LIFE IN BOSTON: PROS AND CONS

This morning I was going through my Facebook feed and came across a status from a girl I went to high school with- She shared with everyone that she just landed a great job out in NYC and just like that, she’ll be transferring her life from BOS to NY.

I brought it up to Britt and we conversed back and forth a little about it 1.png

Which inevitably sparked my blog topic today. I was already planning to write this post for next week but I instantaneously did some switching around 🙂

Also little side note: Allie over at Allie’s Life just wrote a PROs and CONs list about living in Pittsburgh which ultimately inspired me to make one about Boston.

I’m sure Katie has one about NYC?

z1

QUICK RUNDOWN ON BOSTON

Boston in comparison to NYC is teeny tiny! It’s known to be a “Walking City” because you can literally walk the entire city in one day and see everything!

I love Boston’s beautiful skylines, the history, there’s great touristy yet solid local areas, food choices galore, great business’ and hardworking people.

Some Points of Interest/Touristy Areas: Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market-Boston Harbor, North End “Little Italy”, Seaport District, Fenway, Beacon Hill, Copley Square- ‘Boston Public Library, Hancock Towers, Prudential, Newbury Street’, Charles River/Charles Street, Art District, Chinatown, Park Street for the Boston Commons and Public Gardens

4

2

CONS OF BOSTON

1. Traffic is horrendous. Like I said Boston is a walking city so walkers everywhere, bikers everywhere, skateboarders/long-boarders everywhere…you get the idea. We have some very narrow streets, tunnels,  one ways, and flat out convoluted streets.

2. Parking is EXPENSIVE or NONEXISTENT. Your best bet is just not to have a car or drive. Parking garages go up to $30-40/hr and street parking is a rarity. Don’t even bother if there’s snow on the ground.

3. Everyone’s always in a rush. Which means us Bostonians can come off as very rude. “Mass-holes” is a real thing. We don’t like to stop and talk to strangers we’re on a mission to get to our destination.

4. Always a wait at a restaurant. You can guarantee if you don’t make a reservation a week in advance you won’t be eating till about 9PM or so. Unless you find a “first come first serve” and arrive at like 4PM.

5. Living is EXPENSIVE. You think parking is expensive. Well, living here is even more pricey: rent, food, miscellaneous necessities.. Definitely puts a dent in the wallet bank account.

PROS OF BOSTON

1. It’s easy to get anywhere. Once you’re in/near/around the city you can get anywhere within 20 minutes or so. Whether you uber, walk, or take public transportation you can get there in no time. Also- the T system is super easy to figure out.

2. There’s so much to do and see. Even though I’ve seen and done a lot of the “touristy” things multiple times, it never ever gets old. Seeing the skylines are like seeing them for the first time every time. I could just hang out in the Boston Common’s for hours people walking (much like Britt and I have done before).

3. Endless food options. Yes there may be waits but there’s so many places to choose from. The food here is so great. Any kind of food your craving, we got it.

4. There’s always something going on. Whether there’s little festivals and outings at the Commons or you want to watch some street performers at Faneuil Hall, there’s always something to watch, see, or do.

5. We LOVE our sports. I’d say we have a very high supportive die-hard sports fan group here. Celtics, Bruins, Patriots, Red Sox we love our sports and we love them HARD.

6. Countless job opportunities. I mean c’mon we have Harvard and MIT graduates here. We have some very intelligent beings among us here in Boston. We have a high company start up rate. Excellent renowned established companies based in and around the Greater Boston Area.

26

I can actively say that I love this city. It’s big enough for me to not bump into people I know daily but small enough where it can get personable. Have you even been to Boston?

