Friday Favorites

Does anyone else remember that song ‘FRIDAY‘ by Rebecca Black, well if not just click that link and maybe it’ll ring some bells. But I’ve randomly been singing that song in my head all day morning long (it’s only 9:35AM). If you’re looking for a cheesy yet super catchy song try that one…and if not… Call Me Maybe? #throwbacks

Today I’m doing a mix of Friday Favorites along with 52 Week Blog Challenge becauseee, today’s topic is 2016131331547760_sbig

20. My Favorite Movies

See how well that works out 😉

Speaking of throwbacks, if you know what my cover photo to this blog post is then you already know my favorite movie.

1.

10Willy Wonka And The Chocolate Factory!Cheer up Charlie” much?!?  And  DO NOT be confused with Charlie and the Chocolate Factory- totally and completely different. The older version wins by milestones!

A few other favorite movies: Bridesmaids, The Devil Wears Prada, and as if I can go without naming the whole Harry Potter series 🙂

I miss this place so muchx

-Continuing on with FAVORITES-

2.

sFrench Cruller donuts…. I’ve been on a two day roll with getting these.

Speaking of food, I have more food coming up……..now

3.

2

Spaghetti squash spaghetti. I always see those tasty video recipes using spaghetti squash and have been dying to try it. I was skeptical because I correlate this vegetable with zucchini and regular squash and those just are not my favorites but this….this is different. Andrew and I loved it so much we made it two days in a row and I’m seriously contemplating making it again this weekend… I’m obsessed. Not to mention you get so much out of it.

4.

5To stray away from spaghetti squash for one night…I decided to make homemade shrimp fried rice. Brown rice, peas, corn, egg, and of course shrimp. Came out amazing. I’m a total fan of sesame oil, so adding a dab of it with the soy sauce and voila!

5.

Last food related item….9Samoas which are now called, Caramel DeLites?…. but forever Samoas to me. These girl scout cookies along with Thin Mints and the Tagalongs we’re all just sitting in our break room?!?! Ummm total win on a Friday!

6.

This FINALLY came in!!! My first Sephora Play.4

Inside were 5 little samples of some great products- which I’m still in the midst of trying everything out. So far I’m loving everything I’ve used.3

And because I can’t leave off on #6 because it just feels unlucky- I’m separating this to be number…

7.

8My mini Nars lipgloss. This came in my Sephora Play box and when I initially tested the swatch on my hand, I was a little meh about it- that is, until I actually tried it on last night and it was such a beautiful tone.

Two different lighting’s; no flash and flash. It’s a a pretty nude-ish tone with a slight pink undertone. I was going to hold off on showing it today because I have a post next week lined up to present this (with more detail) but I don’t mind talking about it again because I like it that much!

This concludes Friday Favorites.

And I don’t know about ya’ll but we have a 3 day weekend ahead of us over here; shout out to Presidents Day! I have some exciting plans in the works for this weekend but I’ll  be back here on Monday!!!

Sending love to everyone and wishing you all a great weekend 🙂

xo, JJ

50 thoughts on “Friday Favorites

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh my goodness, ME TOO!! I went for the first time last year in December and it was unreal. Did you go to both parks? I only went to Islands of Adventure because at the time I didn’t realize there was a HP world in the other park too, so I definitely need to go back lol

      Like

    • xoJenny says:

      YESSS!!! I only found out about it a few months ago. I immediately signed up but was put on the wait list ….I’d totally go on now and sign up if you can- I personally love it even though I’ve only received one box so far lol

      Like

    • xoJenny says:

      Not sweet, man…I’m sitting here trying to compare it to something but I really have no idea lol but just know its really good. The strands when its pulled out is crunchy so at first it was a little weird to me because it totally looks like spaghetti, esp with the sauce poured on it but instead of it being soft (like pasta usually is)…its crunchy. I’m a texture person and I love it! I also have never had shitake noodles, but should i?!!?

      Liked by 1 person

  1. ughmango says:

    I will never forger ‘Friday’ by Rebecca Black, it will haunt me forever haha. I didn’t know Sephora is doing these sample box things too ohmygod I need to get myself one too!!! And once again, your food pictures make me SO hungry 😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Once I hear the song, I just can’t get it out of my head! It’s awful LOL and yess Sephora does it too!!! And it’s amazing! (Granted this is my first box) The only downfall is that there is a wait list….So I’d put your name in now just to hold a spot! It’s also only $10/month total steal!!!! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. RomanAndJesci says:

    I can’t believe I did not know that Sephora had a subscription box! Since it’s your first box, can you still compare it with Ipsy? I need to get on that asap! The lipgloss looks GREAT on you! Are you planning on getting the full size?! And as always, the food made me hungry. I want to try that spaghetti squash, looks such a great alternative for pasta and ugh that fried rice!!! I have to start cooking again lol thanks for the inspiration 😉

