Minneapolis Adventures

FRIDAY, alas! Although, I don’t really have the rights to complain because it was a short week for me, but still it’s Friday!

Today I’m taking you on my Minneapolis Adventures post wedding. If you haven’t read my last post, Andrew and I flew out to Minnesota last Friday for a wedding but we prolonged our trip a tad because we figured we’d want to explore a little, not work, and the flight home on Tuesday was cheaper 😉

Minnehaha Falls

6This was definitely a highlight in the trip. It’s actually the Minnehaha Park filled with walking, biking, and hiking paths, food, swimming holes, historical sites, a recreation center, gardens, everything you can think of! But we were there for the famous waterfall!2

3

From the top of the falls1It was the most peaceful and serene thing watching the waterfall. For me it’s definitely the sound of the water crashing down similarly to the rain while you’re sleeping- I love that.  A definite sight for sore eyes. It was like a beautiful oasis that I wanted to jump into, it didn’t help that the heat was really persuading me.
4

7

8

5

9We actually had such a sweet lady offer to take our photo and she just kept snapping away and caught some goodies for us. Bless that women, we need more people like her in the world ❤10And when you don’t have someone around to take your picture you resort to the good ol’ selfies!11

12

13

Lake Calhoun

We decided we wanted to dedicate a day to lay out and catch some rays so we chose to go to one of Minnesota’s popular “beaches” aka lake. I’m really not sure why places are named beaches when they’re really just a lake. Definitely two different things, if you’re a lake just be a lake. Ya know?!?22

23

The lake was very nice. It had a little sandy area that overlooked into the water; perfect for laying out. We even swam a little which was refreshing when the sun beamed down on us.24

25

26But I must confess, in general, I am not a lake person for one reason and one reason only….FLIES. Andrew and I were laying out for a while and as peaceful as it was (I literally have goosebumps just thinking about it) there were tons of clusters of little itty bitty teeny tiny flies everywhere. What are they, mayflies? Lake flies? If you’ve ever been to a lake then you know what I’m talking about. The ones that are barely visible to the eye but when you really look you see them flying around in huge clusters. Even though they’re so harmless, it just grosses me out. I could barely watch the huge cluster swarming above Andrew’s head, I didn’t even want to think about the cluster that I’m sure was over my head too. *cringe* Needless the say, we aborted the area.

US Bank Stadium

Home of The Vikings, Minnesota’s football team. Our hotel was fairly close to the stadium so upon Andrew’s request we went to go see it in person! I thought it was neat that they built it to look like a Viking Ship, although, the pictures again do it no justice.27

The glass windows mirrored the skyline of the city perfectly!31A

28

29

Perks of having it made of all glass, you can press your face up against the windows and see inside.30

31

The Stone Arch Bridge

As city lovers, catching the city skyline was a must! And the notorious Stone Arch Bridge is the place to go to capture “the” photo! So we were on a mission.

We eventually made our way onto some bridge but it wasn’t The Stone Arch Bridge (yet) but we saw the Saint Anthony waterfalls, which I loved. 33Little did we know the Stone Arch Bridge was the bridge parallel to the one we were on so it’s the one in the picture above and below! Go figure ha32

Once we finished crossing the bridge we were on, it lead us to this cute little cobblestone downtown area.34

To which we walked a little bit more to get on the actual Stone Arch Bridge! Anddd WE MADE IT!

35

Do it for the picture, right?!

Last but not least-

MALL OF AMERICA

I was most excited about this adventure. I mean what girl wouldn’t be excited about visiting the largest mall in the USA?!?

First of all it’s HUGE (obviously), secondly there’s a wicked fun amusement park right in the middle of it; roller coasters and all, and lastly it was friggin awesome!

I was feeling pretty overwhelmed on the drive up to the mall. I knew I wanted to cover as much ground as possible, go on some rides, and in general not miss anything. To the point where I was trying to game plan the whole thing in my head except that’s kind of hard to do when you don’t know what to expect. Our uber driver even asked, “Do you know what part of the mall you want to go to?” Uh NO!

So we did what we do best, wing it!

18Alright so luckily, the architects of The MOA were very smart when they constructed it because it wasn’t as overwhelming as I thought. Relief. The amusement park was dead smack in the middle- it was kind of like the “North Star” sort of speak. For an amusement park in a mall, it was pretty big. We went on a total of 4 rides but we doubled up on the Spongebob one, because it was really fun and it was the only one that goes upside down. All of them were really fast and really fun though. I confess, I’m a roller coaster junkie.14

Our photo after one of the roller coasters LOL but where’s Andrew?!?! Oh there he is, behind the word “THE”

15

Tons of fun stuff for kids and adults, rides on rides, simulators, mini golf, escape room, legos, and much more!

As for the stores, literally any store you can think of I’m certain they had. Except Vineyard Vines, but that’s definitely an East Coast thing. Some stores were even duplicated which was nuts to me but I guess totally necessary.

