San Diego Pt 2

Hi everyone!!! I’m thrilled ya’ll are back to read my San Diego Pt 2 trip. If you missed San Diego Pt 1 do not fret because you can read it HERE

Before I begin, this probably goes without saying but I am SO behind on reading blogs. The anticipation is killing me but I’m determined to catch up throughout this week and hopefully a lot this weekend. But don’t think I forgot about you!!!

SAN DIEGO PART 2

So because of my crazy sunburn29I must’ve gotten some sort of sun poisoning or something because I started getting sick. At first it was allergy-like symptoms and then it slowly turned into cold-like symptoms and for some reason I wasn’t sleeping well at night so with a mix of all of that going on,  I was flat out sickly….and red. Very very red.

The next AM I woke up with my face in pain, like eyelids and under eye were just so burnt (along with the rest of my face). I would wake up to swollen eyes and found myself having to do this every morning…26

Yeaaah, not fun. But the swelling eventually went down afterwards.

But I knew I had to go out to buy an actual aloe leaf plant to heal the burn. I swear, if you guys don’t already know the aloe from an actual aloe leaf is the BEST thing ever for your skin. So early that next morning I did some research found a greenhouse that sold aloe plants and made Andrew take me there. God bless Andrew because not only did we have to postpone our adventures but we literally had to drive throughout San Diego to 3 separate locations to FINALLY get my hands on this30Oh my lord, it was so worth it though.

(Un)fortunately it was cloudy this day so, our original beach plan was not going to happen. I think my skin was very thankful for that. So instead we headed over to the

La Jolla Coves

I’ve never been there so I had no idea what to expect, but I’ve heard nothing but great things about this place so I was excited!

The coves have such a beautiful jaw dropping view. Everywhere that you could look out it was just so beautiful and the pictures do not even do it any justice, but just so you can get an idea…

1

7

9

10

11

12

The coolest thing in my opinion were the sea lions. Just hundreds of sea lions hanging out, napping, and swimming. And I was in awe at how close you could get to them, literally within touching distance and they weren’t bothered by it at all.

2

3

4

29

6They were so darn cute. Andrew and I just stood there for God knows how long just admiring.

13I did some good editing because this doesn’t even show the redness from my sunburn. You’ll just have to trust me when I say, I was red. Equivalent to the red strap from my cross body purse.

La Jolla in general is such a beautiful town (city?). We walked around the downtown area and got some lunch before our next adventure which was to…

Torry Pines

If you don’t already know (like me at the time) it’s a very popular golf course. And beautiful I should add with the views overlooking La Jolla. This was an Andrew “must-see” and I can’t even deny that it was stunning.

16

21

14

15

After Torrey Pines we relaxed for a while and headed back to La Jolla for a sushi dinner.

The next morning (it was Tuesday by then) we just hung around until our flight to San Fran.20

I found a donut shop on pinterest that I was dying to go to and when I google mapped it, it was only a 4 min walk from the hotel. We saw it earlier on during our stay and EVERY.SINGLE.TIME there was a line out the door and around the corner. So I figured going on a Tuesday would be better and it was, kind of.17

18

19

I’m not even going to lie, I was SO disappointed. They weren’t even that good. #UnionSquareDonuts in Somerville is still #1

Off to the airport for the second part of our California trip. I was MOST excited for San Fran.22

We stayed at a super cool contemporary-hipster hotel called The Zeppelin. It was very cool and unique and perfect location.

24

23I guess we were in the Theater district which you have to be careful because just a couple streets over is the Tenderloin District which you DO NOT want to be. But just in the opposite direction one street over was Union Square where ALL the shopping was. 25And thank goodness for that because I was not ready for the weather AND way underestimated the hills. After we got dinner we did a little shopping so I could get some long sleeves and a pair of sneakers #successful.

And that’s where I’m going to leave off 🙂

Come back tomorrow for San Fran adventures!

xo, JJ

47 thoughts on “San Diego Pt 2

  1. K.M. Sutton says:

    Eeeeek Part 2! So excited.
    Oh hunny you poor poor thing! I have had a couple bad burns, and let’s just say I have never EVER forgotten my sunscreen since! I love aloe! Also butter and milk help heal and soothe burns. (hopefully there won’t be an in the future but if there ever is.)
    Oh my gosh I was going to ask if you went to La Jolla Caves! I want to go so badly! It is this mermaids dream playground! Your pictures are stunning! And those baby sea lions gave me all the feels!
    I hate that when food looks amazing, but then disappoints.
    And ahhh you are in San Fran! I can not wait to read your recaps especially since I know EXACTLY where you were! I did lots of shopping there! You were also close to the Dry Bar I went too. Oh the memories! And your hotel looks amazing! I love it! Can not wait to read about your San Fran adventures tomorrow! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Wait butter and milk!!??! LOL who would’ve thought!! I wish I knew because I was willing to try everything and anything to heal it as fast as possible. Do you melt the butter first? Now I’m curious about how this works! Kate you would LOVEEE the La Jolla, I’m certain that you won’t ever want to leave. And it’s so “Little Mermaid”-esq because you can climb out onto the rocks as the water splashed against them…PERFECT meradventure!!!
      Oh man I loved the shopping there!!! I think Andrew was kind of cringing because the shopping was so accessible and close lol *its a girls world* It reminded me exactly of NYC except much more hillier and with trolley’s! Was the theater that you guys went to for the show near there??

