These are a few of my favorite things: Hair products

Before I start listing out some of my current favorite hair products let me give you a little debrief on my hair-

My hair is thick, medium length, and processed with bleach. I’d say my hair is more on the course side mostly because of the bleach, not a lot of shine but a whole lot of volume. When I blow dry it/or air dry it’s half wavy half straight. To me my ends are choppy because of how thick it is, so it doesn’t sway or move around so easily. For example, my hair would never be able to be in a Herbal Essence commercial.

On the reg I…. will shower at night, half blow dry it (bc sleeping on wet hair is cold especially during these chilled months), to which I wake up to a huge crazy mess on my head. So more often then not I run my straightener through it and that’s how I typically style my hair.

SIDE NOTE: If there’s one thing about hair products that’s a must for me is that they HAVE TO SMELL GOOD.

Okay anyways….

MY FAVORITE HAIR PRODUCTS

1. It’s a 10 Miracle Leave In

7

I will always spray this in my hair upon getting out of the shower. This has been so incredibly helpful for my ends especially right after I’ve had a hair appointment. It’s repaired my hair/ends every.single.time. I swear this product is the reason why my “should-be” damaged hair isn’t damaged. I spray it in, rub it around, and let it sit in my hair until I’m ready to blow dry.

2. BASTISTE DRY SHAMPOO

9

Britt got me onto this yeaaaars ago and it still stands as my favorite dry shampoo. Compared to other dry shampoo brands I just feel like the consistency of this one works the best with my thick hair. Not to mention it gives great volume, there’s different scents and shades (from dark to light hair), and it really helps diminish oily roots. I love dry shampoo for the sheer fact that I can go 2-3 days without having to wash my hair…bc if you didn’t already know washing your hair daily dries the heck out of it! The longer you can go without washing it, the better.

 3. LIVING PROOF DRY VOLUME

8

I just received this bottle of dry volume in my Sephora Play Subscription and I’ve already used it a few times so far and loved the results each time. It just does exactly what its meant to do and upholds really well with the thickness and heaviness of my hair. I find a lot of volumizing products will hold for a little while but then slowly fall because my hair is just too heavy. The major test was the day of the wedding; I sprayed this in my hair, danced and sweated my butt off and my hair was still big and great. Total win!

OKAY,

Lastly, this is a new one. Britt raved and raved about this product so much. She was it’s biggest cheerleader and for a while I just brushed it off and didn’t really think twice about it. Until I started complaining to her about my ends being so thick and not really movable. So she pushed for me to use this product and gosh darn it was she right! Not that I ever doubted her hair expertise because she inevitably is my hair, makeup, and drinks guru so I finally bought it

4. Paul Mitchell Sugar Cream

10

 I’ve only used it once so far because I literally just got it delivered on Monday. But the results are highly noticeable. I particularly love this product because like I said my hair and ends are pretty stiff from the coarseness (esp when I straighten my hair) so this helps smooth out the overall texture of my hair so that I can have that Herbal Essence commercials kind of hair 😉 So at this point, after my shower I spray in the It’s A 10 and then rub in a little more than a quarter-size portion of this into my hair. And as Britt described to me “it’s very lightweight” and she’s so right. Love this addition to my hair product family.

ARE THERE ANY HAIR PRODUCTS YOU LOVE AND WOULD RECOMMEND? PLEASE SHARE WITH US ALL 🙂

xo, JJ

37 Comments Add yours

  1. apageofme02 says:

    i literally do nothing with my hair, so its good to see what products you use to make your hair amazing!!! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Sometimes I feel like it’s better not having a whole list full of things to use in your hair lol saves money 😉 but I only use these bc of all the bleach in my hair….do you color your hair?

