Thoughts and Whatnots: Ponytail vs Bun

Last week I did a Thoughts and Whatnots post on Instagramming. I loved reading all of your thoughts and opinions, everyone voiced very strong points on the topic. And all in all, we came to a consensus that, it’s our Instagram and we’re free to do what we like and post a much as we like. So there you have it, just do it 🙂

So ladies, I’m bringing you another Thoughts and Whatnots topic to you today. And I’d love to hear your thoughts on it.

Ponytail vs Bun

Jenny’s Opinion: Neither! I rarely ever put my hair up. BUT on the occasions that I do…ballerina bun when I’m washing my face at night or if I’m doing an oil/conditioning treatment. And then a high ponytail for when I work out. If I’m feeling bold and do decide to go out and about with my hair up (never) it’d be in a high ponytail.

Britt’s Opinion: If I’m trying to look cute probably a ponytail, but if I’m lounging it’s always a messy bun”

Honestly, I’m totally envious of girls who can just throw their hair up, have it look cute, and go about their day. Also, those who can pull off that sleeked back tight high ponytail/bun look (aka any of the Kardashians)…You girls are the lucky ones!

In honor of this post, I did attempt to photograph my hair up…Just know it took multiple tries to get decent ones. Andrew can vouch for me.

THE BUN

234

 

The High Ponytail

765unnamed

But you can more likely then not catch me with my hair half up in a little clip like so

Or just down

 

Alright my lovely lady friends, your turn! Are you a ponytail, bunhead or absolutely neither?!

xo, JJ

65 Comments Add yours

  1. I am absolutely a pony tail girl! My hair is too fine to ever stay up when it’s in a bun lol I do love the messy bun look though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      But hey, at least you can rock the ponytail! You hair is so gorgeous though, perfect color too! totally needs to be worn down (or in a pony) and shown off to the world anyways 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re the absolute BEST! 🙂 Thankkk youuuu :))))

        Like

  2. tiallarising says:

    Your hair is SO CUTE in a high ponytail. I wish I could do a ponytail like that! Haha mine always ends up being this limp mess lol. Honestly my hair is too short to really put up so that solves that issue… Though sometimes I do wish I could just pull it back. I keep it short, though, because when my hair is longer I get annoyed with it in my face and end up with it in a ponytail all the time.

    Like

    1. xoJenny says:

      Aw thank you!! It’s just a good picture 😉 otherwise its not that great up lol But totally sometimes I feel like short hair is the best way to go, not a lot of maintenance needs to go into it and its only less thing you have to worry about 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. danniijane says:

    I wear my hair down or sometimes half up. I only tie my hair up properly if I’m working out or using face masks. Your hair looks cute tied up though☺ x

    Like

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh yes, I’m more of a half up if I decide to put it up. I personally love my hair hanging off my shoulders so it gives me the best of both worlds lol but thank you for your sweet complement and for voicing your opinion 🙂 xo

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I am a devoted messy bun girl- I usually keep my hair in a bun when I’m at home because A) I live in Texas and its always hot and B) it keeps my curls intact so I can go without redoing my hair lol

    Like

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh i know thats the best part about the bun is that you can let your hair down after and it’s left in beautiful curls! smart girl 😉

      Like

  5. Hi, I love ur post! I’m probably just hair down girl!!! It would be really great if u could follow r fashion blog… Cassiopeia2017.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      YAY all the power to the hair down girls! xoxo And I’ll totally go check out your page, I love finding new bloggers 🙂

      Like

  6. I am totally a messy bun girl. But I still haven’t completely mastered it. I’ve watched so many YouTube videos trying to get it perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Messy bun is honestly the way to go, its so easy to just throw it up. It blows my mind how some girls will on instant throw it up and have it look perfect where I’m over here trying to perfect my messy bun LOL Have you ever tried a sock bun before?!