The directories throughout the mall were the real MVP’s and life saviors. You type in where you want to go and it listed out all the options with what floor and how long of a walk it would be etc… and once you pick which location you wanted they show you the map of the floor, where you are and which direction you walk to go there. Obviously I was off to find some Thai food 😉
16

17

20The food options alone were outstanding. There was a huge food court, then a whole wing “South Street Dining” dedicated to more food places and restuarants, and then the 4th floor full of more restaurants. You won’t leave the mall hungry. 21The Mall of America did not disappoint. Not a mall I’d want to be my every day mall because its still a hike to go from store to store depending on where you want to shop but the middle school mall rat in me would love this place.

And on Tuesday early AM we were jet setting and heading back to Boston 🙂

That just about does it for Minneapolis! Oh also, a final look at our mug collection so far- because I’m in love with them all. With the exception of Paris and Kazakhstan because those were gifts-1

Have a great weekend everyone!

xo, JJ

13 thoughts on “Minneapolis Adventures

  1. ayrgalaxy says:

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Minnehaha falls looks gorgeous!! I love parks that have tons of activities, they make your stay worthwhile! I love that picture of you and Andrew that the lady took! So cute!
    And I love the minty/aqua top that you’re wearing at the lake! Is that a swimsuit?
    The Stone Arch Bridge looks so nice! Especially with that little waterfall just downstream.
    And I never knew the Mall of America had roller coaster rides!! Whaaaaa!!!! I mean I knew it was huge, but wooow! LOL
    Anyway, I love that you collect mugs from every city you visit. I wish I could collect something from my visits but I always forget to buy souvenirs LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 50shad3s0fjay says:

    What?? That Mall looks insane, I need to go right now. An amusement park in the middle of it? How can it be so big and amazing, it sounds like so much fun. Also you must be the only person who actually looks good in a ride photo, I wouldn’t dream of sharing some of mine with the world. Minnehaha Park sounds so dreamy, I love how the word ‘haha’ is at the end of the name too. Bound to be a happy place then. The waterfall is just stunning, and that photo of yourself and Andrew in front of it that the lady took is so adorable, total insta photo goals there. It’s so cute she offered to take some photos for you, what a sweetheart. & I totally would have been tempted to jump in the lake with the hot weather, it must have been a struggle not to! I 100% agree that beaches are much nicer than lakes for laying out, I do love a lake and think they’re so beautiful for a walk, but agreed it’s not the place for sunbathing or swimming! It sounds like you had the most fun, adventurous weekend, I’m glad you had a great time 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lifeofangela says:

    Those falls look stunning! Also, what a kind woman to offer to take photos, and that she took so many! Bless her 😀
    I’ve never been to a lake, but this talk of clusters of files gives me flashbacks to clouds of mosquitos so I may steer clear of those 😂
    The Mall of America is insane! They have an amusement park in there??
    I love that your mug collection is slowly growing. One day you’ll have all 50 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. K.M. Sutton says:

    Since I saw your pics on IG and Snapchat Literally been drooling over this place! It has gone on my bucket list! So pretty!
    I LOVE that! I always try to take a gazillion pictures when people ask me, usually because I want them to take a gazillion of me. lol.
    Girl we are the same person! I hear ya! I have never understood beaches and lakes. it is NOT the same thing as an ocean ;p lol.
    I LOVE your top! It is gorgeous and that color!
    Oh my gosh I love your little detour to get to the Stone Arch Bridge! So pretty! And that view!
    Mall America looks amazing, but could also potentially give me nightmares…I am NOT a mall person…especially around Christmas. lol.
    I LOVE your mug collection! SO fun! I am glad you had such an amazing trip! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. styleintheafternoon says:

    The Falls look absolutely gorgeous. I also feel like the sound of water is very peaceful. SO in love with the aqua bikini top you wore to the lake!! I have a flying insect phobia so I try to stick to beaches myself😂 The Mall of America sounds like a dream come true for me! Shopping and an amusement park? YASS! So glad you and Andrew had a wonderful time! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  6. RomanAndJesci says:

    How beautiful! I missed you guys! I’m so glad you guys had a great time!!!! What a fun getaway, I’ve always wanted to go to the Mall of America!! When I went to the Philippines in March I went to Mall of Asia and I was always like “how have I not been to the one in America yet..” lol but the pictures are gorgeous, as always 😉 Have a great rest of your week girly!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Anne | Beautybyadutchgirl says:

    The Mall of America is such a dream! It looks amazing. I saw some vlogs from a Dutch youtuber, who was at the exact same time at the mall as you were. Literally, what a dream. We don’t have such things here in NL. I actually only knew Minnesota from a tv series I used to watch as a kid called Big Time Rush. Is that weird? Haha. I now see that Minnesota and in particular Minneapolis (I could type this name correct for 3 times) has so much more to offer. Definitely another place to think about when I ever visit the US. xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

