Life In Boston: Favorite Places To Visit

In honor of Boston’s Marathon Monday yesterday, I’m going to do a Favorite Places to Visit in Boston post. 1

This was suggested some time ago by Emma back in my

Life In Boston: Pros and Cons

I’m narrowing my list down to 5 places which is really hard but if I don’t I’ll literally just be listing everything in the city. Luckily Boston is fairly small so if you ever do come and visit you can pretty much walk and see everything within a day, if not 2 days.

Side Note: these photos are not my own. Google 😉

1. Boston Commons & Public Gardens

638In the heart of Boston, I like to refer to it as my North Star. Once you’re there you can go in any direction and get to a new section of Boston. Its the perfect place to just relax, have a picnic, lay out, read, people watch. In the summer there’s A TON of festivals and events going on, it’s definitely one of my favorite places to be.

2. Faneuil Hall & Quincy Market

11

9

10

This place is a definite go-to. There’s really never not a time throughout the year that it’s not overflowing with people. Food, bars, shopping, street performers the whole 9 yards. Inside Quincy Market are little food places to grab and go from ice cream to clam chowder to pasta and sushi everything you can think of is most likely in there. And at the end of Quincy Market leads to the famous Christmas Tree (at Christmas time of course) and little further is the Christopher Columbus archway and Boston Harbor.

3. Boston Harbor & Seaport District

20

17

18If you like water front views then this is the place for you. Here you can find the aquarium, a few restaurants, there’s a large sit-down area that people come to just admire the view, and a few steps away from the North End (otherwise known as our “Little Italy”)

Further down in the opposite direction (from the North End) is the Seaport district which are full of high-end restaurants with amazing views like this.a

4. The Prudential

18

I believe it’s the second tallest building in Boston. Home of more shopping, more food, a Barnes and Nobles, offices, hotel, apartments, and my two favorites the view from Top of the Hub and Little Eataly

16

5. Beacon Hill and Charles Street

19

20

Do you love brick buildngs and cobblestones? Then wandering around Beacon Hill is the place for you. Except be sure to wear comfy shoes because the “Hill” part is no joke. Hills on hills on hills. But its a gorgeous residential area. I’ve seen countless engagement and wedding photos taken there, very picture-esq.

Which also leads to my favorite street in Boston, Charles Street. Follow Charles Street down (if you start where that Starbucks is- which happens to be at the corner of the Public Gardens that I mentioned above) you’ll walk through cute little boutiques, restaurants, markets and at the very end you get to the Charles River.

23

22

Those are my favorite spots but definitely not limited to just those 5! I love all of Boston.

If you’ve ever been or live near/around here what are your favorite spots?

xo, JJ

37 thoughts on “Life In Boston: Favorite Places To Visit

      • xoJenny says:

        Oh you lucky girl!!! Cali is definitely the dream! You must do a post like this if yo get the chance so I can see all the best spots 🙂 Do you know which school your cousin went to?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Natalie Vinh says:

        I can’t remember, honestly, but I think it was one of the bigger schools? That’s a great idea, I’ll totally start brainstorming for that! And SoCal is great, but NorCal’s a little less exciting, haha!

        Like

    • xoJenny says:

      Maybe I’m biased but it really is a great city!!! 🙂 Definitely a fun place and very “hipster”! I’ve never been out of the US other than to Canada….I hope to get out though! Where are you from?

      Like

  1. 50shad3s0fjay says:

    Boston looks beautiful, you’re seriously making me want to visit. It looks like such a gorgeous area, the commons and gardens look so pretty, the perfect place for a walk! And the harbour / sea district, gorgeous views! Anddd I love a good aquariame (omg why has my mind gone blank and I totally spelt that wrong…)! The cobbles too… So pretty!! Boston is now on my bucket list!

    Like

    • xoJenny says:

      It’s so nice here, I’m so proud to be from Boston. But at least your traveling to the US! Florida i going to be awesome….nothing beats those beautiful palm trees…..and Disney!!!! lol Florida is definitely one of my favorite vacation spots; its cheap and they have the best beaches! Too bad I wasn’t going there the same time as you!! I need to meet my blogging twin ❤

      xo, JJ

      Liked by 1 person

      • 50shad3s0fjay says:

        You should be it looks beautiful!! Yes I can’t wait for Florida, I’m so excited!! That would have been crazy cool! Well after all your awesome posts about Boston this place is definitely on my bucket list!!! We can go to the Prudential!! 😬 Xx

        Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh nooo I find that so hard to believe about London lol I love the architecture! I want to visit so badly!! It’s just one of those “the grass is always greener on the other side” 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Angela says:

        Aww thanks!
        I’m from Scotland. My friend studied in Boston and every year my friends and I would say we would visit but never got round to it, so it’s been on my list for a long time, hopefully one day!!

