Keeping Your Relationship Strong

Good morning friends!

I think little Miss Frozen Ice Princess made her way over to Boston last night because I walked out to my car covered with a sheet of ice on it. So thick that not even my wind shield washer fluid could melt it away. Not fun.

Let me give you run down on New England weather:

Yesterday: snow to rain which lead to ice

Today: 55 degrees

Tomorrow: 6-14″ of snow

How does that work?!? No idea.

Anyways, two of my all-time favorite bloggers (bloggers I learned through Britt before either of us even started our blogs) They created a new Link-Up called Workin’ It Wednesdays!3

If you could guess by the topics, these two ladies are living the married with multiple kids, taking care of a family lifestyle so I’m going to partake is some of these prompts that pertain to me, such as today.

Keeping Your Marriage Relationship Strong 

l

I could say 100 million times that I am so grateful for Andrew and mean it every.single.time. Not all relationships are rainbows and unicorns there are some that are hard work, trying, and flat out difficult. I can fully admit that I’ve endured a ‘bad relationship‘ in my past and although it sucked at the time, it was no doubt the biggest learning experience.

And from Andrew, I’ve learned rainbow and unicorn relationships are real because I’m living that now as we speak. Everything between Andrew and I is such a breeze- we truly have a happy and loving relationship, and it’s just plain and simple, easy. A relationship that’s easy?!9

Now, of course, we’ve gotten into tiffs here and there, yes he annoys me/I annoy him, we don’t always see eye to eye but in the end the good out weighs the bad by A TON! I’m talking like 90% good-10% bad.

So how do we keep our relationship strong?

1. Communication

We talk (and text). And not just about whats bothering us but in general. We have good conversations; serious and nonsensical. I swear half of the time we’re just laughing at with each other 😉 There’s an open line of communication and that in itself is so critical.

2. Common Interests

This could be a fluke because Andrew LOVES sports and I love all things girly. BUT we do love food, traveling, day trips/adventures, lounging, the city, coffee… LOL

3. Do Things Together

More often then not, Andrew and I do almost everything together. And the thing is, we actually want to go out and do things with each other. Even if its going to run a simple errand, we’ll keep each other company. The one thing I don’t do with him which he always tries to get me to do (one day I will) is go to the gym.

4. Get To Know Family/Friends

This speaks for itself, but on multiple occasions we’ve hung out with his family and my family. He’s pretty much met all my friends at least once and vis versa with me and his friends. We’ve done the double date game and I’d say we’re pretty acquainted with each others family/friends at this point.12

5. Be Thoughtful

We must always remember, Men are from Mars and Women are from Venus . We may not always agree on something but we can agree to disagree.

4

I’m sure I could easily whip up about 10 other things on top of these 5 but these are definitely main ones that stand out to me.

If you’re in a relationship or have experience from a past a relationship what were some key things that made it work?!

11

xo, JJ

43 thoughts on “Keeping Your Relationship Strong

    • xoJenny says:

      Lol aren’t the cartoons great! I thought it’d be fun to use them. You can make them too its the bitmoji app. Andrew and I just made them last weekend and are obsessed. I am so certain you and your loved one have a solid relationship too just from your blog posts! I love seeing/reading about your adventures together!! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Melanie and Todd says:

    This is so great!! It’s SO important to like being with someone! Lol… I think all the time how sad it must be for couples who just put up with each other, and don’t genuinely enjoy to be together. You two are so cute!! Love the little emoji creations too!
    Melanie

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I 10000% agree, it makes ALL the difference in the world being with someone you actual like/can withstand….theres so many times that I’ve seen couples who are unhappy and tired from always fighting and I just want them to know (just from experience) that relationships shouldn’t be that hard and if it is, it might not be the right one. And thank you for your sweet feedback. The bitmojis are hilarious- I just had to use them 🙂

      Like

  2. 50shad3s0fjay says:

    Love this and loving the bitmojis, so fun! I definitely agree that communication is one of the most important things to keep a relationship going, if you can’t talk to one another then what can you do. And I definitely think getting to know friends and family is important, because it shows you care about one another and the people they love.
    Also loool, men are from Mars women are from Venus! That saying though haha.
    Loved this post JJ! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Lol aint it the truth!!! (that saying) I swear with some situations guys just are completely oblivious but then I’m like oh wait, they’re not as smart as us girls 😉 I can tell that Andrew’s mom is so pleased that we’re dating because he/we now participate in their family gatherings much more, I guess when he was single she would hardly see him lol Win/win situation!

