Weekend Recap

If I could describe this weekend in a few short words it would definitely be “RETAIL THERAPY OVERLOAD

Andrew went to Baltimore for the weekend to visit an old college friend so I planned a whole itinerary of people to see, places to go, and things to do. Such a productive weekend yet I failed miserably at taking pictures of everything.

Friday

One word: SUSHI1We originally planned to have a date night but with the pouring rain, we decided to have a date night in the comfort of our home. Delivery, pj’s, Silicon Valley, and snugs.

SATURDAY

I dropped Andrew off bright and early at Logan Airport then came home and got ready for the day.

I spent most of the day shopping and then met up with these two! My favorite little family that I’ve missed oh so much. Noah had a skating extravaganza so I went to watch him practice and catch Yi-Ting up on life. I can’t believe how fast time flies. Noah is now 5 years old but I still remember him from when he was a little 2 year old toddler. Ugh, they grow up so fast.Β 3One of my favorite things about these two is that they love pho just as much as me. So we got some for lunch πŸ™‚2Ah-may-zing and totally satisfying.

I parted ways with them and had a shopping and dinner date with Renee! I didn’t snag a picture of her day of but let me get one from the archives for a quick name to face-23Ah here she is!

We definitely had to get macaroons mid shopping- the Natick Mall randomly has the best ones! The hardest decision is getting 2 or 4-Β 10Anddd we shopped some more….till we worked up an appetite for dinner. We were both craving some Olive Garden, my taste buds just salivate for their salad! And that Italian dressing is to die for. I miss my early college days of working at OG and eating salad every time I worked.Β 17After hours of talking and catching up and reminiscing, we too parted ways for the night. It’s always so sad leaving my friends. Although we only live about an hour away, it’s not always easy coordinating a time to meet up so I cherish the times I get to see and spend with my friends.

So whenever Andrew is away, I figure that that’s the best time to find a super girly, fun show to binge watch. Last time was Gilmore Girls-

But this time, I decided to give FULLER HOUSE another chance.18I remember watching the first episode way back when and thought it was so cheesy and I was just so uninterested in it. So this time I went right to episode 2 and surprisingly I was sucked in! I actually love the DJ, Stephanie and Kimmie combination… they really nailed it. Needless to say, I pretty much finished both seasons by the time Andrew got back last night.

SUNDAY- Father’s Day

To my surprise my sister somehow convinced our Dad to let us take him out to lunch. Long story short, we rarely see our dad, probably 4-5 times a year (mostly for birthdays and holidays) and not because there’s any bad blood or anything, it’s just how it’s always been but we make it work.

Per usual, we met at our FAVORITE Korean restaurant, which I always get so excited to go to.Β 9After lunch, I headed back to my hometown with my sister, we hung out and went to an open house for a condo showing. My sister just got approved so she’s officially on the hunt for a nice condo to move into- send all the luck her way… We hope that she finds THE ONE sooner than later! πŸ™‚

AND THEN!!!!!

It was Britt and Jenny time! Ulta and mani’s!Β 7

Ulta was a success anddd so we’re our mani’s. Idk about ya’ll but a fresh mani gets me so excited, especially when they come out this good.8If there’s no selfies than did you even hang out?5

6

13

A trip back home is never complete without Britt taking me on her grocery shopping trip.9

My last shopping excursion of the weekend ended at Trader Joe’s. Something about Trader Joe’s groceries get me so excited because everything from there is just so good.

I’m generally not a frozen food kind of person unless it’s sweet potato fries but I picked up these gnocchi’s and made them last night- delicious!Β 11I also popped these incredible meatballs into the oven and they are my new favorite! After I baked them I threw them in the crock pot to keep warm with some red sauce and I can’t wait eat the leftovers for lunch.Β 12

My favorite part about shopping is the after part, when you get to sit down and gloat look at everything you got. Shopping success! I was in dire need of new summer work clothes so that’s exactly what I got. And guys, you’ll be SO darn proud because not one thing I bought was black! It was so hard for me to stray away from all the cute black tops or dresses but I prevailed! I’ll have to do an outfits haul soon.15And as excited as I am for all my new work clothes I was pretty darn excited about my Ulta things too.Β 14Listen if you have blonde hair and want to maintain the blonde, a really good and easy fix is this16

This Bed Head Dumb Blonde Violet Toning Shampoo saves my hair ALL THE TIME. It’s the best purple shampoo I’ve used to date. My blonde accumulates a lot of brass from being out in the sun and through my normal routine shampoo + conditioning washes- well, now I don’t have to fret because this fixes all my brassy problems!

I’ll use it 2 times a week or as necessary and keep it in for a solid 5-7 minutes (depending how bold I’m feeling) and like new my hair is back to a nice soft cool toned blonde4I got Britt to buy one too so I’m anxious to hear her thoughts on it. But also, if you want some different Purple Shampoo options/opinion check out Kate’s post over at Ankhor You: All The Purples She dedicates a whole post of her favorite purple shampoos!

