These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things: Summer Essentials

As a summer baby I deem myself summer’s biggest fan. Who am I kidding? Lump me together with all the other summer loving humans because I know there’s a ton of us out there. But who can blame us; between the warm weather, having a tan, and the longer days- I just can’t get enough. So in honor of summer, I’m sharing

My 5 Favorite Summer Essentials 

Realistically, I have a whole list full of summer essentials but to prevent me from going overboard I narrowed it down to specifically 5 things.

1. Bathing Suits

I could probably live in a bathing suit all summer long- just throw me on a beach and I’ll happily frolic by the water all day long. All my favorites this year were from Target; I can’t resist when they throw up those sale signs! 7

2. Sunscreen

Since my horrendous sunburn in California…FLASHBACK…#OW

I am now an avid sunscreen user (27 years later). This one in particular is my favorite- it smells like a tropical vacation and leaves a nice little golden glow to your skin. You can find this at any Target, Walmart, or Pharmacy store8

3. Bralettes

So bralettes for me are an all year round thing, but I particularly love them in the summer paired with a baggy tank. They’re cute and comfy, whats not to love. I have a bunch that I’ve found from Victoria Secret, Forever 21, Lulu’s, and TJ Maxx.

In fact, I wore it to the Florida Georgia Line concert this past weekend.15

4. Shorts

More specifically, chiffon shorts. Similarly to bralettes they are cute and comfy. However the best thing about them is that they come in super cute patterns, colors, and designs. I find mine all at TJ Maxx and Marshalls.

9

5. Tumblers

These tumblers have been so useful. I’m the type that needs my drinks to be ice cold, milk included- however, I take forever to drink anything so knowing that I can leave it in there all day long and it’s still ice cold is a win. These were an Amazon buy for $15. 2

What is your #1 Summer Essential? 

xo, JJ

37 thoughts on “These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things: Summer Essentials

    • xoJenny says:

      I always forget how much I love Free People (along with your beloved Anthropologie) and they’re both so close to me too, I’m for sure stopping in there next time I go grocery shopping, they happen to be in the same plaza lol I can’t get enough of the pretty lacy ones!!! xoxox

      Liked by 1 person

      • K.M. Sutton says:

        Oh my god, I just realized my typo :0 “Bathing SOUP” Ooops! (totally going to blame the fact I wrote that when I was traveling! lol.) Girl yes! Free People is equally amazing AND owned by the parent company that owns Anthro. Grocery shopping…Free People and Anthro….Totally worth it! ;p I can;t either! I am obsessed! ❤

        Like

    • xoJenny says:

      Aw thanks Natalie!! The chiffon ones are my favorite, so cute on- half the time I fall asleep in them bc their so comfy. And ugh I always get a bright red nose too, I’ll just be casually walking like the outlets or something and come back home with my nose and forehead burnt lol

      Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      I’m so happy that I finally found a sunscreen that I like, it doesn’t leave that oily feeling and it smells so good, so now I actually look forward to wearing it hahah Bralettes are such a must, theyre just so cute give a little sexy flair to an outfit, I love it!!!

      Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Aw thank you!!! I love those chiffon shorts so much and I swear I’m addicted to buying them. TJ Maxx and Marshalls have so many cute ones so every time I step foot in there (often) my eyes gravitate towards them. So hard to resist!!! xo

      Like

  1. TheFallibleQueen says:

    Those bikini tops are so cute and I’ve been loving patterned shorts as well. I like the chiffon style, it’s been a bit difficult to find shorts that will fit me well when they shrink. However forever 21 was oh so helpful 🖤. My #1 summer essential would be my neutrogena moisturizer with spf 45 in it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. koriahweb says:

    I am also a summer baby! I am in bathing suits 24/7, so I have lots! Recently, I have been trying to find really cute cut out one piece…though this girl loves her bikinis!!!!
    xx K

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Ah lucky!!! I wish I could be in one all the time- forget work I just wanna be in a bathingsuit in the sun lol I’ve been dying to find a one piece myself but its hard to find one that suits my body, I have barely any curves lol so it doesn’t look as flattering. I’m not giving up though still on the prowl 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • koriahweb says:

        Same here!!!! I just can’t find a one piece that looks good and suits me, I saw a very pretty black bathing suit that had cut out strings around the bodice..it was beautiful just it didn’t suit me. I love being able to be in a bathing suit alot….my cousin is a designer and has a website….soo get to try a lot on 😉

        Like

  3. 50shad3s0fjay says:

    You are definitely are a worthy title holder for summers biggest fan but agreed, you must be mad if you don’t love Summer! Bathing suits are the best type of clothing, I spent all day Monday in my swimming costume just chilling at home, note it wasn’t even sunny. They are just toooooo comfy and easy to wear, plus always so stylish! I love all of yours especially the USA flag and that turquoise/ blue one, that ones gorge. Sun cream is an absolute must, I think its so easy to forget to use it or avoid it for the sake of wanting more of a tan but God, it’s definitely one of the most important things you can use in the hotter months. Those bralettes are super cute and perfect for the Summer, so comfy too. And girl I am all about the chiffon shorts, chiffon over denim any day. Like you say they are majorly comfy, it feels like you’re wearing PJ bottoms but they look so good, what’s not to love? I love love love those white ones you’re wearing in that mirror selfie, so pretty. and the florally ones are lush too but they’re all nice to be fair! Love this post JJ, as always so well written and fun to read xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      LOL hanging out in the bathingsuit even if its not sunny… i LOVE the way you think, definitely a jenny/jennie thing bc I would do just the same. I’m in love with the new USA flag one, all of Andrew’s family got “american flag” suits to match and wear on the 4th of July it was funny, I wish I got a picture of all of us. And yess chiffon over denim allllllll day every day!!! Similarly like leggings over jeans….chiffon/leggings they’re just so much more comfortable!!!! xoxox

