Weekend Recap

Good morning!

I don’t know about you guys, but this morning screamed Monday when my dreary tired eyes were struggling to open as my alarm went off. I was in such a deep sleep so when I frantically awoke I was instantaneously groggy and hazy. I think most can probably tell by my make-up job.  Mind you I also jabbed my eye applying mascara #worstfeelingever. Needless to say, this is a multiple cups of coffee kind of day.

Anyways, we were blessed with some gorgeous weather over the weekend. The week maintained a high 80’s-low 90’s and by Friday night the temps dropped a little which was nice (and cool, literally and figuratively). So for the weekend we had beautiful high 60’s and pure sun with blue skies.bMy all around perfect temperature/weather would be high 70’s, low 80’s and all sun. Which state has that all year long??? 

Okay, enough of weather girl Jenny, lets get back to Lifestyle blogger Jenny 😉

Thursday Night

This was the low 90’s day and we just didn’t feel like being home. Andrew suggested that we go out for dinner and I’m so glad we did because…5Guys, these oysters were one of the best I’ve ever had. They were huge and so meaty. We went to Legal Seafoods in Chestnut Hill, which I never knew but depending on which location there’s different menu options…

Chestnut Hill (Legals) > Assembly Row (Legals) 

At this particular Legal’s they had these seafood bowls that came with rice, your pick of a meat, spinach, seaweed salad (my fave), AND can you believe it….KIMCHI?!?! (Kimchi: a traditional spicy Korean cabbage) 4And I have to give them props because the kimchi was excellent, perfectly made to taste like the authentic home-style way.

Remember when I was all about The Local’s crispy shrimp bowls….well, I’m sorry The Local but I’ve moved on. You’re still delightful though and we will be back. 2

Friday Night

After work and dinner, with the sun still bright as ever, we decided to go for a walk around the Charles River in Boston.6

7

15Maybe I’m biased because I love my city so much, but these view just never ever get old.

I’ve never really ever walked around the entire Charles River (of course not, its 80 mi long) but even a little portion of it, I haven’t. But along the walk you find cute little bridges where the land splits off. 14And by the time we made it back around to the car… the same view as above but at night.13

Saturday

Initially on Thursday, Andrew sent me a link to a restaurant called Pier 6 which is notorious for their beautiful waterfront views of the Boston Harbor. So we were going to go, until we figured that everyone else would probably have that same idea with the weather in our favor so we nixed it and left it to Saturday. 8It was bittersweet because it wasn’t quite warm enough to be outside by the ocean (not to mention we were sitting in the shade- so we were FREEZING) but the views were gorgeous, you’re eating right on the water, and the food was amazing. I got linguine with clams and it was so full of flavor, I savored each bite….well as much as I could without eating it really fast so that we could escape the cool breeze by the water. Great place, but it’d be better if A. We had a jacket or B. it was 10 degrees warmer. We’ll be back.

Sunday

My Sunday Funday adventure was great. Met up with my dad and sister for some lunch. I was thrilled because whenever we meet my dad for lunch its generally our favorite Korean somewhat hidden gem of a restaurant. Remember when I was talking about “banchanKorean side dishes– well this is what a good spread of banchan should look like…9If you’re curious on what each of them are; from TOP to BOTTOM, LEFT to RIGHT: yellow raddish & onion with the black bean paste to dip, kimchi, sweet and spicy kimchi, radishes (with the same kimchi flavor), cucumber salad, and bean sprouts.

After lunch Kathy and I decided to hang and catch up (YAY!) We went back to her place, saw Joey, her kitty  ❤ ran some errands, and then she brought me to this park that I never knew existed.

Here’s Joey! I always say that she’s the only cat I’ll ever like because she’s the only one that actually snugs with me…10

The one thing I love about parks like this is that you get the appeal of feeling like you’re out in the woods without actually having to be in the real woods. Cause’ God knows this girl ain’t good at roughin’ it. Where’s the electrical outlets? 11

12

At one point I stuck my phone in a tree and set it on a timer… Andrew has taught me well 😉16

“Do you think the timer went off yet?”17

18

19

20

21

22

23

c

Love my sister so much ❤ ❤

Thanks for a fun adventure Kathy!!!

I eventually got home to my love- and we used the rest of Sunday funday to do fun stuff like grocery shop and 2 loads of laundry 😉

Weekend in a nutshell.

xo, JJ

41 Comments Add yours

  1. Sounds like a great weekend! Those oysters look soooo good haha. And such a pretty waterfall!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I was loving the waterfall so much. I’ve been dying to go see one (not that there’s many around me) so it was an exciting adventure! Thanks for reading ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. danniijane says:

    Aaw I always love your photos. I so want to explore Boston whenever I see your pics😊💕 x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Girl, that is EXACTLY how I feel when you’re on all of your adventures! xoxoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  3. mia says:

    where’s the best korean place in boston?! i LOVE korean (spicy squid ftw)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Wow that’s a good question to be honest, I haven’t found one I’m head over heels about yet….The one I do like though is in Somerville which is just along the outer banks of Boston called Buk-Kyung, although I have heard that Allston (also just along the outer banks of Boston) has a great little Korean area with great Korean restaurants. I haven’t gotten around to it yet. Are you from or near Boston? xo