NOW IT’S YOUR TURN 🙂

Share with me where you reside. Are you in the city, suburbs?…do you like it? Esp all of you across the water- what’s it like over there!

xo, JJ

68 Comments Add yours

    1. xoJenny says:

      Hi how are you!! Thanks for coming by 🙂

      Like

  1. This was just so super interesting to read! Going to the USA has been a big dream for me since a couple of years now (I’m 18) and I definitely hope I can come sometime. Boston seems like a great city! I actually didn’t know much about it, because we, in The Netherlands, always here about the bigger cities LA, NY, Las Vegas, Miami and other bigger cities. I’m just so interested in the USA and the culture and everyting! So this post was really really fun and informative for me to read. I hope you’ll be doing more of these kind of blogpost. As I said, I live in NL and I live in a tiny town (around 13.000 people here). It’s not my favorite place to be, I prefer being in a city. Well I could tell a lot more if you want haha, maybe we can e-mail/chat or something if you’d like? I’m super curious about your life in the US! 🙂 xo Anne ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Hey Anne, I’m just like you- so fascinated with places outside of my country! I have yet to travel outside of the US other than Canada but like REALLY traveling out over the water has been a dream of mine! I’m so interested in your lifestyle over in NL as well, and would love to converse back via email. It’s so crazy how different things look from one area to another, and we of course always want to see what we don’t see every day! Boston is surely a smaller city but VERY well known and popular across the states. LA, NY, Miami are all amazing places too- the only one I haven’t been to yet is Vegas but I’m sure I’ll get there soon enough. We’ll have to be pen pals! My email is jennyjo.xo@gmail.com for references!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Already e-mailed you! It has got quite a long e-mail, oops, but I hope you like it anyways!

        Like

  2. danniijane says:

    In London the cons are the same. You can’t drive in the city as it’s crazy busy, expensive etc. Pros are the same too. More jobs, food places etc. I really want to go Boston. I was hoping to do NYC then Boston this year or next☺ xc

    Liked by 2 people

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh man I can’t even imagine driving in London, in all the pictures I see there’s soo many people walking around! But I’m assuming its a walking city too? And you really really should plan a trip here. Luckily Boston is small so you can do it in a day or 2 but NYC def needs more time as it’s bigger and the distance between the two isn’t too bad (about 4 hour drive) but there’s great modes of transportation so it works out!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. danniijane says:

        You can walk certain parts and see a lot of attractions. But it’s pretty big so you need to get trains. That sounds great. We would plan to spend longer in NYC and a few days in Boston. I love places that are easy to walk around so Boston sounds good to me☺ xx

        Like

  3. OMG the cons and pros are exactly here in the bay area of California! Like seriously, everything you said matches my city as well! I have never been to Boston but hope to someday!! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. xoJenny says:

      You’re in the bay area?! Oh man although we have the same pros and cons yours must be amplified x10 since it’s such an incredible location!!! I’m going out that way early summer, please tell me good things to do and see!!!

      Like

  4. In just a few minutes you got me inspired as heck to fly myself to Boston for a weekend! Lovely post XX

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh girl you must come!!! Add it to your traveling list, a definite must see at least once! And NYC is just a few short hours away too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love Boston! I grew up right in the city so I’m a little biased but despite the cons (pricey, traffic etc) I think it’s a very home-y feeling city with so much to do. I currently live in the heart of Washington DC and I do enjoy DC greatly. The cons to DC are similar to boston – crazy high living prices in the areas you want to live, tons of traffic, but the pros are it is very walkable, tons of free events, you are in the heart of all things politics etc. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      You did?!! How cool, in what area did you grow up in? I actually just visited DC for the first time last year pretty recently-ish and I fell in LOVE with it over there. Like you said, it reminds me a lot of Boston but of course different vibes but still gorgeous place! I’m dying to go back. If/when I go back, you’ll have to tell me all the secret local spots to go to! xoxo

      Like

      1. I grew up in Jamaica Plain, so right in the city! I’m glad you loved DC 🙂 It definitely has some different vibes, much more political of course but so much culture. If you are ever in the area feel free to message me. I’m actually working on a Washington DC guide for spring, I’ll let you know when it’s up!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. xoJenny says:

        Oh yes, JP- good area right by everything! And that’s so awesome to hear!!! When is their cherry blossom season, is that coming up soon?

