Thoughts And Whatnots: Subscription Boxes

Good morning Thursday!

Today I’m dedicating this post to two of my favorite Monthly Subscriptions.

Now-a-days you can get a monthly subscription for just about anything; food, wine, socks, toys, clothes, but my personal favorite being Make-Up.

I love these little kits more than anything. Not only is it like Christmas every month but the contents is what really gets me excited. I’m not much of a “go out and buy make up” kind of girl because first of all, its expensive and secondly I don’t really know what the heck to get. So with these cool subscriptions you get to test a little bit of everything! Total Win.

So for $10/month each I subscribe to

 PLAY by Sephora and IPSY Glam Bags

Here’s a little run down if you don’t already know.

PLAY by Sephora2

I favor this one just a teeny tiny bit more solely because I’m more familiar with the brands of the products they send.

1

So all you have to do it go to Sephora.com and under SHOP CATEGORIES you’ll find SUBSCRIPTION BOX and from there the rest is in your hands. Upon signing up you fill out a quick survey so they can get to know you, your skin, hair type, and a few other things.

The only catch is, I’m not sure if there is a wait list. I know I was wait-listed for a good 2 months before I got my first box but the wait is so worth it. And they DO NOT charge you until you’re off the wait-list. I just recently got Evelyn (Andrew’s sister in law) to sign up and they didn’t say anything about being wait-listed.

Anyways, every month you get this in the mail! 4And inside you get a beautiful pouch with all the contents inside… Here is an example of the one in February. This was my first one! 3And they give you a cute little cheat sheet of the stuff inside: what it is, how to use it, when to use it, etc. This was March’s bag36And here it is all laid out37These were/still are some of my favorite products that I got from my previous kits. I’d say I love and use 4/5 products from every box. 11

7

8

9If you love make-up, if you love Sephora, or both I highly suggest signing up!

IPSY Glam Bags

Ipsy works the same way, they send you 5 products and for these there’s a 50/50 chance that I’ve heard of the brands. The one thing I really like about Ipsy opposed to Sephora is that in their survey upon signing up it’s just so much more specific in regards to your beauty preference. It really helps narrow down your needs and wants. To sign up just head over to Ipsy.com create an account and the rest is in your hands! No wait to be signed up!

Then every month, viola! This pretty pink package! 3With every package you get a new make-up bag which I LOVE! You cannot have too many make-up bags. Well maybe you can, but I think it’s nice that they send the make up in these bags and they’re actually really good quality and super cute!2

4My personal favorites so far have been the January one (not shown above), February, and this month’s May bag.

So prior to receiving your bag you will get an email that lets you see what’s in your Glam Bag for the month. I get so excited that the anticipation practically kills me! 6And then,5

It shows you everything you get and when you click LEARN MORE it tells/shows you what it is, how to use it, and all that fun stuff. This was my May Glam Bag. Like I mentioned above they will send you things according to YOUR beauty preference survey so what you get will not always be the same as someone else’s.

FOR EXAMPLE: Rossy just blogged about her Glam Bag yesterday HERE so you can see the things she got opposed to what I got in mine.

So for me my monthly bag is a hit or miss. I could like 4/5 things or maybe 2/5 things. But I always rather get one than not. Some of my favorite things in the past…5

12

3

7The one product that I always love when they send it to me are their blushes! I think they sent me 2 others and I used them all till they’re practically gone.

So that’s the Ipsy Glam Bag. Again, if you love make-up or need cute make up bags then sign on up! 😉

If you blog(ged) about your IPSY GLAM BAG or PLAY by SEPHORA (Or any subscription) LEAVE YOUR BLOG LINK BELOW so that people can check it out!!!

xo, JJ

39 Comments Add yours

  1. Siyana says:

    These are the boxes I don’t have (because I’m not in the US ‘sigh’) but I wrote posts about Birchbox, Marzia’s box and Love me Beauty box. Every time they come is like a little Christmas ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Ugh, that’s such a bummer that they don’t ship out of the US (especially Sephora) 😦 At least you have some alternatives! I want to see some birchboxes, I’ve heard of them! Do you have a direct link to one of your posts? xoxox

      Liked by 1 person

  2. koraihweb says:

    Ohh, I need these! It would be soo fun to get a new makeup bag each month, and then you open it up and there is new makeup to try! I may have to sign up to one if not both of them! If I had to choose one, which one should I choose?
    xo Koraih