      Like

  7. Amy says:

    I used to love having my hair in a bun when it was longer,growing it again so can’t wait till I can put it up again 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Same I liked my hair up in a bun a lot more when it was longer! It really does make a difference! I’m also trying to grow my hair out long again….it needs to hurry up lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Amy says:

        Yeh I know I wish mine would hurry up and grow quicker haha

        Liked by 1 person

      2. xoJenny says:

        I hear biotin works wonders! I have some but have been slacking on taking them lol

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Amy says:

        Thanks I might give it a try

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Obviously your hair looks GREAT however you wear it! It’s actually really cute up too!
    I change it up. If I’m lazy I wear it up. Usually in a messy bun or lately a ballerina bun. I rarely do a ponytail. My hairs long and its heavy like in the ponytail I don’t like it. Plus I’m bigger and I think a ponytail makes my face fatter lol but I’ll wear a pony at home. But usually a bun or down. And a lot of Frenchbraids too. But hair up is easier than down in my face for work so it’s up a lot and then I don’t have to use heat from the straightener or blow dryer to damage it I save that for my weekends. Even tho hair ties cause breakage too. You can’t win!
    Also I nominated you for the blogger recognition award since you are one of favorites of course!!
    https://thefloridiangirl.wordpress.com/2017/01/31/blogger-recognition-award/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh yes good point about the braid!! I’m obsessed with braids! But the thing is I literally cant do it on myself (well a regular braid I can) but like french braids, fishtails, etc, I can only do it on other people lol its so weird. I love the ballerina bun look and like someone else mentioned, after your hairs been up in a bun all day and you take it down, it creates the nicest waves which its a new style in its own right there lol But thank you for your sweet complement Jenna! And thank you for the nomination!!! YAY! I’m gonna go check it out ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My sister has the most amazing long thick perfect hair and she lets me do anything to it so I became quite a braid connoisseur from it. I can braid anything! And I can do my own too but I’m limited to French and fishtail basics. I use to do her hair everyday before work at our local grocery store and she would get so many compliments so she loved it. I hope one day I’m blessed w a girl so I can play with her hair! But you’re right hair down from the bun can be really cute with the waves! And is good for a second day style. But you’re so welcome! Thanks for creating a favorite blog for me to look forward to reading! 🤗❤️

        Like

  9. Love your thoughts and whatnots! To be honest I don’t like wearing my hair up at all just like you but lately I have been digging the messy bun style.I have so much hair it’s just easier to wack it all up on my head and I like to think it makes me look casual chic, like I’ve not tried tooo hard lol! I feel the same as you though, I can’t believe it when I see girls on a night out with their hair sleeked back I’m like you actually chose to wear your hair up? Don’t get me wrong they look beautiful but I just can’t believe its a style people choose. The Kardashians totally slay the slicked back ponytail, I wish I could! You look amazing either way but out of the two I love your hair in a high ponytail!! And you look absolutely gorgeous in all your selfies, your hair is so pretty down and wavey!! Also love the sassy half up half down do! xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Aw YAY and I love you participating in them!!! And yessss power to the hair down look lol But I seriously wish I could go out and about with a bun on my head or pony sometimes its just easier. I bet you would look awesome with a sock bun but you really do have a ton of hair! Have you ever tried it?And I love the sleeked back look so much its so classy but nope, won’t ever be able to do that to mine LOL oh well at least we’ve found ways that we like to style our hair and thats all that matters! ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. They’re so much fun!! Hair down is the best. Yeah it is so casual and chill, but you’re hair looks nice up you can definitely go out with it up! Thank you- tell me about it, I love it but when it comes to brushing it God help me! Though I have to ask what is a sock bun lol? Brb while I head over to google!! Yes it is, so stylish too! Like when I see a girl with sleeked back hair I’m like wow!! Haha me either girl don’t worry! Exactly, well said! xxx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. xoJenny says:

        Did you google it?! you take a sock and cut off the toe parts and roll the sock up and then put your hair in a ponytail, thread the hair through the sock and slowly roll the hair over the sock and until it reaches the end of your pony! Okay Idk if that description made any sense Lmao but def youtube it!!! They sell premade “socks” but its not a sock its like a spongey material so that your hair will grasp around it easier! But look it up for sure!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Sounds so confusing haha but thankyou! I just googled it and it looks sooo nice, I’m going to try it for sure! Thanks hun. Yes I will… Judging by google I feel like we may call them hair doughnuts? I could be wrong though! I’ll have to youtube it and let you know haha xx

