Weekend Recap- Mother’s Day

Friends!! I’m pretty excited BECAUSE…

I was looking at this weeks weather forecast yesterday and look at this!28Don’t mind the dreary rain for today but can it be? The sun!?? 90 degrees?! YES! YES! and YES! Please Mother Nature, let this be the start to the summer and not just a tease.

Okay, next exciting thing….ONE MORE MONDAY (after today) before me and Andrew’s trip. Ya’ll are going to be so annoyed by the time the 27th comes but I’m telling you- I haven’t been this excited or ready for a vacation since Disney World. The feeling of knowing that for 8 (work) days I don’t have to wake up and go to work elates me! #fulltimejobproblemz

Last exciting thing for today, my eye is healed! I didn’t mention it on my blog but last Tuesday as I was wiping off my make-up with my favorite Neutragena wipes; I clumsily must’ve swiped my eye with my nail. Guys, the pain was unbearable. It took a solid 10 minutes to even barely open my eye… It felt like something was in there the whole time so I kept trying to pry it open in the shower to wash it out but that didn’t help. The next morning I could barely keep my eye open and even the slightest bit of light irritated it. I was googling WebMD-ing and I was certain I had a corneal abrasion. Great thing about those is that they heal on its own *eyeroll* It was a good solid 5 days of no make up and secluding myself in the dark whenever possible but I’m finally good now.

Now we can get onto the Weekend Recap! 🙂

FRIDAY NIGHT

Andrew and I finally went to this restaurant in our town called The Local.30Countless times do we drive by it and every single time say “We need to try that place“. It has a cute little exterior as it does interior and oh my Lordy Lord is their food splendid. My only regret is not trying it sooner.

My dinner date ❤1

They have these “Bowls” that come with Jasmine rice, a veggie salad, and a meat. So I got the crispy shrimp one and I swear I could eat this over and over again. In fact, I wish I had it right now.2

SATURDAY

Saturday took us by surprise because we thought it was going to be inclement weather but the rain actually held off for most of the day. Andrew and I decided to go on a little foodie adventure. He suggested we go to Providence, RI which is only about a 50 min drive from us. We got ready and headed out-

Hair-do for the day! I can rarely do my own hair let alone braid it so I was proud of this. 3

We initially had plans to go to a Steak and Sushi restaurant except they didn’t open till 4 and we arrived at about 3:30. So we decided to waste time by frolicking around. I don’t know much about Providence other than the huge mall but we were in the financial district. As we were walking an “authentic Korean food” sign caught our eyes so we simultaneously nixed Steak and Sushi and went for Korean 😉 #WIN

The place was called MOKBAN and the interior had such a great ambiance to it6

Now I literally judge the authenticity of a Korean restaurant by the dishes they serve and the amount of “ban-chan” otherwise known as “side dishes” they provide. A little Korean 101 for you all; Ban-chan is a HUGE part of a Korean meal, they’re a bunch of little side dishes that you eat with the main meal and the purpose is to create different flavors and combinations, mixing sweet, spicy, salty, and being able to mix textures. It’s very elaborate and very delicious.

Now a good Korean restaurant to me will have AT LEAST 3-4 ban chan dishes and a little bowl of soup. Which as you can see this place did just that.5One last Korean 101… Andrew and I both got bulgogi (beef) which is a very popular dish that a lot of American restaurants and Asian Fusion places now serve too (like the popular Bibimbap) When they Americanize it like that, it’s still good but it truly loses the genuine Korean feel to it. BUT to my surprise this place served it the way it’s traditionally served with the lettuce wrap and pepper/bean paste. I taught Andrew how to make a “sam-chu-saam” aka lettuce wrap with the rice, meat, and paste and it was a success.

After we ate we went and frolicked some more-

As we were heading back home we drive by one of the bigger outlet malls

The Wrentham Outlets so we stopped there because I’ve been dying to get into a Kate Spade to get a new spring/summer purse and wallet9

25

But can you believe it, there was NOT ONE thing that I wanted to take home with me #shoppingfail

SUNDAY/MOTHERS DAY

First of all, a very Happy Mother’s Day to my madre, whom I love with all my heart ❤ We didn’t get to celebrate with her this weekend but my sister and I have a lunch date with her when I get back from my Calif trip.

