A Wedding in Minneapolis

Hello my friends, I’m back!

I vaguely mentioned that Andrew and I were going away this past weekend to Minneapolis, Minnesota for a wedding (which is why I was very MIA). Well, we went and now we’re back!

For ya’ll that are not good with geography much like myself here’s a little puzzle for you.

Here is the state of Minnesota5

And now, here is a map of the USA1Can you see where Minnesota is? I’ll give you a hint and tell you that its in the “Midwest“. I’m going to be frank and say that I probably wouldn’t have been able to pin point it out either prior to going. I for sure would’ve mistaken it for Wisconsin or Missouri. #nojoke #badatgeography

The only Midwest state I’ve been to has been Illinois (which I can locate on the map!), so I was excited for a new state and new adventure! We packed up Thursday night-1

And headed to the airport mid-late Friday. Might I mention- wearing the same exact shirt. I just need to clarify, I put it on first.

But who wore it better? ๐Ÿ˜‰2

We landed in Minneapolis late and went right to our hotel because it was Friday and like any Friday, we’re exhausted from a week of work.

Minneapolis is in the heart of Minnesota, their big city- like Boston to Massachusetts. And we were staying right downtown which was perfect. We had a really pretty view of part of the city but per usual it’s hard to really capture what you’re seeing live and in the flesh opposed to how the camera captures it. But we were next to this gorgeous church that I loved.3

Some day-time views5

6

7I have to say, Minneapolis has been one of the cleanest and most calm cities I’ve been to and for that I enjoyed my experience there. I also took note and loved theirย ‘skywalk system’ย for pedestrians. ย 9

10They’re these walkways that interconnect building to building for inclement weather and can be accessed all year round. They were literally everywhere all throughout the city. Very cool!

Something else I found to be very cool was that Minneapolis is the home to Target’s Headquarters! TA-DAAAA! Not that glamorous but still very cool. And as it should it had a huge Target right next door that we obviously went inside of ๐Ÿ™‚13

WEDDING DAY

The day of the wedding, Andrew and I went and explored the city in the morning. Which is how we discovered the Skywalk System and Target HQs. But more importantly…ย (I know, whats more important than Target HQ?!?!)…. well, DONUTS!11I obviously had to google local Donut Shops and I came across this place

ANGEL FOOD BAKERY +DONUT BAR1Oh my lanta, this place did NOT disappoint. Freshly made right there in the store delicious donuts. I wanted one of each but limited myself to 3.

The first one was Glazed because I’m a hugeee glazed advocate. And although it was delicious- Krispy Kremes still wins for best Glazed donut.

The second one however was a Cherry Frosted with Nerds! Yes, you heard NERDS! It was mouthwatering good!ย 12

And the third one was a Banana Cream Pie. The crumbles on top alone made it all worthwhile but let me tell you about the banana cream filling- unbelievable! Not overly sweet which I really appreciated and it just exploded with banana flavor. Pure genius!ย 23

One last thing before we get to the wedding…

We got our Starbucks mug!!! #success8

Okay, and now the Wedding!!!

Getting Ready

Hair and make-up done by me. This is a really rare sight but Jenny without glasses ya’ll-14

15

17

18

Hair and make-up were on point and now it was time to put on the dress that I’ve been anxiously waiting (4 monthsย to be exact) to FINALLY wear. Dress and shoes are from @LULU’s.16

19

My handsome date โค doing the prom pose20

22

The Mass

The ceremony took place at a beautiful Church in St.Paul. They had a great mass and it was just perfectly well done.ย 21

Cocktail Hour and Reception

The reception took place at an industrial-urban warehouse like setting which was new to me. Brick walls, wooden long tables, open concept it was put together really well.ย 25

29

27

26

28

30

32

31What I loved about their location was that the reception space led to an outdoor area for people to hang out get some fresh air and enjoy the gorgeous weather we were blessed with.ย 34

33

2

35

We were so happy to share such an amazing day with the Bride and Groom. They couldn’t have done it any better!

xo, JJ

14 thoughts on “A Wedding in Minneapolis

  1. K.M. Sutton says:

    Yay!!! I am so excited to read about this!
    Lol. I love the Geography lesson and yay for new states!
    Also you totally wore the shirt better! (Sorry Andrew!)
    I love when cities have enclosed walk ways, it makes it so much easier during inclement winter! New York needs to get with the times! ;p
    Oh my manta is right! Those donuts! Girl you have more self control then I do because I would have ordered one of each! Who needs to fit into a dress anyway?
    I love the Starbucks mugs! Overtime I see you have gotten a new one it makes me smile!
    Your make-up is on point! I know where to go for lessons!
    I drooled when I saw your pics on IG. Girl you were rocking it!!! And I love how you guys color coordinated! Seriously, you looked like a model! Get yourself a photoshoot! โค
    And you guys are seriously the cutest couple! I love all these pics! What a cool space too!
    I am so happy you had fun! โค

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jess says:

    First of all, that dress is perfect for you! So so pretty :)) also, my bf and I just went to Minneapolis a few months ago for the first time & now we need to go back for those donuts lol I missed that place somehow! We did find a candy shop by accident that I made us go to twice because it was so good :))

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lifeofangela says:

    I can’t believe you guys have donut bars?? That’s insane, we barely have good donut stores! Or maybe I just need to look around more ๐Ÿ˜€
    I loved your outfit, hair and makeup for the wedding! You did a great job, and you and Andrew looked amazing! Your friends that got married looked very happy ๐Ÿ˜€ Tell them congrats from me! (Maybe not though, they have no idea who I am ๐Ÿ˜‚)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 50shad3s0fjay says:

    Jenny you look stunning! Those dress and shoes๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ 10/10 girl! Yay for a new state, one more closer now to visiting them all! Those skywalk systems are so cool, very handy for those rainy days especially! I’m totally craving donuts right now so thanks for that ๐Ÿ™„ I can’t lie- glazed doughnuts are definitely the best ones, but you’re right that Krispy Kreme do it better than anyone! Still, the one you had looked delicious. Also the one with the nerds, that looks amazinggggg! It sounds like you had an amazing weekend Hun, I’m glad the wedding was a success! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ayrgalaxy says:

    How gorgeous! It looks amazing during the daytime. Love those skywalks. We have very very here at the malls but that’s it. No other buildings connect lol. Ahh, the donuts look delicious! And did I see one that’s called “Mexican Lucky”?! LOL
    Also, I love the minimalist makeup look you did. And you look stunning in red!!! Wow!! The dress and heels are perfect together!
    I like the look of that reception, definitely very different and urban is the perfect word for it. Congrats to the happy couple!
    Heyy Andrew, when’s yours?! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Anne | Beautybyadutchgirl says:

    OMG I love how Andrew and you had matching outfits. Too cute! And how could you even walk on those high heels. They’re insane, but super super pretty! Oh and your makeup is on fleek girl!!! You looked so stunning, just as the bride and groom did. I think the pictures you took gave a great impression of the wedding. ๐Ÿ™‚ xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

