SAN DIEGO Pt.1

Friends! I’m back!

Oh gosh, I don’t even know where to start, I have SO much to share. Β I landed back in Boston on Wednesday night, well Thursday AM I should say because it was at 1 AM. Yesterday I was fine but today the time change is hitting me hard. Luckily I only have/had to get through 2 work days before the weekend. PHEW!

I was debating on when to start my California recap posts and I was actually going to wait till Monday but at the same time I just wanted to purge everything while it’s still fresh in my memory! Not to mention, blogging withdrawals….it’s been like what? 2 weeks? But I’m here now!

Before I start, 2 things…

(1) I’m trying to keep the Cali Recap posts to a minimum so, some posts may be long buttt (2) There will be a ton of pictures so if you get bored of reading you can just scroll through the photos πŸ™‚

SAN DIEGO PART 1

Our flight was Saturday morning at 6AM (which was good because we landed in PST at 11AM).

1

2

Bye bye Boston.3

Also, thank God for Netflix and being able to pre-download shows/movies and watching them without wifi. I watched The Office the whole way there.4

Oh and did my make-up on the second leg of the trip5

And then we landed in San Diego πŸ™‚6

The weather was on our side for the most part, it was high 60’s very low 70’s. We’d wake up and it’d be cloudy but by the afternoon the sun was bright and not a cloud in the sky. And at night the temps dropped back down but not tremendously.

We got the rental car and made our way to the hotel which was right on the outside of the Gaslamp District. It was also conveniently located because every place we wanted to go and visited was a 15-20 minute drive, if that!

I surprisingly kind of remembered where I was from 5 years ago when I first visited so we headed towards Petco Park for Andrew to see and to get some lunch.

7

7A

8

I’d say most of the places we found on Yelp, all had similar menu’s….Mexican mostly. So I ate my weight in tacos while in SD9

I was determined to find the GASLAMP archway- which happened to be right down the street from where we ate at. Ah the memories!Β 12

And then we headed back to the hotel to grab our car but first…

Selfies at Petco Park!10

10A

11

And off to the next adventure-

The San Diego Zoo, of course.

13

I don’t know what it was about the hippos but I was so fascinated by them. They were huge and just frolicking under water and it was just so cool to watch.Β 14

But my favorite of course were the giraffes!17

17A

15

16

18

19

This zoo is huge and awesome. We were beat by the end of it.

SAN DIEGO- SUNDAY

This day was the warmest day so we chose this day to be the beach day. Well, to be fair it could’ve been the coldest day and we still would’ve gone to the beach.

I couldn’t wait to show Andrew Coronado.Β 

But first breakfast and coffee. We went to a place called Cafe 21Β such an amazing brunch spot. But I had to note and laugh about our coffee size difference. I loved my mason jar iced coffee πŸ™‚Β 19A

CORONADO

If you don’t already know it’s a cute little island off of San Diego and the only way (that I know of via driving) to get there is by crossing this bridge. Normally I hate bridges but this was just too good of a view to pass up.20

21

25

We headed right for the famous Coronado beach to soak up the sun

22

23

24

26

27

28

In the famous words of Babe Walker “This summer, I want to get so tan that I die”Β 

Oh and that’s exactly what happened….

This was the aftermath of laying out for hours with NO sunscreen on. Yup, really bad decision on my end and I surely paid for it.Β 29

After the beach, we frolicked through the main street of Coronado, got some lunch and coffee, and then back to the hotel to shower and adventure.

Balboa Park

This was right by the San Diego Zoo so we park in the same area but walk towards a different direction. Neither of us really knew what to expect here but it was such a cool little touristy place to visit. Β I still don’t even know what it was but they had museums, music, fountains, and SURREY RIDES!

We saw people riding around these Surrey Bikes so Andrew and I decided it would be fun to do it too. That was probably one of my favorite things from this San Diego trip, it was hilarious and so fun. Of course, Andrew did most of the work while I took pictures and snapped everything πŸ˜‰35

39

33

34

32

36

37

38

31

By the end of this day I knew I was sunburnt, like REALLY bad. I occasionally burn, mostly when I go to Florida but nope California exceeded that. I can hands down say this was the worst sunburn I’ve ever endured. More to come on that later though.