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      It’s seriously my favorite way to collect make up!!! And even though they are mostly just sample sizes, they last for quite some time! I would 100% choose sephora first because theyre products are 100% guaranteed high quality name brands! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. koraihweb says:

        Ok! Cool! Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. K.M. Sutton says:

    I haven’t tried any of the subscriptions but oh my gosh yours seem so amazing especially the Sephora one! I am obsessed with Sephora! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I think that you would LOVE the sephora one! It’s literally such a fun gift to yourself every month! I would totally spare $10 a month for the box!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. ayrgalaxy says:

    Awh thanks for the mention doll! You’re the sweetest! 🙂 and I see you got another mint nail polish. You’d have to tell me how the formula compares to the one we got last month lol. I got the trestique lip crayon a long time ago when I was subscribed in a different shade and I loved the formula. You may like it too 🙂
    And I may end up subscribing to sephora as well. I don’t remember ever getting an email telling me I was off the wait list even though I signed up as soon as they came out with the subscription. Lol. I just want to try some high end products because a lot of them sound really great.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Aw of course, gotta spread the love!!! And I know, I’m half bummed that they did send me another mint colored polish…like really? I mean I do love the color but I wish it was slightly different. Nevertheless, I’m going to try it this weekend, so I’ll keep you posted! I’m going to have to try the lip crayon, I do love the red shade they gave me, maybe I’ll do that this weekend too hahah I think you’d loveee the sephora box, probably even a taddd bit more than ipsy…mainly because you’ll be more familiar with the brands and like you said its all high quality. I’d say get it and if you end up liking it more or less just cancel one or the other- ORRR keep both 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ayrgalaxy says:

        I’m thinking about trying it for real. I gotta take care of a few things first then I will known for sure whether I can get it or not lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve never been a subscription box kinda gal, they’ve just never interested me because I always prefer full sized items. I never really use smaller sized products and am I right in believing the things sent in subscription boxes are usually sample size? For 10$ each a month though that’s seriously so good. I am loving that gorgeous pouch Sephora send their products in and I am living for the furry makeup bag! How cool Ipsy send a makeup bag every month- they always come in handy. I think out of the two the Sephora one definitely looks and sounds the best! That’s what I’d pick out of the two, I love the cheat sheet idea. Love this post JJ 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh yes, I totally get what you mean because yeah they are mostly just sample sizes. And once you start using it and liking it, its already all out haha it’s definitely like a tease (esp anything for skin care-related products). But I guess that’s the trick to get people to come to the store to buy the full size. The only thing that comes in full size are the eyeliners in the Ipsy kits but those liners have been meh for the most part. BUTTTT to justify, for example, Sephora sent me an eyeliner that was like a little bigger than half the size of a normal liner and by the time I finished with that I happened to get a new one like a month or two later. So sometimes it works out but not every time lol If I had to choose one def sephora though, they have the best products!!! Thanks for reading lovely even for not being fond of subscriptions! There needs to be like a lush one for you, that would be perfect, then maybe you’ll be persuaded 😉

      Like

      1. Yes exactly! I just never see the point of them, even the way Benefit sell minis of their products- the primer wouldn’t even cover half my face haha! Oh absolutely!! So sneaky but thats how they make money I guess! Was the Sephora liner really good then?? Yeah the Sephora one looks the best out of the two. You’re welcome, I read all your posts regardless 😂 Oh my God yes!!!! I would 100% subscribe to a Lush box, then I’d get to try the products I don’t usually too eg the skincare. Okay we need to put this idea forward to them!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. xoJenny says:

        Yes the sephora liners all have been great! The onlyyy con about them is that they’re usually just a pencil and I prefer mechanical liners buttt they’re such great brands and go on so nicely. And YES lets send emails to Lush’s customer support lmao And then everyone can thank us when they finally come up with one 😉 ❤

        Like

  6. Nicole says:

    I LOVE my Ipsy subscription sooooo much! (I think that this month’s might actually be my favorite ever). 🙂 I haven’t blogged about it yet, but I plan to next week!
    I had never realized Sephora did a subscription like that until I read about it on your blog. It sounds really good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Right don’t you just love looking forward to getting it every month! It’s like a little present to yourself and it’s so exciting!!! If you love ipsy then you will LOVE the Sephora one. I highly suggest signing up and that way you’ll have two monthly gifts to look forward to!!! I can’t wait to see what you get in your ipsy bag, I weirdly get excited reading/seeing what other people get! 🙂 xo