      Liked by 1 person

      • 50shad3s0fjay says:

        It is! Haha totally, they just don’t think sometimes 🙄😂 haha exactly we can’t blame them it’s not their fault they’re from Mars. Aw thats so lovely! You have helped with the family bond 😀 It’s so lovely you make an effort. X

        Like

  3. tiallarising says:

    Aw, I love this! Joshua and I have been married for almost seven months, so though we are still totally newlyweds, I can say with full assurance that open communication makes the biggest difference ever! We talk and text all the time, in fact, we’ve even been teased about how much we text and people wonder how we can spend as much time together as we do without going crazy. We’re just…best friends. We want to talk and text and be with each other all the time–even doing the laundry, errands, groceries, and the gym! Haha

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      See I think that’s so awesome! You know you’re in a good solid relationship when you CAN talk to your significant other that much and not get sick of them! That should be the norm because its weird when couples don’t talk or hang out that much lol And btw, congrats to being 7 months deep into your marriage! I’m sure there will be infinite more days, weeks, months, and years to your marriage 🙂 xo

      Liked by 1 person

  4. itsgeorgiaxoxo says:

    AHHH GIRL YOU AND ANDREW ARE SO CUTE!! you should do the boyfriend/girlfriend tag with him!! I admire your relationship girl, it’s hard to maintain a good relationship these days especially with the influence of social media, props to you two!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. ayrgalaxy says:

    We pretty much do all that and more over here haha. I love the cartoons you’ve included with this. They summarize your points quite well lol. I’m glad that you’ve found “the one”, we’ve all had relationships in the past that made it seem as though it was hopeless for us. And good for you both for pulling through! Even the bad moments make the relationship stronger.

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Lol I thought the bitmoji were too funny too. Originally I was trying to get Andrew to take pictures with me but he wouldn’t- these actually worked out better anyways! And oh yesss, a lot of trial and error when it comes to relationships but each one whether good or bad is definitely a learning experience! xo

      Liked by 1 person

  6. iamlindseybernice says:

    It’s such a great feeling when you can find someone who you just want to be with all the time and run errands with and not getting sick of them.

    In a world ruled by social media now communication is even a bigger thing to have I believe!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      It definitely took a lot of time and patience to have find a good one but definitely all worth the wait 🙂 And I totally agree in regards to communication, in a way it has started to lack because of social media, so its great when you can put that aside and still have normal human to human interaction with someone. Thanks so much for coming by and reading xo

      Liked by 1 person

      • thefloridiangirl says:

        When you open up the persons name like your messaging them you can hit the circle to take a pic to send them. when you take a picture on the top next to the scissors icon is like the square paper I guess it is click that. Then on the bottom again next to the scissors is a face. Click that. And if you both have the bitmoji linked it’ll have ones w the both of you on it! Or if you take a picture first and send it to one person with a bitmoji and they send one back then when you hit to respond it will pop up with both too. But you use the steps above to add them. I hope that helps I’m a bad explainer lol

        Like

  7. sarahscupofbeauty says:

    I’m happy for you and Andrew! You guys really look in sync with each other! Talking is so important. I’m 11 years together with the BF already. And I guess the first 5 years were also sunshine and unicorns. But we also changed throughout our relationship (work, circumstances,…). We’re still together because we talk and laugh a lot. But there are certain aspects about each others personalities that might make a situation difficult, but I guess you have to figure out whether you can accept it. A relationship can be effortless, but can also be hard work when a certain situation is forced upon you… We’re happy and when there are tough times to come, we know we can count on each other… But I will never assume or take him for granted… xoxo Sarah

    Like

    • xoJenny says:

      11 YEARS?!?! Oh my goodness, thats a good solid relationship right there! You guys must know each other like the back of your hand at this point. But you are so right, no matter how good a relationship is or how “easy” it is right now there will always be tough times to overcome. Andrew and I surely still have A LOT and a long ways to go, we’re still in the midst of finding out new things about each other daily which can be fun or annoying lol But surely the tough times just holds a stronger bond between the couple so it’s a win/win. I hope I can reach 11 years….so inspiring!!! xoxoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      • sarahscupofbeauty says:

        Awww thank you!! I continue to discover new things about him haha. At some point in our relationship we were so merged together, but that was an unhealthy situation. We now have our own activities and things we do together. We still love to talk a lot. I guess he’s above anything my best friend, safe harbor, clown and sometimes my boyfriend haha. Can’t complain, I got flowers today (first time in 11 years, don’t ask). So I was surprised!! It’s cliché, but talking is key. However, I also had to learn when to back off and respect his silence when he doesn’t want to talk… It’s a learning process… You won’t be the same person in 5 years or 10 years and nor will he. It’s about finding the right balance and accepting the new you’s each time… xoxoxo Sarah

        Liked by 1 person

  8. K.M. Sutton says:

    Bitemoji!!! I love yours. They are so cute! I just discovered that Snapchat has them with the people you are talking to which I love!
    I agree the weather was crazy this week! I love your advice. It was all so great! I agree communication is so important! I have been with guys who can’t hold a conversation and I am ready to run not walk past Go. You have to be able to be silly as well as serious. I am lucky to have found someone who is a pretty good mix.
    I hope you have an amazing day sweets! ❤

    Like

    • xoJenny says:

      The bitmojis are so fun lol I get a little overwhelmed because there’s so many options. But if bitmoji’s are the only overwhelming thing in my life right now then so be it 🙂 I so know what you mean about people not being able to hold a conversation- like whyyy, its the worst and its so dreadful to be in those situations. But nevertheless, Glad you found someone that meshes perfectly with you ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • K.M. Sutton says:

        Yes they are! One of my besties just got snapchat so we could start sending bitmojis of both of us🤣 slight bitmoji addiction problem😂 I hear you! I just want to send everyone🙈 so true. It is not a bad problem to have.
        It really is! Especially because I can be a nervous talker. which is funny because I can be very quiet with people I don’t know. But those awkward silences I am always like ahhh I. Must. Fill. So then I just ramble (kind of like now😝)
        I actually always say if I can sit in silence with someone we are soul mates and it relates not just to romance but friendships as well.
        Thanks beauty! He is a good egg😊 I am pretty blessed. 💗

        Liked by 1 person

  9. RomanAndJesci says:

    This was too cute! You and Andrew have many similarities to my relationship with Roman so this post (and many of your other ones) was very relatable! Communication is key!!! If Roman and I don’t have the communication we have now, I don’t think we’d have a relationship at all lol but your list is on-point because every single thing I’m reading it and I’m just like “yes!!!” I’ll watch sports with him even if I don’t care about it as much because I like spending time with him but he’ll actually go out and shop with me and not complain either so it’s a win win situation! I’m so happy for you and your man, you guys are the CUTEST lovebirds and I’m always looking forward to your posts about you two! Hahaha can’t wait to read about Valentine’s 😉 Lol!

    – Jess

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      You and Roman are amazing too so, if we’re doing the same things, we all must be doing something right! 🙂 But thats right, you and Roman did a long distance thing for a little while right!? I can see how much you two must really value communication, but at least those hard days are over and you guys are within arms reach all the time!! Happy endings do happen in real life ❤ All the best to you two love birdies!!!!

      Like

  10. Mackenzie says:

    COMMUNICATION IS #1!!!!! You have got that DOWN. And your similar interests are basically the exact same as ours (minus coffee- I can’t get DJ on that boat!). Those bitmojis of you two are freaking adorable. Seriously my favorite couple ❤ I would say some key things from DJ and I .. COMMUNICATION, putting down your pride and recognizing that the other person doesn’t ever want to intentionally cause issues/hurt in the relationship, and making an effort to show the other person you care even in ways that don’t make sense to you (I make jokes that I know DJ will find funny, but that I don’t find remotely funny, but since they will make him laugh I say them anyway). I think you and Andrew have got the relationship thing down ;). You guys have been dating about a year right? Your relationship is WAY beyond the maturity of most people’s that have dated years! I admire ya’ll tons. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Aw, I love when you mentioned “putting down your pride and recognizing that the other person doesn’t ever want to intentionally cause issues/hurt in the relationship” I find that so valuable especially when there is any misunderstandings or if some days just happen to have a communication gap because that happens a lot in the real world! Love it. I mean you and DJ are total married couple goals…I’ll take any advice you guys have to offer any day! 🙂 xoxox

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