      Like

  4. Sounds like you had a lovely foodie weekend! You are way more adventurous with your food than I am. The Charles River looks like the most gorgeous setting for a walk, how beautiful especially on a sunny evening. Your sisters cat is toooo cute, got to love a snuggly cat! The park your sister took you to also looks so gorgeous, I love the lake and the rocks and the little waterfalls. The pictures you took are so beautiful and you look so pretty Jenny! I’m glad you had a lovely weekend JJ, have a great week- hopefully the mornings aren’t so hard as todays were. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Aw thank sweets!!! I literally look forward to the food on the weekend (my splurging days 😉 ) The Charles is amazing to walk/run around in the summer. I wish I had enough endurance to run around it like everyone else does. Its such a good work out. But walking is good enough for me, the views are splendid! I couldn’t believe that, that park my sister took me to was literally in the town I’ve grown up in for most of my life and that I had no idea it was there lol Really nice place, a lot of good hiking trails and the breeze for the water/waterfall was perfect! I wish there were more places like that near where I live now but I guess thats what I get for living in the city lol bittersweet!!! ❤

      xo, JJ

      Like

  5. llindaxxo says:

    That is some beautiful weather! You are so lucky! It was so muggy all weekend in Austin and it just made me want to stay inside, watch movies and cuddle in bed with my pup (which I did for the most part). That crunchy shrimp bowl looks delicious! I haven’t found anything like that here yet. And what a fun nature adventure! I’m glad there’s stuff like that in Austin – just need to wait for better weather.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Sometimes I secretly wish for weather that is meant to stay indoors 😉 its a great excuse to stay home and relax….When it’s sunny and nice out I feel like I have to be productive lol The shrimp bowl was amazing, I literally crave it over and over again esp when I relook at the pictures of it. I already told Andrew that we’re going back on Friday to get it again 🙂

      xo, JJ

      Liked by 1 person

      1. llindaxxo says:

        Ahhh so lucky! I want that shrimp bowl now too </3

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Love these pictures! You seem like you had a pretty fun and yummy weekend! Ugh kimchi is delicious! :p

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      You like kimchi too?!?! That makes me so happy lol People either love it or hate it but I’m a lover and I’m glad you are too!! Thanks for coming by to read ❤

      xo, JJ

      Liked by 1 person

  7. mamalari says:

    This post was mouth watering. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Love that! lol thank you ❤

      Like

  8. K.M. Sutton says:

    Sweets you make an amazing weather blogger! :)) This weekend was amazing!
    Those oysters look amazing!
    I actually have never walked the Charles River either and need to now. Your pictures are stunning!
    Haha I love Parks like that! What a great day spent with your sis! And your pictures😍🙌🏻 I love the timer! Such a great trick for pics! I also have a bluetooth remote I use🙈🤣💗

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh gosh you would love the Charles esp for when you go on your runs!! I wish I had better endurance to run because I’d do that all the time for the view! I’m dreaming of those oysters still, I feel like I need to go to a buffet place where they have unlimited oysters so that I can satisfy my craving if there even is an end to it lol And what is this bluetooth remote that sounds like something I need in my life!!! lol

      xo, JJ

      Liked by 1 person

      1. K.M. Sutton says:

        Gurrrlll you are speaking my language! I feel like now I need to run the Charles just because it sounds amazing! Lol. I totally understand what you mean (btw you have to go to Capos when you are in San Fran…Yes I am STILL dreaming about that pizza!) about cravings. And oysters are delicious!
        Oh my gosh life changing! You can buy then off Amazon for super cheap. It connects to your phone and you don’t have to worry about how long your arms are anymore! 😝💗

        Liked by 1 person

      2. xoJenny says:

        Pizzaa yesss please! What area was Capos in again? LOL I have a whole list full of things I want to do, eat, and see while in SF but it’s so hard to create an itinerary when you don’t know where anything is or how we’re gonna get there lol I’m a little nervous but definitely going to have to wing this one. I think I need to go add the bluetooth thing…..onto Andrew’s prime acct 😉 muahahah is it expensive?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. K.M. Sutton says:

        I believe the Italian district. I’ll pull up the link for you. Public transportation is super easy, and everything is pretty much within walking distance (Actually I say this as a New Yorker who walks anywhere from seven to fourteen miles a day, and my friend and I averaged ten miles when we were there…soooo lol ;p) But transportation is super easy! Oh my gosh yes you do! No it isn’t. They range in price. anywhere from like ten bucks to fifty. I did the HISY which was I think fifteen or seventeen dollars. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      4. xoJenny says:

        Italian district ❤ ❤ yes please!!! I told Andrew that we need to be prepared to walk our asses off in SF…I'm super ambitious and was like "I even want to walk up and down those hill in the neighborhoods" lol We'll see how far I really get with that though 😉 But I mean just give me coffee and I'll be good to go, right?!?

