Santa Clara, CA

I can’t believe I’m already on the last part of my California trip. Even though it already ended a week ago, I’m so not done reminiscing.

Speaking of so not done, I’m not done catching up on reading blogs either. You’ll be able to tell I got to you because you’ll have back to back comments from me 😉

So lets do a little recap before my real recap

Saturday-Tuesday: SAN DIEGO PART 1 and PART 2

Tuesday-Friday: SAN FRAN HERE

And that leaves Friday-Wednesday in

SANTA CLARA

Santa Clara was added onto me and Andrew’s trip because long story short: my company wanted me out there to visit our headquarters (obviously, located in Santa Clara).

Luckily since me and Andrew’s original trip ended on a Friday, we were able to use the weekend to explore Santa Clara before I had to go into work and before Andrew had to leave on Monday.

Friday mid day, we ubered to our new hotel, which we loved! We arrived around 2ish and it was crazy because out of San Diego and San Fran, Santa Clara had the best weather- high 70’s, low-mid 80’s. AH, PERFECTION!! Not to mention my sunburn and discolored skin that I was so self conscious of was FINAAAALLY healed. And whatever cold I got from my sunburn had vanished #win.

The one thing I loved about Santa Clara were the gorgeous mountain views as you were driving, especially during sunset time. 15

Friday

 We arrived mid day, it was 80 and all sun out so Andrew and I decided to go sit by the pool for an hour to gather composure and relax. We eventually got ready and headed to Santana Row for dinner which was the only thing I knew of that was nearby.

I was actually REALLY excited because I was in dire need of a manicure. My nails were horrendous by the end of San Fran and I wasn’t going to go to my HQ with bad nails! I looked up a nail place in Santana Row and jetted for the nail salon while Andrew made his way to Left Bank for a beer.1

Okay so Santana Row was fabulous! It was definitely the California version (aka much nicer version) of Assembly Row here in Boston. But I loved it. Andrew and I  got dinner at Maggiano’s  and after I did some shopping at the H&M 😉

Saturday

Andrew and I mutually agreed that since the weather was nearly perfect while we were there that we’d spend the days by the pool and go adventure somewhere later in the afternoon. Don’t worry guys this time I lathered myself up with A TON of sunscreen!26

2

After the pool day, we got ready and headed over to

Stanford University

We were wicked excited to go roam around the campus! I remember seeing Mack’s posts about it when she went with her aunt and uncle and again with DJ’s mom and step dad, so I knew I wanted to go check it out.

Oh my lord the campus was HUGE, very modern, and all around gorgeous. There were tons of miscellaneous things (fountains, archways, art exhibits, structures) throughout the campus which was very cool to see as a visitor.

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

10A

11

We also had to buy Stanford t-shirts to go with our Harvard University ones 😉25

So all throughout my Santa Clara trip I was in contact with Mack because I was in her neck of the woods (which was SO EXCITING). Oh my gosh ya’ll she is the most helpful sweetest soul you’ll ever meet! While we were at Stanford we decided to go to Cupertino to get dinner and she gave us a list full of sushi places to go to. Not that I was surprised; but guys, she knows her sushi spots! So what happened was we planned to meet right before dinner, but between where my uber dropped us off at and where the restaurant was got mixed up… BUTTTT thank God for Mack who came to me and Andrew’s rescue and drove us there. Aside from the drive there, the fact that her and I were meeting for the FIRST TIME EVER WAS AMAZING! It happened so quick and the 2 minute drive just wasn’t enough but it was magical. More to come on that.

