A Not Friday, Favorites

 Good morning Thursday!

Today I have a little Friday Favorites for you all but since it’s not Friday, it’s a Not Friday, Favorites 🙂 It’s actually a very, VERY random assortment of things I’ve compiled over this week/past week but definitely noteworthy. It’s a lot or at least in my head it seems like a lot but to sum it up; things, hair, and food!

THE PLAYGROUND

This was actually back a month ago, it was a nice day after work and I of course wanted to go frolic. Well, across the street from our apartment there’s a huge field that we drive by just about every single day- so Andrew and I decided that we’d go check it out.

Well, to our surprise that field led to an elementary school which has a soccer field (that explains the big field), a basketball court, and a huge awesome playground. When I say awesome, it’s probably the best playground I’ve laid eyes on and I seriously couldn’t believe that kids these days are playing on these things! Totally jealous. All I had back in my day were those old rickety wooden ones that you’d leave with splinters all over your body.

They have a whole row of swings that Andrew and I have swinging races on to see who can go higher (I obviously win 😉 ), these massive climbing jungle gyms that we also partake in, and slides, monkey bars, more climbing swinging things. It’s an adult, but child at heart heaven.

Here’s cute little Noah playing on it. Just fearless…1

2

3

Andrew and I go there often now on nice days after work and shoot some hoops. He’s a basketball fanatic and I can’t even deny that he’s pretty darn good at it.

NAIL POLISH

5

I got this color in my April Ipsy bag and this DIY manicurist was in love with this color and obviously had to apply it immediately. I think that this just might be my favorite nail shade for this Spring/Summer. For those of you who also received this color.. it looks great with two coats but I noticed it chips fast. So, about two days after I just painted over it (because I’m lazy) and with the third coat it lasted another good solid week for me.

“DELICATE FLOWER”

6

BACK STORY: You know, as any girl can relate, some days I can be more sensitive than other days and just need that extra TLC. So in return Andrew always calls me a Delicate FlowerSo one day I was just browsing through bitmoji’s because I mean what else would I be doing… I found this gem and thought it was hysterical and so suiting. If only it had yellow petals so that I could be a Delicate Sunflower 😉

PRIMER

Just 2 months ago I realized the significance of primer and actually used it. I’m serious for 27 years never once ever used primer. Until Sephora Play sent me this…7And I used the entire thing because applying this and then using my concealer made A HUGE difference. I’m slowly but surely starting to understand you beauty bloggers 🙂

I was totally bummed when I wiped this container clean but Aprils Sephora Play sent me this….9

Oh my heavenly Primer Gods. I thought I loved Josie Maran, but this one, oh this Smashbox Primer is officially my new* favorite. At first I was skeptical because you put it on and its so lightweight and dries up so quick that you literally feel like there’s nothing is on your skin. So initially, I’m like is it on??? But then I applied my concealer and the difference is so uncanny. Guys I really have no words my skin looks crazy amazing. I can only imagine what it’d be like applying this all over my entire face if I was a foundation user (but I’m not). My concealer has never ever sat and looked so nicely on my skin I swear it looks like I have nothing on. Two huge thumbs up!

SOCKS

This one is for Andrew because I know aside from me 😉 these are his new favorites. SOCKS! Fun cartoony socks. And I must admit, I love them too and totally swayed him to start wearing these.16

My personal favorite are the pasta ones that I got for him.8

HAIR

I’ve been actively switching up hair styles lately AKA I’ve had the energy to. My usual go to because it’s easy, is straight, like so-

17

But I’ve also been trying different curling techniques…

If I’m being lazy but want some waves I just use the curling iron and curl the front of it outwards like so20

But when I have more time, I will use my curling iron as a wand and do these curls. These ones just take much longer because with thick hair I need to do smaller amounts.

But what I really wanted to get at was this… top half bun

Shout out to Ashlee Feldman whose the real MVP in rocking this style. I always loved it but I never ever thought that I’d ever do it on myself. Even Britt’s done it before but that girl looks good with her hair up. Just this past weekend I randomly decided to try it and wouldn’t you know, I loved it.

SHEET BAKES & FOOD

If you want a recipe as easy as a crock pot recipe, do a sheet bake!

I’ve been cooking salmon and chicken with veggies and its incredibly easy and delicious. I’ll let the pictures speak for me-

Teriyaki Salmon10

12

BBQ Chicken13

14

And lastly, give me some Korean Bulgogi. Back when Andrew and I went to H Mart (the Korean Market) I picked some up anddd

Bulgogi over rice7

And last night I made it into a sandwich because why not. Topped it off with some sriratcha of course!15

And gosh darn was it good.