Anyways, that was the first two days of San Diego and the first part of my Cali trip post!Β Ya’ll will have to come back on Monday for more πŸ™‚

Have a great weekend everyone!!!

xo, JJ

50 Comments Add yours

  1. danniijane says:

    Oh no. Sunburn is the worst. When I go Malta I get burnt everytime and it’s so sore! Love your photos. Mexican food is one of my favesπŸ’• Love your beach pics and the zoo! I love visiting zoos and the one you visited looked great! Can’t wait to read more😊 x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh gosh the sunburn was awful and totally unexpected. Lesson learned though, I should’ve worn sunscreen. But being at that beach was oh so worth it (kind of haha) The zoo was so fabulous, its definitely named one of the best zoos in the USA and I can see why, its just huge!!! Thanks for reading! I cannot wait to get over to your page and read about your vacation!!! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. danniijane says:

        Haha I know what you mean. It’s like the burn’s bad but the beach is worth itπŸ˜‚ Really? I’ll add that zoo to my list! Aaw thanks hun. First post should be up in a couple of days xx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Amazing!! Thanks for sharing!! LOVE the pics!! πŸ˜πŸ˜˜πŸ’•

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Aw thank you so much for coming by to read!!!! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Natalie Vinh says:

    Looks AMAZING! I was in SD for a night last summer but all we got done was the zoo and some looks at UCSD and SDSU. Can’t wait to hear about the rest of your trip!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      The zoo is awesome though wasn’t it?! I feel like its definitely a huge San Diego tourist staple to go visit, and at least you can check that off your list now πŸ™‚ Are you planning on going back to SD sometime soon?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Natalie Vinh says:

        I’m not, but my family is at least twice over summer since my brother will be attending SDSU in the fall!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. K.M. Sutton says:

    Oh my God I am drooling! One of my best friends lives in San Diego and I need to get my butt there to visit her. Her pictures are always so amazing and yours are just as incredible! Coronado sounds stunning! I love any place with an island! You poor thing though with the sunburn! I hope you are feeling better! I can not wait for your next update! I have been waiting for these for two weeks! Eeeek! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Omg Kate, YOU MUSTTT!!!! Contact her immediately and plan a trip there! I know for a fact that you and your mermaid self will LOVE SoCal!!! And I totally agree, “Island…beach….” I don’t know what’s better than those two words ❀ ❀ ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. K.M. Sutton says:

        Girrrlll You have no idea how much I NEED to go back to Cali! It is going to happen! Right? They are the words to my heart! ❀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. lifeofangela says:

    Welcome back Jenny!! Your trip looks amazing, and this is only part 1!! I’m so jealous, I want to go travelling again, but my bank account is frowning. Also, how could you forget sunscreen?? You poor thing, that sunburn looks really painful 😦
    San Diego looks incredible, and I can’t wait for the next installment πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Aw thanks Angela!!! ❀ Although I'm sad to be back in the real world, I'm SOOO happy to be back to blogging. I've missed it oh so much! Which btw, I noticed in my notifs you've tagged me a bunch of times and I am SOOO anxious to get over to your page to see what you've written πŸ™‚ ❀ As soon as I catch up on things I'm jetting over to your page!!!

      But oh gosh, I cannot believe I didn't use sunscreen….very bad decision on my end. The whole time Andrew was like…."You're not going to use sunscreen?!?!" I don't normally burn and the sun didn't seem to be beaming down that hard so I was totally caught off guard when I realized how burnt I was. Never again will I go out with sunscreen haha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. lifeofangela says:

        Ah yes, post holiday blues. It’s hard getting back in the swing of real life after an amazing holiday like that I’m sure. But we’re all glad you’re back in the blogging world though πŸ˜€
        Haha, I’m working on a new series, and you were the latest star of it πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  6. stashy says:

    Looks like it was a fun trip. But ouch on the sunburn!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      It was so incredible, thank you!!! But yess, “ouch” is the best way to describe the sunburn hah, ughh….

