Portland, ME

Hey! Hi! Hello friends!

I’m here!

For the past 4 years and many more to come; my sister, mom, and aunt like to take a little weekend trip, just the 4 of us, in August. August is not only my birthday month but it’s also my mom’s as well. In fact, we are only two days apart- her being the 22nd and I’m the 24th. So we usually conjoin our birthdays together and celebrate by going away. Unfortunately my aunt was unable to make it this year so my mom invited her best friend from high school to join us!

And as you can see by the title of my post- we went to

Portland, Maine

My first visit to Portland was with Andrew (HERE) and we’ve been up once more for a day trip (HERE).

The day was partly cloudy for the most part but still pretty good weather. We had tickets to do a Duck Tour around the beautiful coastal town. Has anyone done Duck Tours for their hometown/city or at a visiting city. Boston has one and I was taken back at how much I enjoyed it- so I was pretty excited for this one. We had arrived a little early so it gave us time to wander around downtown.

Portland might be my favorite downtown area, I love being encompassed by the industrial brick buildings and cobblestone roads. There are a ton of stores to shop in and endless restaurants to choose from- its a wonderful tourist haven. 9

1

2

3

I am obsessed with these pants! They are the most comfortable, light, and breezy thing ever. You can find them at Marshalls or a TJ MAXX.

Mom and her two daughters before the Duck Tour.

4Once the tour was over, which was fantastic btw! It just about dinner time. I suggested we go to none other than

DiMillo’s

5

I’ve had this restaurant in the back of my head since Andrew took me there last summer. It’s seafood restaurant on a huge boat right in the water. I don’t think it gets any better than that.

6

Lobster is hands down my favorite food, so what’s a better place to get lobster than the lobster town itself!  I swear the best seafood is 1000% right here in Maine/New England area. I do think West Coast is a strong second; maybe I’m biased, but I think East Coast wins by just a smidge 😉

12

After dinner we wandered some more downtown, did some shopping, and grabbed gelato before calling it a night.

The next morning, my mom found a Church service for us to attend so we got up had breakfast and headed to the Church. 15

We had just enough time to get back downtown and grab some coffee before we headed to the Casco Bay to catch a ferry!

My mom planned for us to take the ferry to 1 out of (I think) 5 islands off of Portland. The one we went to was

Peaks Island

10

9

Thank God my mom is totally a Type A kind of person because she also booked us a golf cart to drive us around on the island. She planned everything perfectly.

17

Peaks Island is definitely teeny tiny, the guy was telling us you can make it around the whole Island in about half hour- so we jetted off.

We came across this little sandy beach area and made a pit stop to feel the water and of course snap some photos!

19

16

13

5

14

Shortly thereafter we found another scenic spot to stop at –

18

6

7

And then the most amazing thing, we came across this section of rock sculptures at the shore. It’s so hard to see in the photos below but I swear hundreds of unique rock sculptures. As we were approaching we saw a group of people trying to build one together. We wanted to build one too but we were on a time crunch to catch the ferry back. So we admired and left.

8

1

By the time we made it back to Portland, we had enough time to grab some dinner. Lobster rolls, yum! And some more gelato, yum! And made the trek back home.

Thankful for a blessed and beautiful weekend with the family. Mama Kim did a fantastic job with the planning!

xo, JJ

11 Comments Add yours

  1. lifeofangela says:

    I love how many birthday traditions you have 😂 How cute that you and your mum have your birthdays only a few days apart. Looks like you had a fun trip!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Natalie Vinh says:

    Looks like such a fun time!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. koriahweb says:

    That sounds really fun! I have relatives in Portland and they do have the best seafood. (well at least lobster)
    xx K

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a beautiful place and sounds like a great weekend jenny 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ughmango says:

    I really want to visit Portland one day, it’s such a beautiful place! 😍 Also, I love your floral pants!! xx

    Liked by 2 people

  6. K.M. Sutton says:

    THIS post gave me ALL the feels! Seriously! I also can not get over that we were in the same CITY! I utterly adore Peaks! On certain nights they have music and it is so much fun! Also I agree about the Cobblestone streets! One of my favorites is Fore Street (They also have amazing shopping and cute local shops like Alaina Marie Bait Bags!) The next time you visit you HAVE to go to Top of The East and Fore Street Restaurant. SUCH yummy food! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Simply Z says:

    How nice you can bond with your mom that way. I’m an August baby too! My bday is on the 30th. 😊

    I’ve been along the Oregon coast many years ago. Looks like I need to make another trip. Great photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh wow you and your sister look so much alike! It’s insane. I thought she was you in one of the pictures! I love love love that pants you wore on one of the pictures as well. I always love the look of pants with a design! It seems like the 4 of you had such a great time in Portland! Really, those view-pictures are lovely! And omg, it is almost your birthday! Do you have anything fun planned yet? xo

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love your birthday tradition!! I think I need to start that with my mom and sister, haha. I’ve always wanted to visit Maine. Now I really want to!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. ayrgalaxy says:

    Omg, just come to Portland, OR too! LOL. There are so many other Portlands within the US, it’s crazy. I remember being blown away when I heard that Maine had a Portland, I think another one is in Texas. But anyway.. what is a Duck Tour?! Like actual ducks? LOL

    I have yet to find a nice seafood place within Portland, also they’re kind of expensive and with a kid, it’s really hard to go out an explore different eateries in the city.

    And how cool! They have a ferry over there! I wish we had one here but we have bridges. That’s our thing hahaha. I know they have one in Seattle though, at least I’m sure they do. I would love to go there again to ride it lol.

    This place looks amazing though! I’ll have to visit sometime in the future. I’m already compiling a list of places in the mainland which I’d like to visit. We’re starting with the West Coast LOL

    Like

  11. Mackenzie says:

    How fun that you two are only a couple days apart for your birthday!!! Those pants, girl! Soooo cute!

    AND THAT RESTAURANT! That is EPIC. I am obsessed. I’m adding that to my restaurant list! Holy coowwww that lobster looks beyond delish too. That looks like SUCH a fun girls time! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