        Liked by 1 person

  6. ayrgalaxy says:

    I love small cities!! I’d love to be able to walk around and see what is there to see but downtown is kinda huge. And there’s so many shops, restaurants, etc.
    Love the skyline though! Super gorgeous!

    Ah traffic. Yes. Although our parking garages are open. Only time they get full is during any festivities the city has (which is every summer).

    Aww! “Mass-holes” lol. Over here people are relatively friendly.

    In terms of waiting at restaurants, same thing. Especially the more popular ones.

    And living here is expensive too. People keep moving up here for some reason from California and other places lol. Like wtf, you’re raising prices for housing for people who have been here all their lives! 😡

    I can’t say that there’s “plenty to do” here, but if you go outside of Portland, there’s so many awesome places for tourists and even for people who already live here. Lots of hiking places, etc.

    I’m not sure what else to say about Portland. I love it. Rains a lot which used to bug me at first but now I’m ok with it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Wait a minute…You’re in Portland as in Portland, OR? Now that I think about it I remember you mentioning Seattle so it makes sense! But if so, I think Andrew and I are coming out that way this summer! His uncle lives out there and keeps telling us to come visit so we’re taking him up on that offer, of course! I hear its beautiful there!!! But I agree I’m all about the smaller cities, its just easier to get around and less of a chance for me to get lost LOL These are some definite good things to know about Portland- are there rainier months more than others or just rain pretty much all year long? I actually don’t mind rain either, its kinda soothing to me and a good excuse to stay in 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ayrgalaxy says:

        Oh man did I give myself away? 😅 I tend to not tell anyone my exact location lmao. But yes, Portland! Rose City! 😁 oh he has family over here?! That’s awesome!! I wish I had family in the east so I had an excuse to visit new places but most of my external family resides in the west coast lol. It is pretty, especially during the summer. The rain usually starts a little after autumn begins and lasts through part of spring. Usually by may we have summer weather but once summer hits it can get pretty hot. The weather does vary though, last year we got rain in July for a day or two lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. xoJenny says:

        LOL I totally noticed that you were on the quieter side of your whereabouts but totally don’t blame you. I’ll keep it on the DL 🙂 But yeah we’re so excited to come out…if we do it’ll probably be Aug/Sept, I love hot weather so I would not hate those hot days! And our plan was to maybe drive up to Seattle after for a day or two, how long of a drive is that typically?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. ayrgalaxy says:

        Lmao thanks!
        Ooh yeah! Aug/Sept is actually the best time to come. The weather is perfect. Not too hot or too cold. And Seattle is about 3-4 hours away depending on how fast you drive.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. fadedrouge says:

    Great post and idea! I might do this for my city!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Thank you!!! You definitely should! I’d love to read it. What city are you in?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. fadedrouge says:

        I study in Dubai and live in Abu dhabi 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. xoJenny says:

        Amazing!!!!! You’ll have to share what it’s like over there!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. fadedrouge says:

        haha will do 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow! I really want to visit Boston one day. Scotland seems so boring compared to your place x

    https://vintageguruinwonderland.wordpress.com ( i follow back xo)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I really hope you get the chance to, its a great lively city! But Scotland on the otherhand, how I’d absolutely LOVE to see what its like there!!! Ill definitely go check out your blog, I love finding new blogs to read 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I absolutely loved this post! As a girl from a little town in England it’s fascinating to see these places in America. I’ve only ever visited Florida, which of course is pretty different to Boston, so this was such an interesting read for me. I’d absolutely love to visit both Boston and New York sometime in the near future. Have you thought about doing a “ten places to visit in Boston” post, or something similar? I’d totally be interested in seeing that. Fab post as always Jenny!x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      That’s how I feel about all you lovelies across the water, I LOVE seeing what it’s like over there! Florida is great for their warm weather, were you at Disney World by chance? Or where did you stay? If you ever do come to the East coast of the US, Boston & NYC is totally doable, they’re pretty close (well, 4ish hours driving) but there’s great transportation options! NYC is just as fascinating definitely need to spend more time there though as its WAY bigger. And that blog post idea is awesome, I’m definitely going to do one of those in the upcoming weeks 🙂 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s so interesting seeing all these places that you’ve never seen before, right? I love it! Yeah we did a week and a half in Naples, just relaxing, and then a week and a half at Disney and being tourists and checking places out. I really enjoyed it! I’d absolutely love to check out both NYC and Boston, they’re definitely at the top of my list. Ah great, I look forward to reading it!!x

