5 Love Languages

Hey ya’ll, today I’m going to share/talk about one of my favorite topics aside from astrology!

The 5 Love Languages

For those of you that don’t know what that means here’s my little overview on them.

There are 5 universal ways in which people show or express love to one another. Knowing your love language can help form a better understanding on your personal relationship with your partner. It inevitably is the nexus to help identify how you like to receive love and vis versa; how you express your love.

So what are the 5 different ways you can express love?

2

You always have a primary and secondary method-

Do you want to know your love language? Good! Well, Gary Chapman, the founder of Love Languages created a survey for us to help you find out.

It’s free and simple, just answer it honestly: What’s My Love Language

Quite frankly, I was surprised with mine… When I first read the different methods I for sure thought that mine was quality time and words of affirmation. I love being told how much someone cares about me, loves me, etc… #needy LOL

But then, I took the quiz and turns out that the way I like to receive love is through Physical Touch & Quality Time

Which I feel is much more accurate because (again #needy) I’m always telling Andrew to come close to me and hold my hand and give me hugs and kisses… You should hear me at night “come snug me” LOL… All in which he is totally compliant and typically does it without even having to ask. He’s a keeper 😉fs1

So how do you return love… Well I think that’s just about knowing yourself-

If I know myself like I think I do, mine would surely be Quality Time & Acts of Service. I notice that I like to actually do things to show my love, whether it be cooking him dinner, back rubs, head scratches, getting him something he needs etc… But I mean, IF I had all the money in the world, I know for sure it would be gift giving. I always have the best ideas of things to get someone but my wallet prevents me from doing so. *sigh*

If you already know your love language, could guess it, OR if you take the test, please share yours 🙂

xo, JJ

41 thoughts on “5 Love Languages

  1. ayrgalaxy says:

    I did this on paper about…2 years ago or so. When my kiddo was born I went to a new mom support group (very important) and our lactation consultant showed this to us. Because being s new mom can be very demanding and hard work, she had us take the “test” home we could do it with our partners. I can’t remember what mine was, but I like to spend quality time and physical touch 🙂 cuddle weather right now lol.
    What a perfect time to post this since Valentine’s is next week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • ayrgalaxy says:

        It was. The support group was really helpful to a lot of new moms because you feel like you’re way in over your head. This was a nice way of bringing couples closer because babies take up lots of your time. Lol. Not meant to scare you for the future. Being a mom is really rewarding.

        Liked by 1 person

      • xoJenny says:

        I’ve already thought to myself that the moment I get pregnant (hopefully not for a couple years) but when I do, I’ll 100000% need a support group lol But honestly, being a mother is definitely my dream and I want nothing more than to have a little one of my own. I just hope that when it comes down to it, I’ll have already been planning on having one! Not to get all personal and by all means no need to answer it but were you guys already preplanning/knew you were trying to have a baby?

        Liked by 1 person

      • ayrgalaxy says:

        Make sure you have help. “It takes a village to raise a baby”. That’s no joke. Lol. I only had my mom here for one week after my kiddo was born and when she left it sucked so bad! I couldn’t take a nap, I was super hungry but at times I couldn’t even get up to make myself something because I had to tend to his needs. Omg. The first few months were terrible for me lol. So yes, GET HELP WHEN BABY IS BORN. If Andrews work allows paternity leave, make sure he gets it too lol.
        And no, weren’t planning on having a baby. It just happened. But I knew I was pregnant before I even took the test. I was a week late (I’m never late), I had terrible mood swings and I put several things together and I was like “*gasp* I’m pregnant!”. I panicked because I was in between jobs, and my mom had literally just moved to a different state a month prior to that. Lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. To The Moon And The Stars says:

    I love this test 🙂 I first took it when I was a teen and first dating, quality time was my first and main Love Language. Years later it’s changed to Words of Affirmation and who knows it might change again!
    Its always good to be aware of what your love language is ❤
    CJ xx

    Liked by 2 people

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh absolutely! Thats a very very good point that it probably does change over time. In fact I think mine has too! I definitely think at one point when I was younger words of affirmation was a HUGE deal to me. I needed to hear tht I was being appreciated etc..but now a few years down the road its changed to physical touch which Im sure will change again. I guess we’ll just have to keep taking it every few years 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 50shad3s0fjay says:

    Loved this post JJ, as always so original and interesting! I totally looked at that list and thought my love language is all of them ha ha, but my top 2 from the test are Words Of Affirmations and Quality Time which surprised me. Taking this test made me realise that Quality Time does count as an act of love and even though I’m always appreciative to spend times with my loved ones I should realise just how much it means to me that my friends and family are chosing to spend their time with me and be even more thankful! Physical Touch was my second to last on the list, so we are half similar with the quality time haha!! You definitely strike me as an ‘Acts Of Service’ girl because you are just so lovely and I can imagine you always wanting to help out and do things for Andrew, so kind!
    And I agree, I could spend so much money on gifts for my loved ones, I always see things and think oh so and so would love that! We would be lethal Christmas shopping together right!?
    Loved loved loved reading this and so interesting to read your results, ps cutest pics ever!
    xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Ah so glad you liked and participated in the post! ❤ Isnt it so cool and you just learned something new about yourself! I honestly thought I was all of them too, after all I do, do all of them but I guess physical touch and quality time are my strongest. I don't doubt that your friends and family lovee your company as much as you love their quality time, it really does go hand in hand with both parties! Oh man shopping would be insane(ly) FUN together! Just give us an unlimited credit card and we would go off I'm sure! I think we have a lot of the same taste as well. I would surely have to stop at Burberry for a pair of boots though, I'm still drooling over yours!!! xoxoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      • 50shad3s0fjay says:

