May The Best NUDE Win

So about a week or so ago, I wrote a post dedicated to my favorite Nude lip shades. And at the end I was filled with joy at all the comments and suggestions you all left for me!

And although NYX Lip Suede has held strong as my favorite matte nude lip gloss, I was getting tired of using the same color every.single.day. As a reference I use Sandstorm, which I love- I mean I’ve gone through 2 things of them already but I wasn’t sure that I wanted to buy a 3rd just yet.

I ran through all the options and picked 2 that were of interest to me to try out. I originally wanted to try the MAC Velvet Teddy one but this girl is trying to be good with staying on a budget. [I mean afterall, I DID PAY OFF MY CAR! Woo no more car payments for this girl…for now.]

Between the 2 new ones I tried (and keeping Sandstorm in mind), I came to a solid consensus on my favorite. So let me ramify-

Colour Pop Ultra Matte Lip

Time Square

I’ve seen this ColourPop brand on almost everyone’s blogs and those $4-6 prices, I literally could not resist. My only concern was not being able to see the color in real life and that always makes me skeptical because I like to swatch it on myself before buying any lip product. But at the same time it was only $5.

My thoughts: I LOVE the formula. It goes on so nicely and its highly pigmented. But, the color was just not for me. Now I love the color of the swatch but on my lips- it doesn’t look like that. And it’s SUCH a bummer!!!

NYX LIP LINGERIE 

LIPLI 09

Okay, so these matte Lip Lingeries, I’ve been dying to try since the first blog I read that featured them!! I read NYX and was instantly sold, for obvious reasons. And these babies are only about $6ish which is affordable in my books.

My thoughts: This is the color I have been looking for! I mean I couldn’t have chosen a better nude shade for myself. The formula is good…but only good. It’s light, slightly sheer (not sure if its because it’s a nude) but nonetheless, I love it when its on and dried!

So the winner of the 3: NYX LIP SUEDE, COLOUR POP, NYX LIP LINGERIE….

NYX LIP LINGERIE

I’m honestly shocked that this out did Lip Suedes Sandstorm for me. If  LIPI was in Suede form, suede would for sure win overall because I love lip suede’s formula the most.

I finally feel at ease now with a good new nude lippie 🙂

xo, JJ

41 Comments Add yours

  1. Love this post! I’ve tried the NYX lip lingerie in the shade Lace Detail and while I LOVEE the formula, I didn’t like the color on me. The liquid suede color looks absolutely gorgeous on you! I have to pick one up! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Isn’t it the worst when you find a lip gloss but hate the color….its such a bummer lol But I totally recommend going back and finding a different shade because you’ll surely fall back in love with the gloss. And thank youu 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. caseykay says:

    Great post! I have time square as well and it isn’t a good color on me either.

    Like

    1. xoJenny says:

      Aw thats such a bummer! It’s a gorgeous too but it’s good for some not for others… I want to try another one so bad but it’s so hard to decide when you can physically see each one! Have you tried any other tones?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. caseykay says:

        Not from Colourpop no, that was my first one. I know, it is so hard to find the right nude shade!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I can really appreciate a good nude lipcolor! I love the formula from the NYX liquid suede eventhough they are super hard to apply pretty! I need to try out the lip lingerie, is the applicator the same as the applicator of the liquid suede? Oh, and colourpop is also a brand I need to try, unfortunately hard to get overhere! Really loved this post Jenny, you should do post like this more often! xo ♥

    Like

    1. xoJenny says:

      I agree, suede’s formula is SO good but I wish they had more color options. But I feel you with the applicator….when I was using the red color, it was a total mess! But when I use the nude Sandstorm color its not bad, I honestly thing the applicator for the lip lingerie is worse than suedes…. it’s weird its thinner and more paint brushy if that makes any sense visually (probably not lol) but for the color and overall product, I can’t even hate on it, I love it so much. Does ColourPop not ship over to your location? I know I can only order it online, luckily they do US shipping which is nice.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hate it when the applicators are bad! I’m such a loser when it comes to applying lipmake-up. I’m the worst with it, so I need an applicator where I can put my make-up on nicely. Unfortunately, the NYX-liquid lipsticks don’t have a lovely applicator :-(. I also tried it with a red color and it was a total mess haha. I don’t know if Colourpop ships to the Netherlands, I will take a look on their website new. Because if they do, I’ll definitely order stuff soon! xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hannah says:

    I love nude lips and I’ve heard great things about the NYX Lingerie line. I guess I’ll really have to try them now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh yes, I’ve been dying to try the lingerie line for long and it’s everything I wanted and more haha totally worth the buy!!!

      Like

  5. ayrgalaxy says:

    Very nice! I love how both nyx lippies look on you. Too bad the colourpop didn’t work out for you. I don’t like to buy lippies online as much either because some colors may not look good. Which is why I’ve been putting off buying colourpop for so long lol. Anyway, the lip lingerie shade looks gorgeous on you, perfect nude. Will have to keep trying to see if my shade is available in stores nearby.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Yesss I so badly want you to find the lingerie line I’m dying to see your thoughts on them. I feel like I want to go and buy 5 more lol Id totally grab you one and send it out to you if I knew what color you’d like…my target just got a whole new shipment of them! I wish suede would come out with a wider line of color tones because nothing beats the suede formula. But yeah totally bummed about colourpop…I was so excited for them but total flop. I ended up giving it away to my friend it goes really well with her skin tone so I’m glad it didn’t go to total waste.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ayrgalaxy says:

        I think I’m gonna look up a ton of swatches of the lip lingerie line before I make up my mind lol. Il have to try target next then. And I agree, the suede line is great but they’re mostly very bold colors. Although, I do want alien, it’s a black matte lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Dana Diaries says:

    I’ll have to try some of these! I’m in the market for a new nude!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Yes!!! These brands are by far my most favorite out of all the brands (high and low end) that I’ve tried!