    – Jess

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      YESS girl get on this subscription! I was put on the wait list so I’d sign up asap! But in comparison to ISPY…the sample sizes are smaller (where as Ipsy sometimes give bigger/fuller sized products) but with the Sephora one, I’m way more familiar with the brands and they’re of course just better quality. I’d do both it’s so worth it. I’m personally not one to go out to buy beauty products (other than my day to day make up products) so its my way of exploring new items. Spaghetti squash all the way, its become a huge staple for Andrew and I, we haven’t made pasta since discovering how good this is. Super easy to make too- let me know if you try it!! xoxoxox ❤

      Like

  3. thefloridiangirl says:

    Willy wonka is a top fave of mine. I also love love French crullers I always get them from DD. I need to make that spaghetti squash it looks so good!! Samoas are the only girl scout cookie I’ll eat. I just subscribed for the play box so I’m excited to receive it next month and hope I get some good goodies, like the bars lipgloss that shades perfect on you! xx Jenna

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      YAY I don’t think the Sephora box will disappoint. I love Ipsy (and I know you subscribe to that too right?) but I love the brands that sephora gives out! I’m already anxious for next months box lol Totally worth it. And the spaghetti squash is awesome, great healthy alternative for pasta and easy to make but I still do love my pasta 🙂 Let me know if you end up trying it! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I know that’s such a bummer that they don’t ship out of the country! There’s so many times where I see bloggers posting items that are solely sold in their country and I’m like whyyyyyy! LOL It’s so bittersweet because we all just want what we can’t have (or is available to us). But you guys do have sephora stores out in Belgium?

      Like

      • sarahscupofbeauty says:

        We don’t :(. I order everything from the Sephora France website! The first time I entered a Sephora store was in Paris on the Champs Elisées… It was a magical moment: all the pink, the neon lights, the scents,… I must have spent 1,5h there haha :p. I enjoyed every minute of it!

        Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Thanks Amy!! I love the color on its crazy how you can just look at the color and be like “nah thats not my tone” and then try it on and its completely different. Glad I ended up liking it, I hate wasting good products like that! Do you subscribe to the Sephora Play box?

      Like

  4. thatswhatsupblogger says:

    I currently don’t (and never have) had any subscriptions to beauty boxes. I worry I will waste my money! But everyone’s always look so great, and I LOVE that lip color on you. Also, Bridesmaids is hilarious, and if you can believe it, I’ve never seen Willy Wonka. What??!! Enjoy your weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh yes, I totally understand your stance, I was skeptical of subscribing too because I don’t really expand past the same few products that I use day to day. Even now with these sample products I get sent to me, I only ever end up really using 1-2 item till it runs out (if that) but I do like the idea of trying new brands and products. Someone else mentioned it might be more worth just buying something you know you’re going to use rather than spending the money each month on products you may or may not use. Which makes total sense. And oh my goodness, I can’t believe you haven’t seen Willy Wonka! Lol Total must, maybe watch it with your little ones 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. ayrgalaxy says:

    I hate both of those songs you mentioned in the beginning. Especially* Friday. That’s gotta be the most annoying song I’ve ever heard lol.

    I think I’ve only seen the original Willy Wonka movie once or twice. lol. Would love to watch Harry Potter again.

    And those donuts look delicious!

    I’ve never had squash before. I’m not even tempted to try it to be honest lol.

    On the other hand…. “shrimp fried rice! Shrimp fried rice! Shrimp fried rice!” (HIMYM, lol).

    Nice! I wanted to get the play box too but I had to make budget decisions lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      LMAO, those songs really are awful. They’re so bad but so catchy, I just remember both those songs being played on repeat on all radio stations, I don’t miss that. Do you like the Willy Wonka movie?! It’s such a classic lol And yeah the spaghetti squash is definitely a hit or miss pending on your taste on veggies, I’m honestly surprised I liked it because generally I’m so opposed to that type of veggie, like summer squashes- no thanks lol and tbh when I taste it bland I’m not a fan but drenched in red sauce I love it. Its weird… But shrimp fried rice is definitely a total win!!! So good. xox

      Liked by 1 person

      • ayrgalaxy says:

        And that is why I carry my ipod everywhere with me lol. So i don’t have to listen to the same songs over and over on the radio ahahaha.
        I probably only saw it once but I don’t remember it very well.
        Lol i’ll have to look up a recipe with squash and if i’m inclined to try it because the ingredients sound good, i’ll definitely try it. otherwise, it’s a no lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. 50shad3s0fjay says:

    Yes Willy Wonka! Although I do love the new version I have to agree that you just can’t beat the original. So good! & Harry Potter of course… But which of the films is your fave!?! Also loving the Nars gloss, it looks so nice on you! X

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh man, oh man, choosing which Harry Potter movies are my fave…. I love the Sorcerers Stone because it just introduced the whole Wizardly World to us, but I also love Goblet of Fire and Order of the Pheonix. But really all of them! What about you, which are your favorites?!! xo

      Liked by 1 person

      • 50shad3s0fjay says:

        It’s tricky I know haha! Yes, have to agree that the first one is one of the best for the same reasons as you, it’s the start of the story! Growing up POA was my favourite but now I would have to say it’s Order Of The Pheonix (despite Prof Umbridge)! & the Deathly Hallows (both parts). xx

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Allie Zottola says:

    I hope you enjoyed Presidents Day! Long weekends are the best!