        Like

    • xoJenny says:

      You don’t even know howwww anxious I am to frolic with you….Boston Common adventures 😉 Legit though one day were getting blow out before and then going to go frolic lol ❤ ❤ ❤

      Like

    • xoJenny says:

      I’m sure San Jose was amazing!!!! Then again anything in Cali is amazing lol Oh yeah NYC is definitelyyyy a must see totally don’t blame you! So much to see eat, and do! Butttttt if you extend your trip you can just go from NYC to Boston 😉 Only an hour flight orrrrr 4ish hour drive lol

      Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      You’re going to DC?!?! Will that be your first time there? I loveeeed it down there. Driving wise is a good 7ish hours 😦 Buttttt it would be soooo worth doing if you guys had the time to do so!!! And we’d be able to meet!!!!!! You should totally do some persuading 😉

      Like

  2. ayrgalaxy says:

    Omg the Commons and public gardens looks so awesome! And the Swan canoes (is that what they are?) So cute! I’ve always wanted to ride those lol. We have festivals at the waterfront too. 😉

    The Christopher Columbus archway looks so awesome decorated! I think you snap a pic of it last year during Christmas and it was super gorgeous!! I don’t think we have anything like that here.

    I can’t believe you have the aquarium right there! Lol. That’s awesome!

    So is the prudential like a huge mall or something? Lol

    Beacon Hill looks amazing! Totally worth walking there for pics lol.

    If I ever visit Boston I’d definitely check out the entire city lol. It looks like such a beautiful city!

    Like

    • xoJenny says:

      The Commons/Public Gardens are so nice….its like the much smaller less overwhelming version of Central Park lol Tons of movies were filmed there too which is cool. And yes they’re actually called Swan Boats lol same thing though, I’ve done it once its just a nice relaxing touristy thing to do lol Or you can just do a Duck Boat tour of the whole city and it brings you into the Charles River which I love. The Pru is crazy it literally has everything but yeah mostly shopping and food. And yeah Beacon Hill is so picture-esq theres just so many cute little hidden spots throughout the neighborhood. I know for a fact that I want part of my engagement photos (when/if that time ever comes) to be in Beacon Hill 🙂 lolol

      Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      YESSS come to Boston and I’ll go to California lol we can switch coasts! You should consider doing a post like this for your area! I’m always so eager to see what different cities in California are like! ❤

      Like

  3. Mackenzie says:

    LOOOOOVE this post!!!! You know my little travel bug was biting while reading it. I need to bookmark this post for the next time I go to Boston to make sure I hit all the important spots!!! WHAT I WOULD GIVE TO GO NOW! Boston is amaaaazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Aww thanks love!!! You need to do one of these for like San Jose (and/or San Fran) so that I can keep it handy for future references!!! 😉 And ugh I literally am just waiting for the day to get some sort of message from you saying that you’ve booked a trip out here….or even NYC because you me and Kate and whoever else NEEDS to have a bloggers girls day!! Just not now though because its still cold here lol

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mackenzie says:

        Yes yes yes!!!!!! I always get SUCH good ideas from your posts. I still want to do a get to know DJ one like you did with Andrew! And YESSS it will happen (the girls trip!). Maybe after I graduate from this program next Spring/ Summer depending what your schedules look like?!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. K.M. Sutton says:

    Loved reading about your favorite places! And yassss! The seaport is my favorite place and is what began to win Boston over for me.

    I don’t know if this technically counts, but I also love the Boston Harbor Islands…Have you ever been? I can not wait for them to open for the season so I can go!

    Also I am sure I have walked along Charle’s Street, but I need to go back there. it looks amazing! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I haven’t gone to the Islands yet! Those are those ones that you take the ferry out to right? On multiple occasions last summer I was suppose to go but plans always failed or it happened to rain etc…. I want to get over there though- making efforts this summer along with kayaking on the Charles, have you done that before?! xo

      Liked by 1 person

      • K.M. Sutton says:

        Oh my gosh you have too! Yes you do! It is SO much fun! Literally one of my favorite places EVER! I hope you get to go this summer!
        No I haven’t. Not going to lie that kind of sleeves me out. I don’t know if the Charles is like the Hudson or East River, but whenever I run and I get splashed from the river I automatically want to bathe in bleach….The germaphobe in me coming out lol. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • xoJenny says:

        That’s so funny that you said that because, well, back story; I’ve been DYING to do the whole kayaking in the Charles for a while now- so last summer Andrew and I were finally there at the kayak rentals and the first thing the guy said it us was “you need to sign this waiver because the algae in the water right now is really bad and if it touches your skin you need to make sure you shower immediately” and at that point we were quick to walk away lol Although, I’m pretty sure it’s clean for the most part. They said it was because it was extraordinarily hot for a few consecutive weeks so it can happen… But even if clean and I got a little bit of that water on me, I’d still be skeptical ha

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