Okay phew, Not Friday, Friday Favorites concludes. Hope ya’ll made it through!!!

xo, JJ

45 thoughts on “A Not Friday, Favorites

  1. danniijane says:

    Loved all your pictures. That mint nail polish😍 I love the Smashbox photo finish primer. I alternate between that and the Body Shops one☺ Your hair is lovely. You look great with it curly, straight or half up xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I couldn’t believe how amazing the smashbox concealer is. I don’t even want to know what the full price is for that item but once I run out of this I DEFINITELY need to rebuy! And thank you so much…my hair can be a wild one but on days that it cooperates I like it too haha xoxox

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 50shad3s0fjay says:

    SO MUCH TO SAY!!! First of all, yes to the Smashbox primer! Allllll there products are amazing but the primers are insane, also their eyeshadow primer is incredible. So happy you’re loving the photo finish. Aaaand your hair looks so pretty in all styles but those curls, so beaut! & loving the half up bun look too! and that nail polish colour, so dreamy and Summery, I need!!! & obviously cartoon socks are the best, those pasta ones are so cute I want them!!! Pasta is the best food and socks are so fun so combined = perfection. Lastly love that delicate flower bitmoji hahaha how perfect. Such an entertaining and fun post Jenny 🙂 xxx

    Like

    • xoJenny says:

      Jennie, I don’t even know where to begin, so much love ❤ ❤ I can 100% say the same about your hair…. I'm just dying for it to grow out long like yours but I just don't even know that it ever will! But I want to do pretty fishtail braids like you do!!! I seriously cannot believe that primer or more so that it took me so long to even discover primer….like hello where was I hahah For a while when I first bought the pasta socks, he wasn't even wearing them he just kept them in its package…. So I finally was like, well, if you're not going to them I will because I like them too! hahah I still might have to steal them 😉

      Like

      • 50shad3s0fjay says:

        ♥ ♥ ♥ Ohh just believe it will grow, get lots of protein lol have you tried Alpecin shampoo? That’s supposed to help with strengthening hair/ hair growth but your hair is so lovely regardless! Omg fishtail plaits are just the best!!! I LOVE them I need to learn to do them myself I just get other people to do them for me lol. I know right lol I could not live without primer, but I guess if you don’t really wear a lot of face makeup like foundation its not like you would think so much about needing one. At least you’ve discovered it now yaaay! Haha I don’t blame you! How he didn’t wear them as soon as you guys got home I don’t know, I’d be buzzing to wear them. I think you should! You can always go back to the store and buy another pair for him, isn’t that what boyfriends are for anyway? To steal their clothes???

        Liked by 1 person

  3. lifeofangela says:

    I’m so impressed with your hair! I wish I could do stuff like that to mine, but my hair is quite thin. So if I try to curl it, it comes undone within an hour. I just slap it in a ponytail normally so it’s out of my face XD

    Like

    • xoJenny says:

      Aw thanks sweets. Having thick hair is so bittersweet. It’s nice to have a lot of it but sometimes it’s just too wild and a lot of maintenance haha most of the time I just have to pin it up too for it to be out of my face lol

      Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I’m so in love with the polish color. After they were worn and torn I switched the color but I’m already wanted to go back and use it again. I might have to redo them this coming week, withdrawls haha And thank you as always xoxo ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Nicole says:

    So I don’t use primer either, and now you have me wondering what I might be missing. LOL!! I think I need to try it out… 🙂
    And I am ALL for sheet bakes!! Sooooo easy and delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I seriously would read blogs on blog on blogs about primers and how they’re always putting it on and what ones they use but I would always disregard it. But I am soooo thankful to be signed up for the Sephora Play subscription otherwise I still would never have known the wonders of primer! I always thought it was for people who use foundation and such which I don’t so I didn’t really see the need for it….But even for concealer I was like WOAH! For not being an active user to now lover…. I would highly recommend it. Do you use concealer or foundation? I think they have little mini tester sizes like the one I have so try that one first! xoxo

      Like

  5. ayrgalaxy says:

    That playground is badass. I’d enjoy it a lot lol.
    And I love the polish as well. Such a great color. 🙂 I’m wearing it too 🙂
    I still haven’t tried that primer but I guess I’ll have to at some point lol.
    Lmao those pasta socks!!!
    I wish I had time to do my hair but it always gets tangled and my hair is so flat right now, whenever it gets too long it loses so much volume. And I’m ironically using volumizing shampoo and conditioner 😒 I may end up cutting my hair short again…

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Right I was so impressed with that playground. Although it frightens me that kids actually play on it. I was terrified myself when I was climbing all over that thing but then again kids tend to be more fearless lol I was so nervous when I was babysitting Noah watching him just race up the jungle gym like it was no big deal haha And wait a minute…..did you just say you might end up cutting it…. AH that would make me sad because I loveee your long hair. But totally understandable and I’m sure you’d still have a good length on it if you decided to snip it a little! You’ll have to mentally prepare me before, if/when you do lol xoxox