      Like

  7. Lex says:

    welcome back =) I’m glad you shared your trip on snap while you were away! looks like perfect weather, amazing food and…bonus points for watching The Office lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Ah I’m so happy that you followed me on snap!!! ❀ ❀ It was great, the weather was slightly chillier than expected but perfect for adventuring around! You love The Office too?!?!!? Such a good show, that show helped me get through 6 tedious hours on a plane haha

      Like

  8. AHHHH I AM LIVING FOR THIS POST!!!! Firstly, welcome back, I missed you!! 2. You got me beyond HYPED for going to California! I’m currently in the process of making TO-DO lists, to pack lists, and all other sort of fun stuff! When I go to SD I’m definitely trying out that brunch place, because last time I was there we had zero recommendations and ended up in some “stoner pit restaurant”! Can’t wait to hear more of your adventures, I’m glad you had fun! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Oh my gosh you are going to have an absolute BLAST!!!!! Do you know where in San Diego you’re staying or nearby?! Cafe 21 was probably my favorite place to eat while in San Diego (Gaslamp district), I’m with you a lot of the places we’re mostly medicore but it was SO hard to choose because every place on Yelp had 4 stars even if they weren’t actually deserving of all 4 stars lol I’d also highly suggest eating somewhere in La Jolla. I’m not sure if you like sushi or Asian food but Shiku was the only other place that was exceptionally good out of all the places we ate at! What do you have on your to-do list so far?!

      Like

  9. Welcome back! Aww it looks and sounds like you had a lovely trip away! San Diego seems like such a cool place to visit – I’d really love to explore California at some point! I hope you guys had the best time away and I can’t wait to see more posts about your amazing holiday! ❀ xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Aw Milena thank you!!! I’m so happy to be back (to blogging….not working and real life haha) but yess California is a total must do in the USA. I honestly would choose Cali to visit first out of all places and that says a lot because I love Boston so much! So many cool things to do and explore just not enough time…. but a great excuse to go back πŸ˜‰ Ah I can’t wait to go read about your trip!!! I’m so behind, I’m assuming you blogged about it though? xoxo

      Like

  10. I FINALLY found some time to read this entire blogpost! Ugh, busy days, but I have to say I’m glad I waited so I could slowly read it all! Jenny, I’m so jealous right now. Those pictures you took, wow, they are amazing and San Diego and Cornado look stunning! I also liked the pictures of the zoo, I’m not an animal kind of person, but after seeing the pictures you took at the zoo, I want to visit it too! I literally can’t wait for the next Cali-blogpost coming up. I’m just so interested in these places you visit! Ugh, I have to put a lot more places on my travel-bucketlist after watching your blogpost. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      It’s okay because I’m FINALLY getting around to catching up too lol I feel you not enough time in the day to dedicate to blogging! Coronado is my absolute favorite place in San Diego, its just a beautiful (very rich…I cant even imagine the people who can afford to live there) island off of San Diego, it’s just it’s own little paradise! The ride to get over there is the best part though, as scared as I am of bridges or roads over water, I was lavishing on the drive there and back because the views are incredible! I wish my camera could capture it as I was seeing it but I’m glad you could get the idea πŸ™‚

      xo, JJ

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I really really need to put that on my travel-list, omg. I love watching houses or other things rich people own, haha, it’s probably an obsession too! I could definitey get an idea of how the view would look like. STUNNING! xo

        Liked by 1 person

  11. llindaxxo says:

    OMG That San Diego weather sounds AMAZING! Yes, that mason jar coffee is super cute. Yes, y’all’s selfies are super cute. Yes, you should have put on sunscreen – SHAMEEEEE!!! The trip is looking like so much fun! Can’t wait to read more! I missed you!!!!!! So glad you’re back!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Ahh, I wish nothing more than to have gone back in time and put on sunscreen lmao ugh, lesson learned!! Coffee in the mason jar was such a fantastic idea, it was my first time seeing a place do that and the mason jar was HUGE….needless to say I had my coffee fix for the whole day haha xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. llindaxxo says:

        I need to explore more coffee places here in Austin. It must have been so much fun!