        Liked by 1 person

  10. I hella want to go to Boston. Do y’all really sound like Ben Affleck and Matt damn when you talk? Lolololl. Boston seems like a mini silicon valley/bay area with all the grans and techies. I miss it up but it’s so damn expensive! Can you believe a 2 bedroom condo in the city (SF) can go for 4400/month? So we moved to the suburbs, for a fraction of that price we got a damn house. And we’re still only and hour and a half away. Great post darling!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Wait you’re in SF?!?!?! I’m dead at those rent prices, holy efff how the heck do people do it!!! Its bad here but SF way exceeds us. As for the accent LOL I really don’t think I have one but its funny because people who meet me for the first time are always like “are you originally from Cali?!” UM I WISH! And if I was, Idk why I’d ever leave!!! haha

      Like

      1. I was in the SF bay area. But we moved about and hour and half away to the state capital of Sacramento. Lol. The prices where I’m at currently makes it easier to buy a home. I miss the bay tho even tho it’s sooooo congested. Lol

        Liked by 1 person

      2. xoJenny says:

        Yeah thats the same thing here you have to move about an 1.5 hours away to get a decently priced house #suburb life *sigh* adult problems lol And thats where my problem is, if I were to stay in MA, I would only want to live near/close to Boston but it’s just not reasonable. But I do have my heart set on moving down south to Texas, which is VERY do-able lol

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Girl! Me and my husband were looking at homes in Arizona! Idk, that desert life sounds appealing. We also considered vegas cuz one of my bff and Alex’s bff live out there. But..It’s Vegas. So torn!

        Like

  11. llindaxxo says:

    Woah, parking sounds crazy!!! I definitely want to visit Boston one day! The food, alone, sounds great and alluring enough to make me want to visit, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      We definitely need to do a little switch-a-roo….I’ll go down to Texas and you can come up to Boston 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. I live in the DFW area in Texas, in the suburbs so there isn’t that much traffic which I appreciate. I’ve been to the boston area before and I liked it, it seems like a fast paced city. We went to this italian restuarant called Bertucci’s and the food there was delicious. The hotels there are pretty nice as well and the outlets. I visited Harvard and M.I.T., the campuses were beautiful and rich with history.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh girrrl, I always talk about this in my blog but Dallas is where I wanna be!!! I set myself a promise that in 5 years I’m buying a house down there and moving!! You’ll have to do a Dallas post (if you haven’t already) because I LOVE reading about that city. And yess Bertucci’s such a good place. There’s actually one super close to my work so we get them catered A TON (actually we just did yesterday!) The Harvard campus/Harvard Sq is so gorgeous, I love the look of the brick buildings great place to frolic around 🙂 Thanks for reading xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Of course I will 🙂 I plan to do some more exploring soon. yummm, their food is so good, that’s awesome. It’s definitely way more affordable lol I don’t know how you guys do it, cost of living isn’t easy & anytime 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  13. I would love to visit Boston one day! Have you lived in Boston your whole life?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      You absolutely must, at least once 🙂 And I’ve always lived about an hour away from Boston until about 2 years ago when I moved to the city! Best decision ever!! Where are you from? xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am from the Metro Detroit Area in Michigan.

