I had to come in at 4:30am meaning hardly any sleep. So having that alarm and doing things the night before like a shower, pack my lunch, etc definitely saved my life and POST ITS!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh man you have to start work at 530AM? I remember days….well, mornings like that too when I was a teacher. Waking up at 430, it was TOUGH! But totally doing things the night before helped save time in the morning aka a little more sleep lol and yess post its, theyre all over my desk haha so useful! Thanks so much for reading xoxoxo

      Like

  8. 1weekmary says:

    Great post! I WISH I turned up to things early & that should probably me one of my goals, but I’m that one person you see doing their makeup on the train most days lol! Having a planner definitely helps though & getting ready in 20 minutes wow I’m impressed – by the time I’m out of bed I’m too sleepy to get ready properly so always end up going to uni late lol! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      When I was a teacher and worked way earlier hours, I was always driving and attempting to do my make up, it barely worked lol or I’ll be in my classroom waiting for my kids to arrive and do it then too. Its really so hard doing it first thing in the morning but I’m definitely impressed with myself for getting it done in about 5 minutes but in order to make it work I apply the bare minimum. I usually go to the restroom first thing upon getting to work and do some touch ups if needed lol

      Like

  9. milenkamillie ✨❄️ says:

    Eeeek the Sephora sample thing sounds amazing! Yayyyy. And this post could not be any more relevant for me – I am so awful with time management and always end up being late to things! 🙈 Poor Dave shows up at my house and has to wait like an hour for me to finish getting ready hahaha I’m the worst! Your planner is so cuteeee I remember it from one of your other posts! I really want to be more organised so it might be time to invest in a planner! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Time management is luckily one thing I’ve gotten down to a science lol I’m just overall very particular when it comes to organization and timing and such… But really, I think these habits grew on me because when I was younger my mom was always so late to everything or always forgetting to do something so I grew up learning from that, which I guess was a blessing in disguise in retrospect 🙂 xo

      Like

  10. Mackenzie says:

    Yesss- time management is so important. We are so similar in the way we think about time!! I’ve had a hard time lately with not working trying to create my own routine.. if I don’t have one I just feel OFF. And DJ and I have to be 5 mins early to everything… but in Cali, people aren’t on time to anything. It’s actually been soo frustrating because there are so many times I have planned to meet with people at a coffee shop or for lunch and they are at least 15-30 mins behind, or cancel. Such a different culture out here than the east coast!!! Love this post and I loved having a peak into your day to day routine! Have such a trip dear. I think I’m officially caught up- yayyyy! Ahhhh can’t wait to hear about Miami! MWAH! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh man Andrew would fit in perfectly over in Cali- he’s ALWAYS late and I’ll just be sitting there with a pout on my face hahah and I know like when I have a day off from work or if my boss tells me I can come in late, I’m like ecstatic but at the same time its weird not going through the same motions as I would on a normal day. Although I certainly am not opposed to skipping a routine for a vacation 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Lol I try to stay consistent with it but sometimes it just not manageable, plus a little spontaneity never hurt anyone 😉 I’ve been loving this challenge, not to mention its quite useful because its one less day I have to think about something to blog about lol but you should totally do it if you have time to add it into your blogging schedule!! xo

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Allie Zottola says:

    Yay for not being on the wait list anymore! What is Sephora Play? Is it like a Sephora Club or subscription? This sounds so fun!

    I hope your weekend is going well!! I love the coffee clock picture. So true!

    As for time management, I never set an alarm in the morning but wake up some time between 6:00 and 7:00 and I’m like you and love using a planner and making lists!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      The sephora play is very similar to Ipsy…its like $10 a month subscription and you get sent 5 samples of different make up, hair, skin products. I love it because it allows me to try different things that I probably wouldn’t have even known existed lol I wish I could live my life without an alarm clock. I swear I have to change my alarm tone every few months otherwise every time I hear it, my skin just crawls lol

      Like

    • xoJenny says:

      Lol I don’t even know how I do it, but I’ve got my makeup routine down to a science so I guess so I basically do it with my eyes closed 😉 And I know I’m so excited for my first box, all I can say is finaaally lol

      Like

  12. 50shad3s0fjay says:

    I think I’m definitely more of a ‘go with the flow’ kinda gal, but good for you managing your time so well! How you get ready and do everything in 20 minutes in the morning is beyond me, that is a skill 😂😂 but yes I’m the same as you when it comes to snoozing my alarm, can’t help it haha 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      The snooze button is like the best invention ever! I always wonder why they choose it to be for 9 minutes though lol Going with the flow is sometimes wayyy better and sometimes much more preferable- less stress for sure!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. K.M. Sutton says:

    I love this post! I a type A person so I like schedules and plan my days down to a T. That said I am pretty flexible if it doesn’t go according to plan, which most days it doesn’t. lol.
    I do the dame thing you do! I get up at the same time, but I will hit snooze and I end up getting ready in twenty minutes (as long as I am not washing my hair. If I have to wash my hair then I need that forty minutes to an hour!) I also try to plan my outfit out the night before, because that is what takes the most time. lol. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      LOL I’m such a night-before outfit planner too! I’ll literally be laying in bed and Andrew will be trying to talk to me and I’ll be like “hold on, I’m thinking about what I’m going to wear tomorrow” LOL So glad you can relate. It’s it surprising how much you can get done in 20 min! So impressive that we should be able to put it on our resume haha 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • K.M. Sutton says:

        LOL I love it! I swear that is what saves time! My friends are always amazed I can plan ahead of time like that. It really is and it should be! It is a very important talent and just a sign of our impeccable time management skills 😉 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

