August Favorites

Hello friends!!!

This morning as I was scrolling through Instagram, I came across Caroline’s post over at @thewhimsicalpineapple. If you’re not already following this Southern Belle you really should! Today she’s sharing her August Favorites and so, I felt inspired to do the same!

Now everything I’m mentioning on here, I’ve mentioned in the past but I’m telling you that’s why, they’re my FAVORITES. But by far, specifically, my summer go-to’s. I will also for your convenience link everything to where I got them from!

1. Bed Head Purple Shampoo 16

If you are a blonde or have any blonde toned highlights in your hair then this Bed Head Purple Shampoo will be your best friend! My blondies’ know that keeping the perfect blonde is a struggle so to fight away the brass- this will be your savior. I swear by it!!! (ULTA sells it here)

2. Batiste Dry Shampoo

9

Need a little hair refresher? Well, Batiste Dry Shampoo has got your back. I usually wash my hair every other day, which I hate doing (shampooing everyday isn’t good for your hair) But with Batiste, I can prolong washing my hair to 2 full days, maybe even longer, and it’s amazing! They also sell different colored hair tones to match your roots. I usually just go with original. As an added bonus it’s a great product for amazing volume! (MARSHALLS or TJMAXX sells them for super cheap but otherwise ULTA has them here)

3. Living Proof Dry Volume

3

This Living Proof Dry Volume is volume in a can and it saves my bangs! When my hair is super clean or if there’s even the slightest bit of humidity, my hair is prone to go flat. And when that happens, I spray this once from to the root to the tip of my bangs and voila- instant volume and texture! And the best part is, since it’s “Dry” it doesn’t make your hair feel dirty! (ULTA sells it here I always get the mini travel size)

4. Maybelline’s Baby Lips

4

For some reason I’m not a huge fan of lip products in the summer time. But Maybelline’s Baby Lips is the one thing I will always reach for! It gives my lips great moisture with a tint of color of your choosing and it’s all I need day in and day out. I usually go with the purple casing- Peach Kiss, ya’ll know I love nude lips! So I usually buy mine at a local Target but I just went online and looked for it and Peach Kiss is weirdly not an option, as well as Ulta! So here is a link right off of Maybelline HERE

5. Benefit’s POREfessional Primer

8

I am not one to use ANY face make up; no foundation, no powder, no contouring for me. I do dabble in concealer come the winter for under-eyes but otherwise nothing, nada! But Primer is a whole new story. When I first discovered the wonders of primer, my life changed! In the summer my skin tends to be on the oily side throughout my T-zone… and the instant cure is Primer! It just so happens that I’ve had two testers of Benefits POREfessional so I’ve been using it, but I genuinely love it. First of all, it hides the pores on my nose but most importantly it’s a matte finish! Which means all that oil and shine I accrue over the day is gone! I did some research online and not only is primer good for a foundation base but it’s good to use even if you don’t wear face make up (like myself). It’s just a nice base to smooth and mattify or hydrate your skin pending on which primer is best for your skin type. (ULTA has it HERE)

6. Becca’s Highlighter

Also in the summer, I tend to stray away from blush and bronzer, I just feel like I don’t need it if/when I’m tan. Blush on occasions BUT I do on the other hand consistently use Becca’s Shimmering Skin Perfector highlighter. The glow that this highlighter gives my skin is AMAZING! It goes on so smoothly and gives your skin the perfect wet(ish) looking glow if you will but it’s GORGEOUS! I’ve had mine for about 3 years now and still haven’t hit the pan yet. It’s pricey but so worth it and lasts so long! For reference I use Opal (ULTA has it HERE)

And because you know me and how I hate leaving off on 6.

