SAN FRANCISCO!

Good morning!

I’m super excited to be blogging today because I’m going to be sharing my favorite part of my California trip.

I’m condensing 3 days into 1 post but it’s going to be a lot of pictures for your viewing pleasure, so enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

SAN FRANCISCO

To recap, we got to San Fran on Tuesday around 5PM, so that was just a traveling (and shopping) day for us but on WEDNESDAY….

We got to explore!1SUNBURN UPDATE: So by the time we got to SF, my sunburn was at the worst stage… half red/brown, half peeling stage. It was horrendous and I was so self conscious but again I somehow managed to edit my pictures to hide as much of it as possible. #thankgodforfiltersandsephora.

The street off of our hotel was a HUGE 90 degree hill and Andrew was eager to see what was up there. Mind you, where our hotel was, we were already halfway up the hill but climbing up the entire thing was most likely a no-go.

So we decided to take the trolley!1AAnd luckily the trolley would drop us off at the bottom the Lombard Street which is exactly where we wanted to go.

I loved the trolley ride, I thought it was the coolest thing and so fun- but it’s really not the most efficient way to get around (it was clear that the only people in line were tourists).

This was on our way up the 90 degree hill. Pictures never do it justice but being on there and seeing how steep and high up you’re going was insane.2Passing some neighborhoods on the ride3AND THEN

We got to the BOTTOM of

Lombard Street

When they told us they were dropping us off at the bottom my initial thought was, “Yeah so, okay? No big deal…

Well, it was a BIG deal hill.

When they dropped us off at the bottom, I didn’t realize we had to hike up a great big giant hill before even getting to “Lombard Street”

I found out I was REALLY out of shape but we made it!4After taking a break, snapping some photos, and gaining enough energy to hike some more, we carried on to climb to the very top of it.

Half way up, but that view!!!!

7A

And this was the top6

7

From Lombard we headed towards Ghirardelli Square for some lunch. Alas we got to walk downhill for once, which is 1000x easier.8

9

And then we walked in the direction of the SF Maritime Park10

11

12

Walked on some pier over there13

Saw Alcatraz from afar.14

And then started the journey to the

GOLDEN GATE BRIDGE

We followed the directions to get to Fort Point to see the bridge. We had no idea where we were; we walked through some (gorgeous) neighborhoods, parks, a beach, some hiking trails, roads, stairs….15

16

18

17

19

20

21

At this point we had made it!22

23

24

25

26All I can say is that it was flat out stunning. The views of the water and the city were breathtaking. We took hundreds of pictures but when you take pictures of water, it just looks like, well…. water.

But physically being there just makes ALL the difference. At that point I was just so happy, grateful, and blessed to be there.

And thennn, we ubered back ๐Ÿ˜‰33Which btw, ubering in SF is super cheap!

The Painted Ladiesย 

The next day (Thursday) we planned: The Painted Ladies and later that evening we were meeting up with Andrew’s long time friend from school and his fiance.

oh the hills to get here….. *surprise, surprise*28

27The view of the city behind the Painted Ladies was a sight for sore eyes!

My love โค30

Later that night we met up with Andrew’s friend Stu and his fiance Greta, whose wedding we’re attending in July! They took us to a museum that hosts a happy hour and it also happened to be Greta’s bachelorette weekend.

31

32This was our last full night in SF. As happy as I was to get to Lombard, Golden Gate, and Painted Ladies; there’s just so much more to see, do, and eat so Andrew and I mutually agreed that we will be back. Till then, we had to carry on to the last part of our trip…

SANTA CLARAย 

xo, JJ

41 thoughts on “SAN FRANCISCO!

