Show & Tell Tuesday: Best/Worst Trips

Hello friends!

Today I’m linking up with Andrea and Shay in their Show & Tell Tuesday Series.

c

I’m actually relieved about this because I was slacking this week and didn’t have any preset topics for this week *gasp* AND Today’s Tuesday Topic is Travel (Best and Worst Trips). #unexpectedalliterations 🙂 And most of you know, I love reminiscing about travel/vacation days so I happily jumped on board and you all should too!

When there’s good news and bad news to be told, I always start with the bad, anyone else?

WORST TRIP(s)

This was tough, I can’t think back to a vacation where I was like “Gee, that vacation sucked” but I will admit that things don’t always go so smoothly. So lets see here’s my list of mishaps.

1. Sarasota, FL

Last year (2016), on me and my sister’s yearly Florida trip.. We had landed in Tampa, scooped up our rental car and, we headed to our hotel in Sarasota. Well on our way, on this specific highway we got into a car accidentunnamedIt gets better! So we pulled over on the side of the highway to exchange info and our car of course was the one that got damaged and needed to get towed. So we’re waiting for a good hour or so on the side of the road on some sandy patchy grass in the scorching Florida heat… and I felt my feet getting super itchy. To the point where I thought I was allergic to the weeds and grass that we were standing on. WELL, turns out I had like 100 (over exaggeration, but still A LOT) of fire ant bites ALL over my feet and ankles. It was the most unpleasant thing EVER and it didn’t all fully heal till a little whiles after the trip. Luckily aside from the car and my poor feet the rest of the trip was actually awesome, some of the best beaches I’ve ever been to.

2. Miami, FL

This also was a great trip HOWEVER the real day we were suppose to fly out Jan 6 (Andrew’s birthday) our flight ended up getting canceled because there was a shooting at the Fort Lauderdale airport. We are so grateful and thankful that weren’t there at that time but I was so sad for Andrew since it was his birthday.

Rescheduling went smoothly, so when we were ready to go 2 weeks later, I came down with a bad sinus infection and flu. Oh gosh I was so sick- I was sick in this photo and plane rides with a sinus infection is so painful because of the pressure. 2And lastly, when we went to pick up our rental car. Apparently Hertz didn’t have our car available so we were stuck driving in a HUGE suburban-like vehicle and had to annoyingly pay twice as much for a car we didn’t want to drive. Luckily we didn’t have to drive it far and we kept it parked the entire time.

OKAY enough bad, lets get to the-

BEST TRIP(s)

This is SO hard to choose because like I said, overall, all the vacations I’ve been on were outstandingly great. But to narrow it down-

1. Disney World & Universal Studios

I will never ever forget the beautiful Frozen show at Magic Kingdom where they turned Cinderella’s Castle into ice. I was almost in tears at how beautiful it was- pure magic. vAnd The Wizardy World of Harry Potter, oh my heavens I was in literal heaven

The rides in Universal were phenomenal too, if you love rides. The countless times we went on the Hulk roller coaster. SO FUN. I will never forget that ROAR as you’re being shot out at the beginning of the ride. dOur resort was beautiful and getting into Epcot for free, amazing!

To read my Magic Kingdom trip go HERE, Universal Studios HERE, Grand Polynesian HERE, and Epcot HERE

2. Washington, DC

I loved DC as a city so much! I’m 100% a museum lover, so when you put me at the National Mall with more museums than you have time to see (and admission is ALL free) you have a very happy Jenny.

To read about DC go HERE and HERE

3. California: LA & SD

5 years ago (actually this exact time today) my best friends from high school, we were known as JAKT (Jenny, Ashley, Katlyne, Tiffany- we’re real clever 😉 ) took a trip to California. My uncle lives there and hooked us up with some amazing hotels so we stayed in LA for a night, drove down to San Diego for 2 days, and then back to LA for another night.

I remember this being such a fun trip because I mean I got to travel across the coast with my 3 best friends and we’re all hungry for adventure. What could be better!?

4. FLORIDA

I honestly have to add all my Florida trips too because each time it was just a relaxing (aside from Disney) week hanging by the beach or pool kind of trip. My only concern being, “Am I getting tan?” and “What yummy food should we eat today?” 😉 Those really are my favorite kind of real vacations.

