Britt’s Birthday in the Vineyard

Today’s post is dedicated to my best friend, soulmate, basically sister

Britt! 

Which you can find her over at Britt’s Daily Dose

Britt’s birthday was just 2 days ago on Tuesday, June 13th and she’s now 26

Every year we celebrate her birthday in Martha’s Vineyard and this year was no different. We get so excited for her birthday to come around because it means it’s MV time!  And for those who don’t know MV is just a little teeny tiny island off of the coast of Cape Cod here in Massachusetts and if you go a little bit further there’s an even smaller but also extremely popular island called Nantucket.

MV is perfect though because it’s small enough that you can pretty much visit the entire island in one day. This map will come in handy when I reference the spots we went to!30

I swear by this, God is ALWAYS on our side every time we go, everything just works out so perfectly- timing, our adventures, weather, our pictures! Everything goes so smoothly as it should be for the birthday girl!

So last weekend on Saturday we jetted off to Martha’s Vineyard to celebrate! It was absolutely beautiful out with temps in the mid 70’s and ALL sun!

We headed up to Falmouth which is where the Steamship Authority is to take the ferry ride over to the island. We jumped on the 9:00AM ride and arrived by 9:45AM.

On the ferry sans hair and makeup 1

And after. Much better! 3

We had to take our usual ‘outside deck ferry’ photo2

And then we arrived in Oak Bluffs. We walked over to the rental car place to pick up our car and ya’ll I don’t even know how Britt does it but she managed to get them to lend us their 2014 Convertible Mustang. LIKE WHAT?!?!?! 4

Two over-the-top happy girls sitting in a mustang with the top down. Happy Birthday Britt 😉5

Love this girl to death! She’s the driver between us so I can tell you, she was ecstatic to drive her first mustang around the island! 5A

6

Our first stop- BREAKFAST at none other than the Black Dog Tavern in Vineyard Haven19

So the Black Dog stops serving breakfast/lunch at 11:00AM, Britt and I walked in, I kid you not at 10:59AM flashed our smiles to be seated and we got in 😉 See I told you everything goes smoothly every time!7

8

Top down, sun AND girls out.11

We drove off to our first adventure in Edgartown, my personal favorite spot! There’s cute neighborhoods, water front views, shopping, and restaurants.

Okay so funny story; as you can see from the photos above Britt and I were wearing orange and green tops. Well, after a few a lot of unflattering photos we decided we were in dire need of an outfit change. When you can mutually agree that you need an outfit change you know you found your soulmate ❤15

9

12

13

14

13A

13B

16A

After a little photo shoot and some shopping, we were off to Aquinnah for the Gayhead Cliffs for some unbelievable views.17

18

19

At this point we wanted to head back to see the gingerbread houses but first we stopped in Chilmark for some ice cream and some selfies.

20

21

Our day trip was veering towards the end so we headed back towards Vineyard Haven for some pizza which VH also overlaps into Oak Bluffs which was where we needed to take the ferry back home so we spent the remainder of our time there.23

We walked through the Gingerbread Houses, which I’ve never done before, I’ve only ever seen them driving by. They were so darn cute!

22

25

25A

26

26A

We wandered around Oak Bluffs to kill time and to find that extra boost of caffeine.24

27And then we eventually had to part ways from the mustang which I can easily say was the pit of the day. And soon after headed back home.28

It was an incredible day, incredible weather, everything was flat out amazing. Britt and I already agreed that we need to go back at least once a month until the summer is over.

Here are some pictures from our previous trips over the years:

27

29

33

39

38

So Britt, happy birthday to you my sweet girl-frand! Love you so much my gem!!! ❤

ALSO I have to give a BIG BIRTHDAY shout out to….

My love bug Kate over at Ankhor You who shares the same Birthday as Britt. That probably explains why I love this girl to pieces too!! #geminis

[Quick Question: Can you not change the color of links anymore?]

xo, JJ

37 thoughts on “Britt’s Birthday in the Vineyard

  1. K.M. Sutton says:

    Love love LOVE this post! You guys are just like my best friend and I. In fact every year around my birthday we have a mermaid adventure in Maine! (Working on recaps, but I had to read this!)
    I don’t drive much, but oh my lanta that Mustang looked amazing!
    Oh my gosh I seriously love you girls! You guys are so stinking cute and your friendship just shines in every single picture and everything you write about each other! I love it! Also Your outfits are amazing! And SO are the pictures!
    It has been several years since I visited Martha’s Vineyard, but your pictures are bringing back the memories!
    That sunset picture is PERFECT. And i loved all your throwback pictures. I know I said it already (but I can never say it enough) you guys are so stinking cute and seriously #friendshipgoals!
    And oh my gosh you are the absolute sweetest! Thank you so much for the birthday love! I love that Britt and I share the same birthday day! Yay for #Geminis! So much love to you sweetie! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      YESSS 10000% yess to my gems ❤ ❤ I don't know what the world would be like with gemini's roaming around. And aww Kate!!! You're literally melting my heart with all the sweet things you mentioned about me and Britt. I'm just happy that we both have such great girl friends in our lives! And so thankful for you for being such a great blogging friend ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • K.M. Sutton says:

        Oh my gosh you are the sweetest! Seriously! I might have really bad dust in my eyes at the moment 😉 But seriously you guys are the cutest! So am I! Great friends, Incredible people in general make the world go ’round and I include you in that! I am so grateful for you beauty! ❤

        Like

  2. Katie Rose says:

    OMG your pictures are insane, you look like you had the best day! & what a beautiful place, so picturesque – and that sunset, HOLY MOLY. You have such a beautiful friendship, you can just see it, and I’m so happy you had a wonderful day! Big happy birthday wishes to Britt!! xxxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Aww thanks Katie!!! I always feel like iphone photos never ever do anything justice but I have to agree for once majority of these pictures came out pretty good *thank you picture taking Gods* haha It helped that we had beautiful sunlight shining down too. Perfect day for a perfect best friend, thanks for all the love ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. RomanAndJesci says:

    Aww happy birthday Britt! You girls are the absolute cutest! Glad you guys had a GREAT time celebrating ❤️❤️❤️ God is definitely on your side for blessing you guys with that nice weather!!! Lol missed reading your posts, will definitely try to be catching up this weekend! I have missed out on so much I’m having withdrawals! Lol

    – Jess

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Thank you sweetness ❤ ❤ I've missed seeing you around wordpress so much!!! But I totally know how much of a busy bee you are with those crazy hours! So proud of you though!!! And yes thank you God for such a wonderful day, he was definitely looking out ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • RomanAndJesci says:

        Thank you girl!! I miss you! I keep saying I’m going to spend a whole day catching up but these hours are killlling me! BUT I HOPE ALL IS WELL WITH with you and your man! ❤️❤️❤️

        Liked by 1 person

  4. teatime2016xo says:

    I couldn’t be happier that my sweet baby girl, Brittney Paige, had yet another perfectly beautiful day at MV to celebrate her 26th Birthday! That marks 26 years that little “MV lover” has been going there. Her first trip was for her very “1st birthday” and many more followed that! Thank you to my other sweet “daughter/friend” Jenny for being the very best friend Brittney could ever have….I just love you to death JJ ❤ I wish I could've made the trip, but we will do it again very soon! Beautiful girls…beautiful pics…beautiful location! Couldn't ask for anything more 🙂 Love you both to pieces xo Momma Teresa

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      TERESA!!! If any comment could make me tear up it would be this one!!! ❤ ❤ I'm so sad you were unable to come on this trip with us but we are FOR SURE doing another trip there so your attendance is 100% required! I'm so happy Britt had such a good day, and I love the two of you sooo much!!! You guys are so dear to my heart ❤ July is coming up we're going to have to do something good for you 😉

      Like

    • xoJenny says:

      The mustang was a perfect little MV birthday gift to Britt, she loves cruising around so this just topped off our experience that much more! Such a great little island and so much to explore!!! You must add this place as a travel bucket list…..esp if that means you’ll be in MA/Boston-ish area 😉

      Like

  5. 50shad3s0fjay says:

    Oh you two are just best friend goals, so cute. You both look so pretty in your selfies! This place looks amazing, the views so gorgeous especially on a Summers day. It sounds like luck really was on your side, getting into breakfast with just one minute to go and of course the highlight of getting to cruise around in a Mustang… it must be birthday luck! Those gingerbread houses look so pretty… do people actually live in them? Cos I swear I would if I could. Sounds like you guys had the most perfect day and yes, if I were you two I would definitely want to make it a once a month thing before the Summer ended. Happy belated birthday Britt. x

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Likewise to you are your girlfrannnds!!! You gals are total bestie goals as well!!! Britt definitely had luck on her side that day and I’m so happy that she did! So as far as I know people don’t live in the houses but you can rent them to stay over night which is really cool! There’s so many of them, and I’m sure not all of them are available but I think a good chunk of them are. It’ll probably cost an arm and a leg since everything on MV is so expensive as is, but it would be super cool to actually go inside of them! I wish they had one to tour inside, I envision it just looking like a cute dollhouse! xo

      Like

      • 50shad3s0fjay says:

        Aha we both have the best group of friends! Yes! Especially for her Bday. Oh wow, that would be the ultimate trip. How cool. A tour would be a great idea, especially for people who couldn’t afford to rent one out for the night – you should suggest it to the tourist board or something lol xx

        Liked by 1 person

  6. ayrgalaxy says:

    Omg that looks like so much fun!!!!!
    I only know of Martha’s Vineyard because of my ASL class. A long time ago, the entire island knew sign language. That would have been a sight! 🙂
    So awesome you guys go every year, I wish I had a friend like that, lol. And unfortunately, I don’t think we have areas like that lol. We do have plenty of parks, national parks, state parks, and view points but all away from the city. The city isn’t as thrilling anymore lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mackenzie says:

    Ahhh I have been so excited to read this post! Even though I am most definitely a month late to it! One of my favorite books from when I was a child was based in Nantucket (Summerland by Elin Hilderbrand), so I’ve always wanted to go! WHAT A SICK RIDE! That looks so so fun. I also love that ya’ll changed outfits… the first ones were super cute but that is TOTALLY something my girlfriends back home and I would do. And the jean dress and romper are amazing. Nailed it! Everything from the houses to the bluffs are just so dang quaint and adorable.. as are you two in years past and present! What a fun time. You are such a good friend, JJ. And I send a big (very belated) HAPPY BIRTHDAY to Britt! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