      Like

      1. apageofme02 says:

        oh i see! nope i literally do nothing to my hair! xxx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This was really interesting. I love Batiste for dry shampoo, but since I’m dark-blond, I use a different one. Other than that, I use a lot of Andrélon products, because that brand is famous here and it’s been sold in a lot of drugstores. I’ll be searching that Paul Mitchell Sugar Cream on google, I’ve seen it before and I really like to try it out. After I washed my hair, and it’s a little dry but not totally dry, I put like 3 drops of argan oil in the ends of my hair. Maybe that will also help for you for split ends? xo ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I need to switch up my dry shampoo color tone….its not cute when the highlights closer to my roots are sprayed a dark brown haha But the sugar cream is great for ends, it for sure smooths mine out when theyre dry and rough totally worth trying…even if it didn’t work I’d still use it for the smell lol but yess I love argon oil, that works like a dream….I’ll usually put some on my ends like an hour or two before I go shower it def helps so much and its helped prevent a lot of breakage. The wonders of oils 🙂 xo

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Chrissey says:

    I loved this post! My favorite hair product is the Aussie 3 minute miracle for a deep conditioning mask. It makes my hair SO soft and smells so good! And it’s like $3 at CVS! I also love the Not Your Mother’s Sea Salt Spray for beachy waves and curls during the summer! And RUSK restyling cream is my favorite to twirl into my hair when I curl it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I’m so happy that you suggested a sea salt spray, I was looking into that and all reviews mostly pointed me towards Not Your Mother’s brand. So do you just spray it in there after a shower and let your hair air dry?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Chrissey says:

        Omg WordPress didn’t publish my comment!! It’s SO buggy right now. I apply it after dry my hair off with a towel and scrunch it a little bit for light beachy waves OR I apply it to slightly damp hair, scrunch, and twist into a high bun and sleep on it. In the morning I’ll shake it out and scrunch a little more if needed. It reminds me of Blake Lively’s hair on GG! Of if I want my curls to be more loose or defined after I curl my hair, I’ll comb my fingers through and then spray and scrunch/twirl a few strands with my fingers! I hope that helped!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. xoJenny says:

        Blake Lively hair is goalsss!!!!! I must try this product now thanks for the suggestion! And OMG my wordpress was struggling so hard too. Not sure if it still is but lets pray that this gets posted lol Thanks girl ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Chrissey says:

        You’re so welcome! I love giving recommendations so don’t ever hesitate to ask! I like their dry shampoo as well.

        Liked by 1 person

    2. jlee5879 says:

      YES! I absolutely love this sea salt spray for beach waves and was going to recommend! 🙂 I just tried the texturizing spray and like that too.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post! My hair is long and fairly thin, so I don’t want to go through the hassle of washing and drying it everyday. I’ve also been using Batiste dry shampoo for years, my sister turned me onto it in high school. And I agree about the product having to smell nice 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      So glad you feel the same way. I’m a total advocate for Batiste and I love that it works so well in all hair types so I can recommend it to everyone! Also don’t you just love that extra little volume it gives too! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  5. ayrgalaxy says:

    I’m still working on a good haircare routine but I use argan oil on my hair every time I get out of the shower lol. I’m still looking for other products that I can use to really give my hair some volume. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Argan oil totally saves my hair after bleaching it love that stuff. But for volume, I’d definitely try out the Living Proof Dry Volume….I noticed that it’s lightweight so since you have such long hair I’m assuming it won’t weight it down…. I wish I could just hand you mine to try it lol Next time you go into Ulta I’d totally go test it out and spray some in and shop around for a little to see how it holds up. Thats what I do before I actually buy something 😉 gotta make sure it works ya know haha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ayrgalaxy says:

        I haven’t gone to Ulta in a few weeks if not at least a month or two hahah
        But yeah I’ll check it out 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I need that leave in treatment!!! And I’ve been dying to try the Living Proof product line! I always struggle with volume/holding hair sprays. My hair is so straight and fine that like nothing works unless I spray like an entire can of hairspray in my hair to hold any type of curl.It’s the worst!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      The leave-in is a miracle worker… I like that it has multiple purposes too (heat protector, detangles, hydrates, etc…) totally worth trying out. What hairspray do you currently use (if any) when you curl your hair? If I was to recommend a strong hairspray for curls I’d do Big Sexy Hair (I think it’s Play Harder) which is the stronger hairspray, I know my best friend Britt who has fine hair loves her L’Oreal Paris Elnett hairspray- it’s lightweight so it hold her hair really well when she curls it!