        Like

  10. Ponytail if I have a busy day ahead, bun in the evening! But my hair never turns out as nice as they do on other girls 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      It really is so nice to just be able to throw it up and get on with the day! I was just saying to a friend how I’ll see girls on pinterest looking gorg with their hair up and I’m over here looking a hot mess LOL but oh well.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wish my hair was Pinterest worthy 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  11. I am a total ponytail/bun head! I just think it’s easier to get it out of the way on regular days! lol Of course, when I feel a little more fancy, I make more of an effort to curl or straighten it but most days its very caszh 🙂

    http://www.alifyalifestyle.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh I know I totally agree, sometimes I just feel the urge to throw it up just to get it out of my face. Thats like the only exception for me lol But even so, its typically in my own privacy where no one can see haha

      Liked by 1 person

  12. I just love your voluminous hair! That’s one thing I don’t have at all. I look like I’d crawl straight out of the TV (as in the Ring) in the morning. The only thing that gives me volume for a small amount of time is keeping my hair in a bun at night. I definitely think a ponytail looks sporty and casual, though you can make it chic, but more edgy. A bun will always look cute and girly. I always go for the sock bun, which gives me a very regular round big bun. I pin it down and add a flower or bow. I’d definitely go for the bun, because when you’re tired of it and you take it out, your hair looks beautifully wavy. While if you’d wear a ponytail the whole day and you’d take it off, you’ll see the dent in your hair and usually, you’ll (ahum me) have lost all the volume.
    I also love your poof on top! When I wear my hair down, I always have a poof, but it never looks as glorious as yours! xoxo Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      That’s such a good point about the aftermath of a bun with the added waviness! That’s literally my favorite part about wearing it in a bun (when/if) I ever do- its like a new hairstyle right after lol I also love your idea of adding a bow or flower, that must be so pretty!!! And like if you match it with your pretty make up too! Ah I’m just day dreaming over here lol And yess to the poof in the front I always whether its a bun or pony need one, it might be my head shape but having it flat against my head just doesn’t look right. I think I’d look like Mulan when she tries to imitate being a warrior LOL But thank you for your sweet complement and feedback!!! xoxoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh my god!!! My dad always calls me eggface! I need that poof too, or I’ll just have a round face haha. I actually do sometimes match my flowers to my make up :D))) xoxoxo Sarah

        Liked by 1 person

      2. xoJenny says:

        Lol me and my sister have that flat face too (again maybe its an Asian thing) my sister has the round face and I have an oval one hahah but nonetheless, flat…

        Liked by 1 person

      3. The only person who can take pictures of me, without the eggface is myself haha… When my dad takes them, dear lord, then I do get why he calls me that way haha! xoxo Sarah

        Like

  13. You have the perfect hair for both hairstyles!!! I can’t ever wear my hair in a normal pony- it’s too fine and just looks horrible, so I ALWAYS wear it in a bun or knot. I wear it down maybe once per month, but never do a regular pony. You are so lucky!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh girl, do not be deceived, I just happened to capture good angles of it, but as a whole it’s really not that great lol I think it might be my head shape or something that makes me feel like it looks weird. And I get so self conscious about my ears randomly. At least we found ways to make our hair work for us! xo

      Like

  14. ayrgalaxy says:

    Both lmao. I wear messy high and low buns during the day when I’m at home. Sometimes when I go out, my buns will be more elaborate, but I do tend to do more ponytails because it’s easy to do lol. They can also look pretty elegant.
    And I’m loving the ponytail on you. It suits you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Yes that like sleeked back ponytail look is so classy. I feel like you’re totally one of those girls that can pull off that look! Especially when you have your make up done like you do! Sometimes I feel like I can pull off the ponytail…buttttt its very very rare lol I just happened to catch good angles in those pictures 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ayrgalaxy says:

        LOL why thank you! And don’t sell yourself short, you look stunning in ponytails too! 🙂

        Like

  15. I love both hair style but the most is bun. Thanks for sharing!😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Nice!! Are you a messy bun or a neat ballerina, sock bun kind of gal!?