  1. K.M. Sutton says:

    Yay!!!! So excited to read this! I love that you took a trolley ride! I took it seven years ago, but didnโ€™t this last time.
    Oh my gosh I know it is so touristy but I love Lombard. Probably because I felt like a boss when I climbed to the top! (And my friend walked it in heels!) Your pics are giving me all the feels!
    My aunt lives RIGHT next to Ghirardelli Square when we walked out her building we could smell it (Those two high rise buildings is where she lives!)
    Girrrlll! I am super impressed! That is like five miles from where you guys were to walk ALL of THAT! Super heroes! And after all of that you looked stunning in your pictures!
    I love the painted Ladies! And not sure if I have said this enough but you guys are SOO stinking cute! This post seriously gave me all the feels and I want no NEED to go back there! โค

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      YES YES YES!!! The trolley ride was totally one of the highlights of the trip for me. It was hilarious because you could tell ONLY tourists were riding it, we were like “where does it start? how does it work? where is it going?” ha super cool though! And no wayyyy ahhh your aunt has suchhh a prime spot! No wonder you were able to get to Golden Gate for sunrise, so lucky! I wanted to go back so bad but it was a hike and a half. But I must say it was totally worth every step and hill and staircase that we climbed- just stunning! I’m sitting here and died when I read that your friend walked up Lombard in her HEELS!!! What! Is she superwoman or what?!?!? I was the one huffing and puffing taking breaks climbing up that thing haha Also so worth it though! Oh my gosh and we were going to go to that pizza place for lunch that you mentioned and we were SO sad because it didn’t open till 4 and when we got there it was like noon….ugh so bummed about it!!! We ended up getting pizza at a little hole in the wall place. It was really good but I’m sure Capos would’ve been better! That’s it! We’re going back….at the same time..and we’re rounding up Mack too. lol โค

      Like

    • xoJenny says:

      Aw thanks Linda โค โค San Fran is such a crazy cool adventure! A must-see place! Just remember to wear comfy shoes so you don't have to go out and buy shoes like I did ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      They really were!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I loved wandering through the streets that were lined up along with the water, all just beautifully painted and different colors it was so picture-esq. San Fran was the perfect place to adventure and explore…I just wish we had more time because there’s still a list full of things we wanted to do and see! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. danniijane says:

    Love your pics. Girl you must have done a good editing job as your skin looks great! ๐Ÿ’• You are so similar to me! There’s no way I would walk back down a steep hill either. I’d get a taxi like you did๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ˜‚ xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Ha thanks love!!! Lets just say I became a pro at editing after working on these pictures. I smoothed it out so much so hide it, so glad I was able to though because I would’ve been so bummed not being about to post the pictures haha And yesss omg after all the walking, hiking, climbing we did there was just noooo way we were going back the same way we came. Thank goodness for taxis!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Thanks love โค I always get so let down by the pictures because they never do it any justice from physically being there lol but it was definitely a trip to remember, I already miss being there!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Natalie Vinh says:

    This is so fun to read considering I’m off to SF in a few hours! It looks like you had a great time, where did you end up staying? From the looks of the street it’s somewhere in Union Square or at least nearby…

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I’m totally envious that you’re able to go there every now and then!!! I already want to go back and do everything that I missed out on and eat all the food I didn’t get to try lol We stayed at Hotel Zeppelin, which I think overlapped right on the edge of the theater district and union square? The shopping area was I think 1 or 2 streets right down from our hotel which was sooo convenient!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. lifeofangela says:

    I love all the photos!! Especially the many ones of you pointing at the bridge XD
    Those streets do look very steep, I live in a town filled with steep hills (maybe not as steep), so I approve. It does mean you get a workout just going for a walk though ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Lol I loved those pictures too, after we took the first one we were like wow this is actually a cool idea and kept doing it the closer we got. It’s crazy how pictures never do it any justice like by the time we got to the top I could just touch the bridge if I wanted to but it still looked like we were so far. Depth perception is a crazy thing.
      Oh yeah!! I remember seeing your video of you guys driving and there were a lot of hills like that! You’d be used it if you were to ever visit San Fran then ๐Ÿ˜‰ But you’re so right I was like I don’t even need to gym, just walking around here is a full workout ha