      Like

  7. Dude. It’s a 10 line. Is. Amazing. You should look at some keraste products also. They’re pretty bomb. a bit pricey, but if you wanna treat yo self giiiirl I highly recommend it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Right I love Its A 10 stuff it all smells so good too. But whenever I look up specific hair products Keraste is usually always the first brand that pops up (to which I need to refilter my search to “cheap” lmao) that’s totally a ‘I just got paid a bonus so I’ll treat myself’ kind of product, I’m dying to try their softening hair mask for thick hair.

      Like

  8. Love your recommendations, I have to try some of these out😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Yes definitely!!!!! At least the dry shampoo because who doesn’t love dry shampoo 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. llindaxxo says:

    I love dry shampoo. On that note, I hate when it leaves a white residue in my hair. I haven’t had that problem with Living Proof or Batiste but I haven’t tried the brunette/dark version that Batiste has. Does it leave a brown residue? I used the DryBar dry shampoo for Brunettes and when I was kind of rubbing/ruffling (?not sure if that’s the right term to describe it, lol) my hands got covered in brown.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh yes I know exactly what you’re talking about, so the dark brown Batiste doesn’t leave that white/grey reside of course because it sprays out dark so its fine but I totally get it on my fingers when I’m rubbing it in. But I’d totally rather it on my fingers than hair lol But now I’m torn because my hair is lighter on the top too so idk that Id be able to use the dark brown one anymore. I’ve tried the living proof dry shampoo and wasn’t a total fan buttttt I feel like I want to try it again because so many people love it. Which do you think you prefer between living proof and batiste?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. llindaxxo says:

        IMO they both perform similarly and considering the price tag…I’d go with batiste.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. ughmango says:

    I don’t use much hair products so this was really interesting post to read! I probably should start putting more effort into my hair.. I also use Batiste for a dry shampoo and it’s for sure best one out there, it actually does it’s job!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Batiste is an absolute life savior! Love it. I honestly never really used any hair products in my hair before that is until I started adding bleach and needed to repair my hair but if your hair is healthy as is, no need to spend the extra money 🙂

      Like

  11. Susan says:

    Quite amazing, althought i need to start taking care of my hair seriously!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Lol I know hair maintenance is such a process but its totally worth it in the end!!!

      Like

  12. I have used the Its a 10 spray once before and I loved it! I think a hair dresser put it on my hair when I got a cut and I was shocked at the difference it made! I’m super interested in the Paul Mitchell Sugar Cream. It sounds pretty cool!

    As for products I would recommend, I don’t really use anything, haha. I’m pretty boring!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I’m seriously so impressed with It’s a 10 products, total fave! And the sugar cream has been working wonders- I’ve noticed that my hair is so smooth after showering/next day to the point where I don’t even need to straighten it anymore which is a dream!

      Like

  13. Love how thick your hair is! Mine has no volume AT ALL!!! It’s impossible! xoxo Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

  14. kittudoe says:

    I n fed up with my hair nothing suit them I simply shampoo them off n let them wild I have tried many products that lead to hair fall now my hair looks bit limp n thin so I m ok with simple shampoo not even Coloring them.Bit thank u for info IL share it with my friends

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Thanks for the suggestions ! Love this 🖤

    Liked by 1 person

  16. minxymoon says:

    I totally want to bleach my dark brown hair to platinum and I will totally have to use these

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      yesss!!! I 100% support that decision, I love my blonde so much lol But I definitely would highly suggest using It’s A 10, works wonders on my bleached hair!!! I also would highly suggest getting a purple shampoo to keep up with the blonde (esp when you go dark to blonde the brassiness is real) I use Bed Head Purple Shampoo for reference…. not to link myself (even though I am) I talk about the purple shampoo here! https://sitbackandjustlive.wordpress.com/2017/06/19/weekend-recap-16/

      Like

      1. minxymoon says:

        Thanks! Super excited about it 😊 yeah I will totally look into those, thank you! What does brassiness look like? I have a general idea but I a.m. not sure about what it actually looks like

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

