Lake, Boat, and July 4th

Hello friends!!!

I’m back from the long weekend! I’m happy to be blogging but as for the real world (work) I’m groggy, tired, and so totally unmotivated. Yes a staycation would be REALLY nice right about now.

STAYCATION: A vacation spent in one’s home enjoying all that home and all that one’s home environs have to offer”

Okay so let me regather my thoughts for a second, please bear with me as I dig into my memory archives. *cue elevator the music*

Ah, okay- Friday night after work Andrew and I drove up to his parents house. Oh gosh, now I remember. On our ride up it was completely down pouring. Like, BAD. REALLY BAD. Like, can’t see out the dashboard and the only thing keeping us on the road are the two teeny tiny red back lights on the car in front of us.

But we made it. Thank you God and thank you Andrew for being a good driver!

So Andrew’s parents own a beautiful boat that they have on a lake in NH next to Winnipesaukee and they so kindly invited us to join them again this year. Us = Me, Andrew, Brandon + Ev (brother and SIL) and their two littles. One of the Littles was turning 9 on July 3rd and every year she celebrates on the boat #luckygirl so this year was no different.

4 full days of family, boating, sun, eating, tanning, swimming, drinking, and fun. Talk about living the dream!

BOAT DAY 1: SATURDAY 

Saturday was going to be a hit or miss with the weather. The forecast called for rain and storms but Mimi being so optimistic kept pushing forward with the plans. “WE’RE GOING!” she says, and I certainly did not object!

1

Hands down my favorite part is always the ride over to the other side of the lake (and back). Papi will gun it and we go cruising and flying over the waves super fast and it’s just so incredibly fun. You basically get a free face lift by the end of the ride! #win

So every time me, Ev, and the two girls sat up front to enjoy the ride.2

Watching them just melts your heart into a huge puddle. 1

Grey skies but that wasn’t going to stop us! 4

Once we pick a spot we anchor down for the day-5

The two little’s are such mermaids at heart! They LOVE the water, always the first ones in and last ones out. 6

7

I also found myself a merman 😉 8

Most of the day ended up being decently nice, the rain held off with an exception for a few sprinkles here and there.

As we headed back the clouds were DARK! And it wasn’t long before it started pouring down on us. Luckily the boat is equipped with a nice little awning to cover us.

And once we got back to the marina the rain of course stopped.9

BOAT DAY 2: SUNDAY

It was finally beautiful out with zero chance of rain so we were ready to go all out today.

Ev making her Mexican drink concoction. Such a pretty little barista! 10

I love this guy to pieces ❤ 12

The littlest and me 🙂13

14

The mama and her girls15

16

17

And we’re off for round 2!3

18

19

I mean how precious is this picture of the three of them ❤ 20

22

So the back of the boat turns into a bed, like so25

Which became me and Ev’s favorite spot to catch some rays. 23

21The front of the boat was actually the best spot for getting a nice tan because the sun was beaming hot up there. Andrew and I napped up there multiple times which explains our awesome tans burns…mostly tans though 😉

BOAT DAY 3: MONDAY 

On this day someone was turning 9!!!! YAY for the Birthday Girl!!! 27Not only was it her birthday but this day marked 1 year since I first met Andrew’s family ❤

Starting here the amount of pictures I took started to dwindle down. Girl’s gotta get her swim and tan on, ya know?!
28

The first mermaid is in! The water was actually really nice, it stayed a steady 75-76 degrees, perfect to dip in.26

Two mermaids in the water!2

At the end of the day we got back to the marina, ate some seafood on the dock, opened presents, and had cake #2

29

Boat Day 4: Tuesday JULY 4th 

All the adults minus Mimi and Papi were so sad because we knew our long weekend was ending and that work was coming. *sigh* Inevitably this was the last day on the boat.

But we still made the best of it 30

31

I already miss laying on the seats in the front and looking up at the sky32

33

Last girls photo43

And here we were on the last ride back to the marina to head back home. But another perfect day in the books! 34

I feel so fortunate, happy, and blessed to have been surrounded by so many loving people this past weekend. Celebrating the holidays with Andrew makes me realize that I am exactly where I want to be in life right now and I couldn’t be happier.

xo, JJ

20 Comments Add yours

  1. danniijane says:

    Aaw this looks so much fun! Sun, relaxing on a boat☺ Gorgeous pics xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. K.M. Sutton says:

    Yay!!! Welcome back!!!
    Gurrrll You are actually making me miss my home-state!
    And boat rides are literally the best thing ever. (I was drooling all over your pics!)
    Aweeee I love that they are fellow mermaid’s at heart! Bwahaha. Oh my gosh that cracked me up mostly because my mom refers to my man as my merman lol… and aren’t mermans the best? 😉 And you guys are SERIOUSLY the cutest!
    Oh my gosh you are making me want a boat now!
    And Happy birthday to the birthday girl! They really are so stinking cute!
    And I love, love LOVE your last paragraph! You really are! You guys look like one big happy family! From the love that you and Andrew have to the camaraderie you have with his sister to the adoration that those two little mermaids have for you. These pictures seriously gave me all the feels! I am so happy you guys had such an awesome fourth! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Boat days sound amazing! You’re making me want a boat! 😀 Your family looks so lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks like a totally perfect 4th! I work selling boats and we had 8 sales on July 3rd… everyone had the same idea 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lifeofangela says:

    Your boat days look like so much fun! That’s definitely the best way to celebrate. I am also loving all the patriotic swimsuits going on, it’s both hilarious and sweet 😂
    Btw That photo with Ev and her two girls all in the matching swimsuits is so cuuute 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Aw this looks like an amazing time you ave had!! I actually love the vibe of the grey skies – it just adds in wind and coziness lol 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Happy belated 4th of July! Hope you had a wonderful day celebrating – it definitely seems like it from this post! Staycations are the best – so cosy and relaxing; I hope you find the time to have one soon – it sounds like you really deserve one as you’re always so busy! Your boat days look like so much fun and I’m getting serious leg/tan envy hahaha! ❤ Awww it's so sweet to read about how happy you and Andrew are in your life together ☺️ I think it's at times like this when we realise we're doing exactly what we have always wanted to be doing! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. stashy says:

    I love your festive bikini – so perfect for July 4th! 😀
    You had such perfect weather for boating!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Natalie Vinh says:

    This looks like such a fun time! I love boating – especially on wake boats, like the kind it looked like you were on! Those littles are so adorable, especially all of their festive swimsuits. Glad you had a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. ayrgalaxy says:

    Oh gosh I can’t believe you were on the boat for four days!!,
    Sunday looked to be the most perfect day of all, I imagined it was a nice day for swimming and just chilling lol.
    And happy birthday to the little one! Lucky her she gets to spend every birthday on the boat lol 
    Glad you had fun! I’m going to the beach this weekend but it may not be as fun as your boat trip lol

    Liked by 1 person

  11. koriahweb says:

    It sounds like the perfect boating weekend! (family, fun, food, water, and beach!)
    xx K

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Jenny!! How fun was this long-weekend you had. I really enjoyed reading/watching it. I also saw some snaps on your snapchat story. Wow, I’m so jealous about your great weather and that you had some days off of work! I love that girls, I think her name is Ev, I love here tattoo(s)! Those silver ones, wow, they are so pretty! Oh and all your bikini’s and bikinibody’s are on point! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  13. llindaxxo says:

    I saw your snaps and was seriously having FOMO. Everyone was having so much fun during the weekend while I worked ;( but I’m glad you had fun though! I love that y’all wore red white and blue! That bikini top was super cute!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Hey, girl! Just found your blog and I’m in LOVE! I also appreciate seeing other lifestyle bloggers like myself putting out good posts. Amazing content, especially this post! I absolutely love the lake and can never get enough. I’ve been really trying to get good at wakeboarding lately. Amazing pics!

    Taiya Maddison
    http://www.taiyamaddison.com

    Liked by 1 person

  15. ughmango says:

    Looks like you had so much fun!! I wish it was as warm here to just chill in swimsuits but no it’s SO cold in Finland ☹️ I love your bikini, so pretty!!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I’m so happy you’re happy Jenny, this sounds like the perfect fourth of July weekend and I’m glad you loved it. How cool is it that Andrews parents own a boat? Like seriously that is goals… I’d be on it all the time if I were you ha ha. The perfect way to sunbathe and swim and pretty much live the life. I can imagine how you must have felt on the last day with work looming over you but at least you made the most of it! And I just love your American flag bikini, you look so good JJ! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Oh my goodness this looks AMAZING! You sound like you had the time of your life – and all of these pictures are so so pretty! The two little ones are crazy cute xx

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Looks like you had an amazing long weekend xo

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Mackenzie says:

    Yesss I am totally in need of like ten days of staycations, and I love that word “environs” yep, I will definitely be using this. I hate driving in that type of rain. It freaks me the HECK out. You all are so cute, and your SUIT! I love love love! This looked like the absolute best way to spend the fourth. I cannot picture anything better! Thank you for sharing it with us, I totally lived vicariously through you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Looks like Lake Winnisquam? Our place is in Gilford just above Lake Winnipesaukee. Looks like you all had a FANTASTIC time!!!! Love the lake pics.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