        Liked by 1 person

      5. K.M. Sutton says:

        Bwahaha Oh you will! Those hills mean business! (Lombard street? My legs are STILL dead!) Yasss! Girl you NEED to go to Peets! Capos and Peets! I am sure I will add to this list but right now Capos and Peets! And okay Ferry Building too! Hope you are enjoying your trip! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      6. K.M. Sutton says:

        http://www.sfcapos.com

        Here is the link on Vallejos Street

        And oh my god you need to get the Farmers Pie…It sounded like a lot but was so good. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  9. koraihweb says:

    Yummy food as always and beautiful views!
    xo K

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Aw thank you so much ❤ ❤

      Like

  10. After seeing these beautiful pictures of Boston, I really want to visit the city even more! That skyline (also the night picture) look awesome!! I also love the photoshoot you did in the woods, haha! I love that little waterfall! You and your sister look so freaking beautiful together! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Aw thanks Anne!!! I was loving the waterfall too. I haven’t seen waterfalls like that in years and couldn’t believe that there had been one there this whole time! lol Go figure!!! I really really hope that you one day get to come over here and visit! Boston & NYC at the same time 🙂 🙂

      xo, JJ

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Seriously I so need a relaxing nature getaway!!! Such lovely pictures and inspiration. Oh and that food looks delish as usual!! you and sister are soo very beautiful! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I lovee little nature adventures. I’m not a huge outdoorsy person but parks and stuff like this I can handle 😉 It was really nice and relaxing and surprisingly weren’t a lot of people around! Are there places like these near you?! And aw thank you, and thank you on my sister’s behalf too ❤

      xo, JJ

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yeh there are tons of relaxing places here too! Will look up some to visit 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  12. ayrgalaxy says:

    Hey we had gorgeous weather over here as well, 70s-80s 🙂 it got pretty hot on Saturday and Sunday though lol.
    And I swear we were just talking about oysters sometime last week! Lol.
    Food looks very delicious.
    And that view in the background. Gorgeous. We have a view almost like that from across the river on our side. Of course the park is up front but every now and then, there’s good pictures of the city or from up on the hills.
    That looks like such a gorgeous park! I’d love to visit it! Lol. You’d be surprised we have a lot of parks like that around here, you just go out there and hike. One of those places of course is Multnomah falls but that’s a very narrow path all the way to the top. One of my favorites is silver falls. I plan on going after I graduate to hike and to see the falls. I’ll do my best to vlog it next time I go. 🙂
    And can I say that you and your sister almost look like twins!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I feel like I’d love Portland, but the thing is I literally can’t even envision what it looks like over there. I guess I’ve never really looked up or seen pictures, Pinterest, here I come! I’m bummed that me and Andrew’s plan to go visit his uncle over there didn’t follow through this year, fingers crossed for next year. Esp knowing that you guys have parks like this over there! They’re really so sparse around here (well nice ones) so I’d love to see the ones you guys have, Multnomah especially, those are the ones you blogged about right? And yesss vlog vlog vlog, I love when you do anyways ❤ And yess so many people ask if we are twins lol we never think or see what theyre talking about but when I was looking at that last close up I posted of us, I was like wow our individual features are actually identical…. haha who would’ve thought.

      xo, JJ

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ayrgalaxy says:

        Lol I should vlog about my downtown visits then haha. I plan on doing lots of vlogs over the summer hopefully that works out well haha. Aww well I’m sure you’ll come visit eventually 😊
        And yes, Multnomah is the falls, the hike is intermediate, I would say lol. Lots of great parks though in and around the city.
        That’s what I was looking at! Individual features. Lol. How many years apart are you guys?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. xoJenny says:

        YESS I think vlogging when you go downtown will be such a good one to watch! I like that idea 🙂 🙂 and my sister and I are just 3 years apart.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. ayrgalaxy says:

        Will keep it in my mind. 😆
        Nice! Who’s the oldest?!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. xoJenny says:

        She’s older, 30, 27 although, I’ll be 28 this year….. I hate saying that aloud lol

        Liked by 1 person

      5. ayrgalaxy says:

        Lol just tell people you’re 24 you look much younger anyway 😊

        Like

  13. What an awesome weekend! Those oysters are giving me major heart eyes! I think the seafood scene in Boston just seems so legit!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh man, after I finished those oysters I just immediately wanted more. I can’t even deny that the seafood here is pretty legit esp all along the coast, its just so fresh! ❤

      Like

  14. I’ve missed reading your weekend recaps, Jenny! Those oysters look so yummy. I’ve only had them a couple of times before and the first time I wasn’t so keen – they were tiny! But the second time made up for it definitely! Those views over Boston are incredible… I really love that golden hour when everything looks even more beautiful. Hahahahaha I love how much you guys dine out! Reminds me of Dave and I sometimes! Your Sunday Funday adventure sounds really sweet as well. That kitten ❤ And the place that you and your sister went to looks so pretty and peaceful! Love how convenient that tree was hahaha! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