Sunday

I was so stoked because Saturday night when Andrew and I got back to the hotel, we realized that the plaza behind our hotel was SO much closer than we thought, like walking distance. But even better there was a Starbucks AND Krispy Kreme donuts. Oh my lanta. This girl LOVES Krispy Kremes and its such a rare commodity on the East coast (to the point where I literally ordered a dozen Krispy Kremes off of Amazon once)

So when Sunday AM came rolling in, I knew exactly where we were going first thing….
12

1

Success! Back to the hotel we went to lay out by the pool for our last day of lounging. The Warriors vs Cavs game was on so we watched that and got dinner at The Lazy Dog. Another place I remembered from Mack’s blog, so back to Cupertino we went! Which BTW everyone, I’m in LOVE with Cupertino. 30

So

Monday – Wednesday 

I was at my company’s headquarters and my, oh my, oh my! Now I know what the hype is all about. It was really cool to see and meet my team in person rather than via email. Putting a name to a face was fun.

So Monday Andrew left to go back home and get back to work so I was dining solo for dinner. I went to the Pho place in the plaza behind my hotel called Pho Hoa- and I was devastated that I JUST found this place because their pho was PHOnomenal (hey Mack, I feel like you 😉 ). 13

Tuesday

Tuesday was a REALLY good day and you’ll find out why if you keep on reading 🙂 On Monday the girl I was shadowing was asking me what kind of food I want and she mentioned how Santa Clara has a very big Korean population with a lot of Korean food etc…. Music to my ears…. I told her I wanted a specific Korean noodle dish called Jajangmyung, its a black bean paste with veggie dish (A huge Korean staple, which you’ll see below) So she so kindly found a place that had it and she took me there for lunch.14AH I was in heaven!!!! As unappetizing as it looks, jajangmyung is my favorite Korean dish ever. I justify the authenticity of a Korean restaurant if they have this dish because most American’s have a preconceived opinion just by the looks of it so not many places sell it. Don’t judge a book by its cover!!! We also ordered a very popular Korean pork dish that was covered in a cloud-like batter, also very delicious and on par.

After the work day, my team arranged to have a dinner with me. More food!!! They chose this hot pot place in Cupertino, which I love hot pot, so good choice by them! And we feasted not to mention this wasn’t even half the food we ordered.. 17

Okay but now to the good part!!! After dinner Mack and I arranged to meet up at my hotel so that we could really talk because that 2 minute car ride was surely not enough!

Ah I was in literal heaven! I cannot put into words how cool it was to meet a fellow blogger and now friend ❤ It was amazing to just girl talk and I swear I feel like I’ve known her forever as if we were just old pals catching up on life. She has such a great energy about her and she’s just the prettiest little thing!!!

We eventually headed inside because we obviously had to have a little photo shoot. She had me at “We can take as many as you want” ❤ Britt, you would love her!!!18

19

20

21

As much as I miss her, we already planned and mapped out our meeting spots when we move to Texas so we’re good! xoxo

We’re slowly coming to and end…. Almost last thing, I tried Philz Coffee!!! Thanks to Jacqueline Joy who told me I must must must try the mint mojito coffee….like, mint mojito? I was skeptical but OH MY WORD…. unbelievable. I couldn’t believe I was saying this but Philz exceeds Starbs.
16*Sigh* Although I’m not certain but it sounds like Philz is trying to pull some strings to open up some locations over here in Boston 😉

ONE LAST THING…look what we added to our collection!!!

2

Ah sorry for the lengthy post! I hope you guys made it through!!! Sending all my love to everyone!!!

xo, JJ

35 thoughts on “Santa Clara, CA

    • xoJenny says:

      SoCal is totally my favorite too but theres something so special about driving alongside mountain views of Santa Clara that I felt was so serene! San Fran was incredible though- did you do all the touristy things while out there? lol

      Liked by 1 person

      • abbeycoseattle says:

        We did! We hit up the fisherman’s wharf, and we also found a hiking trail that went down the side of a cliff to the waterfront close to the Golden Gate Bridge with a perfect view of the bridge and city. It was “Fleet Week” while we were there (one of my favorite events in Seattle too), so the Blue Angels were roaring overhead all day. It was super fun!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. K.M. Sutton says:

    I totally know what you mean about not wanting a trip to be done or finished reminiscing! And girl you can reminisce away! I love reading these! I also adored your back to back comments! They made my day yesterday! ❤
    omg Santana Row looks like a dream! Seriously drooling!
    All of you pictures are seriously gorgeous!
    And oh my god eekkkkkk!!!! I was so hoping you guys would meet! She is a doll and so are you! And ahhh I am getting ALL the feels right now!
    I NEED to go to Cupertino! Heck with having a bloggers conference in New York let’s go back to California!
    All that food looks amazing! And it is so cool that your company’s headquarters is in Santa Clara!
    Oh my gosh all the feels! I am SO HAPPY you guys got to meet and hang out! I love your pictures! You guys are the cutest!
    This post is seriously my favorite of your whole trip (and I thought San Fran would be my fav!) I am so happy you had such an amazing trip! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      As much as I LOVED San Fran, I loved my Santa Clara part of the trip sooo much, I think Mack for sure was the main reason for that! She really is the sweetest; it was just crazy cool…all we were missing was you!!!! We’d totally be the perfect blogging trio….. I’m in favor if our bloggers conference to be out in Cali bbutttt NYC and the food?!?!….idk I’m torn, heck maybe we can just do two of them haha I’m sitting here day dreaming at how cool that would be!
      Cupertino was SO cute, totally a place I’d consider living…not to mention they have Philz coffee….have you ever tried it? As a coffee connoisseur its definitely a must try!!! xoxoxo

      Like

  2. danniijane says:

    Aaw love the cups you bought!💕 The UK so lacks good Asian food full stop. The one good place I found that did ramen etc closed years ago. Boo! Loved your pics💕 What company do you work for? Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      We are obsessed with collecting those Starbucks mugs they’re one of our favorite things about traveling to new places 🙂 And that is such a bummer, Asian cuisine is my absolute favorite (I’m probably so biased lolol) but pizza and Italian are a very close second. My company is called Service Now, we’re a IT cloud platform company!

      Liked by 1 person

      • danniijane says:

        Haha I love Asian food too but we tend to eat a lot of Italian as there’s no good Asian places. Not really good Italians here either😂 Not where I live, I have to travel to good restaurants. Ooh are you good with computers and IT? I suck at all that but my partner works in IT xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • xoJenny says:

        Oh no, I wish I was good with IT ha but no, I luckily don’t work with that aspect of the company, I duel as an office manager and an executive assistant so more on the administrative side which is what I love!!

        Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      The donut was sooo good, way better than the one in San Diego that was supposedly suppose to be really good. Do you guys have Krispy Kreme’s out in New Zealand? Hands down my favorite donuts to date! But thank you Angela, I always get a little weary of my pictures because they’re just taken from my iphone which is obviously not as good as a high tech camera but hey they still capture the moments! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  3. itsgeorgiaxoxo says:

    THIS SOUNDS LIKE SO MUCH FUN!!! I’m soooo happy for everyone travelling, because I feel like I’m literally travelling the world with them, so thank you for posting!! You are getting me beyond pumped for my Cali trip girl, I literally cannot contain myself!!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Right!! I feel the same way when I read blogs!! I cannot wait for you to go on all your adventures so that the roles can be reversed and I can follow you along!!! You and the boy will have an absolute blast!!!! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. AlifyaLifestyle says:

    Yay so glad you had a successful trip Jenny!! I kept up with you over at insta and was waiting for you to come back to blog about it! 🙂 I absolutely love the mountain top view I get right out my window – this is one of the few things I love about Cali, gigantic mountains and endless trecking and hiking adventures 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh Alifya, I feel in love with those mountain views the second I laid eyes on them. I’m so jealous that thats your everyday view! As much as I love SoCal, I loveddd it up in the Santa Clara area so much too (Cupertino especially) California just never disappoints! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  5. teatime2016xo says:

    Your trip looked amazing! You covered so much turf I can’t believe it…from San Diego to San Francisco. I love California…but who doesn’t! The weather…the endless things to do…the gorgeous seaside communities….it’s so beautiful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Right! The things to do and places to see are seemingly endless, it’s like there’s always an adventure somewhere! There’s still so much we wish we could’ve done or seen like Monterey or Carmel by the Sea….It would be a fun girls trip to do 😉