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Dianashealthyliving says:

    The pictures never do the hills justice – it looks like nothing in the picture but when you see it in person you just want to die. We drove up the hill and kept stopping – I wanted to get out of the car because I kept thinking the car in front of us was going to roll back lol

    Like

    • xoJenny says:

      RIGHT! I’m so glad that you understand. Kudos to the people who drive their cars around those hills I really just couldn’t believe it and I’d be terrified of my breaks just giving out. But it was cool to see from a passenger perspective haha Thank goodness that they don’t get snow out there that would be a disaster!

      Like

  6. Anne | Beautybyadutchgirl says:

    Jenny, those pictures are making me jealous, again. I really like the look of the painted ladies. I hadn’t heard of it/them before, but it’s amazing that you made a picture of it! Where you sunburned in all the pictures in this blogpost? I tried to see it but I couldn’t haha, I think you photoshopped it well, again. Is alcatraz relatively close to the city of SF? It looked so on that picture. I thought it would be more like in ‘the middle of nowhere’ but it seems like it is close to the city. (Well, not super close but relatively close, if you know what I mean) I can’t wait for you Santa Clara post, I didn’t know that city before but I’ll search on google maps now where it is. Wish you already a happy weekend, xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      You know as popular as the Painted Ladies are, they really weren’t anything special…to me, at least! But have you ever watched the show Full House, netflix has Fuller House which is the continuation of Full House but it was a VERY popular show way back in the day that took place in San Fran and in the show opener they show the Painted Ladies in it which is why it’s such a big attraction. As for Alcatraz, it wasn’t as far as I thought it was going to be either. I mean its definitely far because its out in the water but it looked so much closer in real life too. Maybe that’s why prisoners thought they could swim it because the distance is misleading! Thankfully my iphone takes semi blurred photos as is so it hid a lot of it and after I smoothed it over once it helped a lot. Perks of filtering haha ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  7. AlifyaLifestyle says:

    The golden bridge never fails to amaze me!! We are actually planing a San fran trip soon since it is long overdue!! Driving up those hills is soooo , I kid you not but it is fun to wait to see whats on the other side lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I wish so badly that we were close enough to go every once in a while, theres just so much more I wanted to do, see, and eat but what we did get to do was amazing! Those hills are no joke, every hill we came across we were like hmmm whats on the other side….welp guess we’ll never know because we aint walking up it hahah

      Liked by 1 person

  8. 50shad3s0fjay says:

    Oh the peeling stage is the worst and most painful part of sunburn, poor you ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I hope its all healed now? That hill walk sounds like effort, even after getting the trolley but definitely worth it to see those beautiful views! San Fran literally looks so beautiful, I’d love to go, it’s so cool that you got to see Alcatraz, your picture of it looks amazing. I love all your photos of the Golden Gate bridge, it looks incredible and that photo of you sat down looking over at it is so nice! again another one to Instagram!!! Also I love the ones where you’re pointing at the bridge, so cute. It’s so nice that you got to combine your trip with a meet up with Andrews old friend, that makes it even more special. The bachelorette pictures look so fun! Oh and the painted ladies houses look insane, definitely house goals (I’m a little confused as to what the painted ladies is, is it the houses?). Glad you had a wonderful time hun X

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Yes sunburn is finally all heeled, I’m weirdly still peeling here and there but I’ll take the peeling over the burn haha Soooo much effort walking up the hills, at some points Andrew had to pull me or push me up it….man am I out of shape….
      Alcatrez looked really cool (from across the water) lol we wanted to book tickets to tour around the prison but they were sold out till August and probably even further out now. Must go back for it lol
      And the Painted Ladies are popular because I don’t know if you’ve ever watched the Full House series….it’s an oldie but goodie classic. Fuller House on Netflix is like the next generation of Full House….but anyways in the opener of the show they show the Painted Ladies in them so everyone just coincides Painted Ladies to Full House!! xox