        Such a good post, I loved it! Yes it is, I was telling my friend at work today all about it. Yes, I guess we all have each of the languages in us but those are the main ones! That’s so sweet, I hope so because I sure love spending time with them ❤ yes it does. It would be the best time, we would buy everything!! Yes I agree, I bet we would just encourage each other like 'yes you totally have to buy those' or something haha! Omg you need a pair, they're so comfy too and look even more amazing irl! xxxxxxx

        Liked by 1 person

  4. foodforyourstomachandsoul says:

    My 2 love languages to receive love through are quality time and physical touch. I tend to give it in different ways because I don’t know how my boyfriend likes it most honestly. I love physical touch so I give it that way. When able (much like you) I enjoy giving gifts – even if it’s a balloon and some candy to brighten his day! I’m also very heavy on quality time and acts of service. You can find me doing the dishes or cleaning up at his house..which may just mean I like things tidy..haha 🙂 Love languages are such an interesting thing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I know I’m just like you I touch upon almost all of the languages so when I was trying to guess mine and narrow it down, it was more difficult than I thought- that is, until I actually took the quiz and it told me. You totally need to have your boyfriend take it and see what he lands on! But to be honest since you already touch on each of them he’s probably already happy as can be lol

      Like

    • xoJenny says:

      YAY! I’m so glad you guys both took it. How awesome that you guys are just that much more alike!! I definitely think knowing this is very beneficial. I was reading about a relationship where the husband would always come home with gifts thinking his wife would love it but all she wanted were words of affirmation just being like “I love you….thanks for cleaning, etc…” and she was like so much money could’ve been saved with those gifts that she didnt even initially want LOL Makes total sense though!

      Like

    • xoJenny says:

      I love the idea of the love languages, it like opened up a new world to me when I first read it but now that I can actually follow through with it, I personally notice the significant difference and I’m happy to hear that it works for you and your relationship as well! ?YAY xoxox

      Like

  5. Allie Zottola says:

    I loved reading The 5 Love Languages a few years back and made pretty much everyone I know take the quiz, haha! It has helped me understand the way Jimmy likes to give and receive love and vice versa! He is all about physical touch and words of affirmation, while I am a quality time and words of affirmation kind of gal!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I’m so happy to hear that people know about this, it really does make a difference (I think) knowing your partners way of wanting to receive love so that you can fulfill that for them and vis versa! It looks as though you guys are partially pretty similar so that works out great! xoxo

      Like

  6. milenkamillie ✨❄️ says:

    Oooooh this is so interesting and not something I have come across before, so thank you for sharing! I love that you are needy and proud – I’m the same hahaha. I took the test and I got quality time, which is probably right! It’s definitely nice to be able to spend quality uninterrupted time with your partner, but also be comfortable in each other’s presence and just get on with your own things while still hanging out! Love this post, Jenny! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Aw yay, I’m glad you took the quiz, the concept of it all is quite brilliant because its true not everyone loves the same way. But I can totally see you being a quality time kind of girl- esp with all the adventures and day trips you and David go on, if I could guess I’m sure he loves your company just the same 🙂

      Like

  7. K.M. Sutton says:

    I found this so interesting. I got Physical Touch and Acts of Service. My Gemini brain is trying to decide if I agree or not :p Acts of service is definitely true. I always say “Actions speak louder then words.” Especially in relationships. It is easy to say “Oh yeah I will be there,” but when someone makes the conscious effort is punctual and attentive, you have my heart. Physical touch is what my Gemini brain is like hmmm. Because on one hand I know I do need it. But at the same time, if I am sick or upset, I tend to like to go into my bubble and be left alone.
    I am way over analyzing this lol. But it really is interesting. ❤

    Like

  8. Mackenzie says:

    I LOVE the five love languages!!! It’s so interesting and also helps a couple out a ton to understand the other person. I absolutely love this post! Mine are definitely words of affirmation and gifts (I have always hated that receiving gifts is one because it sounds so selfish- but it’s the thought behind them that means the world!!!!). I would have known yours is physical touch in a second… I don’t think there is a post that doesn’t mention “Snugs” … SO stinking cute. I’m really glad you shared this— perfect in light of Valentine’s Day! You are offering some free “JJ couples counseling” here. Haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Right, its such a good reminder that people love differently and will love in their own special way that fits them best! I at one point was definitely gifts- but likewise not in the sense that “I want everything” more for the “its the thoughts that count/you thought of me” notion. But really, I can identify with any of the 5 at this point. Thanks so much for reading and always supporting my posts girl!!! xoxox

      Liked by 1 person

  9. frilly says:

    I’m loving all the info in your posts! It’s interesting, and fun : )

    I’m pretty sure my husband and I share the physical touch language. We snuggle way too much! So many hours wasted, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. DannyBDaniels says:

    Thank you for sharing the 5 Love Languages with your audience. Couples who understand and practice speaking the love languages of their partner are much happier. It made big difference for my wife and I a few years ago.

    DannyBDaniels.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Of course, and thank YOU for reading! I totally agree, I’m all about the love languages too! It’s like whenever my boyfriend and I get into a disagreement we now know how to solve it according to our love languages so it helps ease conflicts quicker and it just goes much more smoothly! xo

      Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Aw your welcome!!! I think it’s so cool finding out and understanding your love language! It explains so much, like I always tell my boyfriend “if we ever fight…you know what my love language is (physical touch and quality time) so you’ll know how to fix it…. lot of snugs and be present” haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