And that’s a wrap! Can’t wait to catch up on everyone!

xo, JJ

38 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. danniijane says:

    Aaw love your hair!πŸ’• And girl you always make me crave Asian food😍 I’ve never seen frozen or even fresh gnocchi in our supermarkets here but I love it! We ate a tonne of gnocchi in Italy. Your nail colour is so pretty x

    Liked by 2 people

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh man I bet the gnocchi in Italy was amazing, probably all fresh and homemade too, yum!!! And thank you, I swear this hair was such a long tedious process but I’m so happy that it has been/continuing to stay a nice blonde shade! I must know is your blonde natural? Because I feel like its always SO perfect and the perfect tone…but if not what is your secret!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • danniijane says:

        It is! So tasty and fresh in Italy☺ Aaw it can take a while to get dark hair to a nice blonde. My hair is like your natural shade it’s very dark! My hairdresser uses bleach then a toner but I don’t do anything else. My hair takes pretty well considering it’s dark xx

        Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Yess you totally get me, nothing screams a perfect girls day than shopping for beauty products and getting a mani….the only thing missing was getting pedi πŸ˜‰ I’m the same way though, I love seeing (or reading) what people are up to on the weekend or in life!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Nicole says:

    So I’ve actually never had a macaroon, but it’s kind of on my bucket list… I’m obsessed with little desserts like that. Sooooo, I’ll definitely have to get some the next time I’m at the Natick Mall! I wouldn’t think to go there to try them. Ha,ha. (Although Cupcake Charlies is there now, I believe, and they have the best cupcakes. Yum)!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • xoJenny says:

      Wait a minute what!!! You’re never had a macaroon before?!? Oh my Nicole you MUSTTTT go try one!! (I don’t know how often you go to the Natick mall/know where things are) but on the first floor over by Victoria Secret and Starbucks they have a Whoops kiosk with THE BEST macaroons and they’re pretty decent size compared to the ones I find in Boston! But yess to Cupcake Charlies….it’s also right near there as well! They too have macaroons but I swear on it the kiosk is better!!! xoxo

      Like

    • xoJenny says:

      hahah Oh man countless times do I finish reading someone foodie blog and I’m like frantically off to look for food or snacks *oops* πŸ˜‰ And thanks (on the behalf of my sister) I’m sure she’ll appreciate any luck she can get!!! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 50shad3s0fjay says:

    Date nights at home with a takeaway are more often than not the best date nights and I’d definitely have opted to stay home too if it was raining out. I’ve never been to Olive Garden but omg I always hear people raving about it, and your photo looks so delicious! It sounds like a restaurant I would just love. And that Korean food you got on Fathers Day looks so amazing too, you’re making me hungry! You always eat the most exciting of foods. It sounds like you had a lovely time catching up with your friends, it must be hard not getting to see them so often but like you say it makes you even more appreciative of the times you do see them!& I have to agree there’s nothing better than a fresh manicure, like you can be as dressed up as you like but if you’re nails aren’t done, is there even any point? haha, a bit dramatic but you know what I mean. I love Full House but I’ve yet to watch Fuller House… I’ll have to give it a watch but maybe skip the first episode?? Make sure you do a haul of all your new Summer clothes, I’d love to see what you bought!
    Ps. Sending all the luck and best wishes to your sister, I hope she finds the perfect place soon! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Aw my love you are always the most supportive and positive person ever and I love your comments!!! Olive Garden, although is not “authentic” Italian even though they claim it to be, I honestly cannot resist their food. After working for them for like 3+ years back in my college days I’ll always have a soft spot for them and their food haha AND YESSS, like whats a good outfit without good nails?!!? Legit when I was in Cali and my nail polish was like at its bare end I weirdly wasn’t liking any of my cute outfits because I’d look down and just see my horrendous nails πŸ˜‰ hahaha Yesss definitely watch Fuller House but only after you watch Full House (just so you can get acquainted with the episodes and characters for flash backs! How many seasons of Full House is there even? Also where are you watching them? Id love to go back and watch them….Are they on netflix because I’m not sure I’ve seen it bbut I also haven’t searched for it either! And yessss of course, I have a few clothes hauls coming ❀ ❀

      Like

      • 50shad3s0fjay says:

        Awww well I’ll always support my blogging twin πŸ’•πŸ’• oh God authentic or not it sounds delicious, I always hear people going on about the bread sticks! That was your college job then?! How cute!! Deffo holds a more special meaning to you then so it’s nice to revisit! Haha bad nails just equals bad life to be honest πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ let’s face it! Same as toenails, you can’t wear sandals or flip flops if your toenails aren’t looking pretty! Okay yes I will make sure to watch a full house first- I’m watching it on Netflix at the moment they’ve got all the seasons. I’m only on season two though I think there’s around 8? Just a guess off the top of my head! It may be because it’s UK Netflix not US but double check and give it a search, if not I’m sure there’s some hack you can do to get the shows from different countries. Yay!!