      Like

  6. Mackenzie says:

    Ok- this is so crazy. I feel like I totally got the inside scoop on this before you posted it because of our chat 😉 Which makes me feel way cool. Hahhah. I LOVE seeing all these pictures associated with everything though! Where did you go to get your nails done?!?!? I am always looking for a good nail place- but haven’t found one yet. Maggianos…. Oh yum. I haven’t had that in forever! We may need to make a trip there soon. I don’t know why I forget it’s right there. STANFORD! I should have met ya’ll on my lunch break 😉 Haha. These pictures of the campus are spectacular. Thanks for speaking of it so highly ❤

    I AM CRYIIIING. Literally. You are too sweet to me and now I’m just so sad we can’t just meet up for another hangout right now! I was SOOO thankful I got to meet Andrew too- even briefly. (No worries- we will have plenttty of doubles in the future).

    AHHHHH KRISPY KREME! See- we are the same person!

    PS. I’m way proud of your phenomenal pun!!! YOU GO GIRL!

    That Korean place looks SOOOO Goood- where is that?! I need to know!!!

    Waiiit I’m crying again— It was seriously a dream meeting you, girl! It was just way too fun- imagine if we lived close?! AKA DALLAS! Thank you tons for your sweet, sweet words. You are just the best. I send you massive hugs all the way to Boston. I can’t wait for your next adventure and to hear what decision you make. You cannot go wrong, love. Cali is always here for you as a home or as a place to visit ❤ Mwah!!!!!
    XO

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      WOW when I was reading your Lake Tahoe post the first thing I mentioned was pretty much the same thing about knowing in advance!! No surprise because great minds think alike 😉 It makes me so stinkin sad reminiscing because meeting you is one thing I wish I could relive over and over! Even now after a couple weeks have passed I still get all the feels from our get together!!! ❤ ❤
      The place I got my nails done was in Santana Row it was called Lavande Nail Spa, ah I was sooo thankful for that being there because I needed a mani SO BAD. And it was actually pretty decently priced but I also just got a regular mani. If when I come back we will have do like nails and kenji sushi date because I'm STILL bummed they were randomly closed on a Friday. *already planning our next hang out"
      Lets see, the Korean restaurant was in Santa Clara, I can't remember the name of it for the life of me but I'm certain it had "noodle" in the name of it lol SO helpful I know. I was even looking on yelp and google but I can't find it! I'll have to get back to you on it.
      KRISPY KREME IS LIFE. I knew you were my blogging soulmate ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mackenzie says:

        Ahhh TOOO FUNNY! I noticed that and was laughing knowing I said that EXACT same thing! And JJ- me toooo, girl (about our get together). Thank you tons for the nail salon suggestion. This is hilarious that you are giving me suggestions from my town. Hahah. And YESSSSS Nails & Kenji FOR SURE. You have to come back to try Kenji alone. SO good. I’ve been seriously craving it lately. And I am totally putting my detective skills to work to find the Korean place! It looks insanely good, I have to try. Krispy Kreme is life- NO TRUER WORDS! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh I know you literally listed that out so perfectly!!! They were all 100% YAY moments!!!! 🙂 The mountain views were SO cool. My boss and other coworkers mentioned it but I never thought anything of it until I saw it with my own eyes!!

