Spring Time Make-Up

Good morning Tuesday!

With Spring and Summer approaching I get oddly excited about revising my make-up routine. But let’s not get carried away because when it comes to my make-up, I’m still a plain Jane all year round. And to be frank, most of my products stay the same, well “same but diff….” I switch out some things, I found some new things, and I do less things. Ya know?

So first things first

PRIMER!

A year ago this girl had no intentions of ever trying primer. But thanks to my Sephora Playbook Subscription; I’m a huge advocate. The Smashbox Photo Finish to be exact.9I squeeze little dots and rub under and around my eyes and only there because I don’t use foundation. IF I was a foundation wearer I’d use this over my entire face because anything used on top of this looks sheer and flawless!

CONCEALER

If they ever discontinued this line, I just don’t know what I’d do. Maybelline’s FITme! Conealer is my absolute go-to1Now I’ve been using the same shade this whole time (the bottom one) because I’m still at my palest *cries* I need the sun. Anyhow, I just do triangles under my eye like so 4

EYEBROWS

I fill and shade in with Maybellines Brow Define and Fill duo. It’s super easy to use; one side has a mechanical liner and the other side has the blender4

MECHANICAL EYE LINER

My go-to one for years now is the ALMAY one in dark brown. I always use brown just because I prefer a softer “close to no make-up” look. I apply this to ONLY the top water line of my eyes. I don’t do my bottom water line.3

MASCARA

I just recently bought Maybelline’s Lash Sensational mascara and I’ve fallen in love with it. Its volume in the sense that it’s bold rather than dramatic which I like for work. I start by doing one coat of it. (PS- I know I mentioned above that I don’t do my bottom water line but I will for work or if I need to be more dressy)

LIQUID LINER

I talk about this liner over and over and over. NYX Liquid Matte Liner. Which is what I use to draw in my wings.4

*From there I curl my lashes and add another coat of mascara and curl them once more when it’s dried*

HIGHLIGHTER AND BLUSH

I retire the bronzer and pull out the highlighter.

For highlighter I’ve been using my Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Opal8

And Fiona Stiles Blush in Maiden Lane, which is a peachy pink tone. 9

And for the most part the final look looks like this. Except the lighting is extraordinarily bright here so you can’t even see the highlighter and blush but just know it’s there 🙂1

AND this whole look takes me a solid 7 minutes if I could guess.

Oh lastly, I’m still loving my NYX Lip Lingerie in Corset

And that’s it!

xo, JJ

35 thoughts on “Spring Time Make-Up

    • xoJenny says:

      Aw thanks Rossy!!! Sometimes I feel like I’m doing something wrong because I do it so quick lmao But I got it down to a 7 minute routine JUST SO I can sleep more on work days 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • ayrgalaxy says:

        No, I doubt you’re doing anything wrong lol. 😊
        It just means you got your routine down, and I don’t wear makeup everyday so maybe that’s why it takes me forever. I never get a chance to practice getting ready at a set amount of time lol.

        Like

    • xoJenny says:

      I would love to use foundation just because I love the overall look of the skin afterwards but I’m just so scared that I’ll break out…. my skin is so prone to break outs so I avoid doing anything to trigger it. But Yesss that primer is life!!!! I’m so glad I started using it! xox

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ash says:

    I have been wanting to try out the smashbox primer but I wasn’t too sure about it. Now I’m gonna get it for sure! Btw I’m a maybelline girl too! I use almost everything in maybelline, except my foundation is from NYX. I should try their lip combo. Great post hun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      It’s an amazing primer, I’m such an advocate for it and will 1000% go out and buy it again when this runs out. I highly suggest trying it!!!! And YESS Maybelline is surprisingly really good especially for their price range, you just can’t beat it!! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. sarahscupofbeauty says:

    Well you know, most make up artists also recommend using less product on your face if you don’t need it! And it’s true. I do have some redness and dark circles though and I feel more comfortable having a bit of BB cream or foundation on… but for the life of me, I can’t reduce my routine to 10 minutes. It always lasts an hour, even for simpler looks. But it’s just because I love taking my time haha! Always love reading these type of posts! xoxo Sarah

    Liked by 2 people

    • xoJenny says:

      I definitely suffer from dark circles under my eyes but nothing a little concealer can’t fix! I personally would love to wear foundation because I love how it looks on skin even like a light weight one but my skin is just so prone to breakouts that I don’t even want to risk it. I definitely take a littleeee longer when I’m actually getting ready but I had to get my 7 minute make up routine down just so that I can sleep more in the mornings on work days lmao priorities.

      Liked by 1 person

      • sarahscupofbeauty says:

        I must say, I’m lucky because my skin doesn’t easily get agitated. I would get hormonal breakouts, but nothing too crazy. But honestly, if you don’t need foundation why would you wear it? Personallly I like to play around with make up, so I sometimes put on too much. But when I do someone else’s make up, I only focus on the center, where there is redness to get an even skin tone. I think you look lovely without!! I must say, I do my make up in an hour, very slowly though because it relaxes me. But to be honest, I could use more sleep haha! xoxo Sarah

        Liked by 1 person

  3. koriahweb says:

    CUTE! I love you lip color! The way you curl your eyelashes are so interesting! I am a very natural girl! So I have never worn bronzer and I have never made a makeup post! But I love reading other peoples! And you put it on fast though if you do it a lot then I guess you could get pretty fast!
    xoxo Koriah

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Aw thank you!!! And you know, all natural is the way to go! I wish I didn’t look like a zombie without eye make up otherwise I’d go without too!! Plus I’m sure it saves you a ton of money too 😉 Do you at least wear some lip shades? xoxo

      Liked by 3 people

    • xoJenny says:

      ME TOO!!! It’s so pretty isn’t it, I want to try some of the other shades too! Do you own any of the other ones? As for the Maybelline mascara, this is one of the first mascaras I’ve tried from their line…I usually go for Cover Girl if I’m doing a drug store product but I’m pleasantly happy with this one. It’s more vibrant opposed to the CG ones I’ve used in the past!

      Like

    • xoJenny says:

      Omg yes Natalie, it’s a total must! I can’t get over how good my concealer looks on top of the primer! Its just so smooth and it literally looks like I have nothing on which is the best part. Are you using any specific primer right now?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. beautybyadutchgirl says:

    I need to try out that fit me concealer!! I’ve heard great things together but compared to my go to (catrice) concealer, it’s a bit expensive. So that stops me from trying it! I really like that ‘final’ look Jenny, if I imagine it all together! Those products look really good for spring! Especially that blush color looks so much fun, but we’ve talked about that before!! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I actually found the Catrice brand on Ulta and I’m super excited, the concealer has some pretty good reviews on it too! And you’re right the price is cheaper. I might actually have to give your brand a try now 🙂 I love the blush color tone too, I’m glad I finally tried a more peachy tone I usually go for reds. I’m nervous to see how it will look though once I get tanner come the summer time.. It may not be as vibrant. Do you have any good red toned blushes that you recommend? xo

      Like

    • xoJenny says:

      Right! Simple and casual is my favorite way to go. Also for me, I’m just so lazy at the end of the day that I barely even want to go take off my make up (but I do) so it’s nice knowing I don’t have to sit there and rub everything off for hours (hours…i’m so dramatic) lol just a few swipes and everything is off. And thank youuu ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Omg this highlighter would be SO pretty on you! The only con is that it’s expensive (well at least for me lol) buttttt if you’re willing to splurge I’d totally go for it! It lasts forever too so I guess it evens out! xo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

