Thoughts and Whatnots: Dress or Pants

Today is a Thoughts And Whatnot’s Day!

Last thoughts and whatnot’s day was Ponytail Vs Bun and the consensus was a solid mix of both buttt I think bun out shined ponytail by just a few!

And if you can’t already tell by the title today it’s:

Dress vs. Pants

I’m pretty observant when it comes to attire and outfits, especially those who I see on a day to day basis- especially in my office. With the few girls in my office, I’ve come to notice those who are more of a dress/skirt wearer and then those who are a pants/leggings wearer (with the occasional jeans- because we only wear those on Friday) but either way us girls have a preference!

I know that weather, of course, can be a huge deciding factor. I personally live in an area where we experience ALL 4 seasons. We have the blazing hot days all the way to the chilled frosty days so of course we’re going to dress with the season, right?

BRITTS Opinion: “I’m a dress girl in the summer and a yoga/leggings girl all year round. I barely wear jeans”

JENNY’S Opinion: I’m 100% a dress/skirt wearer all year long. Break out the summer dresses and bare legs in the nice weather and tights all winter long. No matter what the weather is, I’ll always choose a dress over pants.

On the occasion that I do decide to wear pants, they’re leggings. I can’t tell you the last time I put on a pair of jeans…

7

And I didn’t ask RENEE, but I can guarantee her answer would be “Jeans all year round” 😉 If there’s one person I know that loves jeans more than anything its her.

-EDIT-

11

Knew it 😉

For example: It snowed again last night but I still reached for my tights and sweater dress this morning. I do wear thicker tights to conceal some warmth

The ONE pair of pants that I do love that aren’t jeans or leggings are my “jeggings” from H&M. Most comfortable pair of pants I own aside from leggings…

Alright ladies, so what are you….

Dress/Skirt or Pants/Leggings, or maybe you’re a good equal mix of both?

Let me know 🙂

xo, JJ

47 Comments Add yours

  1. I think I’m both! I deff reach for leggings more though.. in the spring and summer I do love sun dresses!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh yes, summer time totally calls for dresses- summer dress season is my absolute favorite! But otherwise for the cold, leggings are a great substitute, and it helps that they go so well with anything and everything! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. We are the same people! Dress / skirt all year round for me. Like you I can’t remember the last time I wore a pair of jeans and if I have to wear pants it’s leggings all the way (or shiny leggings are cool too) but never jeans 🙅🏻 I don’t mind jeggings but prefer not to wear them! Also in the winter I think it’s so cute to wear a nice dress and layer it up with some thick tights, boots and a chunky cardigan! You just can’t go wrong with a dress 👗👗 x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      YES, YES and YES That outfit you just described is ultimately my go-to outfit like EVERYDAY! Like that’s why thick tights were made for us girls who don’t even know what jeans are lol you’re forever my #myblogtwin

      Like

    1. xoJenny says:

      Yes, dresses for the win! Thanks so much for the feedback and reading! xox

      Like

  3. I’m a pretty chill gal. Jeans and chucks, or nikes and leggings for me all day. I prefer the comfort only because i am a stay at home mom. When i was working corporate though, i was always the girl in a pencil skirt. Never under estimate the power of heels!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Yasss, if I’m not doing the whole “corporate, dress, skirt, heels look” then you can totally find me rocking the leggings and nikes….a solid second favorite outfit of mine!