      Like

  7. 50shad3s0fjay says:

    How exciting your job meant you got to extend your trip and explore Santa Clara, even better that your sunburn cleared up just in time for you to enjoy the sunshine and make the most of the pool. Pool days are the best days! The University looks so cool, I love how you guys go and explore the campuses, I don’t think people really do that here in the UK unless they’re actually thinking of studying at the University! It looks so much fun though. Actually come to think of it people might have a mooch around Uni’s such as Oxford or Cambridge, the most famous ones here in the UK but I just don’t know! Now you’ve got me interested to visit Oxford haha. Anyway I love how exciting your food always is, you never eat anything boring and I feel like I learn about so many different food through your blog! I’m a really fussy eater so you’re way more adventurous than me by miles and it’s so exciting to see what you eat. My food pictures are almost always of burgers ha ha. I’m glad you had a lovely time at your companies HQ, it sounds like you work with a lovely, friendly and welcoming team. I’d have been so nervous to go on my own! It’s crazy cool that you got to meet Mack, literally how amazing it must have been so surreal to meet her after only knowing her through the blogosphere. Totally jealous but so happy for you both! I’m glad you had a lovely vacation Jenny! Ps those Krispy Kremes… I need. And that San Fran mug is too cute! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I know! I was so incredibly thankful that my company worked it out so I could stay longer, it was totally beneficial though because I learned so much while working out of the headquarters! And yess, big campus’ like that in the USA are always open to the public (unless its a private school then it’s a different story) it was cool but at the same time made me feel super old because I graduated college back in 2011 lol Oh man I love food soooo much, I’m always willing to try something at least once unless its totally wild then I may have to back down.But girl, burgers, pizzas, all of that are so dear to my heart too so I don’t blame ya lol
      Meeting Mack was amazing!!! I was trying to explain to Andrew upon meeting her that it felt like “online dating”ish in the sense that you’re about to meet someone you only know online ha but it was totally awesome and I wasn’t catfished 😉 she was as sweet as can be! I wish it could be our turn!!! And yesss ah Krispy Kremes are hands down my favorite, at a lot of the locations you can watch the donuts on the conveyor belt coming right out of the oven and being glazed it’s amazing!!!!! xoxox

      Like

  8. Anne | Beautybyadutchgirl says:

    This whole Santa Clara blogpost was so much fun to read. I could feel the enthusiasm of you in your writing! I really really liked the part of Stanford University. I just love reading about university’s in the US as they are so different than the university’s we have here. It’s also cool that you got to meet a blogger friend! Ahh, I love the selfies you made, you look both so pretty! It’s cool that your job gave you the opportunity to stay a little longer and got to explore Santa Clara. It just seemed like you had so much fun!! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Aww yess I was so excited about the Santa Clara trip, it was definitely a highlight of mine for sure! I wish my company could send me to the Netherlands office though 😉 Or even Amsterdam that would be so cool but its so rare that they send people out of the country unless you’re a WAY higher up sales person….but hey a girl can dream lol I loved visiting the Stanford campus, it’s always cool to see the different college lifestyles this one totally blew me out of the water! I went to a wayyy small college so comparing just mine to this campus was so different, I can only imagine the difference for out of the country! I’d love to see them for myself though….do they allow visitors to wander around the college campus’s out there? xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      • Anne | Beautybyadutchgirl says:

        Okay, you need to work your way up and get them to send you to Amsterdam. That would be great!!! (or maybe it has other offices in NL) I don’t have an answer to your question actually. I know you can come at the campus at the university of Twente (near to me) but I’m actually not sure if you can do that at other university’s. I think it wouldn’t be possible to go to my college as a visitor, only at these days that are especially there for new students. Hmm, I might search it up. I’m actually really interested in visiting the University of Amsterdam! I’m so happy for you that you got to go to Santa Clara, wow, that place looks wonderful! xo

        Liked by 1 person

  9. ayrgalaxy says:

    Santa Clara looks pretty awesome! Especially stanford university! Wow! 😀
    Lol we have so many donut shops and bakeries but it’s really hard to find a good one. But hey, we have Krispy Kreme over here too, so weird that you don’t have that in the east coast.
    I seriously still need to try Pho and Korean food. I have yet to look up a place lol because there’s so many and people always claim those to be the “best ones” but who knows. Won’t know till I go lol.
    And I saw she met you on her post lol. I saw her post first and I was like “hey, that’s Jenny!” Lmao. What a fun trip!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