    I just saw The Devil Wears Prada on TV the other night and I was thinking about how I still remembered a lot from that movie and it was filmed in like 2006. Crazy!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Katie Rose says:

    Omgosh, Willy Wonka is one of my absolute FAVES ever!! & completely agree with you, not to be confused with the newer Johnny Depp version – reaaally couldn’t get to liking that. Your Nars lipgloss is a gorgeous shade on you! As always, love reading your posts 🙂 x x

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      YES! Idk why but the Johnny Depp version just creeped me out and whats up with the oompaloompas, they were all the SAME person lol they can’t do that! And thank you, I’m so glad the color ended up looking different on opposed to the color of the bottle and swatch. phew! Now I can make use of it lol xo

      Liked by 1 person

      • Katie Rose says:

        I know, literally just felt wrong the whole way through, I actually think I turned it off part way through – such a shame bc I actually love Johnny Depp as well, I dunno about you! Thank God for the Gene Wilder version I say!! xx

        Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Yeah girl get on the blog challenge!!!! It’s so convenient not having to think of a blog post topic every once in a while lol and theres no true commitment to it, just do it as you please 🙂 And thank youu- Nars in general is one of my favorite lip gloss brands, def need to own at least one! xo

      Like

  9. K.M. Sutton says:

    You had too. You just had too🤣😂 I now have Friday and Call Me Maybe running through my head now🙈 😝
    Joking aside I love these! Nars has the best lip products!
    I loved your movie picks! I actually watched (well my friend did I fell asleep) Devil Wears Prada on Sunday. Such a good movie and the cast😍 did you ever read the book?
    Bridesmaids is a classic! Everytime it is on television I have to watch it.
    Confession about Harry Potter. I own all the movies, but only ever watch them when their is a marathon on television.
    I adore spaghetti squash. One of my favorite things. I do a brown butter rosemary sauce with it sooo yummy!
    And wait wha–!! How did I not know Sephora did a sample box?!? I need to get on this! Hope you had a great weekend!💗

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I’ve been dying to watch Devil Wears Prada sooo bad lately, but I can’t find it on any tv station! Did you find it on TV or was it just the DVD? Haven’t read the book yet but woah, I definitely think I should now. I’ve been wanting to do a Barnes and Nobles haul soon I just might have to add that book to my list. And Bridesmaids is just wayyy too good- I can quote probably 3/4 of that movie with how many times I’ve seen it- but it just never gets old! And yeah girl, the sephora box!!! Sign up- I think theres a wait list so I’d sign now, the sooner the better!!!! Do you do Ipsy?!

      Like

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh you definitely need to try a french cruller, if you ever pass by a DD’s get one. They’re similar to glazed but the actual dough is a different consistency. So good. I definitely like the sephora box, I just like the idea of being able to sample miscellaneous products because I know I’d never go out of my way to get them. If you’re interested in subscribing to a box/bag I’d definitely say sephora over ipsy! xo

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Jo says:

    I love reading your posts in the blog challenge, enjoy your posts in general, but love the twist you pu on some of the challenge ones.
    I need to catch up as I’m a week behind after my little break away. So hoping to squeeze two in today as tonight I am off on another trip; continuing my 30for30 adventure
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Aw thank you 🙂 I’m just happy that you’re participating in the challenge but totally do it as you can, I just love being able to see how others answer the prompts and such! Thank you for being a consistent reader! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jo says:

        I failed…I did not catch up! I got stressed packing my case and snuggling my dogs before leaving. Maybe I can try now as I’m the first to wake up and there’s no sign of movement from anyone yet!

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Mackenzie says:

    My mouth was watering when you sent me that snap of the Spaghetti squash spaghetti! I want to make that soon! It looks SO good. And WHAT! They changed the name of Samoas?! That just seems wrong. I agree- they will always be Samoas to me too. THAT LIPGLOSS! Gorg. That color is perfect on you! Can’t wait to read about your weekend! Woohoo!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      You must must must make spaghetti squash spaghetti. I’m actually surprised you haven’t yet and that I didn’t get this idea from you Miss Chef 🙂 But right, how can they just go and change the name of the cookies like that, who allowed that to happen?! LOL

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mackenzie says:

        It’s DEFINITELY happening! And girl, you are taking that “miss Chef” title!!!! You’ve been cooking so many YUMMMS lately! And still bitter about them changing the GS cookie names, NOT COOL!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