      Liked by 1 person

      • ayrgalaxy says:

        LOL yeah kids are so fearless, it scares me when my kiddo just jumps around everywhere! But at least it’s good practice for you too 😉
        Anndd yess…. Sadly, lol… It just gets SOO tangled, and I have way more volume on my hair when it’s shorter. I do like my long hair as well..I’ll have to attempt some cute hairstyles and if I can’t do them, I’m cutting it off! And yes, I’ll prepare you LOL 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. beautybyadutchgirl says:

    I LOVE that curly hair you have in the pictures. It just looks so pretty on you. And that half bun is also super cute. That is one of my favorite hairstyles when my hair is a bit greasy! I love minty/pastel colors for spring on my nails, just like that nailcolor you’re wearing!! Really liked this not-friday favorites!! Happy Friday girl xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      That’s funny that you say that because I first tried out the half bun thing when my hair was a bit dirty/greasy hahah it really is perfect for it, it hides that it is dirty and stays pretty well too lol but totally cute to rock too! I’m glad I came out of that shell because I love doing that to my hair now. And yesss, bring on all the summery pastel colors…. I’m sick of seeing dark colors on my fingers I need all the brightness I can get, I think that’s why I loved that shade so much.. I need to re-put it back on now lol xoxox

      Liked by 1 person

  7. marblebeauty says:

    This is such a cool post ideas, I loved reading it!! That nail polish shade is sooo beautiful, I may have to treat myself to that one! Also your hair is looking gorgeous, it’s making my tempted to chop mine to a similar length as yours!! Xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      aw thank you!!! I do love the length of my hair right now although I’m trying to grow it out even longer- its been taking so long! But for now it’s a good length, I can pretty much style it any which way and it works. How long is your hair as of right now?

      xo, JJ

      Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      You must try the half bun. Do it privately just in case lol but seriously, It’s become one of my favorite ways to wear my hair. I seriously would do it every day if it wasn’t such an uncommon style lol And I just bobby pin it up so it’s super simple and light!!! xo

      Like

  8. Milena ☁️ says:

    The colour of that nail polish is just soooooo pretty and spring-like! As for primers, I really need to find a new one as my YSL sample one is running out very soon. The Smashbox one sounds amazing – anything lightweight on the skin is a winner in my eyes! I’ve always loved your hair and it looks so cute with those waves in but also in a half knot top! I think the half top knot works really well for someone with thicker hair like yours, whereas on mine it looks a little… sad… haha! Ahhhhh Dave literally had Bulgogi noodles yesterday! But we had it in a sushi place so we had no idea it was Korean! Also, fun socks are the best for cosy days in! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      My smashbox primer is only a sample too and I’m trying to minimize how much I actually use because I don’t even want to know how much it actually costs when I have to buy it myself lol I mighttt have to just suck it up and buy it though because it is THAT good! And aw thanks sweets. I agree, the thick hair does come in handy sometimes lol Even if your hair is thin, you literally cannot tell, you look like you have luscious thick hair! and did he really?!!? Bulgogi is the a huge korean dish staple!!!! Everyone raves about it here. Did you get to try it at all? xoxox

      Like

  9. ughmango says:

    I am just going to say this once again, but damn I love your hair!! It’s so pretty, and you always put it so nicely I am so jealous 😍 I also love love love Smashbox Primers they are best primes out there for sure, I will probably always stick with them but why change when you have found the perfect one right? haha! Loved this post 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Aw thanks love, my hair is so bittersweet, those were just some good hair days 😉 sometimes it doesn’t always cooperate lol but the smashbox primer, I cannot even believe it! The one I have now was a free sample of it so I’m trying to make it last because I don’t even know (or want to know) how much it costs…..but I really might have to splurge and just get it because I love it so much I want to stick with that product! xoxo

      Like

  10. Allie Zottola says:

    That playground looks amazing and intense all at the same time! A kid’s dream, haha.

    I love that nail color. It’s perfect for this season. Aaaand your hair is stunning however you style it! I am also a huge bitmoji fan. I love that there are new ones constantly! It makes texting fun :). Oh, and I can totally be a delicate little flower at times, too 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Mackenzie says:

    Hehe- this is so cute. I loveee that nail polish color- perfect for spring! I’ve never used primer because I feel like the ones I have tried dried my face out (the ones with the “red tint” remover). So I’ll definitely need to give that one a go. I know it’s basically like a requirement for us to own as women. Lol. And THOSE SOCKS. Particularly loving the mac & cheese ones! OH MY GOODNESESSSS I just scrolled down and you said the same thing. Hahaha. Your hair has SOOO much volume! I love love love it! I’m also excited that you have discovered the love for homemade salmon! I remember being like- “this is so easy, what took me so long!” the first time I made it too. MMM mm. I may need to make some tonight!

    Like

Leave a Reply