      Like

  7. Natalie Vinh says:

    I still need to signup for Ipsy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Yess Natalie, definitely sign up! You’ll love it! Are you signed up for the Sephora one already? xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Natalie Vinh says:

        No, I’m not signed up for any. My parents were a little lenient because I have super sensitive skin and they’re worried that the samples would just make me break out!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I like the idea of subscription boxes, but right now I’m not in the financial spot where I can afford them. Maybe one day in the future I can try one out! I definitely need help in the makeup department, so that would be great for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Totally understandable!!! I’m finally at a place where I can splurge a little bit here and there so these two subscriptions were first on my list to sign up lol I’m not the best in the make up department either so these two things definitely help me broaden my horizons when it comes to that lol xoxo

      Like

  9. Right now I only do fit fab fun seasonally but its starting to feel generic and it’s very invasive advertising! Would love to try the sephora one though, I hope it’s in Canada !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I was seeing some peoples Fit Fab Fun packages and theres some GREAT stuff in there. For the stuff you guys get for $50 is pretty darn good! Even though it’s seasonally, it makes me nervous dropping a lump some of $50 when the time comes. Knowing me, when it was time to take it out I’d probably have some kind of financial crisis where I’d need the 50 lol One day though!!!! 🙂 🙂 Do you have any posts dedicated to your spring package? If so link it here Id love to see! xox

      Like

  10. llindaxxo says:

    I love these both!!! I’m actually thinking about getting BoxyCharm too! >__<

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      YESS I LOVE reading your posts of the contents in your month subscription ❤ I weirdly like seeing what other people get in theirs, basically I'm just nosy hahah And I've heard of BoxyCharm, but I don't know what its about or what they send to you…

      Liked by 2 people

      1. llindaxxo says:

        BoxyCharm is another beauty sub box, but it’s $20/month. You still get 5 products a month but I think the brands that are included are higher-end and I think some of the products are full-sized as well.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. I love subscription boxes, but I stopped ordering it… I get so happy receiving a package! But I don’t nearly use my products fast enough. I always need to use up my products, before I try new things, otherwise I feel guilty haha! Also, I prefer spending that money I actually chose. I don’t know, I might order them again. But for now, I have way tooo much beauty products haha!! xoxo Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Lol totally get it, it makes perfect sense! I don’t know how you and all beauty bloggers/make-up artists do it, I get overwhelmed when I have like two different highlighters to choose from let alone an array of each item, indecisive me struggles with that hahah

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha, when you love something so much, you absolutely know the difference between everything, even the slightest… One highlighter is not the other… There are textures to be considered, finishes, shades,… But that’s just my obsessed side talking. I do get what you mean haha!

        Liked by 1 person

  12. I love subscription boxes. Sadly we don’t get the Sephora one in Canada. I recently cancelled all on mine as I felt I was getting the same stuff all the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I’m so surprised Sephora doesn’t send out of the country when they have locations all over the country. But I know what you mean, I find that Ipsy sometimes does that too, like the past two months they sent me nail polish and they are the EXACT same color (different brand) but not even a shade or hint light or darker than the previous, exact same- and I’m just like really?! *eye roll* lol

      Like

  13. I loved my Ipsy subscription bags :). I cancelled mine because I was accumulating too many make-up items. https://thefalliblequeen.wordpress.com/2017/02/21/february-ipsy-unbagging-2017/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh I know what you mean, I have a huge bag full of make up that I just haven’t and probably am never going to use. I try to give it away to friends and or I might do a little giveaway at some point. I also love the make up bags they send but I’ve accumulated to many of them but I’m giving them to my boyfriend’s little nieces haha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. awwww that’s sweet and honestly yes! Ipsy bags/samples make great gifts or prizes to give away.

        Liked by 1 person

  14. I think you blogged about finally getting “in” to the Sephora Play subscription a few months back and I told my mom about it and she’s still on the waiting list, haha! She was super pumped about it, though, because she didn’t know it existed!

    I don’t subscribe to any boxes, but I’ve always wanted to try Ipsy or Birchbox!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Aw I love that your mom signed up for it! But total bummer shes still on the wait list….it will be so worth the wait though- she will love it! I would def go for ipsy, you can get it for a few months and if you’re not feeling it just cancel. I’ve heard good things about birchbox.. If I ever cancel ipsy I may give birchbox a shot!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