        Like

  4. stashy says:

    I would watch Fuller House for the nostalgia factor… but nothing beats the original though!
    Yes I love getting home with all my haulage and survey all the acquisitions – so satisfying!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I totally agree, I was wayyyy comparing Fuller House to Full House and nothing competes with the greatness of Full House but for nostalgic factors, its a total win! And yesss I love dumping everything out and just admiring the goodies I got- glad I’m not the only one πŸ˜‰ ❀

      Like

  5. AlifyaLifestyle says:

    Oh that sushi and food looks sooooo gooood!!! I agree the first few episodes of Fuller house were really cheesy – to be honest they still somewhat are but a much better improvement than season 1. I still enjoy fuller house nonetheless cause it was great fun watching all of them again! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      YES! The very first time I watched it I was cringing at how cheesy it was which may have been why I didn’t like it but it definitely got better, still cheesy but after all it is the nature of the show, I definitely like it and hope they come out with more seasons. I’m in love with DJ shes so pretty!

      Like

  6. lifeofangela says:

    Sounds like a full weekend as always πŸ˜€
    All the food looks amazing, and you got to catch up with so much friends and family πŸ™‚
    I have never actually watched Full House, so I don’t know if I’d be interested in watching Fuller House. I’ll stick to Gilmore Girls πŸ˜€
    And I’m so proud of you for not buying any black πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh yess seeing my friends and family this weekend was definitely a major highlight! I appreciate their presence more than ever now since I rarely see them! And I don’t blame you Gilmore Girls just takes the cake!!!! And right ah I can’t believe I somehow managed to not buy black….although I did have some black items in the fitting room with me but I resisted! hahah

      Liked by 1 person

  7. K.M. Sutton says:

    Oh my god that sushi looks ah-may-zing!
    And that girl that is how my week went with lack of pictures! It is all good though.
    Oh my gosh those macaroons look heavenly! ❀ I think I have mentioned it before but you HAVE to go to the macaroon cafe when you come to the city (notice how I say when? ;p)
    That is so nice you guys got to spend time with your dad!
    Oh my gosh I love me some Brit and Jenny time!! You guys are so stinking adorable!
    That color is ah-may-zing!
    Oh my gosh Trader Joes is everything! I am obsessed with them! Their dips and hummus are making my mouth water right now! ❀
    I have to try Bedheads purple shampoo!
    And oh my gosh you are the sweetest! Thank you for the shut out love bug! I am so happy you had such an amazing weekend! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I keep telling Andrew (and Britt) that I want to do an NYC trip sooo bad. Britt’s work actually sponsors a RT bus ride there for a cheap price but I’m so sad because the day they’re going is the day I have to leave for a wedding (which I don’t hate) but I’m so determined to reschedule a trip to NYC very very soon to get those macaroons!!! Speaking of Trader Joe’s dips I’ve been addicted to their pub cheese dip, its bad, as in, it’s bad how addicted I am to it. Cheese ❀ And yess girl you must add Bed Head's purple shampoo to your list, it's soooo good and smells amazing!!! Even though your blonde is perfect always, its hard to believe you even need purple shampoo!

      Liked by 1 person

      • K.M. Sutton says:

        Yes!! You need too! And I know an Ah-may-zing tour guide πŸ˜‰ That is so cool that she can travel here for cheap. I take Amtrak a lot, but it is expensive, more so then to fly sometimes! Yasss! I was just talking to my friend about those macarons. We were craving them hardcore yesterday! Their pub cheese is SO good! So is their caramelized onion dip! It is life! I am definitely going to need to try it! Awe thank you! You are so sweet! It is that purple shampoo though! It is gold! ❀

        Liked by 1 person

  8. ayrgalaxy says:

    In your own words, what is Pho and what does it taste like? Lol. I still haven’t gone to buy some because the times I wanted to try it, several places were closed. Lol
    Omg, the olive garden salad is the best!!! I love the dressing as well lolΒ  and their breadsticks are delicious!!
    Aww for fathers day I didn’t get to see my dad, he left somewhere lol. But we saw him on Friday for my grad. I did send him a card with a picture of my brother and I when we were little. I thought it would be nice for him to reminisce lol.
    And that’s so funny, your selfies with your friend Britt, you guys are practually posing the same way lol. #cute #friengoals lol
    Can’t wait to see your clothes haul πŸ™‚
    And I’ll have to get myself a facial mitt lol. Should do wonders for my skin. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