And that just about does it for Show & Tell Tuesday!

xo, JJ

55 thoughts on “Show & Tell Tuesday: Best/Worst Trips

  1. beautybyadutchgirl says:

    I really loved reading about your favorite trips, Jenny! I found it funny but also understandable that you’ve got way more pictures of the ‘Best trips’ than of the ‘Worst Trips’. But okay, I totally get why you choose those destinations as your worst trips. Being sick on a holiday, a flight being canceled or having a car accident is not a perfect holiday for me either! (lol) I’d love to go to disney world actually. I’ve been to Disney Land in Paris a couple of years ago, and the one thing I remember is that it was AWESOME. I was a little younger than so I can’t remember everything anymore.. I’d actually love to see Washington and Miami sometime, but you know how big my dream is to visit the US sometime! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Aw thanks Anne! I’m happy that I can now look back at the bad portion of those trips and laugh about it. Well not so much the car accident but everything ended up turning out fine so I can’t complain. But oh man, I would love to go see Disney Land in Paris….or just go to Paris in general!!! You’ll definitely have to go back as an adult. That was the same for me too I had gone when I was much younger, probably like 10 years old I think, so I remembered it but at the same time I forgot a lot- so it was nice to revisit it and actually remember what it was like lol You’ll get here one day, I have faith!!! ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • beautybyadutchgirl says:

        I think/hope I will visit Disney Land again. Maybe when I have kids later? I’d love to show them Disney Land too, haha. But I’m not planning to have kids soon so I have to wait like more than 10 years, haha! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • xoJenny says:

        Yeah I feel like the next time I visit probablyyy won’t be until I have kids….which is definitely not anytime soon either haha not to mention we have to wait for them to grow up a little too, but I guess that gives us enough time to save up haha

        Liked by 1 person

  2. danniijane says:

    I love seeing all your US trip photos😊. It sucks to get ill on holiday. In Cyprus I got prickly heat which I’ve never had in my life. My skin was lumpy, my partner spend forever hunting down a pharmacy that was open but he came back with some magic gel. My skin healed straight away x

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh my goodness I know, I already want to go back to HP world… I’m having withdrawals. Not to mention I only went to Islands of Adventure not knowing that the other side of the park was where Diagon Ally was! I NEED to go back for that. The ant bites were the worst things in the world. I’m soo cautious about where I want now and am totally aware of all ant hills lol

      Liked by 1 person

  3. helloitsjo says:

    omggg you are hilarious, I loved reading this!! Those two trips sounded like they just went terribly wrong! I can’t believe you had your flight cancelled but also your story about getting ill and getting bitten by fire ants?! It’s like everything that could’ve gone wrong did haha!! At least they make great stories now. Your good trips sounded like a DREAMM THOUGH!!! I’m sorry but that ice castle is like my ultimate fantasy.. xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      LOL I love that since time has passed, I can now look back at all of it and laugh, the ant bites especially. The funny thing is when my feet became itchy and I thought I was allergic to the weeds, I went and sat in the car and I found an ant crawling on me (ew, it gives me chills lol) but I just brushed it off not thinking anything….darn those fire ants. The good totally out weighed the bad so all is good 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. K.M. Sutton says:

    I totally understand what you mean about no bad trips, just some mishaps…Which would it really be a trip if there were;t mishaps? Though being bitten by fire ants does take the cake you poor thing!
    I remember reading about you flying with a sinus infection and it really is the epitome of hell! I had to fly back a few weeks ago with one and I thought my head was going to explode!
    Oh my gosh I am so jealous you went too Universal Studios. It is my DREAM! I need to see the Wizarding World of Harry Potter!
    I loved all your pictures and you are giving this jet setting blonde some ideas for my next adventure! (Well technically my next unplanned adventure! lol) And eeeew I am so excited! Your trip is coming up!!!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Exactly, in the end you win some you lose some. I’m just happy that the good out weighed the bad 🙂 I really can’t decide which was worse though the ant bites or flying with a sinus…. the shoot pains in your head while in the air is so unbearable. Usually a flight to Florida is nothing, 3 hours, but it seriously felt like it was taking FOREVER. Oh my oh my you need to get your little blonde self over to HP world immediately!!! You will just fall head over heels for it. I cannot wait to see where your next trip is off to…. love following you around!!! And eeeeek, I literally cannot contain my excitement. Ive been trying not to think or talk about it because it makes me so anxious lol but EEEK YESSS so so soon!!! ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. koraihweb says:

    I love FL and their beaches!!!!! Also, I absolutely adored disney! We had a whole plan thing that got us into all the rides first! NO waiting was soo nice! (though ya do feel bad walking past other people, knowing they have been waiting way longer!) Pretty pics!
    xo K

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Me too I love Florida for their beaches, they really are the best and easiest to travel too! But Disney for sure takes the cake! Did you guys have fast passes? My friend and I wanted to get those fast pass bracelets when we went but they were SO darn expensive. Luckily the week we went happened to be a much slower time in the season so the waits for the lines were no more then 10-15 minutes…. I think the longest we would wait for a ride was like 20 minutes, thankful for that. We did wait pretty long to meet the characters though but it was worth it haha

      Liked by 1 person

      • koraihweb says:

        yes, I love love their beaches! And I love water parks, which FL is packed with! I think we did, but we also had a book that told us the exact time to go. Obvi the book isn’t widely known because we got there and literally waited 5 minutes. Yes, the characters are incredible! In fact one of my cousins was elsa at disney. haha

        Liked by 1 person

      • xoJenny says:

        Oh wow whatever that book is, it sounds totally necessary for visiting Disney..5 minute waits, I’d take that!!!! I think there’s an app that does something similar (of course theres an app, now that theres an app for everything these days lol) but they limit how many times you can use it. And no wayy she got to be Elsa?!?! I always wonder how cool it must be to dress up as a Disney Princess and work there!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • koraihweb says:

        Yeah, the book was absolutely incredible! And of course, there is an app for every single thing hahaha! She said it was incredible to be a princess, especially with all the little kids! She has blonde hair and blue eyes so else it was!

        Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Ugh it really does suck going somewhere and being sick. The warm weather in Miami helped a little, I started to feel almost back to my normal self at the end of the trip (go figure) and as soon as we headed back to Boston it was snowy and cold again lol But I agree the company on your vacations is so important, its so fun exploring when youre with good people! 🙂 ❤

      Like

  6. marblebeauty says:

    The Sarasota trip does not sound good!! I loved this post, it made me laugh! Making light of a bad situation is definitely the best thing to do haha! I once went on a camper van holiday where I got so ill we had to beg the campsite owners to let us stay as I couldn’t even travel, safe to say I haven’t been on a camper holiday since 😂 xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh gosh, getting sick on the camper van was it just car sickness? that stinks because you’re stuck in the vehicle, at least we can look back at these silly situations and laugh about it now lolol

      Liked by 1 person

  7. ughmango says:

    Wizardy World of Harry Potter is a place that I am dying to visit!! I am so jealous that you have been there omg 😍😍 Also can’t believe you got bitten by fire ants like several times.. that must hurt so much I can’t even imagine!! I loved reading this, such a fun post 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I couldn’t believe I got bit either, I swear I counted them and there were at least 30 bites (so gross) they were just painful and so itchy and I hope I never ever in my life ever have to relive that ever again LOL ugh, needless to say, I despise ants. Butttt on a nicer note HP world is the most magical (literally) and amazing place ever!!! A total must see. I always tell people it is so worth creating a little side Disney savings lol

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Lex says:

    I’m always afraid of having an accident in a rental car, ugh. And bugs are the worst in general lol But even though there were mishaps on those trips, I’m glad you were able to see the good and still have fun!

    Next time I’m in Florida, it has to be for Disneyworld and Universal Studios, especially for Harry Potter world! I’ve been to Disneyland and Universal Studios in LA and they are so fun, too.

    Jenny, I noticed you like makeup. I wanna let you know I’m having some giveaways including an Ulta gift card 😉

    Have an amazing Wednesday!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh gosh I know me too, I honestly hate even getting a rental but thankfully I never drive lol I always think spending a little more for the insurance is sooo worth it. Disney World is amazing but now that I’ve seen both parks, I love Universal much more- mostly because I love rides and the rides are more “adult-like” but kid friendly too at the same time. I’ve been to Disney Land as well, tbh, they are very similar with the exception of the Cinderella Castle its just slightly different! And wow did you just say Ulta gc..I’m sold… I need to get over there! Thanks for the heads up lovely ❤ ❤

      Like

  9. 50shad3s0fjay says:

    Fire ant bites? Ouch!! Also I can’t imagine anything worse than a sinus infection whilst flying, how painful, poor you I don’t know how you managed! But worth it when you arrived in Florida I suppose! Disney World looks amazing, I can’t wait to go. I would have been on the verge of tears too seeing the Frozen show and Cinderella’s castle turned to ice, how stunning. I can’t wait for HP world too! I didn’t even know there was a hulk ride, it sounds so much fun and I assume its the ride in your photo? If so it looks brilliant! DC looks so interesting and how wonderful that all the museums are free admission. Win/Win! Great blog post Jenny xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh Jennie darn those fire ants, I will never ever forgive them ever LOL But tbh, idk what was worse the ant bites or flying with a sinus infection- flights to Florida from here are only 3 hours which is a super easy peasy ride but when I was sick it felt like 10 hours with shooting pains in my head. Just awful but yess soooo happy when we landed lol I literally had to lay down on a bench while I waited for Andrew to get the rental car….thank goodness for him haha I literally am SO SO SOOOO excited for you to be a Disney, they’re going to have an amazing castle show, its always just pure magic. Everything I came across while there I was just in awe, and saying “how do they do it?!?!” I think I’ve asked this before but are you doing all 4 parks? (magic kingdom, animal kingdom, epcot, hollywood studios? And are you doing universal?) I would 100000000% squeeze in universal if you guy haven’t already!!!! 🙂

      Like

  10. ayrgalaxy says:

    Omg Florida made it to your worst trips lol. Sucks about the fire ants, I’ve gotten bitten by them too and omg it sucked. Lol. So I feel your pain.
    I remember reading about your last Florida trip and your sinus infection. Not good.
    The Disney, Universal Studios and Epcot were some of my faves of yours as well lol. 🙂
    I wish I had friends who went on trips it me. I was just talking to Alex about this a few hours ago lol 

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      You got bit by fire ants too?!?! It’s just awful, I remember how painful and itchy they were ughhh. Something I never ever want to relive. It took forever to heal too which was annoying. I remember counting them and there were at least 30 of them, it was no joke. I can laugh about it now but at the same time it makes me cringe LOL. Friend trips are so fun the cali one was my one and only trip with friends though and for having 4 of us, it went really smoothly we were just all always on the same page so it worked out good. But these days I don’t have many friends lol like enough to count on one hand and Andrew is the only one I see daily lmao but he’s a great travel partner. I hope one day when the little one gets older you guys can do a family trip to Disney!! That’ll be perfect for you guys 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • ayrgalaxy says:

        I didn’t get bit by many and also I wasn’t paying attention, lol. But when I got home I realized it and I was like “ahhh I need this to stop itching”. My mom made me put vapor rub and it relieved the itchiness LMAO temporally..
        Omg, I don’t have any friends if I’m being completely honest, I spend my days alone with my boys, my friends are my neighbors HAHAHA, we take my neighbor everywhere with us cause he’s around our age. His sister was actually my friend but she moved so.. LOL.
        YES! Disney will be one of our first trips as a family 🙂 I’ll make sure to go all out 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • xoJenny says:

        LOL I totally understand- I’m thankful to have Andrew just as you have your boys. As much as I love Andrew’s company I’m just like ah, I need like AT LEAST one girl friend around here….just someone I can go to Target with or something, anything hahah

        Liked by 1 person

      • ayrgalaxy says:

        Lol no kidding. My friends end up moving on to other friends which is fine, but they sort of forget about me or only come to me when they need some kind of reassurance. Which bugs me a little and is one of the main reasons I don’t have girlfriends lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. llindaxxo says:

    Your pictures look so much fun as always! Too bad you had a bad experience in Florida, but in all your other trips, it was great! I can’t wait to travel next year! This year, it’s all about the saving.

    Liked by 1 person

      • llindaxxo says:

        I definitely want to travel in the US, but I think my need for international travel is greater. I want to go to Europe (Italy, Denmark, London, Paris) and Asia (Korea, China, Japan)!!! I hope your trip is going well! I miss you already :((((

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Allie Zottola says:

    This is such a fun post idea! I can totally relate to the fire ants ordeal. I was in Florida for a mission trip in 2006 and got bit sooo badly by fire ants. Ugh.

    I am so jealous of your visit to Wizarding World of Harry Potter. Jimmy and I want to visit so badly! We actually thought about going there for our honeymoon (LOL) but decided to go to the Outer Banks, NC!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh gosh, isnt it the worst?!?! Those darn ants. I get so paranoid whenever I see ant hills when I’m in flip flops, it scarred me for life lol. You and Jimmy would love Harry Potter world if you guys like HP….such an amazing place and the rides are spectacular!!!! 🙂 I hope you guys get around to go visit!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