So, Sunday AM I was in the mood for a good ol’ breakfast sandwich. Andrew took me to The Bagel Place right by his work11This place was awesome, they had such an assortment of Bagel flavors and the one that caught my eye “Sriratcha Cheddar” I mean really, did they make that for me?!?! I wish I could’ve showed you before I devoured it. The spiciness exceeded my expectations!

That afternoon we headed up to New Hampshire to Andrew’s parents to celebrate with them. 12Mimi and Papi with the two littles

14Brandon and Evelyn; brother and sister in law to Andrew, who are also the parents of the two littles.

20

21

Evelyn had one of those cool Polaroid cameras so we of course took some snapshots! Love Ev to pieces we have the same taste in almost everything, shes’s hilarious, and we love pictures ❤

The day turned into a movie night… We watched Sing!, had ice cream cones, and homemade mango smoothies. I thought this picture was hilarious…Brownie wanting Sophie’s cone 🙂 22And that concluded the eventful weekend. If anyone has a time machine to fast forward through the week, contact me! 😉

xo, JJ

42 thoughts on “Weekend Recap- Mother’s Day

  1. danniijane says:

    We go away the same day the 27th. Not long now☺ I so wanted Korean or proper Asian food Friday. But there is nowhere near me that does any. We used to have the best Vietnamese place but it closed x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. K.M. Sutton says:

    First of all I am so flipping excited for warmer weather this weekend! Eeeeekkkk!
    Second of all Oh. Em. Gee! Eeeekkk I can not believe your trip is already here! Yay!!!
    I loved your hair!
    And oh my gosh I loved the tutorial on Korean cuisine. I am hungry now! That all sounds SO yummy!
    I adore Kate Spade, but unless she has the right deal, I can usually pass. Happy Mother’s Day to your Mama!
    Oh my gosh that sirracha and cheddar bagel sounds right up my ally too! I LOVE sirracha (With avocado! Heaven!)
    I love all your pictures! There is something magical about taking a polaroid. I am so happy you had such a great weekend and I hope you have an amazing week and it speeds up for you! So excited for you lady! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      RIGHTTT!!!! Finalllyyyy is it out turn for warm weather?!?! As I was writing out the Korean food 101, I’m like uhhh are people really even going to care lol I’m so glad you do ❤ I 100% agree with Kate Spade it hasss to be the right price. It's crazy though because at the outlets the wallets were ONLY $35 which is a total steal but the color schemes were not what I was looking for *cries* But I'm still going to hold out till I find the one that speak to me. MMM I do love sliced avocado on toast and sriratcha, such a good combination. I swear I need like my own little travel sized sriratcha bottle!! Does it exist?!!? xoxoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      • K.M. Sutton says:

        I think so! Eighties today yay!!!
        Girl yes! I want to have the BEST food experience and with your tutelage I will!😊
        She has such good deals. Her pre black friday sales are amazing, but alot of times it is her patterns😫 you will find it! I have faith in the shopping Gods!:))
        Omg yes! Possibly maybe potentially dating myself, but do you remember Cheetah Girls? The one girl always had a bottle of hot sauce, your comment made me think of that and if they do not make a travel sized one they need too!💗💗💗

        Liked by 1 person

  3. beautybyadutchgirl says:

    Yay, we also get really great weather this week! The great weather already started on Saturday and it will (unfortunately) end at Thursday, but really, my mood is getting better when the weather is getting better too! ~~Lol, that was just such a hard sentence, I hope you understand it ~~ That salad bowl you ate at Friday looks really delicious, it made me so hungry eventhough I just had dinner! I also loved the braid you made on Saturday, already saw it in your snapchat, it looks gorgeous and so sophisticated! I’m glad you had a great Mother’s Day. That bagels-picture gave me inspiration to get some bagels tomorrow too. It’s just so wrong looking at your blog because you always have these amazing goodpictures that make me want to eat. Arghh, anyways, I hope you enjoy your warm-weather-week! Much love xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I feel the same exact way. when I wake up with the sun and nice warm weather my mood is like significantly more cheerful and bright! If Mother Nature doesn’t want cranky Anne and Jenny then she better give us all the sun and warm weather 🙂 I can’t believe I somehow managed to pull off doing that braid in my hair, I’m seriously the worst at it when I try to do it on myself- I want to recreate it but I don’t think I’ll get lucky twice lol I feel like with your long pretty hair a braid would look gorgeous, do you ever do them in your hair?! xox ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • beautybyadutchgirl says:

        Haha, we can’t have it all, unfortunately! I think you should practice it more because that one just looked so nice! I’m also still practicing braiding I love to do 1 or 2 Dutch braids, but that will only look good on good-hair-days! But when I braid my hair, I will take a picture for snapchat for you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. helloitsjo says:

    oh my god…. your EYE?!?! I hope you’re okay, that sounds frickkkenn awful!!!! But apart from that, this literally sounds like the nicest weekend ever with all that amazing food!!! And oh my goshhh what cute lil’ family day on Sunday!! SUCH a fab post girl!!! xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      OMG Jo, my eye ughhhh! The most painful thing ever. It’s still slightly irritated here and there and especially in the sun but nothing like how it was when it first happened. But on a brighter note, family day was so fun! I seriously adore Andrew’s family they’re so fun to be around! Thanks so much for reading love ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. ughmango says:

    You got so much done during the weekend, I just basically wasted my time by laying in bed lol.. But of my god your eye!!! It made my eyes hurt just by reading your story I can’t even imagine how much it actually hurt, glad you are okay now though 😊 Your fried shrimps (and the whole meal) look so delicious, makes me crave for food omg!! x

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      LOL girl trust me the weekends spent in bed is secretly one of my favorite ways to spend a weekend. Like every now and then I hope for a rainy weekend just so I have an excuse to relax and chill in bed. Ugh, my eye was awful- the pain was insurmountable and I’m just SO glad that it’s back to normal. Thankfully it doesn’t take that long to heal but I wish they had some kind of eye drop to help the process. It’s not fun. And oh man the shrimp in that bowl was so amazing, I actually got it again last night because I was craving it so much! Love shrimp and any seafood for that matter!!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Aw thanks Courtney! Idk how I finagled that braid but I’m pretty darn proud of it lol I’m just not sure that I can recreate it to look that good again even though it was pretty simple. xo

      Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      The Polaroid was so fun but it stinks because you literally only get one try and if you mess it up then its a total waste. Still love the old fashioned look to it though. They need to come up with something where you can preview the photo and then print if you decide you like it lol advanced mixed with old fashioned haha

      Liked by 1 person

  6. koraihweb says:

    All that food looked incredible! I hurt my eye kinda like that and it hurt sooo badly! I can totally relate! I love the hairstyle! I have never tried a polaroid. I really need/want to!
    xoxo Koraih

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh gosh did you scratch you eye too? It’s so not fun having to deal with eye issues. It’s so crazy how much I take for granted simple things like seeing lol I’m ever so careful now when I take off my make up. The Polaroid camera is so fun- it just stinks because you’re limited on how many pictures you can take but I want one of my own too, I think it’d be cool to make a collage of Polaroid pictures 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. lifeofangela says:

    Yikes about the eye. That sounds unpleasant, glad you’re better now 🙂
    The rest of your weekend looked fun! I love that braid thing you did 😍
    And the countdown is officially on it seems your trip! So exciting 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Yikes is so right, that was misery! It’s still semi irritated here and there and in the sun but for the most part healed. Even though it didn’t take that long to heal it still felt like forever lol And thanks girlie, I loved the braid too, it was so simple but I was gosh darn proud because I weirdly can’t do braids in my own hair lol xo

      Liked by 1 person

  8. ayrgalaxy says:

    That’s awesome!!! We’re supposed to have good weather starting this weekend. Up to low 70s but that’s good enough for me! 😀
    Omg that sucks but at least your eye is better! I might have done that at one point in the past but not as bad as you. It does hurt though lol.
    That bowl looks delicious!!! That’s the perfect combo, shrimp, avocado, veggies and rice! Lol.
    That braid looks gorgeous. My hair doesn’t cooperate with me so I can’t do cute braids like that. I think I have to straighten my hair first but that’s such a hassle for me lol.
    I haven’t seen an authentic Korean restaurant over here. Mostly Vietnamese and Thai. I love Asian food though and would like to expand my palette lol.
    And idk about you, but anytime I have money and go shopping, I find NOTHING. Buy sure enough when I’m broke, I see so many things I want to purchase lol. I think macy’s sells kate spade, I could be wrong. It’s been like four years since I worked there lmao.
    If sing is that movie with the singing elephant I already saw it a few weeks ago. Lol. It was a cute movie. Alex didn’t like the singing elephant though 😂
    Anyway, brownie looks like such a cutie pie with his shirt!!! Adorable!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Weather blows my mind- this week were getting hot weather 80-90’s and then the following week back down to 60’s like that the heck lol Wheres the consistency! The bowl was phenomenal (so good that we went and got it again last night haha) but I feel like I could totally make it on my own too but sometime food is just better when it’s made and delivered to you 😉 I think you’d love Korean food thats such a shame that there really isn’t any….I feel like a lot of people say that. Even here we have a few but it’s not truly “authentic” or close to it but that is expected since we’re in the USA rather than Korea haha Thai is for sure my next favorite though, I could eat that almost every day! Money and shopping is such a weird thing, that same thing happens to me too! I don’t remember the last time I went to Macy’s either I know for sure they sell MK bags… buttt I may just resort to going to a TJ MAXX or Marshalls since I can find the same stuff but cheaper…. The Elephant in sing was the show stopper she was so good lol the movie was really cute, I’m just such a kid at heart I love any Disney/kid movie!! You must have seen/or own them all lol do you have a favorite?

      Liked by 1 person

      • ayrgalaxy says:

        Our weather is weird too, it’s sunny one minute and rainy and hail the next haha. Soon though, summer is coming!!
        Yeah, I’m surprised because it’s portland. We have everything here lol. Or maybe I’m not looking in the right place but it’s really hard to come by great places.
        True, which is why I love Marshalls and Burlington lol. I’ve only gone to TJ Maxxx a handful of times. The times I’ve been there it seemed pricier than Ross and Marshalls for some reason lol.
        I used to have all the Disney movies from the 90s literally almost the entire collection. Now I have nothing lol. My favorite Disney movie…that’s a hard one. I’ve always liked the lion King though. Lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Nicole says:

    Haven’t been to the Wrentham Outlets in ages… but now I want to go. 🙂
    And I can’t believe how hot it’s going to get on Thursday! Not gonna lie, I’m a little concerned about heading into the heat THAT fast, especially since I have a toddler and a newborn. I’m definitely going to be setting up the baby pool and water table on the back porch for my little guy, for sure! (And considering how hot it’s going to be, I’m going to let him splash me as much as he wants to. Ha ha).

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh same! I haven’t been in so long until that weekend. I love it there but at the same time I bought nothing lol I feel like Andrew always ends up buying more at the outlets than I do. But you really can’t beat those prices and sales. The mini pool and water table sounds like a great idea lol gotta do whatever it takes to keep cool and it just so happens that it’ll keep Brady occupied too 🙂 Total win!!! xo

      Like

  10. TheFallibleQueen says:

    I think I’ve been to those outlets when I visited Massachusetts 🙂 It’s pretty nice and they had great deals, especially wth their perfume. If your ever in Texas, I recommend the San Marcos outlets, the architecture is beautiful and they have so many shops. They have great deals too, especially on kate spade :). That sounds like a fun/chill weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. sarahscupofbeauty says:

    Damn girl!! I live for your food posts!! I soooo want to try out all these amazing Korean dishes!! Ugh, I truly need to go there someday. That Bulgogi beef and the lettuce wrap!!! Your braid looks amazing! I should do it more often too, but I get so lazy when it comes to my hair… I already spend so much time on my make up haha! xoxo Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I bet you could totally make all the Korean food better than the restaurants 😉 Although this was a pretty good Korean restaurant, I must give them props for it. I too am usually so lazy when it comes to my hair too. I’ll do anyone else’s but mine lol but every once in a while when I get a jolt of energy or am in the mood to play with mine, I try to come up with something OR at least curl it. But even so, I get half way through and then get lazy with the other half lol Gosh beauty just takes so much time…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