        Liked by 1 person

  12. You’re back! I’ve missed you so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      ps-I’ve missed you toooo ❀ ❀ ❀

      Like

  13. Oops, posted my comment before I finished! Anyway firstly you look stunning in your beach selfies!! You need to Instagram that second one!! And the last one out of your beach pics! So pretty! The zoo looks amazing, I love your photos of the giraffes. They’re my fave too. I can’t believe the size of your coffee compared to andrews! How funny! Glad you had an amazing time JJ x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      LOLOL funny you say that because I was going back and forth about posting that second beach photo on the gram but I didn’t want to do beach overload…. I probably will do it at some point this summer…. I’m thinking a nice “throwback Thursday” or “flashblack Friday” haha πŸ˜‰ The giraffes were sooo amazing, I get overly excited about seeing them I could’ve stayed there all day Andrew practically had to pull me away so that we could go see all the other animals. One day I need to feed a giraffe, its on my bucket list!!! Have you ever done that?

      xo, JJ

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aha how funny! Oh no beach overload all you wanna girl!! Yes definitely, regardless whenever you upload It you just need to upload it!!! Haha. Omg yes I’m exactly the same, I could watch them all day too. They are just such wonderful animals. Omg yes that would be amazing. No I haven’t- together? Also have you seen that hotel in Africa where you can eat breakfast with the giraffes?

        Like

  14. OOOOOH! I’m just catching up on these & I looove the picture of you and Andrew in front of those red-ish flowers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      So funny I asked some Asian kid to take the picture of us and he was so hesitant and the look on his face when he had to hold my phone was like as if it was covered in some kind of toxic poison he was so uncomfortable but he snagged a good one so yay! hahah

      Like

  15. Love how you capture the littlest things when you travel! Makes it even more exciting! That beach looks divine πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      Aw thanks girl, I feel like I try to put in as many photos or details in my traveling posts just for my own sake to remember the little things lol and or if my phone just goes haywire and I lose all my stuff at least it’ll all be on here πŸ™‚

      Like

  16. Mackenzie says:

    Oh man I am so behind on your blog- BUT at least I can read your trip! WOOOHOOOOO! I am so psyched about this. THE OFFICE- forever one of DJ and I’s favorites! Ahhhh I’m dying to go to that Stadium! That looked like soo much fun. And lemme say I am SOO beyond jealous you got to go to the Zoo! That is easily one of my top bucket list items. That coffee from a mason jar looks ridiculously extra tasty too. Your pictures are incredible, JJ! I am so giddy to read the rest of the posts and now I know my next getaway HAS to be San Diego!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      I’m so hooked on the Office, I’m like mid season 7 but I’ve been taking my time watching it because I just dont want it to end!! But it saved my life on my flight over there I was the LAME-O laughing out loud on the plane while Andrew is over there covering his face pretending not to know me lol Petco park is super cool!!! I like how it’s wide open like that for the people to see as their walking by. Our stadium here, Fenway, is all closed off so the only way to see it is to go in so it stinks for visitors! You guys definitely need to do a San Diego trip!! Is that drive-able?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mackenzie says:

        Bahahah. I have done the same thing! When I watch comedies on the treadmill I feel bad for the people I startle when I let out a laugh next to me and then feel awkward and then do it again. Hahhaa. And San Diego is about 7 hours from here, so it is drivable, but I think flying might even make more sense depending where we stay/want to go. I need to do some research. Which is perfect- because I need to plan another trip to have something to look forward to!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  17. ayrgalaxy says:

    Omg I’ve been watching the office too lol. I haven’t had the chance to try out that Netflix feature.
    SD looks like a fun place, I’ve only been to the LA area. Lol.
    And I wish we had warmer weather, our beaches are too cold lol.
    And that park looks amazing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. xoJenny says:

      That Netflix feature was so handy! If you have an iPad and are going on a long car ride, I’d totally use it for your little one!! The beach was so nice there but the water was unbearably cold!!! But at the same time it was cooler on the days that we were there visiting so I guess it makes sense. Is it getting warmer in Portland now-a-days?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ayrgalaxy says:

        Good point. I never thought about using it for my little one but i think i will now hahaha. And Yea we got hit with 90 degree weather on Monday, before that, it was cloudy and cool. I’m pretty sure summer is here now lol. And it’s not gonna be awesome, it’s gonna be very very hot and I also don’t have AC on my car at the moment. We’re gonna roast lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. xoJenny says:

        Oh God, no AC in the car is my worst nightmare. We’ll have to get you those fan water sprayers that you can hold close to your face as your driving lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

