Beach Bums in Florida

Happy Wednesday Friends!

Although I must admit, I’m not the happiest to be back from vacation. Can ya blame me?! We actually got back on Monday, so Tuesday was dedicated to catching up with reality.

If you don’t already know, Andrew and I flew down to Sarasota Florida, which is South of Tampa and most importantly known for their beautiful beaches along the Gulf of Mexico. I’m telling you; fine white sand, crystal clear, and perfectly temped water. Miami is for sure nice but these beaches (to me) even puts Miami to shame.

We ultimately planned for this vacation to be solely an end of the summer relaxing vacation. Everything to be done at our our leisure aka wake up and beach. So, that’s just what we did. This vacation was everything I needed/wanted and more. Not to mention Andrew and I both brought back the best souvenir- a killer TAN! 😉

I plan on reminiscing my trip a tad differently this time. Rather than going day by day, I’m going to use this post to talk about the beaches and tomorrows post will be some fun things we ended up doing too!

THE PRELUDE

Thursday 5AM our alarms went off and a little teeny tiny bit of remorse ran through my body as I struggled to wake up for the early flight. On the contrary, I am such an advocate for early flights, they’re are so worth it. We got to the airport, checked in, got through security, boarded, and jet-setted out!

Because of our early flight and a mere 3 hour travel time, we landed at 11AM. We quickly grabbed some food at the airport #chickfilaforthewin, grabbed our luggage, and scurried to our car rental. Everything was smooth sailing and Enterprise had us in our car almost instantly!3

4

We were determined to head right to the beach and catch some rays so I directed us to-

SIESTA KEY BEACH

6Siesta Key was notoriously named #1 Beach in the USA back in 2011 but I still strongly feel that it’s up there for best beaches. Between the soft white sand and beautiful ocean ahead of you, you shortly thereafter realize you’re in paradise. Andrew and I quickly got accustomed to ‘laying out and jumping into the water’ on repeat. That Florida sun is killer. They don’t call it the Sunshine State for nothin’! 5Swimming and floating around in the water was marvelous. Surprisingly there was a rough current going through the ocean making for some fun waves to jump through which made us want to stay in there for hours at a time just lavishing in it.  9

10

16

12The water was so clear at the shore line that you could actually see schools of fish swimming among us which was totally cool. We got there at like 1PM and stayed till 5ish. The sun was still hot as ever at 5PM though. And don’t worry guys I lathered up on the sunscreen this time! Still managed to get a tiny bit burnt but nothing remotely like how it was in CA. #sunscreenhasmyback

Also, these beaches have seashells galore! If you’re a nautical decor lover, you’ll love these beaches. Andrew and I collected some awesome shells but this one was got to be my favorite…

How stinkin’ cool is that?!! Such a good find.

The other two full days that we dedicated to the the beach was spent at

Lido Key Beach

Almost identical to Siesta Key, however, more centrally located. Lido Key is along St. Armands Circle which is, I believe, Sarasota’s go-to touristy Downtown food and shopping area. But I’ll get more into that in tomorrows post!

So here’s a little glimpse at Lido Key

21

22

23

24

25

See, same exact! To be honest, I think I like Lido Key a tiny bit more than Siesta Key but really they’re identical. And we were back on our lay out, swim, eat, and repeat cycle. Remember when I mentioned the clear shoreline at Siesta Key, well likewise for Lido. So clear that not only could you see the schools of fish but we actually also swam among stingrays which was unreal! Scary but unreal! Andrew actually saw a whole crew of them swimming through the waves, as I only saw 1.

And here come the slew of selfies between the two days spent at Lido Key.

13

14

17

18

20

19

26

Luckily we left just in time with Hurricane Irma making her way through. Praying for those in the Caribbean Islands, Puerto Rico, and soon to be Florida!

xo, JJ

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Hurricane Irma can go away!!! Seriously haha, I’m not here for this anywayyy beautiful pictures. Absolute yes to coming back with a killer tan, what better souvenir to bring home? That sea shell is super cute, it looks like its got a little heart inside of it. How amazing!! Seashells out here spreading the love LOL. The schools of fish sound super cute but what?? Swimming among sting rays are you serious?? That’s so cool. Is that even safe though?? Tell me moreeee. Can’t wait to read about the rest of your vacay hun x

    Like

  2. K.M. Sutton says:

    When I saw your pics on Instagram I just about Fan-girled. Seriously next time I am going to stowaway in your suitcase! Your pictures are unreal! My SIL’s Grandfather owns a house down there and she has brought me back a million postcards, sand, and of course shells and seaglass, but it is not the same as going there (Which I will one of these days!) I know I have said it before, but cutest coupe goes to you two! I loved all of your pictures and that shell is ah-may-zing! I am so glad you had fun! ❤

    Like

  3. K.M. Sutton says:

    Also:
    You were just nominated for the one lovely blog award! The link is below! Congrats beautiful lady so well deserved! ❤

    https://ankhoryou.com/2017/09/05/one-lovely-blog-and-the-liebster-award/

    Like

  4. fadedrouge says:

    Seems like fun lil vacation!

    Like

  5. danniijane says:

    Aaw beautiful photos you look stunning😙 Also the sea is so clear so gorgeous! Xx

    Like

  6. ayrgalaxy says:

    How GORGEOUS!!! I have never seen a beach so pristine and beautiful!! I am seriously considering going to Sarasota in the future when I have enough money lol. I’m sold!! Great photos! Can’t wait to read your next post! xx

    Like

  7. llindaxxo says:

    Y’all are so freakin cute together ❤ Also the beach pictures are breathtaking! Your vacay looks like so much fun and relaxing! So jealous! But I'm glad you got back this past week, Florida aint safe now. Praying for the people being affected by Hurricane Irma!

    Like

  8. mamalari says:

    Thank God you’re not here. Its chaotic! That shell is just,… for words. Def a keeper. Please tell me you’ve taken it home with you?! Talk soon! ❤

    Like

  9. This blogpost gave me all the holiday feels. I am definitely not a beach-person but this blogpost and all these pictures just made me want to go to the beach. Uh, all those beaches look so pretty. I am glad you enjoyed your time there, I loved that little photoshoot you and Andrew did ;-). I’m also glad you left soon enough before hurricane Irma came to Florida. I saw a lot of pictures and videos about Florida after the hurricane. Comparing these pictures with these is definitely a huge difference! xo

    Like

  10. Mackenzie says:

    Ahhhhhhhhh LOOOOVE THIS! So fun!!!! I had no idea that Sarasota had these amazing beaches ?! One of my best friends just moved there so this gives me a kick in the butt to visit her!

    Annnnd You TWO ! Is there a cuter couple?! 😍😍😍😍 Oh and you look gorg and I want your suit 🌴

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