      Like

      • 50shad3s0fjay says:

        Haha it just has to be done right!? Oh its so cool, that’s awesome!! That picture would have been so cool if you’d have got one- next year you will have to!! 4th of July celebrations always sound so much fun, we don’t really have anything like that here in the UK. Omg yes 100%, I can’t even remember the last time I wore jeans. Denim just isn’t that comfy xxx

        Like

  4. ayrgalaxy says:

    These are all great picks! 🙂 And I’m curious as to when your birthday is…? LOL
    So again..long comment, as usual lol….
    1) YASS to those bathing suits! They’re cute! I however am not ready for a two-piece. Working on my mommy tummy #whyisitsodifficult lol. I do own a monokini that I love though. 😀
    2) Ahhh, sunscreen. I always wear it, and some days I forget. But ever since I had a skin cancer scare back in April/May and got super anxious about it, I bowed to wear it, no joke. LOL. Wear your sunscreen girl!
    3) Bralettes..another thing I just can’t seem to wear… My boobs are too big for one… I know, I know, TMI, but it’s the truth.
    4) Chiffon shorts are sooo cute! I still haven’t quite found a true chiffon pair, but I do own several shorts with cute patterns on them. And they’re SOOOO comfy!
    5) I need to get me a tumbler too. I always put my water in the fridge and ice cubes but it NEVER lasts lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      lol my birthday isn’t till Aug 24th but still summer! And the funny thing is I’ve been dying to find a one piece suit but I have zero curves so its so hard to find one that’s even the slightest bit flattering on. I’m still on the prowl- I’m also thinking of trying like high waisted bikini bottoms I like the looks of them. Rossy I will gladly take some of your boobage, this girl needs some more cleav hahah *i wish* it’s so funny but true that people always want what they don’t have. The tumbler is the greatest thing ever, it just helps me actually drink my drink over time since it stays ice cold in there, ice and all. I haven’t tried it with anything hot but I’m anxious to try it with tea or something come the winter (not that I want winter any time soon) lol

      Liked by 1 person

      • ayrgalaxy says:

        Ah so it is coming up… Mmmhmmm, mmhmm…
        Ah yeah, monokini’s are hard to find. I mean not really cause they’re everywhere, but there’s hardly any cute ones. They’re always so plain and boring. You’ll probably have to splurge if you find one, I got lucky and found mine at Ross I think? Like two years ago, I can’t believe it still fits lmao. The high-waisted bottoms are trendy right now, you could probably get lucky and find a cute pair.
        LMAO if I could give away some boob I probably would, my back kills me sometimes! LOL And it’s also very uncomfortable to sleep on my tummy, as much as I would want to lol.
        Oooh, let me know if the tumblers work for hot drinks too, I have some thermos but they’re too tall and like nothing fits in there lol. It’s mostly the cup but less thsn 12 oz fit in there. lol.

        Like

  5. ughmango says:

    I love the fact that you have so many different bikini’s haha I only have one pair lol.. We don’t really experience warm summer here in finland where I live, I don’t get to wear many pairs of pretty shorts either like you do! I am so jealous of the summer heat you have there omg 😍 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Anne | Beautybyadutchgirl says:

    I love love how bralettes look but unfortunately, my boobs are to big so it will not be flattering on me. Haha, but I really love how you styled that!!! I love to wear chiffon shorts as well eventhough I had to throw everything away because it didn’t fit me anymore!!! Ugh, the struggle is real when you love food and you’re still growing a tiny bit. My nr 1 summer essential would be sunscreen as well because I have a terrible skin. I don’t get a sunburn very quickly but I do care about my skin (I’ve had several skinconditions) so I need to put sunscreen on 24/7 in the summer! Have a nice day Jenny, xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh idk you might be the lucky one because I always wished I had bigger boobs lol although my best friend who also has bigger ones tells me that I definitely wouldn’t if I did have them. Like they say, people want what they can’t have… And yeah the one thing I dislike about the chiffon shorts is that they shrink!!! Some of them that I got I just cannot wear anymore because they are wayyy too short. I will wear them to bed though since their comfy enough. But these days I make sure to buy a size or two up so that when they do shrink they’ll fit lol And yesss its so important to take care of your skin, I only wish I was more adamant about wearing sunscreen back in the day, but at least I finally learned! Better late than never!!! xoxox

      Liked by 1 person

      • Anne | Beautybyadutchgirl says:

        Well, bigger boobs are sometimes super annoying haha. You’re totally true, I want curls as well (I have straight hair) but we can’t get everything we want, haha! I always wear those kind of shorts to bed as well, same as with comfy dresses, if they become to small, I will wear them to bed! xo

        Like

  7. Allie Zottola says:

    Sunscreen is totally my summer essential! I have super pale skin, and my family makes fun of me because I put on so much sunblock (they all have darker skin, except for my sis!), but it’s so important!!

    Love your cute shorts and bathing suits!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xoJenny says:

      Oh yes I finally realized how essential sunscreen really is. I never really thought I “needed” it since my skin is in general a little tan but once I saw what the sun can reaaally do to my skin, I was like okay sunscreen it is!!! LOL Plus I finally found one I like, I always thought sunscreen was oily and bleh but the one I use is more like actual lotion so it doesn’t leave that greasy oily residue on my skin, WIN! lol xoxox

      Like

Leave a Reply