      Like

  4. I’m definitely a mix of everything! I do like wearing shorts and dress a lot during the summer and leggings/jeans during winter. But if I HAD to pick one outfit to wear all year round, I would def pick jeans cause nothing beats comfy than a pair of good old jeans. 🙂

    http://www.alifyalifestyle.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I wish I loved jeans as much as you (and my friend Renee)- they’re really the best to style outfits with esp since colored jeans are a thing too! But yeah, she finds them to be so comfortable and I’m over here like soo which black leggings do I wear today lol Thanks for your feedback!! ❤

      Like

  5. Definitely pants/leggings. I spend so much time in a uniform for work I want to feel free and comfy. However I choose a dress for my uniform over the pants so I guess I could fall into both categories.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Aw that’s cool that you work gives the option of pants or dress for your uniform! What do you do for work? Do you get to have one of each just in case? And totally get it, leggings really are so comfy to just lounge around in! Thanks for your input girl ❤

      Like

      1. I’m a flight attendant but come rain or shine you’ll always see me in a dress at work.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. tiallarising says:

    I’m definitely more of a pants/leggings, but leggings over any other kind of pants, haha! And IF I wear jeans, it’s skinny jeans over any other style. But it’s still usually leggings for me. 😉 You look SO fashionable, though! I’m jealous. 😉 #goals

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh yess, leggings over any type of pants and I’m with you….IF on the occasion that I choose to wear jeans, skinny all the way! And thank you so much for your sweet words 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pants/leggings. Well more leggings. And printed jeggings! I wear them (leggings) almost everyday to work. I love black! My husband dies when he does laundry and he sees 27 pairs of black leggings to fold. I think I constantly buy them so I always have them around! I wear dresses in the summer especially weekends but being plus size I feel like you tend to look pregnant so maybe when that time comes I’ll vote dress!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I’m with you, you can never ever have enough leggings LOL and plus like eventually some of them fade a little so you need newer black ones but can’t get rid of the older ones because they’re still wearable lol I have a whole drawer just dedicated to them and I’ll still continue to buy more! I should try to incorporate some printed ones though, I always see girls rocking them and I’m over here doing double takes at them!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. ayrgalaxy says:

    I’m….neutral lol. I love dresses during the summer and sweater dresses during the fall. Winter I wear leggings because it gets ridiculously cold. Also, I do like to wear jeans every once in a while. If I had more tights I would probably wear dresses. But my closet needs an upgrade first lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I could use a TOTAL upgrade of my closet too…. I esp need to add more color, you look inside and it’s just dark (all black everything) I can’t ever find anything because it all blends together lol But yeah summer dresses are a total must in the summer, and I’m a definite leggings fan too, if I do decide to wear pants ever, always leggings. They’re just so darn comfortable. And it helps my non existent butt look like a butt lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ayrgalaxy says:

        *gasp* yours too?! Omg lol. I have been trying so hard to get colors and just when I think “my closet should be colorful by now” WRONG! 😂
        Yes, leggings tend to accentuate every curve lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh my gosh, i’m the same! I dislike wearing pants and I’m alwaaaays wearing dress/skirt year round and just making it work over the winter haha but 95% of the time, I’m wearing black leggings! I have like one favorite pair of regular jeans and 2 black jeans that I love but majority of the time, I’d pass on wearing pants. Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Yesss #teamdressgals Idk what it is, but its just so much more comfortable not having that constricted feeling around my waist. No pants no problem! And plus that’s what tights are for 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha yessss! I cringe every time Roman falls asleep with jeans on! I’m like how do you do that?!?! Lol

        Liked by 1 person

      2. xoJenny says:

        What! He does that?! Thats hysterical. Andrew loves his jeans too but I haven’t caught him sleeping in them…YET hahaha

        Like

  10. ughmango says:

    I wear jeans all day everyday basically.. I just love them haha I have way too many pairs in my closet! I very rarely wear leggings, if I wear a dress I am all down for tights! I just don’t know how to style leggings if that makes any sense 😆

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I love your opinion on this because it goes against the majority and thats what makes these posts so fun. I personally love the looks of jean (and colored pants for that matter) there’s always so many cute outfits to mix and match with pants so really I’m the envious one that can’t really rock them. Whats your favorite jean brand? And for leggings….you can wear it with just about anything- I go with a classic T or maybe a long sweater thats not long enough to be a dress, just a few ideas 😉 Thanks for your response girlie! xoxo