      Like

  16. ughmango says:

    I am totally a ponytail girl! My hair is so long that I prefer wearing it up, it’s such a struggle to make it look good when I have it open 😅 I wish I could call myself a messy bun girl but I could never pull that off haha, I don’t understand how people do it!! Your hair is so gorgeous, especially when you have it open omg love it 😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I literally want to wear hair extensions just so I can have a long ponytail LOL I love looking on pinterest of updo hairstyles and all the girls with long hair have the best ponys! And thank you so much you’re the sweetest!!! It is much better down in the open lol xoxoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  17. K.M. Sutton says:

    First of all you look amazing with both a bun and a pony!
    Also I love this topic! So I was a skater girl and am a yoga girl so my hair generally has to be up. I love a good top knot or ballerina bun, and that is what I use to wear (a lot) during my skater days. I tend to wear my hair in a high pony for yoga OR (throwing another hair style at you ;p) I do braids a lot (doesn’t irritate me as much when I lie down) I also wear my hair down a lot. I love it all (so I am really no help on this subject lol) it depends on my mood or what I am doing. Buns are definitely classy and elegant but pony tails cn be as well 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I love you with your hair down, you and your gorgeous blonde hair! I remember back in some of your posts that you had a french braid in when you were hiking and that was sooo pretty! You’re definitely one that can throw it up or wear it down and have it look good! xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. K.M. Sutton says:

        Awe thank you so much! That just made my day! Yes! I love a good ol’ french braid! It keeps all my layers in tight without the use of hair spray (most of the time!) awe thank you! You are so sweet! I definitely have some bad hair days! Thankfully their are hats!
        Awhile back (haven’t done it cause it takes a lot of work) but I also love a hood ole poof and a ponytail. 😍🙌🏻

        Like

  18. 1st of all I LOVE this type of post!!
    Now I’ll answer, I typically wear my hair down if I am going anywhere… but my hair does find itself in a bun every morning while I do my make up, and in a ponytail every night at the gym.. so I guess that makes me a BOTH type of girl
    xx, Morgan Hayley

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      You’re hair issss gorgeous (and long!!!) you absolutely need to let those beautiful locks of yours down! It looks so thick too, I be it looks so good in braids as well. Ah the things I’d do to have that long of hair!!xoxox

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank youuuu!!!! My hair is extremely thick, it’s a blessing and a curse!! Braids are fun, until I realized I have to get all the tangles out first 😂😋
        xx, Morgan Hayley

        Like

  19. My hair is actually so short now that I can’t get it into a bun or a ponytail so my answer right now must be neither of them! BUT when my hair is long I always wear it in a bun just because I’m so lazy! That’s why I need to keep my hair short because I don’t really think the messy bun suits me 😅 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I love your hair at the length its at now, it looks great on you and short hair for the win!!! xo

      Liked by 1 person

  20. Mackenzie says:

    You roooock those dos! Love them both. Hmmm I wear my hair up more than I ‘d like to admit. Especially when it starts getting too long. Ponytails are my go-to or a low bun (I went through a high bun stage at the end of college, but I think I got sick of my own high bun hahah).

    Like

  21. jlee5879 says:

    Girl, you def rock both! I have very fine hair so a pony tail looks ridiculous on me. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Aw thanks!!! I honestly think the same about mine up too- I think I just caught some good angles for the photos haha

      Like

  22. frilly says:

    You look cute with a high ponytail! It works really well with your straightened, lightened ombre hair. : )

    At home, my hair’s usually in a messy bun because it bugs me when strands of hair are constantly in my face.

    One thing I’m envious that other girls can do is using a chopstick or pencil or something to just pin up their hair. I’ve tried it before. I experienced only pain. My hair fell apart right away. :\

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Yes I’ve seen that too with the chopsticks and I’m like wait howww?!?!? I also think my hair is too thick for it too because I’ve tried and it just instantly falls out lol. But thank you, I love the feeling of my hair up and out of my face, but something about it up, I feel like looks weird. Maybe it’s just in my head though lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