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Boston sounds like the perfect happy middle of city life but with that small city vibe – I love that you can just walk to places! I can’t imagine living somewhere like NYC but I think Boston would be so lovely! You guys are always up to loads of fun things and trying new restaurants and it just seems like such a fun place to live! I can imagine it to be like the Bristol to London in the UK – smaller but still with lots happening! xxx

    Like

    1. xoJenny says:

      I totally agree, NYC is so wonderful and so full of life but it’s just so overwhelming (for me at least). Like you said, Boston is also very lively but with the comfort of being much smaller. Oh you and Dave would love this city I can just imagine the incredible photos you guys would take here! It’d put mine to shame lol come visit!!! 😊😊😊

      Like

  15. Mackenzie says:

    GIRL. You know I already wanna go to Boston! Why you have to torture me with all the amazing things about it in one post?! The mention of the food choices was enough for me, as you know. 😉 Is it all part of your scheme because I’m two seconds away from visiting Orbitz.com to get a plane ticket. Lol. Or I’ll just focus on those Cons! Hah! “Mass holes” made me laugh! I’d never heard that, but that’s hilarious. I would say the Pros/Cons are super similar to SF, but the history here is not quite like Boston’s! There is truly something magical about that place. AHHH I wanna gooooooo!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      PLEASE COME! You and DJ seriously have to!!! As soon as you’re allotted vacation days you guys must! Ah I wish I was kidding about “mass-holes” but its totally a thing esp when it comes to driving they’re crayyy!!! I love it here but I would move to SF in a split second…just give me the funds for it and you don’t even have to ask twice lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mackenzie says:

        Ahhhh what a dream!!!! Haha- we can just hold down the fort for each other on each coast until the other can visit!!!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  16. 1weekmary says:

    The pictures of Boston you shared look incredible! I’ve always wanted to visit America and just go every single place I can. I live in London for university at the moment and I absolutely love it! Sure, it gets packed at rush hour & I could be waiting half an hour extra for a train, but other than that I’m having a fab time living in the capital city & getting to go to university in central London with people from all around the world! Loved reading this xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I hear nothing but amazing things about London!!! I wish so badly that I could go out that way, I’m hoping one day 🙂 How far are you away originally from London?

      Like

  17. Boston looks so amazing, thanks to you its deffo on my list of places to visit one day!! Your pics of the skyline always look so beautiful. I can’t get over the price of the parking though!? I thought it was expensive here but most it ever is is like £5 an hour? $30 is insane! Do you drive? It’s great that there’s always something for you to do- you’ll never get bored! I live in Milton Keynes and to be honest, I think I’ll live here forevz, I’d happily own property in other places but MK is so convenient, theres everything here from indoor ski slopes to the cinema to lakes and pretty places to walk. Plus its a half an hour train journey to LDN, so not tooo shabby x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh gosh, yeah parking here is insane!!! I do drive but never in the actual city, I hate it. I always get lost. Andrew on the other hand does it with no problem. I’m always so surprised when I go visit a place and it’s either $5 or FREE to park, I feel like I’m doing something wrong not paying to park haha MK sounds like a great location. You’ll have to show some pictures of your area! Location wise it sounds similar to where I am currently in correlation to Boston, we’re about 20-30 min from the heart of Boston, so it’s still considered city but the outer banks, which is a lot more relaxed and little bit more affordable! I really hope you someday get to come out this way, it’ll be nice to meet my blogging twin!!! xoxoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I still can’t believe how pricey it is!! I don’t blame you, I wouldn’t like to do it. Well that’s handy then if you ever need a lift he can take you lol. Omg free parking is a myth, it’s the same over here most places do charge to park (although so cheap compared to what you pay) but whenever there’s free parking it’s like a blessing lol. It is, I’m happy with where I live. Yes I will do – you may have given me an idea for a post lol. Yes!! That’s exactly what MK is like although prices have gone up a little lately because its so close to LDN so a lot of people who work in London move here and commute (still cheaper than London prices though). Omg that would be amazing!!!! It’s on my list for sure 😀 xxx