7. Cover Girl’s Clump Crusher’s Mascara

5

Cover Girl for sure is my go-to drug store mascara brand. I love the whole line but I just discovered this one; Cover Girls ClumpCrusher Mascara. I mean, who likes clumps in their mascara? NOT I! This one is a guarantee NO CLUMPS in your mascara and separates your lashes out perfectly which are the two things I look for in mascara! (ULTA has it HERE but I usually buy it from Target)

And there you have it Jenny’s August (and all Summer long ) Favorites! 

xo, JJ

12 Comments Add yours

  1. jess says:

    I love baby lips too! I’m loving the blue case right now :)) also, I have never used highlighter but the one you use looks so pretty! I’m looking it up now lol

    Like

  2. LOVE that Living Proof texture spray!!! I’m going to have to look up that Benefit primer!

    Like

  3. Simply Z says:

    I love Benefit products! I still use their Brow-Zings and I LOVE the Maybe Baby perfume..

    Like

  4. lifeofangela says:

    That Living Proof Volume spray sounds pretty cool. My hair is always prone to going flat at any given second, so having something like that on hand, could be good 😀

    Like

  5. K.M. Sutton says:

    Seeing all your new posts have made my day! I have missed you!!!! I love your August favorites! Living Proof is one of my favorite hair product brands and before I discovered Dry Bar it was THE favorite! ❤

    Like

  6. llindaxxo says:

    I love using dry shampoo during the summer. Batiste is such a great affordable option! I also love that Living Proof volume spray and the Becca highlighters! I usually like to combine champagne pop with moonstone!

    Like

  7. Oh I seriously need to try the bed head shampoo. I’ve been using the LUSH daddy-o one which is good but I’m not entirely sold, however I trust your opinion so I’m thinking when I’m due a new one, I’m heading straight over to buy your recommendation. I used to love baby lips when they first came out, there’s just something about them that make you want to buy them all. Maybe its the cute packaging? I loved the purple one too along with the pink and the yellow, but I’ve not bought them in so long. Benefits porefessional I’ve heard such good things about and I’m desperate to try it myself, your post has just affirmed that I neeeed to buy. That’s mad you’ve had that highlighter for three years and still not hit pan, seriously, what an investment. It looks so pretty too so 100% a must buy. Always love a bit of highlighter whatever the occasion. Its really interesting to see the cover girl mascara, over here we have Max Factor which is essentially the UK version of cover girl. So any products they have we will have the same of eventually just slightly different names/ packaging and vice verca but I’ve never really seen a lot of cover girl to compare however that mascara looks like an exact dupe for the MF clump defy mascara. I’ll send you a picture over Instagram so you can see what I mean! xx

    Like

  8. I love Baby Lips, the deep reddish/pink shade is my favorite. I like a good highlight, I’ll have to check that one out at Ulta. Covergirl has really expanded their mascara line and I’m totally hear for it. I’ll have to try that mascara next.

    Like

  9. You’re my go-to for beauty related stuff, Jenny! I feel like you know all the good products out there! I need to check out the shimmering skin perfector!

    Like

  10. Mackenzie says:

    Love this idea for a post! I really need to try that Bed head purple shampoo!! So many people swear by it! And the pore professional too- soooo awesome, I’ve tried some samples from Ulta, it works so well ! Annnd I’ve been looking for a new bronzer, the one I usually use is sort of harsh. Thanks for sharing these suggestions, love! Yay for August faves. ❤

    Like

  11. ayrgalaxy says:

    Great picks!! 🙂 The Living Proof dry shampoo was one of my favorites too. 🙂 I currently use the NYM natural’s dry shampoo. And the Becca highlight looks gorgeous! I always love a nice highlighter for the summertime, even when you don’t want to wear makeup 🙂

    Like

  12. Jenny, I’m so late with all your blogposts but I’m catching up now. Watching other people’s favorites is always so fun. I love finding out new good products. I love batiste for it’s dry shampoo’s, the blonde-one is my favorite! I also love the babylips by Maybelline, they are so hydrating for your lips. I can’t live without lipbalm, haha! I really want to try out the benefit porefessional but it’s sooooo expensive. When all my primers are empty (and that are a lot actually), I will definitely try out the mini-one! xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