      Like

      • 50shad3s0fjay says:

        Yay thank God! Haha yeah definitely, and the peeling is like the final stages. Haha how funny, thank God for Andrew right? Oh no, how annoying, you will definitely have to go back and book tickets in advance because I bet it would be the most interesting tour. Definitely on my bucket list! Omg I love Full House, such a good show I only started watching it last year but instantly was hooked! Ahh now I feel I have to go to the Painted Ladies because of Full House! Thank you for telling me, I feel like I’ve learnt something haha x

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Mackenzie says:

    Lol, I just laughed out loud to your #. Seriously Sephora- what would we do without it?! Ahh, I hate to admit this but DJ and I still have not taken the Trolley! We tried to one time, but then realized we couldnโ€™t actually get on the Trolley at the spot we tried to and we were kicked off. Hahah. I loooove Lombard. I give yaโ€™ll credit for walking up it. Us lazy butts always just drive down it. Haha. Annnd I know I already said this but next time you MUST try the Ghirardelli Sundae. (THERE WILL BE A NEXT TIME!).

    Ok โ€“ Iโ€™m obsessed with your shoes โ€“ please tell me what they are?!

    I absolutely ADORE you two by the bridge. Those pictures are PERFECTION. All your pictures are AMAZING! It looked like you had sooo much fun with everyone. I am so glad you were able to do so much there. On to Santa Clara!!! PS. I have got to take some tips from you on how to condense a post into an acceptable length while including all the good stuff. Hahah.

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Right!! Sephora saved my life!!!! Luckily I didn’t even have to really use the samples they gave me because I was back to normal come Santa Clara trip lolol PHEW! The trolley was so fun, idk why I was so fascinated with it especially since all it does is go up and down a hill haha but still it was fun and exciting (as a tourist). Its totally not efficient though. It was hilarious because there was a huge line of people to get on it so we figured that that’s where we had to go to but it took a random homeless guy to yell at us and be like “you guys don’t know, this is not where you stand, this is not the line for the trolley” and no one listened and he happened to come up close to us to tell us where to really stand so we just went because we didn’t want him to keep on pestering us and little did we know, he was right hahah it took a couple trolleys to go by before we could get on because they can only add on so many people at a time but we were on it faster than the people waiting in that giant line.
      The shoes were an H&M last minute buy!!! I love low top shoes like that, they’re so comfy and of course I needed them in black. They were troopers getting me around SF! I’m so glad you said that about our pictures, I was annoyed because every person we asked to take a picture of us came out awful!! And I even brought my selfie stick but we totally forgot to take it with us on the hike #fail. Luckily Andrews arm worked well as a selfie stick for the most part hahah but thanks love โค โค

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mackenzie says:

        I just laughed out loud at your Trolley story. Hahahahhahaha. That is amazing. And next stop: H & M. Those shoes are just too cute. And YESSS . OK I can totally relate to your feelings about not liking when others take pictures- I am the SAME wayโ€ฆ I feel like most strangers just donโ€™t know those angles, girl. Itโ€™s a sad but unfortunate fact of life. Lol. These pictures turned out really great though!!!!! I think you documented your trip beautifully and perfectly. Next time we will definitely have to plan out that double date for sure! Andrew and DJ would get along super great. Mwah!

        Liked by 1 person

  10. ayrgalaxy says:

    I almost missed this post lol. SF looks like such a cool place to visit. And so awesome you got to see the golden gate bridge in person, it looks breathtaking and I love how the fog was partially covering it. You took so many great pictures of the city, I would love to visit someday! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      The bridge was overwhelmingly amazing! Just getting there and then hiking up to get to where we were was such an adventure that it made it even more satisfying. Next time I’m totally just ubering though hahah Great city for some awesome adventures though…just need comfy shoes ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