      Like

  2. danniijane says:

    Oh man. I felt that way a few times after sunburn you get hot, cold. I’m praying my skin don’t burn this summer as it sucks. Those sea lions. Omg adorable😍💕 Also shame about those doughnuts as they looked yummy! Can’t wait to read abiut San Fran☺😊 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      The sea lions were SO cool, I just couldn’t believe how close we could get to them, especially since they’re literally wild life animals not trained or anything and they were just so content with people being around and snapping photographs with them- it was an incredible experience! And ugh, what a disappointment with the donuts…they were so mediocre….they were more like “instagram worthy” rather than actually being tasteful. But oh well, at least I wont have to miss them haha

      Liked by 1 person

  3. stashy says:

    Oh dear, you could have gotten heat stroke! But sweet of your SO to get you an aloe vera plant to help!
    Those caves look incredible! And awww that baby sea lion with mama!
    What a bummer the donuts were a letdown… sometimes hype is just hype.

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh I know I am very thankful for Andrew to drive my butt around San Diego looking for the right greenhouse ha, The aloe plant worked wonders though, I probably wouldn’t have made it through the trip without it! The caves were amazing, I wish I could’ve actually gone down into them, I think that would’ve been awesome, I just need to make sure I go back now 🙂

      Like

  4. llindaxxo says:

    OMG your sunburn sounds really bad! I hope you’re feeling better now! Your body was probably freaking out from the inflammation.
    The coves look freaking amazing!!! The seals look super cute! Overall, San Diego sounds so amazing (minus the burn). Too bad those donuts weren’t that good though :/ It sucks waiting that long for mehhh food.
    Yes, San Fran is super hilly! Can’t wait to see/read more!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh yes the burn is completely healed now HALLELUJAH….except I’m still peeling here and there (ugh) but its definitely way better than walking around all red haha
      I adored being around the seals, I think if I had to choose I’d say they were my favorite part of the SD trip, it was just so darn cool being that close to them.
      Ah I was so bummed about the donuts, they were definitely like “instagram worthy” but eating them were totally mediocre definitely meh lol Even on yelp they had great reviews but at the same time every place in Cali had like 4+ star ratings so it was hard to really know if it was legitimate or not.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. TheFallibleQueen says:

    I’m making mental notes of where I want to visit in California, those places sound beautiful. Aww no :/ I’m glad you found an aloe vera plant for your skin and that the redness went down. The Zeppelin hotel looks so cool.

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Yes girrrl!!! Ah its so hard because there’s just so much to do and never enough time but it totally helped when people gave suggestions, so I hope this helps people too..take those mental notes 🙂 ! The Zeppelin hotel may have been the coolest hotel I’ve stayed it. Very different than your ordinary Marriott or Holiday Inn, etc… We loved the downstairs game room it was just the coolest vibe with tons of games (like skeeball! I can’t remember the last time I played that)! Such a cool ambiance!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. lifeofangela says:

    Yikes, sunburn is no joke, I’m glad you got yourself some aloe though!!
    Also, seeeeals! They’re so cute, I love that you’re able to get so close to them! They look so chill and relaxed 😀 The La Jolla coves in general look stunning! Definitely a spot I would also want to see. That donut bar looked so tempting until you mentioned that they weren’t that good. That’s a bummer, especially since you had a long wait.
    I can’t wait for the next part 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      The seals were so darn cute! I just wanted to touch them and pet them (but of course not a good idea when theyre actual wildlife lolol) so cool though, I’ll remember that forever. I had no idea what to expect when people were like “Go check out the Coves” but now I totally understand, it’s surely a sight for sore eyes, amazing views!!! xo

      Liked by 1 person

  7. 50shad3s0fjay says:

    I can’t believe you got sick from the sun, that sucks buuut thank goodness for the aloe Vera plant and wow, I’ve learnt something new I’d never guess aloe plants were so good for the skin! The coves look beautiful, your pictures are amazing so to think what the views Are like in real life 😍 I’m totally jealous you were so close to the sea lions, I’d have been the same as you and stood there hanging out with them for ages! How cool. Gutted about the donuts, how disappointing but hey at least you can say you tried them. I love the name of your hotel in San Fran ‘The zeppelin’ how cool, the pictures you got of it look super fun too. I can’t wait to read more about your trip! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh I know poor Andrew was having to go to the store with me like once a day for cold medicine….and then on the prowl for the plant- hes a trooper haha but the plant yess!! It’s so good for your skin (even if your not sunburnt) and in general just very good for your body. I looked it up online and there’s just a list full of things it treats. I’m trying to find one to buy to keep around my house to use now- they’re so handy! The sea lions were so cool, I was just in awe about the whole thing. I want to go back and relive it so bad! And ugh the donuts *cries* however….the silver lining is that at least I wont have to miss them hahah ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • 50shad3s0fjay says:

        Oh no, bless you guys haha definitely a trooper and a keeper for sure!!! Ah I need to google this right now!! How interesting. Yes, are they quite hard to come by? They look amazing! Awwww I bet you’ve holiday blues already 😦 Omg that’s so true! Every cloud haha. xx

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Anne | Beautybyadutchgirl says:

    Wow, you actually did a good job with photoshopping that picture of you and Andrew. If you hadn’t say something, I totally wouldn’t have noticed! I always hate it when I’m looking forward to some good food and I get disappointed. Especially when everybody loves the food, ugh, I hate that. How could there even be a line if it wasn’t that good, lol? I love all those pictures you made. Those sealions look so relaxed! I hope I can be a sealion in my next live, just chillin’ at the beach and no responsibility’s! Can’t wait to read your next post about San Fran! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      haha yess I totally filtered my skin to the T to get rid of the crazy skin patches and redness I had. I barely wanted to even take pictures because of it but at the same time I was like ahhh we need these pictures for the memories! Sooo disappointing about the donuts…I even looked on yelp for reviews and the place had like 4.5 stars or something silly and I’m just like what are these people thinking?!?! Clearly they haven’t had REAL good donuts. I’m LOLing at your sea lion comment, but seriously they do live the life just swim in the ocean and then lay out when they’re tired….that is a good life!! haha xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      So happy we did too! I did not expect it to be anything like that, it just wayyy exceeded my expectations! And no, we didn’t get to La Valencia, but I did see it! We had made reservations at Torrey Pines because Andrew was so anxious to check out the golf course!

      Like

    • xoJenny says:

      hahah omg I loveee this comment so much! ❤ ❤ Day made! I think its so funny when girls try to get rid of their tan lines because I'm over here like, hmm look how tan I'm getting 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Definitely worth traveling to, although I’m not sure if it’s even driving distance? or flying would be better? It’s funny because when you live in the state people think or expect you to have seen all the places but California is HUGE it takes time for sure. Even being in MA a much much smaller state there’s still places I’ve haven’t seen or been to so no worries girl! Plus you haven’t had a full year there yet you’re still technically allowed to explore your surrounding areas first before venturing off 😉

      Like

  9. teatime2016xo says:

    I loved that area when I went…La Jolla was one of my fave spots. Laguna Nigel beautiful too! San Diego best food ever…and delicious margarita’s (my fave)…def an awesome area…not to mention the zoo is a fave spot ❤

    Like

    • xoJenny says:

      La Jolla was so wonderful, definitely a favorite of mine too I can’t get over those views! I didn’t realize how many Mexican cuisine places there were in SD, but I mean makes total sense. I’m sure that’s why the margs are so good too 😉

      Like

  10. Mackenzie says:

    WHAT! That was part 1! I totally forgot while I was reading it. I can’t wait to read this one. AWW the Aloe Plant! You poor thing. I’m so glad that you found that little guy. And lemme tell ya- your aloe plant came into play BIGG TIME with me! I got sunburn on a run on my back where I forgot to apply sunscreen. So thank you TONS for that! Oohhhh the donut chase- we still haven’t found more than we enjoy than the classic Krispy Kreme. There are some good individual kinds at different places, but Krispy Kreme overall is hard to beat. Sooo that means DJ and I DEFINITELY need to try that place in Somerville. And Wow, you got so dang close to those sea lions!!! Haha. I also have never heard of that hotel, but it looks way fun and eclectic! YAYYY onto SanFran adventures!

    Like

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh my goodness I wish so badly I could send you guys the donuts from the place in Somerville because there’s something in the dough that is SO amazing. Not to mention the flavors they have are delicious too! Krispy Kremes though, they get the best of me…. I love them wholeheartedly. But yess I’m so glad I could give you the aloe leaves, I was SO bummed thinking that I would just have to throw them out and let them go to waste! It’s the best thing ever (a little weird at first) but once it works its magic it cures everything!!! xoxox

      Liked by 1 person

  11. ayrgalaxy says:

    Aww the sea lions!! We have a place in the coast called the sea lion caves, they come every year. I have yet to go but I may go this fall which is when they all cone back in huge numbers 🙂 I’m not sure we can get that close though, we will see.
    Those donuts look like our (for some reason) famous voodoo doughnuts. Pretty sure that was a maple bacon bar in that photo lol. Quality sucks too I don’t recommend it lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I was seriously so taken back and amazed by the sea lions! I heard theres an area in SF that the sea lions gather too….west coast is just hoarding all those cute little animals lol And yesss it was a maple bacon, I was tempted to get it but I was feeling like a strawberry cheesecake- SO disappointing it was literally like a cream cheese frosting with strawberry jelly inside so lame. Butttt the place here in Somerville that I love Union Square Donuts they have amazing maple bacon donuts, its my favorite! I wish I could somehow send you one to try lol

      Liked by 1 person

      • ayrgalaxy says:

        Lol yeah lots of deer hang out in backyards as well hahaha.
        I bet, I haven’t tried a donut shop that I’m in love with yet. I’ve been hearing a lot about a place called Blue Star Donuts so I’ll go someday and tell you all about them lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