      Like

  7. I NEED one of these! They look so good on you! I LOVE a nude lip!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Thanks girl!! I do too its my favorite every day color to wear 🙂

      Like

  8. helloitsjo says:

    ahh I love a nude lip!!! You have such beautiful lips and I loved reading this too much!! I’m a bit annoyed now I’m going to have to go out and spend more money hahah typical me!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      LOL I know whenever I read these beauty blogs, I’m like “great, more money I need to spend” The struggle. But I will spend a few dollars on a good lip product it’s one of my guilty pleasures! And thank you so much for your sweet complement!! xo

      Liked by 1 person

  9. 1weekmary says:

    These all look good on you but my favourite of the three has to be Times Square the colour looks gorgeous! I’m going to have to shop around & get it into my makeup bag! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Omg yes girl, you need one of these lippies! Times Square is a gorgeous color but overall with my skin tone it’s not the greatest (so sad). I passed it off to my best friend it suits her much better. Buttt colourpop in general is such a great brand!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. ughmango says:

    These all look so nice on you!! I have few NYX Lingeries too, nude shades as well because I am also so obsessed with them! I love how they look on lips and that they don’t feel heavy but I feel like I need to reapply them all the time because they keep fading away! Do you have this problem too or is it just me? 😁 Also I have been dying to try out ColourPop lippies but it’s really expensive to order them here so I will probably never have a chance to try them 😦 They look amazing though 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Ohhh let me know which shades you have in lingerie! They have so many nude options I don’t even know where to begin lol But yeah, I find that I have to reapply every so often, I wasn’t sure if it was because the shade I chose was so light but I don’t mind reapplying because like you said the formula is so light anyways!

      Like

  11. Love these makeup reviews you do from time to time! It helps me learn so much about makeup and keeps me up to date on what is in style! I want to try the nude lip trend now. I feel like it would look good on everyone!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Aw thanks!!! My reviews are definitely not as elaborate as others but I love that it helps you a little! Totally go for a nude shade, I feel like you’re like me with the all natural look so nude is a great go-to for that! xoxo

      Like

  12. Mackenzie says:

    Bahahha your title. I need to start taking physical notes on all your makeup accessory posts because you always have the best suggestions. Every single one of these is super pretty- that NYX Lip Suede with that scarf is perfection!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I was hoping that people would find the title to be more funny than inappropriate, so I’m glad you got it! Thanks a good sign LOL but girl, only suggestion I’ll give anyone (in regards to makeup) go get a NYX lip product, they are the best!!!!! You’ll love it!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. K.M. Sutton says:

    Love love LOVE this! I love lipsticks (red is my fav:) but I love nudes as well because they are so versatile! Yours is gorgeous! I definitely have to try it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I LOVEEE you in red lips! The red with the blonde hair combo, total killer ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. K.M. Sutton says:

        Awe thanks sweets! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Nude lips are such a classic look and just add that polished element to an outfit! I feel like I’ve been living under a rock having not tried any of the NYX lip products! This one looks so lovely though. It’s definitely difficult to find the right shade as there are so many to suit all different complexions! The NYX lip lingerie one suits you perfectly and looks really natural! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I couldn’t agree more with everything you said in here!!! I was actually just trying to explain this to Andrew how just because it’s a ‘nude shade’ doesn’t necessarily mean that it’s going to go with your particular skin tone because he’s always rolling his eyes at how many different glosses and sticks I try out lol At least you get me 🙂 You totally need to try one of these NYX glosses though! Are they accessible to you over there?!

      Like

  15. Love NYX products!! Affordable, has great wear and quality and awesome shades!! Plus I love that their matte shades are never dring to the lips! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      You’ve just took the words right outta my mouth, nyx for the win!!! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  16. fadedrouge says:

    I honestly love Times Square! The shade looks a bit darker on my lips but I like it that way. Would have been nice if it worked for you also 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I’m sooo bummed that it doesn’t go with my skin tone because I love the formula and I love the swatch on my hand…but on its just different. So sad. But I did give it away to my friend and it looks great on her so luckily it didn’t go to waste!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. fadedrouge says:

        Oh glad it turned out well!

        Liked by 1 person

  17. fadedrouge says:

    I heard that the NYX lip lingerie formula is a bit patchy? Does it last long? It is available in some beautiful shades though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Its not patchy for me…although I do find it a tad bit sheer, but once its applied and on its great. As for lasting long….I think because its sheer it doesn’t last as long as (in comparison) colour pop or nyx lip suedes. I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews on it which made me hesitant but I LOVE their shades so I just had to try it and I now love it. Totally worth trying I’d say 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. fadedrouge says:

        Oh thats great! Im not sure how i feel about it not being opaque but I might have to try it out 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