      Like

  11. I love these thoughts and whatnots posts, Jenny!!! It makes you think and want to interact!! I love me some colorful jeans, but I’d choose a dress over pants anytime. Here’s why:
    – It’s so easy and effortless
    – You can wear pretty accessories and dress it up or down with a jacket or a simple sweater
    – You can eat a lot without your tummy peeping out hahah
    – When I’ve gained weight, it’s less prominent
    – I feel less conscious about my curvy legs
    – In other words, it gives me so much more confidence
    – I feel much more elegant and girly
    -… Man, I feel like this list is endless!
    Conclusion: Dress over pants and skirts!
    xoxo Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      OMG YESSS you just took all the reasons right out of my mouth!!!! That’s exactly to the T how I feel about dresses/skirts. It also helps conceal my lack of a booty hahah thank you so much for contributing and sharing your thoughts xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s always a pleasure!!! Love muh dresses! xoxo Sarah

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Such a good question! I am a good mix of both. I find myself wearing jeans in my day-to-day life, but for church I usually wear dresses or skirts and occasionally pants!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      That’s such a good happy medium. I remember as a kid my mom would always dress me in dresses for church and I hated dresses (since I was forced to wear them) so I definitely became more of a pants wearer for some time until recently. Although I wish I did like wearing pants more because I’d have so many more outfit options lol

      Like

  13. K.M. Sutton says:

    I am definitely a pants during the winter dresses during the summer. That said, many of my tops are tunics or dresses that I wear with leggings during the winter so does that technically make me a dress girl then? Hmmm🤔
    I actually don’t mind jeans, but generally only wear them when I go out. I love jeans and heels. Their is something so classy about that look. 💗

    Liked by 1 person

    1. K.M. Sutton says:

      P.s. I love love love your booties!😍🙌🏻

      Liked by 1 person

      1. xoJenny says:

        And thank you!!! Those were a Marshalls purchase 🙂

        Like

    2. xoJenny says:

      Jeans and heels are one of my FAVORITE looks, it’s so classy and bold. If I do wear jeans I must wear them with heels (although I wear heels more often than not as is) LOL And I love the leggings with big sweaters and tunics too, it could technically be considered “dresses” because leggings are just like a thicker version of tights, kind of sort of, right? haha

      Like

  14. I’m the same I’ve only got one pair of jeans and I much prefer dresses. I like shorts though I wear a lot of shorts with tights combos! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I love the shorts and tights look too, I just starting pairing the two like last year and was like woah why haven’t I done this before?! Love that!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. frilly says:

    I love dresses! I love the swoosh-y feeling, and just how light it makes me feel. : )

    If I could, I’d totally wear them in the winter too, but I just get cold too easily. Sad face. I even bought thermal tights and double layered them and it was still too cold (and tight *sigh*).

    I’m super loving your thoughts and whatnots series!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I feel you, I am ALWAYS cold too. I can only handle dresses/skirts/tights in the winter because majority of the day I’m sitting in a nice heated office or apartment lol but if I’m out and about running errands or something- leggings it is! And thank you for participating in them xoxox

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Mackenzie says:

    I use to be adamant that I would NEVER wear jeans! Leggings/yoga pants/sweat pants/ and dresses were ALL I would wear. I know have a pair of black jeans I wear way more than I’d like to admit and a couple pair of jeans from American Eagle that I actually can stand to wear. But any day I can just throw on yoga pants is a good day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      You totally rock the ripped jeans look, I seriously love all your cute outfits with those jeans! But I’m currently going through that phase of no pants and all dresses. They’re just so comfy. Although if/when I do find a good pair of pants I like, I’ll also wear them more often than I’d like to admit too haha

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Sunaina Das says:

    Omg Love the both outfit 💗👌🏻👌🏻
    Plz check out my latest post on Blue Off The shoulder mini dress – https://sunainadasblog.wordpress.com/2017/06/17/happy-mind-happy-life-%F0%9F%98%8A/
    Hope you will like it 😘
    Xoxo 💗

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