        Liked by 1 person

  18. I lived right downtown Boston this past summer for my internship, and I absolutely loved it! There was always so much to do and I kept very buy. I happened to live near the Esplanade and it was such a great place to go and run or walk or just hang out and chill near the river. Great blog post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Ahh yes you lucky girl, the Charles is one of my favorite spots! I haven’t been in a while because last I went, there was just so much construction going on over there. But Charles Street is one of my favorite streets of Boston…I’m sure you’ve walked down there a few times if you were that close!? Good restaurants, coffee shops, and boutiques there…oh and JP Licks 🙂 Thanks for reading ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  19. ughmango says:

    I love this post idea hehe I might steal it from you if you don’t mind!! 😁 Boston is so different compared to Finland and Helsinki where I live, we don’t usually have to wait to get a table in restaurants and we can drive around the city without any problems (of course it’s more crowded there but still). One thing that I hate here as a food lover is that we don’t have so many places and restaurants to choose from.. and we don’t have much takeaway opportunities here 😫

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      YESSS totally take this idea and post one for Finland/Helsinki! I know I’d love to read it- I find other countries to be so fascinating and I don’t know the first thing about either of those areas! I hope you come around to blogging about it soon 🙂

      Like

  20. K.M. Sutton says:

    Love love LOVE this! And thanks for the shout out beauty! I actually have NOT done a pros and cons. I have done my favorite places in the city. But I definitely need to do this now! Thank you for the idea!
    Your pictures are gorgeous! I need to plan a trip there soon! (I actually love going to the Harbor Islands!)
    Bwahaha. So growing up in NH (and working in hospitality for awhile) I know all about that “Massholes” Plus my SIL is from the South Shore (so I tease her all the time)
    And girl New Yorkers get it too. (though people just point blank call us A$$holes. We don;t have a creative name :P) People think we are rude, but I have seen so many acts of kindness, and people willing to help despite being in a rush to get everywhere. We just are very Type A oriented. Lol.
    So funny (blonde) moment in Boston happened a couple years ago. In NY there are lights EVERYWHERE. So you generally know cars will stop when to cross. In Boston I was standing at the crosswalks and cars were sitting there for no joke five minutes waiting for me to cross. I was like oh why are they stopped? And I was looking around for the lights. I didn’t realize that I had the right of way. Lol.
    Boston has grown on me as I have gotten older. I love the history and the cobblestone. Plus the beaches are MUCH closer then in NY. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh of course! You’re my NYC gal! I always feel like NYC is Boston’s parents lol they’re definitely alike/ same problems but you guys are just significantly bigger. But girl you totally gotta do one of these; people are obsessed with NY gotta give the people what they want 😉 Everyone is always so curious about NYC so whenever they ask I just send them to your blog because you really do have all the ins and outs of that city! Lol at your Boston story…yeah cars are generally good about stopping for pedestrians here (usually) because they know that people just dont gaf and will walk right out onto the road (myself included…probably not good lol) because walkers always have the right of way. I wouldnt dare doing that in NYC though hahah xoxoxo

      Like

  21. Nwendubrights says:

    Talking about traffic in botson, i think it’s more in lagos especially in the mornings and evenings.like endless hours.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      oh yesss commuting during “work hours” are the absolute worst thats when the traffic reaally builds up. Much easier during irregular hours! Do you live near or around Boston?

      Like

      1. Nwendubrights says:

        Nop

        Liked by 1 person

  22. I absolutely love this post! Thanks for the mention, too! I had fun learning a bit more about Boston. It seems a lot like Pittsburgh (except the expensive cost of living), especially with the huge sports teams/super fans and gorgeous skyline!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      YES!! I was just so inspired by your post so thank you for the idea 🙂 We’re definitely pretty similar (maybe less bridges over here too lol) but in regards to sports fans oh heck yess…I love places that really love repping their teams, it gives the city a lively feel!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

